Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.
非凡的增长需要卓越的基础架构
拖拉机正在耕地

为了从关键的后台系统中获得更多益处,Sonalika 需要更新支持这些关键任务的 IT 架构。通过与 IBM 合作伙伴 Integrated Tech9labs Pvt. Ltd. 携手合作,该制造商迁移到由 IBM® Power® Systems 和 IBM Storage 技术提供支持的更强大的可扩展环境。

业务挑战

为了升级 SAP 环境,Sonalika International Tractors Ltd. 还需要更新支持这些系统的底层 IT 基础架构。

变革

该企业现在通过由 IBM 服务器和存储技术提供支持的虚拟化架构来管理后台流程。

结果 提升性能
提升关键后台流程的性能,同时加速数据访问
99.999% 的可用性
为关键业务系统提供 99.999% 的可用性
提高可扩展性
为能够跟上公司指数级增长步伐的架构提供可扩展性
业务挑战案例
数据规模庞大而难以实现增长

当您不知道自己身在何处时,很难计划未来。如今的企业(至少是那些关注绩效和增长的企业)正在大力投资解决方案和技术,旨在将手头的数据转换为可用于规划和推动未来发展的切实可行的情报。

Sonalika 就是这种企业之一。作为农业机械化行业的领导者,该制造商希望更新管理关键后台任务的系统,特别是与财务相关的系统。

“过去 20 年来,我们一直拥有 SAP 环境,”Sonalika 首席信息官 (CIO) Swapan Gayen 解释道,“而且我们希望借助 SAP S/4HANA 继续推进。如果我们要继续成为领导者,我们需要拥有强大的流程,即强大的决策系统。我们需要能够定期改进我们正在做的事情。”

但是,这项计划中的改进存在一个问题:公司的现有增长。

“过去三年来,我们的业务一直在急剧增长,”Gayen 指出,“2017 年,增长了 31%。2018 年和 2019 年,我们每年增长 42%。2020 年到目前为止,我们的增长率约为 80%,我们预计未来五年同比增长率将达到 45%-48%。”

虽然这种增长对于企业内部来说是值得庆祝的事情,但事实证明,要让公司的 IT 基础架构跟上持续和预计的扩张,是很困难的。

“以我们当前的业务发展势头,过时的系统已经无法跟上了,”Gayen 补充道,“现有设备相当陈旧。是我们七八年前购买的,仅就我们当时所做的事情而言,很难将业务连续性、风险和可靠性维持在适当的水平。除非我们改变这一点,否则我们将无法向前迈进。”

可靠性对我们来说也很重要,为了确保我们的系统能够正常启动并实现 99.999% 的正常运行,我们选择了 IBM。 Swapan Gayen 首席信息官 (CIO) Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.
变革案例
期望与现实撞个满怀

在考虑更新后台系统的最佳策略后,Sonalika 开始与 IBM 合作伙伴 Tech9labs 合作。

“Tech9labs 从一开始就参与其中,”Gayen 回忆道,“当我们第一次开始构思新的财务和分析平台应该是什么样子时,Tech9labs 为我们提供了大量的技术建议和指导。通过他们高度协作的方法,我们构建了一个符合我们业务参数的解决方案。”

为了为更新的 SAP S/4HANA 环境创建必要的架构,Sonalika 和 Tech9labs 在该制造商位于印度的霍希亚尔普尔的主数据中心部署了 IBM Power System S922 服务器。目前,该设备托管着该公司的 SAP ECC 实例,并在 2021 年初迁移后托管 SAP S/4HANA 解决方案。SAP 平台与第三方分析软件一起置于虚拟化操作框架中,用于管理该公司的财务决策、供应商协作和分布式生产计划工作。

“我们没有选择英特尔平台,而是选择了 IBM POWER 来构建我们的高增长和决策系统,”Gayen 解释道,“IBM Systems 比任何其他 OEM 都更可靠,并提供我们这些关键系统所需的高性能和运行时间。”

同时,Sonalika 和 Tech9labs 团队部署了 IBM FlashSystem® 5000 存储来存储相关 SAP 数据,而 IBM Spectrum® Protect 技术和 IBM TS4300 Tape Library 可以提供高度可靠的备份和恢复支持。

当我们第一次开始构思新的财务和分析平台应该是什么样子时,Tech9labs 为我们提供了大量的技术建议和指导。 Swapan Gayen 首席信息官 (CIO) Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.
案例成果
未来的发展空间

借助新的 IBMBM 技术,Sonalika 现在拥有更强大、更有弹性的基础架构来支持关键运营。“我们现在运行 SAP 流程的速度要快得多,新的 IBM Storage 带来了显著的性能改进。员工现在更加满意,因为他们无需等待基础架构。”

