将想象转化为现实
Phoenix Systems 将公共云的便利与前所未有的安全性完美融合

“技术应该支持人们完成工作。”瑞士云服务提供商 Phoenix Systems 的首席技术官 Thomas Taroni 表示,“人们很容易忽视这一点,为了创新而追求创新。归根结底,如果不能让人们生活变得更轻松,那么创新还有什么意义?”

尽管 Phoenix Systems 将自身定位为客户的简单合作伙伴,但该公司并不害怕采用复杂的技术概念。公司为自己开辟了一个利基市场:将尖端技术转化为既提供价值又提供便利的实用解决方案。

“在 Phoenix Systems,我们的目标是领先客户一步:识别新出现的问题并开发解决方案来解决这些问题,”Taroni 解释道,“虽然数据安全并不是新问题,但我们发现这个问题逐渐成为各行业内公司的优先考虑事项。似乎每隔几天就会有新的数据违规新闻,因此各组织都在投资新措施来保护自己和客户。数字资产领域也有新参与者,他们的整个商业模式都依赖于寻找无法遭受入侵的技术。”

值得信赖的安全性

 

支持零信任安全策略

提高能效

 

将数据中心占地面积减少到 1/8,降低能耗和维护

我们平台上运行的系统已经影响了成千上万人的生活。我们很高兴看到在 IBM 的支持下我们能够为改变世界做出更多贡献。 Thomas Taroni CTO Phoenix Systems

Taroni 及其同事认识到市场上的高安全性解决方案与许多客户的需求之间基本存在脱节。现有产品通常难以管理、维护和集成到日常运营中。Phoenix Systems 开始采取行动来弥合差距。

“我们的目标是通过提供完全自动化的云安全解决方案,尽可能地简化客户的学习曲线,”Taroni 评论道,“为了向我们的客户提供真正无缝的用户体验,我们需要合适的幕后基础架构。”

愿景成形

作为一名狂热的技术爱好者,Taroni 始终在寻找令人兴奋的创新。2017 年,当他听说 IBM 有一款可原生支持 Docker 容器的企业服务器时,他立马来了兴趣。

“对我来说,容器化是简化 IT 资源管理的重大变革,”Taroni 表示,“将容器化与 IBM Z 的强大功能相结合的想法……我还有很多需要了解。”

正因如此,IBM® LinuxONE 技术自然会选择支持 Phoenix Systems 新的高安全性云服务产品。该公司决定采用在 Ubuntu Linux 上运行的 IBM Hyper Protect Virtual Servers。Taroni 反思道:“我用了 Ubuntu 一辈子,得出结论 Ubuntu 加上 LinuxONE 的整体软件包非常适合 Phoenix Systems。我更喜欢在 Ubuntu 中管理用户、安装和更新软件包等操作的执行方式。”

提供机密计算

通过利用 IBM 的机密计算技术,该公司为客户提供了可信执行环境,未经授权的用户乃至 Phoenix Systems 管理员本身均无法访问。应用程序和数据库数据在使用中和处于静态时均进行端到端加密,以便客户受益于高级别安全性。

“我们的 IBM 和 Ubuntu 堆栈的每一层均已内置无与伦比的安全性,”Taroni 解释道,“我们可以证明我们根本不可能访问这些数据,而不是向公司保证他们的数据受到政策的保护。客户可以完全控制自身所处环境,拥有自己的智能卡和加密密钥。”

从端到端,新平台提供了高级安全性,包括 IBM LinuxONE 服务器中的加密协处理器、Ubuntu Linux 内核和操作系统以及借助 Secure Execution 和 Secure Boot 对机密计算的支持。

尽管客户端环境在 Phoenix Systems 的新平台上完全隔离,但仍易于管理。公司实现了加入和定制过程的完全自动化。

“利用 IBM 技术,我们已创建一个平台,支持我们以与其他容器相同的方式管理超级安全的容器,”Taroni 表示,“客户可以轻松入门并继续使用 Phoenix Systems。他们可以通过 Web 页面访问所有内容。付款透明,只需点击几下鼠标即可完成更改,例如切换到格外安全区域中的数据中心。”

实现尖端技术的普及化

如今,Phoenix Systems 发现许多行业的公司都在采用其新的高安全性、高便利性云服务。对于在受监管行业运营的组织来说,与 Phoenix Systems 合作可提供公共云解决方案的灵活性和效率优势,同时还有助于遵守严格的数据治理和安全指令。

“到目前为止,银行一直坚持使用专用硬件,因为这是保证数据安全的唯一方法,”Taroni 表示,“利用 IBM 技术,我们可提供一种真正的替代方法,其价格范围与公共云相同。同样,进入数字资产领域的公司可利用现成的平台来保护其钱包。”

