自从成为首批销售“成衣”设计师服装的时装公司以来,意大利的 Max Mara Fashion Group 一直展现出开拓进取的姿态,确保自己能够在全球时装市场中脱颖而出。 如今,“专注于通过广泛的品牌,让所有人都能够穿上高质量的时装”这一业务模式仍然充满活动,和以往一样非常成功。

几乎和时装行业的定义一样,Max Mara 认为始终关注不断变化的趋势和品味,是保持与时俱进和信守品牌承诺的不二法宝。 这是设计师、产品经理以及关注于将适当的产品组合推向市场的其他人的职责所在。

但 Max Mara 的业务模式还有另外一个方面,对于赢得回头客至关重要: 这就是令人满意的购物体验 - 通过该公司的 10 个特定于品牌的网站以及遍布全球的 2300 多个实体店来实现。 这很大程度上要归功于数字化和全渠道营销。

由于疫情的冲击,以及疫情所导致的购物行为的变化,Max Mara 和其他许多企业一样,加速推进已在进行中的数字化转型。 事实上,在疫情期间,该公司业务量中的数字销售份额几乎翻了三倍。 仿佛是跨过了一个关键的门槛,早在数字化转型之旅初期就已建立的 Max Mara 数字化运营部门认识到,后端运营的效率现在会对客户满意度产生更大的影响。

“想象一下潜在流程改进的‘热图’,我们最红的区域是‘订单到现金’周期,涵盖从订单处理、订单履行、付款和客户服务的整个过程。”Max Mara 的数字化运营主管解释道,“在销售季高峰期间[同时是七月和十二月],这些区域甚至会变得更红。”

流程问题会产生瓶颈,特别是在以仓库为基础的一系列活动中,比如取货、包装、运输等。 在评估各种选项时,Max Mara 的数字化运营团队考虑了传统的流程重新设计方法,这些方法依赖于商业智能 (BI) 系统以及来自业务分析员、流程负责人和其他利益相关方的第一手深入洞察,揭示流程问题的根源。

虽然该团队认为这些方法是流程优化的必要组成部分,但他们认识到这只是 解决方案的一部分。“在发现流程问题的症状方面,BI 系统非常有价值。”数字化运营主管解释道,“但 BI 没有能力诊断根本原因,而这对解决问题至关重要。”Max Mara进一步的设想是根据过硬的数据,采取有针对性的行动。 这不仅意味着要以更细的颗粒度指出不理想的流程,比方说,特定仓库中的人员配备模式,或物流供应商的绩效表现;而且还意味着,在数据驱动下对特定流程变化模式的预测(例如是否纠正了流程或是否自动执行流程)会对关键运营指标产生影响。

但数字化运营团队认识到,Max Mara 的数字化运营非常复杂,这使得实现数据驱动的这种愿景特别具有挑战性。“我们在全球各地销售产品,虽然我们订单流程的‘前端’非常标准化,但流程的实体部分,也就是流程中靠近底层的部分,在各个国家或地区有很大的差异。”数字化运营主管解释道,“像 EPR 和 CRM 这样的支持系统也是如此,这些系统也针对本地需求进行了大量定制。”

客户服务解决时间缩短了

90%

- 与人工方法相比

每次解决问题过程的平均成本最多可降低

46%

- 通过消除瓶颈的方式

如何通过流程挖掘改善“订单到现金” 流程

Max Mara 认识到,要改进其“订单到现金”(OTC) 流程,不仅需要快速准确地发现问题所在位置,还必须确定能够带来最高投资回报的修复方案。 数字化运营团队认为高级流程发现工具是正确的方法。 更具体地说,他们希望流程发现工具能够将实施灵活性与功能强大、细颗粒度的流程建模能力结合起来。

在研究了一系列选项后,该团队选择 IBM® Process Mining 解决方案,他们认为该解决方案能够为“数据驱动的流程优化提供最全面的基础”。

经理和主管在仓库中进行盘点

现在,这些工作由流程优化能力中心运行,该中心是在为期八个月的 IBM Process Mining 实施过程中建立的。 该中心的负责人解释说:“我们根据业务需求提供技术解决方案,我们作为一个枢纽实体,负责协调业务、实施合作伙伴和内部 IT 基础架构之间的分析和实施。”能力中心在流程挖掘项目中发挥了关键作用。 该中心的业务分析员表示:“我们与业务部门一起,对现有的‘订单到现金’流程执行深入分析,涉及我们复杂的多软件、多数据的源场景。”

通过这样的审查所产生的定性洞察非常重要,因为它们为流程重新设计奠定了基础。 但最终,流程决策(无论是更改流程还是使流程实现自动化)都需要来自流程本身的实际可行的真实数据。 根据数字化运营主管的说法,IBM Process Mining 解决方案弥补了差距。“由于和流程相关的决策必须考虑 ROI ,因此,这些决策的质量仅仅取决于底层数据和流程发现模型的质量。”他解释道,“[IBM Process Mining]算法的强大能力,以及它可以采集的企业应用数据订阅源的广泛程度,使我们确信该在何处采取行动,并且为这些行动提供充足的业务理由。 ”

