主页 Case Studies Silverfern IT 为有需要的企业提供领先的网络威胁解决方案
借助 IBM® Security QRadar,Silverfern 更轻松、更快速地部署 24x7 全天候威胁检测和响应
深入了解 IBM® QRadar
在系统控制中心工作的系统安全专家

您本周已经阅读了第三篇关于另一种威胁您所在行业的勒索软件的文章。由于数据泄露,您的一家供应商在上个季度倒闭了。您的 IT 团队现在需要更大的网络安全预算。谁会想到经营一家小型企业会面临如此大的风险?

“与其他所有人一样,在过去的四五年中,我们已经看到了数据泄漏等网络事件显著增加,”IBM 业务合作伙伴 Silverfern IT(ibm.com 外部链接)首席执行官 Liong Eng 说道。Silverfern IT 是一家一流的网络安全公司。“董事会越来越意识到风险以及他们对任何潜在违规行为的责任。而那些意识到这已经成为业务挑战,而不仅仅是技术挑战的公司已经开始重组预算,来应对这一挑战。”

通常,这些资金主要用于购买新工具和硬件,以保护公司资产免受外部攻击。但随着威胁的增加,网络安全产品的数量也在增加,这使得选择正确的选项成为一项挑战。

“这些解决方案的复杂性对这些企业的内部风险团队来说变得越来越不堪重负,”Eng 继续说道。“实际上,为您的员工配备合适的人员和专业知识来有效地选择和使用这些解决方案是非常困难的。如果您这样做,您就面临着其他公司以更高薪水挖走他们的风险,这是留住员工的主要问题。

对于这些企业来说,雇用足够的人员来提供 24x7 全天候服务同样具有挑战性。这些人员配置的复杂性为 Silverfern 开辟了新的途径。

“我们看到了创建安全运营中心 [SOC] 服务的机会,”Eng 解释道。“在 Silverfern,我们已经拥有所有这些专业知识。我们希望更好地将我们的知识和能力直接扩展到我们的客户,成为他们安全团队不可或缺的一部分。我们希望能够对他们说,‘你们让我们照顾你们,我们将帮助你们消除寻找和管理正确安全资源的担忧。’”

威胁环境的最新变化

及时了解最新的安全 thought leadership 内容和行业研究。

50%

托管 IT 安全收入比以前提高 50%。

3–4

平均在 3 到 4 周内为新客户提供 24x7 全天候威胁管理。

我们希望更好地将我们的知识和能力直接扩展到我们的客户,成为他们安全团队不可或缺的一部分。 Liong Eng 首席执行官 IBM 合作伙伴 Silverfern IT
更好的技术。更高的安全性。

不过,为了正确启动这项新服务,Silverfern 需要对其监控客户端环境的方式进行一些调整。

“传统上,我们为客户提供的服务类型基本上都是非常标准的安全监控,比如端点检测或防火墙管理。”Eng 解释说。“我们拥有所有这些出色的工具,但它们都有自己的界面 - 自己的门户。因此,我们需要一个中央控制面板,让我们的工程师可以同时查看客户的所有环境和所有内容。”

作为 IBM 的长期合作伙伴,Silverfern 迅速选择部署 IBM® Security QRadar 技术来运行其新的 SOC 服务。“在市场上,每个安全供应商都声称自己的产品是最好的,”Eng 指出。“这很公平,但我们看了 Gartner 魔力象限,那里有 IBM。QRadar 不仅是排名第一的产品,而且在过去几年中一直处于领先地位。再加上我们与 IBM 过去 20 多年的深厚关系,让我们毫不犹豫地做出这一决定。”

新的 SOC 产品名为 QRadar 托管检测和响应服务,可为公司的网络威胁需求提供统一的端到端服务。“我们通常可以在三到四个周内让客户开始使用,只需提供他们的日志源,”Eng 说道。

他继续说道:"之后,我们会 24x7 全天候监控他们的环境,以寻找任何潜在攻击的迹象。我们可以通过一站式界面查看整个业务的日志源,从防火墙到端点,再到应用程序和数据库。如果它在网络中,我们就能看到。”

