113% 解决方案 — 如何加快电子商务增长
三星与 IBM Consulting 合作推出新的数字销售平台
天花板上的彩色灯光的电子抽象图

三星电子是韩国最大企业集团三星集团的旗舰企业,年销售额超过 2000 亿美元,位居韩国企业 500 强榜首。从手机和设备到数字电视和家用电器,三星在本国的消费电子产品市场上占据着主导地位。

然而,直到最近,这种主导地位还没有延伸到三星销售结构的关键渠道—其韩国电子商务平台。

多年来,三星建立并运营了一系列网站,直接向消费者、企业和员工推销其各种产品。每个网站都由不同的供应商组织进行管理。但随着网站的发展,产品种类和项目的增多,管理这些平台的成本和复杂性也随之增加。

此外,企业对员工(B2E)网站的表现也未达到预期。“三星员工电子商城的导航速度非常慢且笨拙,”三星电子商店规划成员 Minjung Kim 说道。“事实上,很难说该网站实际上是一个电子商务商城。更换横幅和登记产品等基本操作需要太多的准备时间。就我们的 B2B 网站而言,由于网站由第三方托管,我们在支付佣金方面也遇到了问题。”

三星平台团队成员 Daeho Na 说:“我们的目标是通过改善客户体验来增加电子商务网站的收入。”“传统系统无法满足韩国用户的期望,因此我们的团队决定建立一个全新的统一数字电子商务平台。”

113%

 

第一年,B2C 电子商务收入增长 113%,从 1.55 亿美元增至 3.3 亿美元

准时

 

按时完成并以经济实惠的方式管理变更和更新,从而满足严格的开发和交付计划

与 IBM 团队合作的最大优势在于他们的灵活性和对成本效益的执着追求。它们始终与客户的关键绩效指标保持一致。 Daeho Na 平台团队成员 三星电子有限公司
复杂性高于竞争力

随着三星增加了 B2B、B2C 和 B2E 电子商务平台,它还建立了一个供应商名册来开发、维护和更新每个网站。平台供应商彼此独立运营,单个平台作为独立实体运行。

在三星既有的电子商务平台变得更加复杂、更难管理的同时,动态的电子商务市场仍在快速变化。更多的消费电子产品竞争者加入进来,争夺三星的客户。此外,三星加快了新产品发布和营销活动的节奏,这就要求网站开发人员更快地更新内容。

三星现有的混合环境无法满足在韩国竞争异常激烈的电子商务领域竞争和销售增长所需的运行速度。维护响应时间很慢,而且三星在进行更新时要向供应商收取费用。随着成本的增加和运营灵活性的降低,三星平台经理开始探索其他选择。

三星经理得出的结论是,他们的电子商务平台供应商更感兴趣的是采用最新技术,而不是改善网站访客体验或提高销售业绩。“他们专注于新技术来扩大服务范围,但这离电子商务业务的核心太远了,”Na 说。

当网站供应商专注于技术的战术方面时,三星的平台经理则专注于总体电子商务战略,以提高客户参与度和销售收入。“电子商务应该专注于增加客户访问我们网站并进行购买的次数,”Na 说。 “这就是我们在三星电子商务平台上需要遵循的战略方针。”

提高效率的综合平台

为了审查其电子商务业务转型的备选方案,三星对供应商进行了全面评估。“我们想要一家在电子商务开发和运营方面拥有丰富经验的供应商,”Na 说。 “之所以选择 IBM,是因为他们了解我们的战略,并建议我们在旧版系统之外构建一个集成平台。其他竞争对手都没有考虑过这样的方法或系统。”

凭借 IBM® 应用程序管理服务证明了运营专业知识, IBM 咨询提供了战略意见和洞察分析,三星将其数字营销平台整合到一个单一的电子商务平台中,为韩国的主要市场提供服务。在整个过程中,三星的经理非常感谢 IBM 的协助,使他们能够从现有技术和新兴技术中挖掘出更多价值,从而实现长期的业务影响。

“我选择 IBM 进行此次转型的另一个原因是它的价格竞争力,”Kim 说。 “但主要原因是 IBM 承诺按期交货。我们内部认为,如果 IBM 不参与该项目,这将是一个不可能完成的计划。”

除了咨询和应用程序管理服务外,IBM 还通过 IBM 混合云解决方案 提供混合云管理服务。三星的电子商务基础架构部署在其所有本地部署和云环境中,采用全面一致的方法进行开发和部署。

除了要满足紧迫的交付计划外,三星还在寻找一家能够快速更新平台内容的供应商,以便网站能够响应市场需求,继续提供引人入胜的用户体验。

“IBM 提供了做出改变的灵活性,这是以前的供应商所不具备的,”Kim 说。 “与 IBM 团队合作的最大优势在于他们的灵活性和对成本效益的执着追求。它们始终与客户的关键绩效指标保持一致。”

