当您的工作是保护客户所持有的资金并使之不断增加时,给客户留下良好的第一印象很重要。

正因为如此,TD Ameritrade, Inc. 才启动了一个企业工作流程自动化 (EWA ) 项目,旨在使整个客户体验尽可能地吸引人参与。 为此,该组织必须在后端实现流程现代化。 企业流程设计总监 Michael McGraw 描述了这一挑战:“我们在整个组织中拥有不同的异构工作流程系统。 如果我们想在不增加资源的情况下有效参与竞争并赢得更多客户,就必须认真审视自己,并投资于自动化技术。”

他继续说道:“我们知道 IBM 在这一领域拥有丰富的专业知识,因此我们可以依靠他们的技术和资源来指导我们沿着这条路不断前进。”

直通式处理

97%

的新保证金/期权申请

减少了多达

70%

的开立新账户的所需时间

成功的策略

McGraw 及其团队与 IBM® Consulting - 金融服务认知流程重组团队会面,审查了他们的企业转型目标。 这群人共同制定了一项战略,通过流程重组、自动化和系统整合,帮助 TD Ameritrade 增强其运营工作流程基础架构。 最终,TD Ameritrade 旨在提供更高效、更积极的客户和伙伴体验,同时减少长期技术债务和维护成本。

这一转型始于 2017 年,当时 TD Ameritrade 重新打造了其零售成像系统,并安装了 IBM Operational Decision ManagerIBM Business Automation Workflow 软件。 这些产品现在已纳入 IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation 包中,旨在帮助客户编排和自动执行复杂的工作流程。

McGraw 和团队首先关注几个关键流程。“我们的首个重大重组计划就是机构资金流动过程,”他这样解释道。 过去,机构之间的资金转移涉及多次交接,这导致了许多错误。 IBM 认知流程重组团队使用 IBM Business Automation Workflow 软件,通过提供系统生成的、基于规则的决策以及自动字段验证,帮助避免这些问题。

“进展很顺利,”McGraw 说,“我们的处理时间大约减少了 40%,这对一个耗费资源的大型流程来说是一次大幅提升。 这是一场胜利,我们终于可以说,‘嘿,如果我们按照预期使用这个新工具,就会看到生产力的大幅提高。’”

一对年老的夫妇正在与理财顾问会面

在这一成功的基础上,McGraw 及其团队开始自动化 TD Ameritrade 的新账户开立流程。 IBM 软件通过将多个任务整合到用户界面中,并提供自动化的任务路由和上报,帮助减少了这些工作所需的人工工作量。 McGraw 报告称,这些变化使公司零售业务的新账户处理时间减少了 30%,机构部门的新账户处理时间则减少了 50% 以上,从客户服务的角度来看,这是两项重大改进。

该团队的下一个自动化和改进目标是新保证金和期权交易账户的开立过程。 这些产品对于 TD Ameritrade 来说收益相当可观,但它们需要大量的幕后工作。 McGraw 说道:“一个非常庞大的团队正在执行手工操作 - 在不同的系统中查找账户余额和各种内容,通过所有规则来批准或拒绝新保证金和期权账户的申请。”

IBM Operational Decision Manager 软件再次带来了重大改进。 随着新解决方案的实施,令人难以置信的是,高达 97% 的新保证金和期权申请可立即通过,几乎完全避免了错误。

当 COVID-19 疫情爆发时,实践证明,这种高效率特别有价值。“当 COVID 疫情袭来时,我们看到了市场的巨大波动和庞大的交易量,”McGraw 说道,“保证金和期权申请都达到了顶峰,真的是迅速飙升。 如果当时这个流程还没有实现自动化,我们就会进退两难,因为我们并没有资源来处理和审批涌入而来的所有申请。 这将导致糟糕的服务水平或大量的加班加点。”

与之形成鲜明对比的是,新的和现有的保证金和期权客户能够迅速开户,客户服务继续保持一流。

2020 年末,TD Ameritrade 被 Charles Schwab Corporation 收购,这给 McGraw 及其团队带来了重大变化。 在合并方面,特别有趣的就是 Charles Schwab 对人工智能和机器学习很感兴趣。 事实上,McGraw 及其团队已经在讨论将 IBM Business Automation Insights 软件添加到解决方案中,从而在严格监管的行业中完成认知规则发现和规则优化这些复杂任务。“AI 很有潜力,”McGraw 说,“我们迫不及待地想要看到它能够为我们做什么。”

延续成功

即使在合并过程中,TD Ameritrade 也仍继续在其零售和机构业务范围内扩展该项目,涵盖了账户维护、现金管理、账户转账等价值流。 这些流程均得益于 IBM 智能工作流程方法,这是一种端到端的方法,它结合了内容智能、工作流程自动化和企业规则,可最大限度地减少管理客户申请、数据输入和验证以及手动决策方面牵涉到的人力。