比如,他们发现在特定地理区域,订单交付时间比较长,而怀疑的根本原因是仓库中的“提货和包装”流程。 通过使用 IBM Process Mining 模型运行相关的 ERP、CRM 和其他数据,CoE 团队成员不仅可以证实该假设,还可以确定使问题复杂化的意外流程影响。“在某些情况下,我们知道由于流程偏差产生了一个瓶颈。”数字化运营主管表示,“但我们还是惊讶于流程的复杂程度,以及仓库中如此之少的订单实际遵循‘理想途径’流程。 借助这种数据驱动的洞察,我们针对问题设计出更合适、更有效的修复方案。”

通过智慧的自动化决策,实现最高的 ROI

提出正确的流程变更的重要一点在于,必须在实施变更之前了解这样会产生怎样的影响。 IBM Process Mining 解决方案的内置模拟功能帮助流程设计者检验关键指标(如执行时间和人员配置需求)的变化可能带来的影响。 该模型采用相同的颗粒度,具有自包含特性,因此还可以揭示特定变更是否会产生意外影响。“我们发现,解决流程中某个环节的瓶颈可能会在另一个环节产生瓶颈。”数字化运营主管说道,“通过动态建模揭示这些影响,[IBM Process Mining 使]我们能够采取更全面的方法来处理优化问题。”

在一个值得注意的案例中,数字化运营团队希望了解针对客户售后支持请求处理所提议的变更,将如何影响所谓的“高负荷”期间(也就是销售量达到销售季峰值时)的瓶颈。 通过使用 IBM Process Mining,他们首先能够确定流程中最适合自动化的重复性较高的部分。 通过模拟这些变更(包括使关键流程分段实现自动化),他们能够证明客户服务解决时间最多缩短了 90%,以及每次解决问题的平均成本最多降低了 46%。

虽然目前 Max Mara 的流程自动化仍处于相对早期阶段,但数字化业务主管预计,在不久的将来,它就会成为企业数字化业务战略中一个非常突出的要素。 而且他认为 IBM Process Mining 是用于筹划数字化转型之旅所不可或缺的工具。“在流程自动化方面进行战略性投资,对于实现客户一直期盼的高质量数字化体验而言至关重要。”他解释道,“借助 IBM Process Mining,我们获得了功能强大的工具,能够帮助确定可以为客户以及我们的业务发展带来最大回报的自动化领域。”

能力中心负责人对此表示同意,他说:“我们相信,这个项目明白无误地取得了成功,使它在我们全球范围众多业务部门中拔得头筹。”

Max Mara Fashion Group 徽标

关于 Max Mara Fashion Group

Max Mara(外部链接)成立于 1951 年,是总部位于意大利雷焦艾米利亚的全球性时装公司。 Max Mara 在 105 个国家或地区开展业务,拥有 41 家公司和超过 5500 名员工。 该公司是家族企业,是首批专注于高档成衣的时装企业之一。 目前,该公司在全球经营着 10 个品牌。

解决方案组件
IBM® Process Mining

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Services, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 10 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

Since it became one of the first fashion companies to embrace “ready-to-wear” designer clothing, Italy’s Max Mara Fashion Group has demonstrated a pioneering style that has helped it stand out in the global fashion market. Today, that same business model—focused on making high-quality fashion accessible to everyday people through a wide range of brands—is as successful as ever.

Almost by definition in the fashion industry, keeping an eye on changing trends and tastes is de rigueur for Max Mara to stay relevant and stay true to its brand pledge. That’s the job of designers, product managers and others whose focus is bringing the right mix of products to market.

But there’s also another side of Max Mara’s business model that’s essential to keeping its clientele coming back: a satisfying buying experience, whether it’s through one of the company’s 10 brand-specific websites or its more than 2,300 brick and mortar stores around the world. The embrace of digitalization and omnichannel marketing has been a huge part of the story.

For Max Mara, like many other companies, the pandemic’s arrival—and the changes in buying behavior it produced—accelerated a digital transformation that had already been underway. In fact, over the course of the pandemic, the digital share of business volume nearly tripled. As if crossing a threshold, Max Mara’s digital operations unit—established early in its digital transformation journey—recognized that the efficiency of its back-end operations would now have an even larger impact on customer satisfaction.

“If you imagine a ‘heat map’ of potential process improvements, our reddest zone would be the Order-to-Cash cycle, from order processing to fulfillment, payment and customer service,” explains Max Mara’s Head of Digital Operations. “And during the seasonal spikes in sales we experience [typically in July and December], those red zones get even redder.”

Process problems create bottlenecks, especially in the range of warehouse-based activities between picking-and-packing and shipping. In assessing their options, Max Mara’s digital ops team considered traditional process redesign approaches that relied on business intelligence (BI) systems and frontline insights from business analysts, process owners and other stakeholders to get to the bottom of process flow issues.