雄心勃勃的期望,令人瞩目的成果

在运营的第一年,新的统一 Samsung.com 平台带来的销售额增长了一倍多。B2C 电子商务销售额从 1.55 亿美元增长到 3.3 亿美元,增幅达 113%。有助于提高销售业绩的成功因素包括用户体验大为改善,能够快速更改和更新内容,以及通过中央运营结构简化管理。

“为了取得这一成果,三星和 IBM 的团队成员付出了巨大的努力,”Kim 说。 “IBM 在早期阶段就稳定了运营,这是我们第一次看到联络中心取得了显着的改善。”

三星员工对新的 B2E 平台尤为满意。三星内部公告板上分享了基于员工用户体验的积极反馈。

与许多经历重大变革的组织一样,一些利益相关者最初对转型的范围和规模表示担忧。“例如,当我们做出改变时,最大的分销商之一就持否定态度,”Na 说。 “然而,当他们看到收入增加了多少后,他们完全改变了立场。IBM 最重要的贡献体现在收入的增长上。”

继续拓展电子商务的平台

通过设计和开发现代化、灵活的电子商务基础设施,三星已做好充分准备,通过其 B2C、B2B 和 B2E 渠道继续扩大在韩国的销售。三星-IBM 团队将继续为电子商务市场带来创新理念,使 Samsung.com 能够为用户提供他们所期望的市场领导者那里获得的商品和数字体验。

在 2022 年 1 月于拉斯维加斯举行的 CES 展销会上,三星宣布了一项旨在打造一个更加可持续、定制化和互联的未来的倡议,其主题为“携手共创明天”。明年,三星将推出新产品,帮助消费者实现更加完美的智能家居体验,而 Samsung.com 平台将在展示和销售这些产品方面发挥重要作用。

“为了支持未来的增长,IBM 使我们能够添加实时商务和团购等现代化电子商务功能,这对我们来说非常重要,”Kim 说。 “我们期望 IBM 能够引领并继续提出更多行业领先的电子商务趋势。”

三星徽标
关于三星电子有限公司

三星 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1969 年,是韩国三星集团的主要子公司,也是亚洲最大的电子产品生产商。三星有三个业务部门: 消费电子、IT 和移动通信以及设备解决方案。该公司在韩国拥有超过 113000 名员工,总部位于水原市。

接下来:
在新冠疫情时期进行现代化运作 罗德岛州 将混合现实技术引入信息传递 2Mee 通过业务流程自动化投资未来 TD Ameritrade
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 3 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade 网站上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

The 113% solution — how to accelerate e-commerce growth

Samsung launches a new digital sales platform with IBM Consulting
by Mike Tucker
7-minute read

With over USD 200 billion in annual sales, Samsung Electronics — the flagship of South Korea’s leading conglomerate Samsung Group — ranks first on the list of South Korea’s top 500 companies. From mobile phones and devices to digital TVs and home appliances, Samsung dominates the consumer electronics marketplace in its home country.

However, until recently, this dominance did not extend through key channels of Samsung’s sales structure — its South Korean e-commerce platforms.

For years, Samsung built and operated a portfolio of websites to market its wide variety of products directly to consumers, businesses and employees. Each website was managed by a different vendor organization. But as the websites grew and offered more product categories and items, so did the cost and complexity of managing these platforms.

In addition, the performance of the business-to-employee (B2E) website was not meeting expectations. “The Samsung employee e-mall was very slow and clumsy to navigate,” says Minjung Kim, E-store Planning Member at Samsung. “In fact, it was hard to say that the site actually was an e-commerce mall. Basic operations such as changing banners and registering products required too much lead time. And in the case of our B2B site, we also had issues with paying commission fees because the site was hosted by a third party.”

“Our goal was to increase the revenue generated by our e-commerce sites by improving the customer experience,” says Daeho Na, Platform Team Member at Samsung. “The legacy systems were not able to meet the expectations of our South Korean users, so our team decided to build a brand new, unified digital e-commerce platform.”

Samsung product demo at 2020 CES

In the first year, increased B2C e-commerce revenue by

113%

from USD 155 million to USD 330 million

Met an aggressive development and delivery schedule

on time

and managed changes and updates cost-effectively

The biggest advantages of working with the IBM team are their agility and dedication to cost-efficiency. They always align with the client’s key performance indicators.
Daeho Na
Platform Team Member, Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
Samsung Home Hub on digital tablet
Putting complexity over competitiveness

As Samsung added B2B, B2C and B2E e-commerce platforms, it also built a roster of vendors to develop, maintain and update each website. Platform vendors worked independently of each other and individual platforms operated as standalone entities.

While Samsung’s established e-commerce platforms became more complex and more difficult to manage, the dynamic e-commerce marketplace continued to change rapidly. More consumer electronics competitors came online and vied for Samsung’s customers. In addition, Samsung increased the tempo of new product launches and marketing campaigns, which required website developers to refresh content faster.

Samsung’s existing hybrid environment was not built to run at the speed required to compete and grow sales in South Korea’s hyper-competitive e-commerce arena. Maintenance response times were slow and Samsung incurred charges from vendors when updates were made. As costs increased and operational flexibility decreased, Samsung platform managers began to explore other options.

