Siemens 巩固其作为全球首选雇主的地位
利用 IBM 和 Workday 的集成人力资源解决方案保持强大的人才管理功能

Siemens Group 正在推动影响深远的数字化转型,并在软件开发、能源和医疗保健等行业提供尖端的产品、解决方案和服务。 资源丰厚的人才库对运营支持和卓越客户服务以及实现转型愿景至关重要。

Siemens 知道,提供高质量的人力资源体验对实现这一目标至关重要。 为了打造顺利的人力资源旅程并实现人才目标,Siemens 聘请了 IBM Services 的专家来帮助管理人员和员工重新架构和简化人力资本管理 (HCM) 活动。

基于 Workday 人力资本管理、Workday 缺勤管理、Workday 薪酬和 Workday 人才管理,基于云的新解决方案目前通过核心人力资本管理功能为 35 个国家/地区约 40,000 名员工提供支持,并将在未来 24 个月扩展到支持全球 100,000 余名员工。

展望未来,Siemens 相信,基于 Global Process 模板,Workday 解决方案将降低人力资本管理成本,增强员工和管理人员的人力资源体验,并加速集团正在进行的数字化转型。

Workday 部署


Workday 部署现已在 Siemens 95 个运营国家/地区的 35 个国家/地区中落实

访问人力资源自助服务


40,000 余名员工现可访问人力资源自助服务

IBM Services 一直是 Siemens 的宝贵支持来源,我们期待共同努力,将 Workday 解决方案的优势带给我们全球所有员工。 Olaf Reichert 高级 IT 经理兼开发服务主管 Siemens AG
确定全新人才需求

自 1847 年以来,Siemens 已发展成为欧洲最大的工业制造公司,重点专注于工业产品、能源、医疗保健、城市基础架构。 Siemens 一直在寻找创新方法来更好地服务其全球客户。 为了实现这一目标,Siemens 制定了数字化转型战略。

该战略旨在通过简化公司结构实现长期业务增长和更高盈利能力。 因此,Siemens Group 将 Siemens AG、Siemens Healthineers AG 和 Siemens Energy AG 拆分为独立公司,在共享生态系统中合作,分享共同利益和服务。

人才一直是这项持续转型计划的动力。 Siemens 高级 IT 经理兼开发服务主管 Olaf Reichert 解释道:“近年来,整个集团所需的技能和能力多样性大幅增长。 例如,通过收购 Mendix 低代码平台,Siemens 扩大了其解决方案组合,进而扩大了其领域和 IT 专业知识。”

不同的人力资本管理系统会增加成本

过去,各国依赖自己的人力资本管理系统和流程,包括日常人力资源管理以及薪资处理和人才管理等功能。 根据产品路线图,全球使用的许多核心人力资本管理系统已接近终止支持,Siemens 意识到采用另一种方法的宝贵机会。

“以前,各个地点使用本地基础架构来运行自己的人力资本管理系统,”Reichert 继续说道。 “这种工作方式不仅增加了我们的成本,还显着增加了人力资源共享服务以及 IT 角度支持的复杂性。 从员工的角度来看,旧方法提供的自助服务能力有限,这可能会使完成常见的人力资源旅程变得非常耗时。 为了解决这些挑战,同时增强员工体验并从 SaaS 产品中受益,我们决定用统一、一致的标准取代不同的全球流程。”

Siemens 正在寻找一种解决方案,以便在人力资源部门和全球共享服务组织的推动下,加速推广一种人力资源管理方法供 Siemens 所有三家公司共同采用。

寻找集成解决方案

为了实现这一愿景,Siemens 人力资源部、全球共享服务部和 IT 部发布了新人力资本管理解决方案的征求建议书。 经过深入评估后,Siemens 确定,由 IBM 行业和技术专家团队落实的基于云的 Workday 解决方案最适合其数字化转型目标。

“我们的 RFP 包括职能人力资源和 IT 标准,”Reichert 评论道。 “在功能方面,我们正在寻找一种解决方案,为管理人员和员工的常见人力资源用例提供顺畅旅程。 在 IT 方面,我们的目标是提供一种能够简化管理、维护和支持要求的解决方案,让我们的全球共享服务团队能够将更多时间花在增值活动上。 在我们考虑的所有解决方案中,Workday 人力资本管理给我们留下了最深刻的印象。 Workday 的先进人力资本管理功能与 IBM 在类似大型人力资源项目方面的丰富经验相结合,让我们相信我们可实现简单人力资源流程和精益 IT 服务配置的目标。”