最近,McGraw 及其团队将 EWA 项目扩展到了亚太地区的几个分支机构。他指出:“我们能够将在香港开立新账户的平均处理时间减少 70% 以上。”

众所周知,TD Ameritrade 的 EWA 项目取得了巨大的成功。 事实上,自该项目开展以来,该组织每年能够将每位员工处理的账户数量平均增加 5%,这意味着不必扩大员工队伍,该组织便能够发展业务,并完善客户体验。

除了这些数字之外,该解决方案还为整个组织的用户赋能。 随着流程的加快和效率的提高,客服人员可以专注于更有价值的活动,例如,与客户建立密切关系,发现发展个人账户的机会。

业务用户也可以从该解决方案中获益,因为他们获得了新能力,无需技术团队参与即可更新流程。 正如 McGraw 所解释的那样:“这一技术的建立,使得企业所有者能够自行更改和修改规则,并将其从技术开发周期中剔除。 这给他们带来了极大的敏捷性和灵活性,他们可以根据业务需要更改规则。”

但最重要的是,该解决方案为 TD Ameritrade 创造了给新客户留下良好第一印象的机会,并为现有客户提供了出色的客户服务。 McGraw 说道:“归根结底,这可以确保我们的客户获得至臻至善的服务。 这就是这个解决方案所给予我们的帮助。”

TD Ameritrade 徽标

关于 TD Ameritrade, Inc.

TD Ameritrade(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1971 年,总部位于内布拉斯加州奥马哈,是一家经纪公司,为超过 1200 万个客户账户提供投资和交易服务。 该公司资产约 1.2 万亿美元,员工人数超过 9000 人,2019 财年收入约 60 亿美元。 2020 年 10 月,TD Ameritrade 被 Charles Schwab Corporation 以约 260 亿美元的价格收购。

解决方案组件

IBM® Business Automation Workflow
IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation
IBM Consulting – 认知流程重组
IBM 智能工作流程
IBM Operational Decision Manager

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 5 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 IBM Cloud Pak 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 https://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

Making it work

TD Ameritrade invests in its own future with business process automation
by Leah Valentine
5-minute read
Businessmen handshake in the office

When it’s your job to protect and grow your customers’ money, it’s important to make a great first impression.

That’s why TD Ameritrade, Inc. embarked on an enterprise workflow automation (EWA) project aimed at making the entire customer experience as engaging as possible. To accomplish this, the organization would have to modernize processes on the back end. Michael McGraw, Director of Enterprise Process Design, describes the challenge: “We had different and disparate workflow systems across the organization. If we wanted to compete and grow volume without increasing resources, we really had to take a hard look at ourselves and invest in automation technology.”

He continues: “We knew that IBM had great expertise in this area, so we could count on them for both the technology and the resources to help guide us as we headed down this path.”

Straight-through processing for

97%

of new margin/option requests

Up to

70%

reduction in time required to open a new account

If we wanted to compete and grow volume without increasing resources, we really had to take a hard look at ourselves and invest in automation technology. We knew that IBM had great expertise in this area, so we could count on them for both the technology and the resources to help guide us as we headed down this path.
Michael McGraw
Director of Enterprise Process Design, TD Ameritrade, Inc.
Older couple meeting with financial advisor
When COVID hit, we saw huge amounts of market volatility and trading. Had we not already automated the process, we would have been in a huge bind.
Michael McGraw
Director of Enterprise Process Design, TD Ameritrade, Inc.
A strategy for success
When COVID hit, we saw huge amounts of market volatility and trading. Had we not already automated the process, we would have been in a huge bind.
Michael McGraw
Director of Enterprise Process Design, TD Ameritrade, Inc.

McGraw and his team met with the IBM® Global Services – Financial Services Cognitive Process Reengineering team to review their enterprise transformation goals. Together, the group built a strategy that would help TD Ameritrade enhance its operational workflow infrastructure through process reengineering, automation and systems consolidation. Ultimately, TD Ameritrade aimed to deliver more efficient and positive customer and associate experiences, while at the same time reducing its long-term technical debt and maintenance costs.

The transformation began in 2017 when TD Ameritrade re-platformed its retail imaging system and installed IBM Operational Decision Manager and IBM Business Automation Workflow software. These products, now available as part of the IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation package, are designed to help customers orchestrate and automate complex workflows.

McGraw and the team began by focusing on a few key processes. “Our first major reengineering initiative was the institutional money movement process,” he explains. In the past, moving money between institutions involved multiple handoffs, which led to many errors. The IBM Cognitive Process Reengineering team used IBM Business Automation Workflow software to help eliminate those issues by delivering system-generated, rules-based decisioning, along with automatic field validation.