Samsung managers concluded that their e-commerce platform vendors were more interested in implementing the latest technologies than improving the website visitor experience or boosting sales performance. “They were focusing on new technology to expand their service scope, but this went too far away from the core of e-commerce business,” says Na.

While the website vendors dwelt on the tactical aspects of technology, Samsung’s platform managers were focusing on an overarching e-commerce strategy to drive increased customer engagement and sales revenue. “E-commerce should focus on increasing the number of times customers visit our websites and make purchases,” says Na. “This was the strategic approach that we needed to follow for Samsung’s e-commerce platforms.”

Samsung trade show product display
A consolidated platform for greater efficiency
Samsung keynote presentation at 2022 CES

To review options for transforming its e-commerce business, Samsung conducted a thorough evaluation of vendors. “We wanted a vendor with proven experience on e-commerce development and operation,” says Na. “IBM was selected because they grasped our strategy and suggested that we build an integrated platform apart from our legacy system. None of the other competitors had such an approach or system in mind.”

With IBM® Application Management Services proving the operational expertise and IBM Consulting providing strategic input and insights, Samsung combined its digital marketing platforms under a single e-commerce platform to serve the key South Korea market. Throughout the process, Samsung’s managers appreciated IBM’s assistance in unlocking more value from existing and emerging technologies to deliver long-term business impact.

“Another reason why I chose IBM for this transformation was its price competitiveness,” says Kim. “But the major reason was IBM’s commitment to the delivery due date. Internally, we believed that this would be an impossible schedule if IBM was not on the project.”

In addition to consulting and application management services, IBM also provided hybrid cloud management services through IBM Hybrid Cloud Solutions. Samsung’s e-commerce infrastructure was deployed across all of its on-premises and cloud environments, using a comprehensive and consistent approach for development and deployment.

In addition to meeting an aggressive delivery schedule, Samsung was looking for a vendor that could make updates to platform content quickly, so the websites could be responsive to market demand and continue to provide engaging user experiences.

“IBM offered the flexibility to make changes, an attitude that the previous vendors did not have,” says Kim. “The biggest advantages of working with the IBM team are their agility and dedication to cost-efficiency. They always align with the client’s key performance indicators.”

Ambitious expectations, impressive results

During the first year of operation, sales generated by the new, unified Samsung.com platform more than doubled. B2C e-commerce sales grew from USD 155 million to USD 330 million, a 113% increase. Success factors contributing to increased sales performance included a much-improved user experience, the ability to make changes and updates to content quickly and streamlined management through a central operational structure.

“The Samsung and IBM members of the team worked very hard to deliver this outcome,” says Kim. “IBM stabilized the operation at an early stage, and it was the first time where we saw remarkable improvements made at the contact center.”

Samsung employees were especially pleased with their new B2E platform. Positive feedback based on employee user experiences was shared on Samsung’s internal bulletin boards.

As is common with many organizations experiencing significant changes, some stakeholders expressed initial concerns with the scope and scale of the transformation. “For example, there was a negative stance from one of the biggest distributors when we made the changes,” said Na. “However, they completely reversed their position when they saw how much the revenue increased. The most important contribution made from IBM is proven with the revenue growth.”

Samsung Circulus product demo at trade show
A platform for continued e-commerce expansion
Samsung employee C-Lab innovation center (Magpie childhood growth device)

As a result of designing and developing a modernized and flexible e-commerce infrastructure, Samsung is well-positioned to continue growing sales in South Korea through its B2C, B2B and B2E channels. The Samsung-IBM team will continue bringing innovative ideas to the e-commerce marketplace, enabling Samsung.com to provide users the merchandise and digital experience they expect from a market leader.

At the January 2022 CES trade show in Las Vegas, Samsung announced an initiative to build a more sustainable, customized and connected future expressed by the theme, “Together for Tomorrow.” During the next year, Samsung will roll out new products to help consumers make smart home experiences more seamless and the Samsung.com platform will play a prominent role in showcasing and selling these products.

“To support future growth, IBM has enabled us to add modernized e-commerce features such as live commerce and group deals, which have been great for us,” says Kim. “We expect IBM to lead and continue suggesting more industry-leading trends in e-commerce.”

Samsung logo

About Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.

Founded in 1969, SamsungExternal Link is the chief subsidiary of South Korea’s Samsung Group and the largest electronics producer in Asia. Samsung has three business units: Consumer Electronics, IT and Mobile Communications, and Device Solutions. The firm has over 113,000 employees in South Korea and is headquartered in Suwon-Si.

Solution components
Samsung logo

About Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.

Founded in 1969, SamsungExternal Link is the chief subsidiary of South Korea’s Samsung Group and the largest electronics producer in Asia. Samsung has three business units: Consumer Electronics, IT and Mobile Communications, and Device Solutions. The firm has over 113,000 employees in South Korea and is headquartered in Suwon-Si.

Solution components