例如,Swissdox(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)在 Phoenix Systems 平台上为 220,000 名瑞士学生和公民托管在线媒体数据库。每年,该组织都会向归档中添加 170 万份文档。在 Phoenix Systems 的帮助下,Swissdox 开发了基于环境的强大搜索引擎,以便用户快速查找其想要的内容。

“Swissdox 不断更新瑞士每家报纸的归档,”Taroni 评论道,“两年前,重建索引其数据库花费两个半星期。在 IBM LinuxONE 上,仅需 12 个小时。”

一家冷链物流公司也选择与 Phoenix Systems 合作。该组织提供专门的药品容器。Phoenix Systems 帮助该公司开发物联网 (IoT) 解决方案,每天能够接收数千个数据点。

“IBM 和 Ubuntu 支持的新机密计算功能可帮助我们确保数据免受外部攻击和组织内不正确参与者的侵害。”Taroni 表示,“即使是极大型数据集,我们也能够以具有竞争力的费用提供极高的安全性。”

Phoenix Systems 可保持较低的价格,同时保持较高的效率。IBM LinuxONE 技术的易管理性和低功耗是公司精益运营的关键因素。

Taroni 解释说:“我们从保留数据中心的整个楼层变为仅需数个机架,并且仍然获得了更大的容量。此外,即使我们支持更多的客户,我们团队的规模保持不变。我们平台上运行的系统已经影响了成千上万人的生活。我们很高兴看到在 IBM 的支持下我们能够为改变世界做出更多贡献。”

Phoenix Systems 徽标
关于 Phoenix Systems

 

Phoenix Systems(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是瑞士的一家软件和基础架构服务提供商,以构建未来的系统而自豪。从大数据到区块链、物联网到自动化,该公司专注于高效且安全的创新服务。Phoenix Systems 在瑞士苏黎世运营自己的银行级数据中心。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM Phoenix Systems 和 Kore Technologies 为基于区块链的数字资产带来银行级安全性 阅读博客 Hex Trust 如何通过区块链创新推动业务快速增长 阅读成功案例 使公司能够以信任和安全的方式创建、验证、存储和交易数字资产 查看 PDF
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM 公司,IBM Systems,New Orchard Road,Armonk,NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Z 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 ibm.com/trademark 上找到。

Linux® 注册商标是根据 Linux 基金会的再许可使用的,该基金会是 Linus Torvalds 的独家许可证持有人,也是该商标的全球所有者。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Turning myth into reality

Phoenix Systems fuses the convenience of public cloud with unprecedented security
IBM Systems
6-minute read

“Technology should support people doing their jobs,” says Thomas Taroni, CTO at Swiss cloud services provider Phoenix Systems. “It’s easy to lose sight of that and chase innovation for the sake of innovation. At the end of the day — if you’re not making someone’s life easier, then what’s the point?”

While Phoenix Systems bills itself as an uncomplicated partner to its clients, it isn’t afraid of taking on complex technological concepts. The company has carved a niche for itself: translating leading-edge technology into practical solutions that deliver both value and convenience.

“At Phoenix Systems, our goal is to stay one step ahead of our clients: identifying emerging concerns and developing solutions that address them,” explains Taroni. “While data security is not a new concern, we’ve seen it climb the priority list for companies in every industry. It seems like there’s news of a new data breach every few days, so organizations are investing in new measures to protect themselves and their customers. There are also new players in the digital asset space whose entire business models depend on finding technology that cannot be compromised.”

Team working together on a computer

Supports a

zero-trust

security strategy

Cut data center floorspace by

8x

decreasing energy consumption and maintenance

Already, the systems running on our platform touch thousands of people’s lives. We’re excited to see how much more we can help change the world with IBM behind us.
Thomas Taroni
CTO, Phoenix Systems
Woman at ATM

Taroni and his colleagues recognized a fundamental disconnect between high-security solutions in the marketplace and the needs of many of its clients. Existing offerings were often difficult to manage, maintain and integrate into everyday operations. Phoenix Systems sprang into action to bridge the gap.

“Our goal is to flatten the learning curve for clients as much as possible by providing fully automated cloud security solutions,” comments Taroni. “To deliver a truly seamless user experience to our clients, we needed the right infrastructure behind the scenes.”

Vision takes shape

As an avid technology enthusiast, Taroni is always on the lookout for exciting innovations. When he heard in 2017 that there was an enterprise server from IBM that could natively support Docker containers, his interest was piqued.

“To me, containerization represented a step change in simplifying IT resource management,” says Taroni. “The idea of combining containerization with the power of IBM Z … I had to know more.”