“It went well,” says McGraw. “We got roughly a 40% reduction in processing time, which is a major lift for a large, resource-consuming process. It was a win that allowed us to say, ‘Hey, if we use this new tool as it’s intended, we could see huge productivity gains.’”

Building on that success, McGraw and his team set out to automate TD Ameritrade’s process for opening new accounts. The IBM software helped decrease the amount of manual labor required for these efforts by consolidating multiple tasks into user interfaces and providing automated task routing and escalation. McGraw reports that these changes decreased new account processing time by 30% for the company’s retail business and in excess of 50% in its institutional division — both major improvements from a customer service perspective.

The team’s next target for automation and improvement was the process for opening new margin and option trading accounts. These are very profitable products for TD Ameritrade, but they require a lot of work behind the scenes. Says McGraw, “There was an extremely large team that was doing the work manually — looking in different systems for account balances and all kinds of things, going through all the rules to either approve or deny requests for new margin and option accounts.”

Once again, IBM Operational Decision Manager software brought about significant improvements. With the new solution in place, a staggering 97% of new margin and option requests went through immediately, and errors were virtually eliminated.

This new efficiency proved to be especially valuable when the COVID-19 pandemic struck. “When COVID hit, we saw huge amounts of market volatility and trading,” says McGraw. “The margin and option requests went through the roof — they really skyrocketed. Had we not already automated the process, we would have been in a huge bind because we would not have had the resources to go through and approve all of the requests that were coming in. That would have resulted in either terrible service levels or significant amounts of overtime.”

Instead, new and existing margin and option customers were able to open accounts rapidly, and customer service continued to be top-notch.

In late 2020, TD Ameritrade was acquired by Charles Schwab Corporation, which brought significant changes to McGraw and his team. One particularly intriguing aspect of the merger is Charles Schwab’s interest in AI and machine learning. In fact, McGraw and his team are already discussing adding IBM Business Automation Insights software to the solution as a way to enable cognitive rule discovery and rule optimization — complex tasks in a highly regulated industry. “There’s a lot of potential in AI,” says McGraw. “We’re eager to see what it can do for us.”

Continued success

Even as the merger was under way, TD Ameritrade continued to expand the program across its retail and institutional lines of business, covering value streams including account maintenance, cash management, account transfers and more. These processes benefitted from the IBM Intelligent Workflow methodology, an end-to-end approach that incorporates content intelligence, workflow automation and enterprise rules to minimize human effort in managing customer requests, data entry and validation and manual decisioning.

More recently, McGraw and his team extended the EWA project to several branches in Asia Pacific. “We were able to reduce the average processing time for opening a new account in Hong Kong by over 70%,” he notes.

By all accounts, TD Ameritrade’s EWA project has been a resounding success. In fact, the organization has been able to increase the number of accounts per employee by an average of 5% each year since the project began, which means that the organization has been able to grow its business and offer a better customer experience without having to expand its workforce.

Looking beyond the numbers, the solution also empowers users throughout the organization. As processes speed up and become more efficient, customer service associates can focus on more valuable activities, such as building rapport with customers and identifying opportunities to grow individual accounts.

Business users, too, benefit from the solution as they enjoy a newfound ability to update processes without bringing in the technical team. As McGraw explains: “The technology was set up in a manner that allows the business owners to change and modify the rules on their own and take it out of the technology development cycle. That gives them a huge amount of agility and flexibility to change rules as the business requires.”

But most importantly, the solution offers TD Ameritrade an opportunity to make a great first impression with new customers, and to provide excellent customer service to existing clients. Says McGraw: “In the end, it’s about making sure our customers get the best service possible. And that’s what this solution is helping us do.”

TD Ameritrade logo
About TD Ameritrade, Inc.

Founded in 1971 and based in Omaha, Nebraska, TD AmeritradeExternal Link is a brokerage firm that provides investment and trading services for more than 12 million customer accounts. With assets of approximately USD 1.2 trillion, the company employs more than 9,000 people and reported earnings of approximately USD 6 billion for fiscal year 2019. In October 2020, TD Ameritrade was acquired by Charles Schwab Corporation for approximately USD 26 billion.

Solution components
TD Ameritrade logo
About TD Ameritrade, Inc.

Founded in 1971 and based in Omaha, Nebraska, TD AmeritradeExternal Link is a brokerage firm that provides investment and trading services for more than 12 million customer accounts. With assets of approximately USD 1.2 trillion, the company employs more than 9,000 people and reported earnings of approximately USD 6 billion for fiscal year 2019. In October 2020, TD Ameritrade was acquired by Charles Schwab Corporation for approximately USD 26 billion.

Solution components