Reichert 继续说道:“我们渴望避免手动集成工作成本和复杂性,因此,对于 Workday 提供一整套完全集成的解决方案(包括缺勤管理、薪酬和人才管理(全部通过云交付)),我们无法抗拒。 在征求建议过程中,Workday 解决方案在用户体验方面也远远超过了其他供应商,这让我们确信这是最佳选择。 至关重要的是,经过认证的 IBM 员工与 Workday 之间的密切战略关系从一开始就让我们高枕无忧,因为我们的 IBM 项目团队拥有充分的利用这些新移动功能的专业知识,帮助我们取代本地纸张流程以及旧式人力资本管理系统,提高灵活性并支持全球人力资源产品。”

选择久经考验的合作伙伴

在规划阶段的早期,Siemens 与 Siemens AG、Siemens Healthineers AG 和 Siemens Energy AG 共同确定了其全球推广方法,即将国家/地区聚集在一起进行区域推广。 然而,即使这种集群方法也需要多达 10 个独立的 Workday 实例,在落实过程中也要创建大约 30 个并行工作流。 为了帮助管理这种复杂性、降低业务风险并加速部署,Siemens 聘请了 IBM Services 的专家支持。

“我们强烈推荐 IBM Services,从一开始我就知悉,IBM 拥有深厚的技术知识和全球项目经验,可帮助我们取得成功,”Reichert 回忆道。 IBM 本身使用 Workday 解决方案,并使用他们自己的顾问和技术资源在内部实施该解决方案,这一事实让我们确信我们的选择很可靠。”

Siemens 与 IBM Services 合作,决定开始在其欧洲西南部地区落实 Workday 人力资本管理。 这一全套部署包括用于缺勤管理、薪酬和人才管理的应用程序以及与现有旧式人力资源薪资系统的集成。 对于世界其他地区,Siemens 选择首先部署 Workday 人才管理,然后逐个国家逐步引入其余解决方案组件。 为了促进这一推广,Siemens 利用其现有的IBM Watson 技术实例通过 AI 功能丰富人力资源流程。

“我们的许多全球人力资本管理系统都是根据当地司法管辖区的具体法律和税务要求进行深度定制的,特别是我们的旧式薪资解决方案,”Reichert 解释道。 “IBM 帮助我们发现了加速部署基于Global Process 的新解决方案,方法是将类似的国家/地区集中到区域推广中,例如创建“欧州西南部地区”。 事实证明,IBM 的这一建议以及 IBM 的全球足迹非常有价值,因为它使我们能够避免尝试同时重新设计多个国家/地区特定的流程的巨大复杂性。”

 

创新方法

在 Workday 人力资本管理的初始部署过程中,IBM 开发了一种创新方法来帮助简化解决方案在全球其他地区的推广。 该方法名为 IBM Factory Method,由可重复的模式和模板(例如 Global Process 模板)驱动,并覆盖了强大的治理框架和用于评估和批准 Workday 解决方案的特定于国家/地区的变更请求的标准方法。

Reichert 补充道:“IBM Factory Method 所带来的效率给我们留下了深刻的印象。 通过落实与 IBM Services 合作开发的最佳实践方法,我们将能够更快地用 Workday 的产品替换世界各地的旧式人力资本管理系统。”

实现顺利部署

通过遵循 IBM Factory Method,Siemens 已在欧洲和亚太地区的 35 个国家/地区成功部署了 Workday 的人力资源管理和人才管理流程。 Siemens 预计将在未来 24 个月内完成推广,远远早于当前人力资本管理系统的报废期限。 为了专注于核心业务,Siemens 聘请 IBM Application Management Services 提供持续维护和支持。

“这是一个涉及 30 个并行工作流的复杂项目,但 IBM Services 帮助我们克服了这种复杂性并实现了 Workday 解决方案的顺利部署,包括在全球整体业务中大力落实 Workday 人才管理解决方案,”Reichert 评论道。 “IBM 使我们能够在 Siemens 所有三家公司的 Workday 中发挥协同效应和成本效率,IBM 团队的专业精神给我们留下了深刻的印象。”

 

卓越的人力资源基础

随着 Workday 解决方案的部署加快,Siemens 相信人力资源流程的全球标准化将释放成本效益并增强员工体验。

“随着我们继续从旧式人力资本管理系统转向通过 Workday 云提供的特定 Global Process,我们将创造机会停止使用昂贵的本地部署基础架构,”Reichert 说。 “与此同时,协调我们的全球人力资源政策和流程将使我们的全球共享服务组织能够更有效地为全球业务提供人力资本管理功能,并改善为全球业务组织提供的支持。”

