“当我站在西伯利亚冻土带上研究冻土融化的影响时,不禁想到,气候变化的加快速度要远远超过模型预测的速度,”Matthew Moroney 说道。 为了积极寻找解决方案,Moroney 放弃了科学研究,开始从事环境工程和清洁能源项目开发工作。

与此同时,Franz Hochstrasser 于 2008 年加入了巴拉克·奥巴马的总统竞选团队,他在美国政府和白宫任职期间为应对气候变化而战。 他帮助实施了美国历史上最大规模的清洁能源投资,启动了总统的气候行动计划,并在联合国气候变化大会 (COP-21) 上帮助谈判达成《巴黎协定》。 现在,他们已前往格拉斯哥参加 COP-26 大会,以一种新的方式加速部署清洁能源,并让更多的人参与进来,为气候解决方案筹措资金。

Moroney 和 Hochstrasser 是在耶鲁大学攻读环境管理研究生学位时相识的。 为了帮助环保解决方案更快地扩展数百倍,并为个人(不仅仅是政府和非营利组织)创造更好的途径来参与可持续发展事业,这两人共同创立了 Raise Green(链接位于 ibm.com 外部),这是一个面向气候解决方案的包容性影响力投资市场。 该公司为社区和个人赋能,帮助他们创建、资助、构建和运营自己的清洁能源项目。 Raise Green 将股权众筹与社区太阳能相结合,让每个人都能获得影响力投资。 社会经济地位较低的社区可以直接从清洁能源项目中获利,而投资者只需花费 100 美元就可以开始投资。

作为受监管行业中的一家初创企业,Raise Green 无法承担犯错带来的后果。 为了将其理念提升到更高水平,该公司选择与 IBM 合作,因为它是一家成熟可靠的技术和解决方案合作伙伴,在可持续发展项目、气候数据和能源领域有着丰富的经验。

将启动太阳能项目所需的平均时间缩短了

75%
从 10 个月缩短至 10 周

Raise Green 和 IBM 共同创建 Originator Engine POC 仅用了

8
星期

气候解决方案的复杂性

根据美国能源信息署的数据,2020 年,可再生能源约占美国国内生产电力的 20%。 到 2050 年,可再生能源必须占电力的 70%-85%,以便缓解气候危机造成的可怕影响。

考虑到这些统计数据,Raise Green 首席执行官 Hochstrasser 和 Raise Green 首席运营官 Moroney 在伦敦花了一周时间,与 IBM iX®(用户设计和体验专家)和 IBM Garage™(数字化转型框架)团队共同创建解决方案。 Raise Green 和 IBM 合并成立了一支专职团队,他们努力工作,尽情玩耍。 除了分享美食、在南岸酒吧聊足球、向 Moroney 介绍他的第一顿英式早餐,该团队还熬夜讨论了推出气候解决方案所面临的障碍。

风力涡轮机和太阳能电池板

“开发清洁能源项目远比想象的要难得多,”Hochstrasser 解释说,“在奥巴马政府工作期间,我亲眼目睹了地方和社区层面的太阳能和其他气候项目的融资难度有多大,因为设计、许可、签约和互联都需要专业知识。”平均而言,项目经理必须花费数小时的时间与律师商谈,仔细甄别当地的细微差异,耗费高昂的成本创建并提交 10 到 15 个复杂的法律文件。 他们必须获得融资,了解如何创建一家公司,得到许可,完成项目模型,研究监管合规,并安排施工投标。 一个社区规模的低端太阳能项目可能耗资 10 万美元。

即使是凭借联合创始人的知识和经验,在与 IBM 合作之前,Raise Green 的第一个试点项目也花了 10 个月的时间来开发。 纽黑文社区太阳能(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是一个社区规模的太阳能项目,以 25% 的折扣向非营利组织出售电力。 该项目开创了先河,取得了巨大的成功,但 Raise Green 希望找到一种方法,让没有商业或气候变化背景的普通人也能更快地启动类似项目。 这个解决方案就是 Originator Engine - 一个数字平台,任何人(无论经验或收入如何)借助这个平台都能驾驭复杂的太阳能项目开发工作。