新的 SOC 服务依赖于 IBM® Security QRadar SIEM 技术来监督事件管理,使用实时分析来筛选上下文威胁数据,并转向更主动的监控态势。反过来,SIEM 解决方案的 IBM® Security QRadar Advisor with Watson 功能利用 AI 功能映射安全事件数据库的攻击,并更好地快速准确地将单个安全事件置于上下文中。

如果检测到威胁,Silverfern 将使用 IBM® Security QRadar SOAR 来管理从检测到修复的安全事件全生命周期。如果企业将响应工作与预定义用例(如威胁猎捕或安全警报分类)相结合,则其中大部分功能都会自动执行。

这两款 QRadar 产品都是在 IBM® Cloud Pak for Security 许可证下交付。在不久的将来,Silverfern 打算进一步探索 IBM® Cloud Pak 提供的功能。

我们可以通过一站式界面查看整个业务的日志源,从防火墙到端点,再到应用程序和数据库。如果它在网络中,我们就能看到。 Liong Eng 首席执行官 IBM 合作伙伴 Silverfern IT
合作即竞争优势

“IBM® Security 团队在项目一开始就与我们合作,”Eng 回忆道。“他们为我们提供了前进所需的知识,这是我们在初始阶段内部缺乏的。他们非常有耐心且充满热情,对我的团队进行培训,确保我们受到良好的教育。他们真正帮助我们获得了新技术认证。”

除了这种知识转移之外,选定的 IBM 产品充实了 Silverfern SOC 服务,帮助该公司为其客户群构建了更具竞争力、响应更快的服务。

“QRadar 的一大优点在于,”Eng 补充道,“它已经内置了数百种我们可以利用的用例。因此当我们引入新的 SOC 客户时,我们可以立即向客户展示他们的投资回报,因为我们可以向他们展示我们现在正在管理的所有内容。他们不需要等待我们来构建它。”

他继续说道:“有了 IBM 软件,我们的安全团队可以通过一个很好的门户了解当前的情况。它减少了我们必须为内部工程师提供的培训量,直接影响了我们在这个新平台下管理更多客户的能力。我们还有更多信息可以与客户分享。因此,我们可以让他们更好地了解他们的网络中实际发生的情况。”

为了简化其 QRadar 托管检测和响应服务的交付,Silverfern 利用其作为 IBM 合作伙伴的地位,签署了 IBM 嵌入式解决方案协议 (ESA)。“ESA 对我们来说确实是天赐之物,”Eng 表示。“它让我们能够将 IBM 技术直接与我们的服务捆绑在一起,这样我们就可以我们控制的明晰定价模型进入市场。我们可以使 SOC 的整体投资非常有吸引力,而无需延长解决许可问题的时间。”

QRadar 的一大优点是,它已经内置了数百个我们可以利用的用例。 Liong Eng 首席执行官 IBM 合作伙伴 Silverfern IT
自信未来

Silverfern 已经从与 IBM 的合作中实现了价值,正如 Eng 所述:“当我们将之前的托管 IT 服务与使用 IBM 的托管 SOC 服务进行比较时,我们已将这部分业务的收入增加了 50%。我预计在接下来的 12 个月内,我们可能会将其提高到 SOC 前收入的两倍。潜力无穷,我对未来充满期待。”

这种增长在很大程度上来自于更全面、更集中的 SOC 服务吸引新客户的能力,特别是那些可能没有内部资源进行全天候监控的小型企业。

“网络威胁不会消失,每家公司,无论大小,都需要某种类型的检测和响应,”Eng补充道。“他们需要深入了解自己的运营环境,并清楚地了解正在发生的事情。他们需要证明符合行业和政府标准。这就是我们可以提供的一些价值。我们可以帮助他们降低风险。我们可以帮助他们向董事会和审计师报告。 我们可以帮助确保他们的信息安全。”