最重要的是,IBM 支持的新 Workday 解决方案使 Siemens 能够巩固其作为全球首选雇主的地位,帮助其吸引、留住和培养所需人才,将其转型为数字化公司。

“如今,Siemens 遍布 35 个国家/地区的 40,000 名员工可直接通过智能手机安全、便捷地访问自助人力资源功能,”Reichert 评论道。 “科技领域的顶尖人才越来越希望雇主允许他们通过数字渠道与人力资源部门快速流畅地互动。 我们相信,我们与 IBM 和 Workday 合作的项目在帮助我们满足这一行业需求方面发挥着重要作用。”

规划未来

Siemens 已经在计划如何在 Workday 和 IBM 的成功基础上再接再厉。 Siemens 正在研究部署 Workday Prism 的可能性,以对全球劳动力进行更深入的分析,并部署 Workday Cloud Platform,通过Siemens 更多特有的人力资源功能来丰富当前的 Workday 产品。

“我们当前的目标之一是推动 Workday 解决方案的采用,并为我们的人员提供从平台获得最大价值所需的信息,”Reichert 补充道。 “在之前与 IBM 的合作中,Siemens 创建了由 IBM Watson 技术支持的人力资源支持虚拟助理:CARL。 我们计划使用 CARL 来回答员工有关 Workday 的问题——全部采用自然语言,并且全天候提供服务。”

基于与 IBM Services 的积极合作经验,Siemens计划继续密切合作。 Reichert 总结道:“如果我必须为开展人力资本管理转型项目的公司提供以下建议:从一开始就选择合适的合作伙伴,以确保及时、高质、经济、高效地进行实施、部署和操作。 IBM Services 一直是 Siemens 的宝贵支持来源,我们期待共同努力,将 Workday 产品的优势带给我们全球所有员工”。

Siemens Group 徽标
关于 Siemens Group

Siemens(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)总部位于德国慕尼黑,是一家专注于工业、基础架构、移动和医疗保健(例如资源节约型工厂、弹性供应链、智能建筑、智能电网和先进交通)的技术公司。Siemens Group 在全球拥有约 293,000 名员工,年收入约 570 亿欧元。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM Workday 咨询服务

我们将云和人工智能技术的力量应用到 Workday 实施中,从而成功实现财务和人力资源转型

了解更多信息
人力资源转型服务

通过以员工为中心的设计、创新技术和动态运营模型重塑您的人力资源部门

了解更多信息
业务咨询服务

将员工的专业知识与数据和先进技术整合到您的业务战略中,加速转型

了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Services, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Services 以及 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 ibm.com/trademark 网站上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Siemens strengthens its position as a global employer of choice

Maintaining strong talent management with integrated HR solutions from IBM and Workday
Global Business Services
8-minute read

Siemens Group is driving far-reaching digital transformation, and delivering cutting-edge products, solutions and services, in industries ranging from software development to energy and healthcare. A deep talent bench is crucial to support operational and customer-service excellence — and to realize its transformation vision.

The company knew that offering a high-quality HR experience would be crucial to achieve this goal. To shape smooth HR journeys and meet its talent objectives, Siemens engaged experts from IBM Services® to help rearchitect and streamline human capital management (HCM) activities for managers and employees alike.

Based on Workday Human Capital Management with Workday Absence Management, Workday Compensation and Workday Talent Management, the new cloud-based solution currently supports approximately 40,000 employees across 35 countries with core HCM capabilities — and will be extended to more than 100,000 employees globally within the next 24 months.

Looking ahead, Siemens is confident that, based on a Global Process Template, the Workday solutions will reduce HCM costs, enhance the HR experience for employees and managers and accelerate the group’s ongoing digital transformation.

Workday deployment now live for

35 of 95

Siemens countries

More than

40,000

employees can now access HR self-services

IBM Services has been an invaluable source of support to Siemens, and we look forward to working together to bring the benefits of Workday solutions to all our global employees.
Olaf Reichert
Senior IT Manager and Head of Development Services, Siemens AG

Identifying new talent imperatives

Since 1847, Siemens has grown into the largest industrial manufacturing company in Europe, with business operations focused on industrial products, energy, healthcare, infrastructure and cities. The organization is always looking for innovative ways to better serve its global customers. To achieve this goal, Siemens set out a digital transformation strategy.

This strategy aims to enable long-term business growth and stronger profitability through a simplified corporate structure. As a result, the group separated Siemens AG, Siemens Healthineers AG and Siemens Energy AG into independent companies, which collaborate within a shared ecosystem of common interests and services.