以用户为中心的敏捷转型

“Originator Engine 精简了创建、资助和建设清洁能源项目的整个过程,”Hochstrasser 解释道,“每个公用事业、县和社区都有自己的一套法律和方法。 Originator Engine 将所有这些信息和区域数据考虑在内,因此这个解决方案可以推广至美国的任何地方。”

为了优化 Originator Engine 的愿景,该团队遵循了以用户为中心的 IBM Garage 敏捷方法,并直接进入到 IBM Garage Enterprise Design Thinking® 研讨会环节。“每个人,无论是一般企业还是初创公司,都应该花几天时间激发设计思维,因为这样才可以更快转型。”Moroney 说,“我有一个好朋友,他曾说,‘躲在瓶子里当然看不到瓶子外的标签。’设计思维就是让我们有机会从瓶子里跳出来,从各个不同的角度观察它。”

以用户为中心制定设计决策,有助于定义平台的轨迹。 为了捕捉用户洞察、痛点和商机,Raise Green 和 IBM 团队成员对五名用户进行了深入的访谈,并与数百名位于不同地域、具有不同技能、能力、爱好和动机的项目创建者进行了交谈。 该联合团队构建了客户旅程,并为“项目发起人”设计了一个用户角色 - 一个敬业的气候活动家,他希望创建并资助一个太阳能项目。 由于该用户不一定具有商业头脑或太阳能开发知识,因此团队包含了更强大的教育组件,用于培养知识和帮助理解。

年轻女孩看着太阳能电池板

由于最终用户需要教育和指导,IBM Garage 和 Raise Green 展开了合作,精简了工具并简化了用户体验。 在 Originator Engine 的第二轮开发中,团队更新了着重点,主要关注用户旅程以及如何为太阳能开发者和太阳能工程、采购和承包 (EPC) 公司找到融资渠道。 为了更好地实现这一目标,新开发内容包括能够快速上传新的法律模板,扩大软件工具的功能,为经验丰富的太阳能开发人员和教育人员提供材料。 反过来,这使得太阳能开发和气候风险投资的形式更加广泛多样,让更多的用户能够与 Originator Engine 合作,创建自己的项目,并通过包容性融资获得资金。

“Raise Green 旨在为每个人直接采取气候行动创造途径。 IBM Garage 班组运行了一个很棒的流程,非常紧凑,推动我们完成了构思阶段,”Hochstrasser 说道,“他们确实测试了我们的一些假设,并给予了我们动力, 让我们能够绘制出想要完成的大量积压工作。”

提速 4 倍的解决方案

Originator Engine 在 IBM Cloud® 上的 Red Hat® OpenShift® 容器平台上运行。 Raise Green 之所以选择 Red Hat OpenShift,是出于开源技术的灵活性,这使得这家初创公司能够将其平台扩展到其他可持续发展领域,提供定制方案,并可以访问第三方。 Raise Green 特别欣赏 Kubernetes 集群架构快速扩展和部署微服务的能力。

“IBM Garage 的一个真正强大之处在于它具有一定的深度,可以根据需要进行扩展,”Moroney 说,“在某些冲刺阶段,我们需要三到四名 Red Hat 公司的人员。 他们会出现在现场,而且他们已经了解了项目的所有情况。 他们会呆一周再离开。”

该团队使用 IBM iX Experience Orchestrator 和 IBM® Carbon Design System 开发了一个解决方案,速度提升了四倍,前者是帮助受监管行业创建、管理、发布和更新安全且复杂的个性化数字表单的软件组件,后者则是 IBM Cloud 平台的一整套视觉、用户体验和代码指南与标准。 结果,设计人员仅用了一周,就为 Originator Engine 创建了 72 个屏幕。 通过生成模板并将数千页文档聚合到标准化但可定制的主表单中,用户再也不必重复输入相同的信息了。 而且,这些表单可以轻松地集成到后端系统、业务规则和数据中。