此外,该解决方案提供的虚拟化操作和存储架构支持高度可扩展的环境,可以跟上该制造商的预计增长步伐。

“可靠性对我们来说也很重要,为了确保我们的系统正常启动并实现 99.999% 的正常运行,我们选择了 IBM,”Gayen 说,“英特尔平台存在很多漏洞,而 IBM 技术提供磁盘安全性和稳定性,这将使我们避免停机和相关运营损失。”

除了 IBM 技术的功能之外,Sonalika 还对与 Tech9labs 的合作感到满意。“他们采取诚实、坦率的态度,”Gayen 指出,“他们提供的洞察分析公正且开放,我们相信他们真诚希望我们持续取得成功。”

最后,随着新的 SAP S/4HANA 软件的部署到位,Sonalika 相信这一新解决方案只会带来更多价值,正如 Gayen 阐述的那样:“高管们将能够看到与毛利润、盈利能力、现金流相关的一切,即所有信息,笔记本电脑或平板电脑上一切信息。我们将获得具有流程可视化的实时洞察分析,并将能够以集成的方式推动流程转型。我们将拥有一个真正与我们的基础架构功能相匹配的管理环境。”

新的 IBM Storage 提供显著的性能改进。员工现在更加满意,因为他们无需等待基础架构。 Swapan Gayen 首席信息官 (CIO) Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.
Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.徽标
Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.

Sonalika(外部链接)是一家领先的农业机械化企业,业务遍及全球 130 多个国家或地区。该公司总部位于印度的霍希亚尔普尔,专门从事拖拉机、农业机械化设备和其他农业解决方案的制造和销售。

关于 Integrated Tech9labs Pvt. Ltd.

IBM 合作伙伴 Tech9Labs(外部链接)提供定制的 IT 解决方案和服务,包括云计算、网络安全和数字化转型产品。该公司成立于 2011 年,总部位于印度的新德里。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

要了解有关 IBM SAP 联盟的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:ibm.com/it-infrastructure/power/sap-hana

要详细了解其 IT 解决方案以及 Integrated Tech9labs Pvt. Ltd. 可以为您提供何种帮助,请访问:Tech9labs(外部链接)

查看更多客户案例 查看 PDF
脚注

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM 公司,IBM Systems,New Orchard Road,Armonk,NY 10504

2021 年 2 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM FlashSystem、IBM Spectrum 和 Power 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

© 2021 SAP SE. 保留所有权利。此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时进行更改出于任何原因,恕不另行通知。

Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.
Exceptional growth needs an exceptional infrastructure
Tractor plowing field

Wanting to get more from its critical back-office systems, Sonalika needed to update the IT architecture that supported these key tasks. Joining with IBM Business Partner Integrated Tech9labs Pvt. Ltd., the manufacturer migrated to a more robust, scalable environment backed by IBM® Power® Systems and IBM Storage technology.

Business challenge

Wanting to upgrade its SAP environment, Sonalika International Tractors Ltd. also needed to update the underlying IT infrastructure that supported these systems.

Transformation

The business now manages its back-office processes from a virtualized architecture powered by IBM server and storage technology.

Results Boosts performances
of key back-office processes while accelerating data access
99.999% availability
delivered for critical business systems
Improves scalability
delivering an architecture able to keep pace with the company’s exponential growth
Business challenge story
Too big to grow

It’s hard to plan for the future when you don’t know where you are. And businesses today — at least those with a focus on performance and growth — are investing heavily in solutions and technologies that let them convert the data at hand into actionable intelligence that can be used to plan for and drive the future.

Sonalika is one of those businesses. A leader in the agriculture mechanization industry, the manufacturer wanted to update the systems that managed its critical back-office tasks, particularly those related to financials.

“We’ve had an SAP landscape for the past 20 years,” explains Swapan Gayen, Chief Information Officer (CIO) at Sonalika. “And we wanted to move forward with SAP S/4HANA. If we are going to continue to be a leader, we need to have strong processes — strong decision-making systems. We need to be able to routinely revamp what we are doing.”

But there was a wrinkle for this planned improvement: the company’s existing growth.

“For the last three years, our business has been growing dramatically,” notes Gayen. “In 2017, we grew by 31%. In 2018 and 2019, we grew 42% each year. So far in 2020, we are growing around 80%, and we expect 45% – 48% year-over-year growth over the next five years.”

And while this growth was a source of celebration within the business, keeping pace with the continued — and projected — expansion was proving difficult when it came to the company’s IT infrastructure.

“With the current business momentum that we have, our outdated systems could not keep up,” adds Gayen. “The existing equipment was quite old. We purchased it seven to eight years ago, and it was difficult to maintain to appropriate levels of business continuity, risk and reliability just for what we were doing at the time. Unless we changed that, we would not be able to move forward.”