Talent has been the engine of this ongoing transformation program. Olaf Reichert, Senior IT Manager and Head of Development Services at Siemens AG, explains: “In recent years, the variety of skills and competencies required across the group has grown substantially. For example, with the acquisition of the Mendix low-code platform, Siemens has broadened its solution portfolio and subsequently its domain and IT expertise.”

People doing Tai Chi outside in the city

Disparate HCM systems drive costs

Female coder with computer reflection in her glasses

In the past, countries relied on their own systems and processes for HCM, including day-to-day HR administration as well as capabilities such as payroll processing and talent management. Many of the core HCM systems in use globally were nearing end-of-support based upon the product roadmap, and Siemens recognized a valuable opportunity for a different approach.

“Previously, locations used on-premises infrastructure to run their own HCM systems,” continues Reichert. “As well as driving up our costs, this way of working significantly increased the complexity of support from the HR shared services as well as from the IT perspective. From the employee point of view, the old approach offered limited self-service capability, which could make it time-consuming to complete common HR journeys. To solve these challenges while enhancing the employee experience as well as to benefit from SaaS offerings, we decided to replace disparate global processes with unified, consistent standards.”

Siemens looked for solutions that would allow a common and accelerated rollout approach to HR management across all three Siemens companies, driven by HR and the Global Shared Services organization.

Searching for an integrated solution

To make its vision a reality, Siemens HR, Global Shared Services and the IT department issued a request for proposals (RFP) for a new HCM solution. After an in-depth evaluation process, the company determined that cloud-based Workday solutions — implemented by a team of industry and technology experts from IBM — were the best fit for its digital transformation target.

“Our RFP included both functional HR and IT criteria,” comments Reichert. “On the functional side, we were looking for a solution that would deliver frictionless journeys for common HR use cases — both for managers and for employees. On the IT side, we were targeting a solution that would simplify our management, maintenance and support requirements, freeing our Global Shared Services team to spend more time on value-added activities. Of all the solutions we considered, we were most impressed with Workday Human Capital Management. The combination of advanced HCM capabilities from Workday and IBM’s deep experience around similar large-scale HR projects convinced us that we could hit our goals for simple HR processes and lean IT service provisioning.”

A team collaborating
three coworkers looking at a tablet

Reichert continues: “We were keen to avoid the cost and complexity of manual integration work, so the fact that Workday offers a fully integrated suite of solutions, including Absence Management, Compensation and Talent Management — all delivered from the cloud — was very compelling. During the RFP, the Workday solution also far surpassed other vendors in terms of the user experience, which convinced us it was the optimal choice. Crucially, the close strategic relationship between a certified IBM workforce and Workday gave us the peace of mind from the beginning that our IBM project team had the know-how to make the best possible use of these new mobile capabilities — helping us to replace local paper processes as well as legacy HCM systems, increase flexibility and support global HR offerings.”

Selecting a proven partner

Early in the planning stage, Siemens defined its global rollout approach jointly with its businesses — Siemens AG, Siemens Healthineers AG and Siemens Energy AG — clustering the countries for regional rollouts. However, even this clustered approach required up to 10 separate Workday instances, creating approximately 30 parallel workstreams for the implementation. To help manage this complexity, reduce business risk and accelerate deployment, Siemens engaged expert support from IBM Services.

“IBM Services came to us highly recommended, and from the very beginning it was clear that IBM had the deep technology know-how and global project experience that would help us succeed,” recalls Reichert. “The fact that IBM uses Workday solutions itself — and implemented the solution internally using their own consultants and technical resources — reassured us that we were in safe hands.”

A person having a video conference
Worker at computer

Working with IBM Services, Siemens decided to begin the implementation of Workday Human Capital Management in its Southwestern Europe region. This full-suite deployment included apps for Absence Management, Compensation and Talent Management, as well as the integration with the existing legacy HR payroll system. For the rest of the world, the company elected to deploy Workday Talent Management first, and introduce the remaining solution components gradually on a country-by-country basis. In order to facilitate the rollout, Siemens used its existing instance of IBM Watson® technology to enrich HR processes with AI capabilities.

“Many of our global HCM systems are heavily customized, based on the specific legal and tax requirements of the local jurisdiction — particularly our legacy payroll solutions,” explains Reichert. “IBM helped us identify an opportunity to accelerate the deployment of the new solutions based on a Global Process template by clustering similar countries into a regional rollout, for example creating the ‘Southwestern Europe region.’ This recommendation from IBM as well as IBM’s global footprint proved extremely valuable, as it allowed us to avoid the significant complexity of attempting to redesign multiple country-specific processes at the same time.”