一群人正在安装太阳能电池板

人人享有清洁能源

Raise Green 和 IBM 仅用了八周时间就对 Originator Engine 进行了概念验证 (POC)。 能够向投资者展示 POC,有助于筹集资金开发最小可行产品 (MVP),四个月后,Raise Green 推出了该产品。 这个工具广受好评,它已经赢得了一个奖项。 2021 年 7 月,Raise Green Originator Engine 击败高盛和美国银行等公司,在保险和金融服务类别,成为国际数据公司 (IDC) 未来数字创新奖(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)的得主。

Originator Engine 能够引导用户完成清洁能源项目开发的复杂过程,因此任何人(无论经验或收入如何)都可以创建新的太阳能业务并为此集资。 Originator Engine 的目标是让用户能够以大约加快 75% 的速度启动太阳能项目。 这一过程过去平均需要 10 个月,而现在有了 Originator Engine,平均只需要 10 周时间。 自 2020 年启动以来,Raise Green 已筹备了 100 多个新的商业项目,Originator Engine 目前每周收到三至五个项目。

Raise Green 预计,随着团队继续迭代现有 MVP,项目提交量将会大幅增加。 下一阶段的发展将侧重于建设和运行太阳能项目。 这些将包括用于项目融资的新模板化文档和定制文档、扩展的用户旅程和功能等。 为了创建一个能够为任何人提供工具来构建和运行太阳能项目的产品,Raise Green 依赖于 IBM Garage 及其以用户为中心的设计方法。 该公司还计划为其他地区和气候资产构建运营系统,如电动汽车充电站、风能和城市农场。

凭借干劲十足的联合创始人、灵活多变的技术和 IBM 的有力支持,Raise Green 为未来增长做足了准备,无论是在其业务上还是在公平影响力方面。“我们所致力于的这种平等在这个产品理念和交付中早已根深蒂固。 如果我们把人抛在身后,那么就无法过渡到清洁能源经济,”Hochstrasser 总结道,“激励我们的不仅仅是应对气候变化,还包括要让每个人都能发挥作用。”

Raise Green 徽标

关于 Raise Green

Raise Green(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是一家面向社区驱动项目融资的金融科技公司。 这家初创公司为所有人提供了必要的工具,帮助他们创建和直接投资气候解决方案项目,如社区太阳能。 Raise Green 总部位于马萨诸塞州萨默维尔,约有 10 名员工,成立于 2018 年。

解决方案组件

IBM® Carbon Design Systems
IBM Cloud®
IBM Garage™
IBM iX®
Red Hat® OpenShift®

希望企业彻底改变环境可持续性方法?

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Garage, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 11 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Enterprise Design Thinking、IBM Cloud、IBM Garage 和 IBM iX 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Red Hat® 和 OpenShift® 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家或地区的注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

“Standing on a Siberian tundra studying the effects of thawing permafrost, I was thinking about how climate change is accelerating far faster than the models are predicting,” says Matthew Moroney. To be an active part of the solution, Moroney left scientific research to work in environmental engineering and clean energy project development.

Meanwhile, Franz Hochstrasser joined Barack Obama’s presidential campaign in 2008 and fought to address climate change during his time in the US government and at the White House. He helped implement the largest clean energy investment in US history, launched the President’s climate action plan, and helped negotiate the Paris Agreement at the United Nations Climate Change Conference, COP-21. Now, they’re headed to Glasgow for COP-26 with a new way to accelerate the deployment of clean energy and get more people involved in financing climate solutions.

Moroney and Hochstrasser met at Yale University while studying for their graduate degrees in environmental management. To help green solutions scale hundreds of times faster and give individuals—not just governments and nonprofits—better ways to get involved with sustainability, the pair co-founded Raise Green (link resides outside of ibm.com), an inclusive impact investment marketplace for climate solutions. The company empowers communities and individuals to create, fund, build and run their own clean energy projects. Raise Green has combined equity crowdfunding with community solar to make impact investing accessible to everyone. Lower socioeconomic status communities can directly profit from a clean energy project, and investors can buy in for as little as USD 100 to get started.