他继续说道:“对我们的客户来说,这是最重要的事情。当他们一天的工作结束后,我们可以让其对网络的安全性感到安心。

申请 QRadar SIEM 的定制演示→

Silverfern IT 徽标
关于 Silverfern IT

IBM 合作伙伴Silverfern(ibm.com 外部链接)拥有 30 年的丰富历史,可提供网络安全和咨询服务和解决方案。该公司总部位于西澳大利亚珀斯,专门从事灾难恢复、托管安全服务和安全意识培训。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

开始使用 IBM QRadar
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, IBM Security, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2022 年 11 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM® Cloud Pak、IBM® Security、QRadar 和 With Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球多个司法管辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

You’ve just read your third article this week about another ransomware that’s threatening your industry. One of your suppliers went out of business last quarter thanks to a data breach. And your IT team now needs a bigger cybersecurity budget. Who would’ve thought running a small business was this risky?

“Like everyone else, we’ve seen cyberincidents, like data breaches, increase significantly over the last four or five years,” explains Liong Eng, Chief Executive Officer at IBM Business Partner Silverfern IT (link resides outside of ibm.com)—a premier cybersecurity company. “Boards are becoming more and more aware of the risk and of their accountability for any potential breaches. And those companies that recognize that this is now a business challenge—not just a technology one—have started restructuring their budgets to do something about it.”

Typically, these funds are focused on purchasing new tools and hardware to protect company assets from outside attacks. But with the increase of threats, the number of cybersecurity offerings have also increased, making choosing the right option a bit of a challenge.

“And the complexity of these solutions is becoming more and more overwhelming to the internal risk teams of these businesses,” Eng continues. “It’s ridiculously difficult to actually staff up your workforce with the right people and the right expertise to effectively choose and use these solutions. And if you do, you face the risk of some other company poaching them for a higher salary—there’s a major problem with retention.”

Employing sufficient personnel to provide 24x7 coverage was equally challenging for these businesses. And these staffing complications opened up a door for Silverfern.

“We saw an opportunity to create a security operations center [SOC] service,” explains Eng. “Within Silverfern, we already have all this expertise. And we wanted to better extend our knowledge and capabilities directly to our customers—to become an integrated part of their security team. We wanted to be able to say to them, ‘You let us look after you, and we’ll help you eliminate that concern over finding and managing the right security resources.’”

Boosts managed IT security revenues by

50%
compared to previous levels

Delivers 24x7 threat management to new customers in

3 – 4
weeks, on average

Better technology. Better security.

To properly launch this new service, though, Silverfern needed to make some adjustments to how it monitored client environments.

“Traditionally, the types of services that we ran for our clients were pretty much very standard security monitoring—like endpoint detection or firewall managing,” clarifies Eng. “We had all these great tools, but they each had their own interface—their own portal. So we needed a central control panel where our engineers could look at all of the client’s environment and look at everything all at once.”

A long-standing IBM Business Partner, Silverfern quickly chose to deploy IBM Security® QRadar® technology to run its new SOC service. “In the marketplace, every security vendor claims their product is the best,” notes Eng. “Which is fair enough, but we looked at the Gartner Magic Quadrant, and there was IBM. Not only was QRadar the number one product, it had consistently been a leader for the past several years. That and our deep relationship with IBM over the last 20-plus years made the decision a no-brainer.”

Woman standing in a system control room. In the background, multiple screens showing interactive data.

Named the QRadar Managed Detection and Response service, the new SOC offering provides a unified, end-to-end service for a company’s cyberthreat needs. “We can typically get a client started within three to four weeks—we only have to bring in their log sources,” says Eng.

He continues: “And after that we watch their environment 24x7 for any indicator of a potential attack. From a single pane of glass, we can see log sources from across their business—from firewalls to endpoints to applications and databases. If it’s in the network, we can see it.”

The new SOC service relies on IBM Security® QRadar SIEM technology to oversee event management, using real-time analytics to sift through contextual threat data and shift to a more proactive monitoring posture. The SIEM solution’s IBM Security QRadar Advisor with Watson® functionality, in turn, harnesses the capabilities of AI to map offenses against a security incident database and better contextualize individual security incidents quickly and accurately.