Reliability is also important for us, and to make sure our system is up and running 99.999%, we chose IBM. Swapan Gayen Chief Information Officer (CIO) Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.
Transformation story
Matching expectation with reality

As it considered the best strategy for updating its back-office systems, Sonalika began working with IBM Business Partner Tech9labs.

“Tech9labs was involved from the very beginning of the journey,” recalls Gayen. “When we first started conceptualizing what our new financials and analytics platform should look like, Tech9labs offered us enormous technical inputs and guidance. And from their very collaborative approach, we built a solution that matched our business parameters.”

To create the necessary architecture for the updated SAP S/4HANA environment, Sonalika and Tech9labs deployed an IBM Power System S922 server in the manufacturer’s main data center in Hoshiarpur, India. Presently, the equipment is hosting the firm’s SAP ECC instance, and it will host the SAP S/4HANA solution after the migration in early 2021. The SAP platform, alongside third-party analytics software, resides in a virtualized operating framework and is used to manage the company’s financial decision-making, supplier collaborations and distributed production planning efforts.

“Instead of an Intel platform, we chose IBM POWER for our high growth and decision-making systems,” explains Gayen. “IBM Systems are more reliable than any other OEM and offer the high performance and uptime we need for these critical systems.”

At the same time, the Sonalika and Tech9labs team deployed IBM FlashSystem® 5000 storage to store the related SAP data, while IBM Spectrum® Protect technology and an IBM TS4300 Tape Library provide highly reliable backup and recovery support.

When we first started conceptualizing what our new financials and analytics platform should look like, Tech9labs offered us enormous technical inputs and guidance. Swapan Gayen Chief Information Officer (CIO) Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.
Results story
Room for the future

With the new IBM technology in place, Sonalika now has a more powerful, resilient infrastructure to support its key operations. “We are running our SAP processes much faster now, and the new IBM storage delivers a remarkable performance improvement. My staff is much happier now that they aren’t waiting on the infrastructure.”

Further, the virtualized operating and storage architecture delivered with the solution encourages a highly-scalable environment that can keep pace with the manufacturer’s projected growth.

“Reliability is also important for us, and to make sure our system is up and running 99.999%, we chose IBM,” says Gayen. “Intel platforms offer a lot of vulnerability, but the IBM technology delivers disk security and stability that will let us avoid downtime and related operating losses.”

Alongside the capabilities of the IBM technology, Sonalika is also pleased with its choice in Tech9labs. “They have an honest, candid approach,” notes Gayen. “The insight they offered was done impartially and with an open mind, and we are confident that they are truly sincere about our continued success.”

Finally, as the new SAP S/4HANA software is put in place, Sonalika is confident that this new solution will only deliver further value, as Gayen elaborates: “Executives will be able to see everything — all of the info — related to gross margin, profitability, cash flow, everything on their laptop or tablet. We’ll have real-time insights with process visibility and will be able to drive process transformations in an integrated way. We’ll have a management environment that truly matches the capabilities of our infrastructure.”

[T]he new IBM storage delivers a remarkable performance improvement. My staff is much happier now that they aren’t waiting on the infrastructure. Swapan Gayen Chief Information Officer (CIO) Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.
Sonalika International Tractors Ltd. Logo
Sonalika International Tractors Ltd.

Sonalika (external link) is a leading agriculture mechanization business with a global presence in more than 130 countries. The company, headquartered in Hoshiarpur, India, specializes in the manufacture and sale of tractors, farm mechanization equipment and other agriculture-focused solutions.

About Integrated Tech9labs Pvt. Ltd.

IBM Business Partner Tech9labs (external link) offers customized IT solutions and services, including cloud computing, cybersecurity and digital transformation offerings. The business was founded in 2011, and it is headquartered in New Delhi, India.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

To learn more about the IBM SAP Alliance, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: ibm.com/it-infrastructure/power/sap-hana

To learn more about its IT solutions and what Integrated Tech9labs Pvt. Ltd. can do for you, please visit: Tech9labs (external link)

View more client stories View PDF
Footnotes

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Systems, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, February 2021.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, IBM FlashSystem, IBM Spectrum, and Power are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.

© 2021 SAP SE. All rights reserved. SAP, R/3, SAP NetWeaver, Duet, PartnerEdge, ByDesign, SAP BusinessObjects Explorer, StreamWork, SAP HANA, and other SAP products and services mentioned herein as well as their respective logos are trademarks or registered trademarks of SAP SE in Germany and other countries. These materials are provided by SAP SE or an SAP affiliate company for informational purposes only, without representation or warranty of any kind, and SAP SE or its affiliated companies shall not be liable for errors or omissions with respect to the materials. This document, or any related presentation, and SAP SE’s or its affiliated companies’ strategy and possible future developments, products, and/or platform directions and functionality are all subject to change and may be changed by SAP SE or its affiliated companies at any time for any reason without notice.