As a startup in a regulated industry, Raise Green couldn’t afford to make mistakes. To take its concept to the next level, the company chose to work with IBM because of its reputation as an established and trusted technology and solutions partner with experience in sustainability projects, climate data and the energy sector.

Slashes the average time needed to launch a solar energy project by

75%

from 10 months to 10 weeks

Raise Green and IBM co-created the Originator Engine POC in only

8

weeks

Climate solution complexities

According to data from the US Energy Information Administration, renewable energy accounted for approximately 20% of the domestically produced electricity in the US in 2020. Renewables must make up 70%–85% of electricity by 2050 to mitigate the dire effects of the climate crisis.

With these statistics in mind, Hochstrasser, Raise Green Chief Executive Officer, and Moroney, Raise Green Chief Operating Officer, spent a week in London co-creating solutions with teams from IBM iX®—experts in user design and experience—and IBM Garage™—a framework for digital transformation. Raise Green and IBM merged into a single, dedicated team that worked hard and played hard. In addition to sharing meals, talking football at South Bank pubs and introducing Moroney to his first English breakfast, the team spent late nights discussing the roadblocks to launching climate solutions.

 

Wind turbines and solar panels

“Developing clean energy projects is much harder than it needs to be,” explains Hochstrasser. “Working in the Obama administration, I saw first-hand how solar and other climate projects at the local and community level are difficult to finance because getting them designed, permitted, contracted and interconnected requires specialized knowledge.” On average, project managers must create and submit 10-15 expensive, complicated legal documents that require hours of time negotiating with lawyers and navigating the maze of local nuances. They must secure financing, figure out how to create a company, pull permits, complete project models, research regulatory compliance and line up construction bids. On the low end, a community-scale solar project costs USD 100,000.

Even with the co-founders’ knowledge and experience, Raise Green’s first pilot project, prior to engaging IBM, took 10 months to develop. New Haven Community Solar (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a community-scale solar project that sells electricity at a 25% discount to a nonprofit. The project was the first of its kind and a huge success, but Raise Green wanted to find a way for regular people—with zero business or climate-change background—to launch a similar project much more quickly. The solution was the Originator Engine—a digital platform that allows anyone, regardless of experience or income, to navigate the complexities of solar project development.

 

Agile, user-centered transformation

“The Originator Engine streamlines and simplifies the whole process of creating, funding and building a clean energy project,” explains Hochstrasser. “Every utility, county and community has its own set of laws and approaches. The Originator Engine takes all of this information and regional data into account so the solution can scale to work anywhere in the US.”

To refine the vision for the Originator Engine, the team followed the agile, user-centered IBM Garage Methodology and jumped right into an IBM Garage Enterprise Design Thinking® Workshop. “Everyone, whether a corporation or startup, should take a few days and do design thinking because you can transform far faster,” says Moroney. “I have a good friend who says, ‘You can’t read the label when you’re in the bottle.’ Design thinking gave us the opportunity to get out of the bottle and look at it from all different sides.”

Keeping the user at the center of design decisions helped define the trajectory of the platform. To capture user insights, pain points and opportunities, Raise Green and IBM team members conducted in-depth interviews with five users and talked to hundreds of project creators of all different skills, abilities, geographies, passions and motivations. The joint team built customer journeys and designed a user persona for a “project originator”—a dedicated climate activist who wants to create and finance a solar project. Because the user doesn’t necessarily have business acumen or solar development knowledge, the team included stronger educational components to build knowledge and understanding.

Young girl looking at solar panels

As the end user requires education and guidance, IBM Garage and Raise Green work in collaboration to streamline the tool and simplify the user experience. In the second round of development on the Originator Engine, the teams have a renewed focuse on the user journey and how to unlock financing for solar developers and solar Engineering, Procurement and Contracting (EPC) companies. To best serve this purpose, new developments include the ability to rapidly upload new legal templates to expand the capabilities of the software tool, providing both materials for experienced solar developers and education. In turn, this enables more expansive forms of solar development and climate ventures, allowing a greater number of users to engage with the Originator Engine to create their own projects and get them funded through inclusive financing.