And if a threat is detected, Silverfern uses IBM Security QRadar SOAR to manage the entire security incident lifecycle from detection through remediation. Much of this happens automatically as the business aligns its response efforts with predefined use cases—such as threat hunting or security-alert triaging.

Both of these QRadar offerings are delivered under an IBM Cloud Pak® for Security license. And in the not-too-distant future, Silverfern intends to further explore the capabilities delivered by the IBM Cloud Pak.

Cooperation as a competitive edge

“The IBM Security team engaged with us at the very beginning of the project,” recalls Eng. “They gave us the knowledge to move forward that we initially didn’t have internally. They were very patient and passionate about it—training my team and making sure we were well-educated. They really helped us with getting certified on the new technology.”

Alongside this knowledge transfer, the IBM products selected to flesh out the Silverfern SOC service helped the firm build a more competitive, responsive service for its client base.

“One of the great things about QRadar,” adds Eng, “is that it already has hundreds of use cases built-in that we can utilize. So when we bring a new SOC customer on board, we can immediately demonstrate to our client a return on their investment because we can show them everything that we are now managing. They don’t have to wait for us to build it.”

He continues: “With the IBM software, we have a great portal for our security teams to see what’s going on. It reduces the amount of training that we have to give our internal engineers, and that directly impacts our ability to manage more clients under this new platform. We also have more information that we can share with our clients. So we can give them a better understanding of what is actually happening in their network.”

To streamline the delivery of its QRadar Managed Detection and Response service, Silverfern took advantage of its position as an IBM Business Partner and signed an IBM Embedded Solution Agreement (ESA). “The ESA was truly a godsend for us,” notes Eng. “It lets us bundle the IBM technology directly with our service, so we can go to the market with a clear pricing model that we control. We can make the overall investment in our SOC quite attractive—all without extending timelines to resolve licensing issues.”

Male IT technician in a server room

A confident tomorrow

Silverfern is already realizing value from its work with IBM, as Eng notes: “When we compare our managed IT services from before with the managed SOC service using IBM, we’ve increased the revenue from that part of the business by 50%. And I expect in the next 12 months, we’ll probably increase it to double our pre-SOC revenue. There’s so much potential, and I’m very excited about the future.”

Much of this growth comes from the ability of the more comprehensive, centralized SOC service to attract new customers—particularly smaller-sized businesses that may not have the internal resources to dedicate to around-the-clock monitoring.

“Cyberthreats aren’t going away, and every company—big or small—is going to require some type of detection and response,” adds Eng. “They’re going to need insight into their operating environment and a clear understanding of what’s going on. They’re going to need to demonstrate compliance with industry and government standards. And that’s some of the value we can deliver. We can help reduce their risks. We can help them report to their boards and auditors. We can help keep their information safe.”

He continues: “That’s the most important thing to our customers, that we give them peace of mind about the safety of their network when they go home at the end of the day.”

About Silverfern IT

Boasting a rich, 30-year history, IBM Business Partner Silverfern (link resides outside of ibm.com) provides cybersecurity and consulting services and solutions. The business is headquartered in Perth, Western Australia, and specializes in disaster recovery, managed security services and security awareness training.



Solution components

IBM Cloud Pak® for Security
IBM Security QRadar SIEM
IBM Security QRadar SOAR

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Security, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, November 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, IBM Cloud Pak, IBM Security, QRadar, and With Watson are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at http://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.

Statement of Good Security Practices: IT system security involves protecting systems and information through prevention, detection and response to improper access from within and outside your enterprise. Improper access can result in information being altered, destroyed, misappropriated or misused or can result in damage to or misuse of your systems, including for use in attacks on others. No IT system or product should be considered completely secure and no single product, service or security measure can be completely effective in preventing improper use or access. IBM systems, products and services are designed to be part of a lawful, comprehensive security approach, which will necessarily involve additional operational procedures, and may require other systems, products or services to be most effective. IBM DOES NOT WARRANT THAT ANY SYSTEMS, PRODUCTS OR SERVICES ARE IMMUNE FROM, OR WILL MAKE YOUR ENTERPRISE IMMUNE FROM, THE MALICIOUS OR ILLEGAL CONDUCT OF ANY PARTY.