That made IBM® LinuxONE technology the natural choice to support Phoenix Systems’ new high-security cloud services offering. The company decided to employ IBM Hyper Protect Virtual Servers running on Ubuntu Linux. Taroni reflects, “I’ve been an Ubuntu user my whole life, so the overall package of Ubuntu plus LinuxONE was the right one for Phoenix Systems. I prefer the way you manage users, install and update packages, and so on within Ubuntu.”

Man using laptop
Delivering confidential computing
Three team members working at a desktop computer

By taking advantage of confidential computing technology from IBM, the company provides clients with a Trusted Execution Environment, which cannot be accessed by unauthorized users or even by Phoenix Systems administrators themselves. Application and database data is encrypted end to end, both in use and at rest, so that clients benefit from a high level of security.

“Unparalleled security is built into every layer of our IBM and Ubuntu stack,” explains Taroni. “Rather than assuring companies that their data is protected through policies, we can prove that it simply isn’t possible for us to access it. Clients have total control over their own environment — they get their own smart card and cryptographic keys.”

From end to end, the new platform provides advanced security, from the cryptographic co-processors in the IBM LinuxONE server, to the Ubuntu Linux kernel and operating system, to the support for confidential computing with Secure Execution and Secure Boot.

Even though client environments are completely isolated on Phoenix Systems’ new platform, they are straightforward to manage. The company has fully automated the onboarding and customization processes.

“Using IBM technology, we have created a platform that allows us to manage super-secure containers in the same way as other containers,” says Taroni. “It’s easy for clients to get started and keep going with Phoenix Systems. They can access everything through a web page. Payments are transparent and making changes such as switching to a data center in an extra-security region can be completed with a few clicks of a mouse.”

Democratizing access to leading-edge technology
Woman using a digital tablet in a storage facility

Today, Phoenix Systems is seeing companies from many industries take up its new high-security, high-convenience cloud services. For organizations operating in regulated sectors, working with Phoenix Systems provides the flexibility and efficiency benefits of public cloud solutions, while also facilitating compliance with strict data governance and security directives.

“Until now, banks have stuck to dedicated hardware since that was the only way they could guarantee data security,” says Taroni. “Using IBM technology, we’re offering a real alternative that’s within the same price range as public cloud. Similarly, companies getting into the digital asset space can make use of a platform that’s ready-made for protecting their wallets.”

For example, SwissdoxExternal Link hosts an online media database for 220,000 Swiss students and citizens on the Phoenix Systems platform. Each year, the organization adds 1.7 million documents to the archive. With help from Phoenix Systems, Swissdox developed a powerful context-based search engine, so that users can quickly find what they are looking for.

“Swissdox updates their archive with every newspaper in Switzerland on an ongoing basis,” comments Taroni. “Two years ago, it took two and a half weeks to reindex their database. On IBM LinuxONE, it takes just 12 hours.”

A cold-chain logistics company also opted to work with Phoenix Systems. The organization offers specialized containers for pharmaceuticals. Phoenix Systems helped the company develop an Internet of Things (IoT) solution capable of receiving thousands of data points each day.

“Our new confidential computing capabilities, enabled by IBM and Ubuntu, help us ensure that data is protected from both external attack and bad actors within an organization,” says Taroni. “We can provide an exceptionally high level of security at competitive fees for even extremely large data sets.”

Phoenix Systems can keep prices low, while keeping efficiency high. The easy management and low power consumption of IBM LinuxONE technology is a key contributing factor to the company’s lean operations.

Taroni explains, “We went from reserving an entire floor of a data center to requiring just a few racks, and still gaining much greater capacity. Moreover, the size of our team has remained constant even though we’re supporting more clients. Already, the systems running on our platform touch thousands of people’s lives. We’re excited to see how much more we can help change the world with IBM behind us.”

Explore how LinuxONE and Ubuntu enable confidential computingExternal Link

Learn more about security features available with LinuxONE and UbuntuExternal Link

Phoenix Systems logo

About Phoenix Systems

Phoenix SystemsExternal Link is a software and infrastructure services provider in Switzerland that prides itself on building the systems of tomorrow. From big data to blockchain, IoT to automation, the company specializes in innovative services that are both efficient and security-rich. Phoenix Systems operates its own banking-grade data center in Zürich, Switzerland.

Solution components
Phoenix Systems logo

About Phoenix Systems

Phoenix SystemsExternal Link is a software and infrastructure services provider in Switzerland that prides itself on building the systems of tomorrow. From big data to blockchain, IoT to automation, the company specializes in innovative services that are both efficient and security-rich. Phoenix Systems operates its own banking-grade data center in Zürich, Switzerland.

Solution components