“Raise Green is built to give everyone a way to take direct climate action. The IBM Garage crew ran a great process, a really tight ship, and moved us through the ideation phases,” says Hochstrasser. “They really tested some of our assumptions and pushed us. We were able to map out an incredible breadth of a backlog of work that we want done.”

 

A solution 4x faster

The Originator Engine runs on the Red Hat® OpenShift® container platform on IBM Cloud®. Raise Green chose Red Hat OpenShift because of the open-source technology’s flexibility, which will allow the startup to extend its platform into other areas of sustainability, provide customizations and offer access to third parties. Raise Green especially liked the Kubernetes cluster architecture’s ability to scale rapidly and deploy microservices.

“A really powerful thing about IBM Garage is it has a deep bench and can scale as needed,” says Moroney. “There were certain sprints where we needed three or four different people from Red Hat. They would appear onsite, and they already knew all about the project. They would come in for a week and then disappear.”

The team developed a solution four times faster using IBM iX Experience Orchestrator—software components that help regulated industries create, manage, publish and update secure and complex personalized digital forms—and the IBM® Carbon Design System—a complete set of visual, user experience and code guidelines and standards for the IBM Cloud platform. As a result, in only a week, designers created 72 screens for the Originator Engine. By producing templates and aggregating thousands of pages of documents into standardized yet customizable master forms, a user never has to enter the same information twice. And, the forms can integrate easily into back-end systems, business rules and data.

A group of men installing solar panels

Clean energy for all

Raise Green and IBM delivered a proof of concept (POC) for the Originator Engine in only eight weeks. The ability to demonstrate the POC for investors helped raise funds to develop the minimal viable product (MVP), which Raise Green launched four months later. The tool has been so well received that it has already won an award. In July 2021, the Raise Green Originator Engine was selected as the winner of the International Data Corporation (IDC) Future of Digital Innovation Awards (link resides outside of ibm.com) in the Insurance and Financial Services category, beating out Goldman Sachs and Bank of America, among others.

The Originator Engine empowers users to navigate the complex process of clean energy project development, so anyone, regardless of experience or income, can create and crowd-fund a new solar business. The aim of the Originator Engine is to enable users to launch a solar energy project approximately 75% faster. This process used to average 10 months and now can average 10 weeks with the Originator Engine. Raise Green has more than 100 new business projects in its pipeline since the startup launched in 2020, and the Originator Engine currently receives three to five projects a week.

Raise Green expects to see a significant increase in project submissions as the team continues to iterate the existing MVP. The next phases of development will focus on building and running solar projects. These will include new templatized and customized documents for project finance, expanded user journeys and capabilities, and more. In order to create a product that provides anyone the tools to build and run a solar project, Raise Green has relied on IBM Garage and its user-centric design methodology. In time, the company plans to build operating systems for other geographies and climate assets such as electric vehicle charging stations, wind energy and urban farms.

With passionate co-founders, flexible technology and support from IBM, Raise Green is well-positioned for future growth—both in its business and its equitable impact. “The equality piece of what we’re doing is really ingrained in this product idea and delivery. We can’t transition to a clean energy economy if we’re leaving people behind,” concludes Hochstrasser. “What motivates us is not just tackling climate change but doing it in a way where everyone is able to play a role.”

Raise Green logo

About Raise Green

Raise Green (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a financial technology company for community-driven project finance. The startup empowers all individuals with the tools they need to create and invest directly into climate solution projects, like community solar. Headquartered in Somerville, Massachusetts, Raise Green has approximately 10 employees and was founded in 2018.

 

Solution components

IBM® Carbon Design Systems
IBM Cloud®
IBM Garage™
IBM iX®
Red Hat® OpenShift®

 

Want your business to transform its approach to environmental sustainability?

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Garage, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, November 2021.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, Enterprise Design Thinking, IBM Cloud, IBM Garage, and IBM iX are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

Red Hat® and OpenShift® are registered trademarks of Red Hat, Inc. or its subsidiaries in the United States and other countries.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.