An innovative methodology

During the initial deployment of Workday Human Capital Management, IBM developed an innovative methodology to help streamline the rollout of the solutions to other global regions. Named the IBM Factory Method, the approach is driven by repeatable patterns and templates (such as the Global Process template), overlaid with robust governance frameworks and a standard approach for evaluating and approving country-specific change requests for the Workday solutions.

Reichert adds: “We are very impressed with the efficiencies we gain with the IBM Factory Method. By implementing best-practices approaches developed in collaboration with IBM Services, we will be able to replace legacy HCM systems around the world with Workday’s offerings significantly faster.”

Team collaborating at a conference table

Achieving a smooth deployment

coworkers looking at a computer

By following the IBM Factory Method, Siemens has successfully deployed Workday’s HR Admin and Talent Management processes in 35 countries across Europe and Asia Pacific. The company predicts that rollout will be completed within the next 24 months — well ahead of the end-of-life deadline for its current HCM systems. To allow Siemens to focus on core activities, the company engaged IBM® Application Management Services to deliver ongoing maintenance and support.

“This is a complex project involving 30 parallel workstreams, but IBM Services helped us cut through this complexity and achieve smooth deployment of our Workday solutions — including a big-bang implementation of Workday Talent Management across the entire global business,” comments Reichert. “IBM has enabled us to unlock synergies and cost-efficiencies for Workday across all three Siemens companies, and we are very impressed with the IBM team’s professionalism.”

The foundations for HR excellence

As it speeds ahead with deployment of the Workday solutions, Siemens is confident that global standardization for HR processes will unlock cost-efficiencies and enhance the employee experience.

“As we continue to move away from legacy HCM systems to the defined Global Process provided via the Workday cloud, we will create opportunities to decommission costly on-premises infrastructure,” says Reichert. “At the same time, harmonizing our global HR policies and processes will allow our Global Shared Services organization to deliver HCM capabilities to the global business more efficiently, and improve the support delivered to global business organizations.”

Most importantly, the new Workday solutions enabled by IBM empowers Siemens to strengthen its position as a global employer of choice — helping it to attract, retain and develop the talent it needs to transform Siemens into a digital company.

“Today, 40,000 Siemens employees across 35 countries can access self-service HR capabilities securely and conveniently right from their smartphone,” comments Reichert. “Top talent in the tech space increasingly expects employers to allow them to interact with HR quickly and seamlessly via the digital channels. We believe our project with IBM and Workday is playing an important role in helping us to satisfy this industry imperative.”

Man using digital tablet

Planning for the future

Two coworkers collaborating at a whiteboard

Siemens is already planning ways to build on its successes with Workday and IBM. The company is investigating the possibility of deploying Workday Prism to enable deeper analytics insights into global workforce, and Workday Cloud Platform to enrich the current Workday offering with further Siemens-specific HR functionality.

“One of our current objectives is to drive adoption of the Workday solutions and equip our personnel with the information they need to get maximum value from the platform,” adds Reichert. “In a previous engagement with IBM, Siemens created a virtual assistant for HR support powered by IBM Watson technology: CARL. We plan to use CARL to answer employee questions about Workday — all in natural language, and available 24x7.”

Based on its positive experiences with IBM Services, Siemens plans to continue its close collaboration. Reichert concludes: “If I had to give one piece of advice for a company embarking on a HCM transformation project, it would be to choose the right partner from the very beginning in order to ensure a timely, high-quality and cost-efficient implementation, deployment and operations. IBM Services has been an invaluable source of support to Siemens, and we look forward to working together to bring the benefits of Workday’s offering to all our global employees.”

Siemens Group logo

About Siemens Group

Headquartered in Munich, Germany, SiemensExternal Link is a technology company focused on industry, infrastructure, mobility and healthcare. Examples include resource-efficient factories, resilient supply chains, smarter buildings, intelligent grids and advanced transportation. Siemens Group employs around 293,000 people worldwide, generating around EUR 57 billion in annual revenue.

Solution components
Siemens Group logo

About Siemens Group

Headquartered in Munich, Germany, SiemensExternal Link is a technology company focused on industry, infrastructure, mobility and healthcare. Examples include resource-efficient factories, resilient supply chains, smarter buildings, intelligent grids and advanced transportation. Siemens Group employs around 293,000 people worldwide, generating around EUR 57 billion in annual revenue.

Solution components