While the team saw these methods as a necessary part of process optimization, they recognized it was just that: only a part. “BI systems are valuable to point out symptoms of process problems,” explains the Head of Digital Operations, “but they’re not as capable at diagnosing their root causes, which is critical to solving them.” Max Mara’s more expansive vision was the ability to take targeted action, based on hard data. This means not only pinpointing suboptimal processes at a granular level—say, staffing patterns in a particular warehouse or the performance of a logistics provider—but also making data-driven projections of how specific process changes—whether it’s fixing a process flow or automating it—would impact key operational metrics.

But the digital ops team recognized that the sheer complexity of Max Mara’s digital operations made achieving this data-driven vision especially challenging. “We sell all around the world, and while the ‘front end’ of our order process is fairly standardized, the physical part of the flow—further down in the process stack—varies considerably by country,” explains the digital ops lead. “The same is true of our supporting systems like ERP and CRM, which have also been heavily customized for local needs.”

Reduced customer service resolution times by

90%

compared with manual approaches

Reduced average cost per resolution by up to

46%

by opening bottlenecks

How to improve Order-to-Cash through process mining

Max Mara recognized that to improve its Order-to-Cash (OTC) processes, it needed the ability to quickly and accurately identify not only where the problems were, but also which fixes would yield the highest ROI. The digital ops team saw advanced process discovery tools as the right approach. More specifically, they sought a process discovery tool that combined implementation flexibility with powerful, granular process modeling capabilities.

After looking at a range of options, the team selected the IBM® Process Mining solution, which they saw as providing “the most comprehensive foundation for data-driven process optimization.”

 

 

Manager and supervisor taking inventory in warehouse

Today, those efforts are run by the process optimization Competence Center established as part of the eight-month implementation of IBM Process Mining. The Center’s head explains: “We provide technical solutions according to the business’s needs, and we act as a pivot entity, coordinating analysis and implementation between the business, our implementation partners, and our internal IT infrastructure.” The Competence Center played a critical role in the Process Mining project. A Business Analyst at the Center says, “Together with our business side, we performed a deep-dive analysis of our existing Order-to-Cash flow across our complex, multi-software, multi-data source scenario.”

The qualitative insights arising from this review are important because they define the lay of the land for process redesign efforts. But ultimately, process decisions—whether it’s changing a flow or automating it—require real, actionable data from the processes themselves. And that, according to the Head of Digital Operations, is where the IBM Process Mining solution bridges the gap. “Because process-related decisions need to be based on their ROI, they’re only as good as the data and process discovery models that underlie them,” he explains. “The strength of [IBM Process Mining] algorithms, along with the breadth of enterprise application data feeds it can ingest, gives us the confidence to know where to take action, and what the business case of those actions will be.”

Consider, for example, a case where order lead time in a particular geography is known to be higher, and the suspected root cause is the warehouse pick-and-pack flow. By running relevant ERP, CRM and other data through the IBM Process Mining models, members of the CoE team can not only corroborate that hypothesis, but also pinpoint unexpected process impacts that are compounding the problem. “In some cases, we knew there was a bottleneck due to process deviations,” says the digital ops lead. “But we were surprised at just how complex the flow was, and how few orders in the warehouse actually followed the ‘happy path’ process flow. That data-driven insight enabled us to design a more appropriate and effective fix for the problem.”

Smart automation decisions for highest ROI

A big part of coming up with the right process change is knowing what the impact of that change will be—before it’s implemented. The built-in simulation capabilities of the IBM Process Mining solution mean process designers can test the likely impact of changes in terms of key metrics such as lead time and staffing requirements. The same granular, self-contained qualities of the model can also reveal whether a particular change can have unanticipated impact. “We’ve seen how relieving a bottleneck at one point in the flow can cause another to develop at some other point,” says the digital ops lead. “By revealing these impacts out via dynamic modeling, [IBM Process Mining] has enabled us to take a more holistic approach to process optimization.”

In one noteworthy case, the digital ops team wanted to understand how proposed changes in the processing of customer post-sales support inquires would affect bottlenecks during so-called “high load,” when volume was reaching seasonal peaks. Using IBM Process Mining, they were first able to identify the more repetitive parts of the process flow that would best lend themselves to automation. By simulating these changes—including the automation of key process flow segments—they were able to demonstrate up to a 90% decrease in customer service resolution times, along with a 46% reduction in the average cost per resolution.

While today Max Mara is in the relatively early stages of process automation, the Head of Digital Operations expects it to become a much more prominent element of the company’s digital ops strategy in the near future. And he sees IBM Process Mining as an essential tool in mapping that journey. “Making strategic investments in process automation will be critical to delivering the high quality digital experience customers have come to expect,” he explains. “With IBM Process Mining, we’ve gained a powerful tool to identify where automation will have the highest payoff, both for our customers and for our business going forward.”

The Competency Center lead concurs. “We believe that the clear success of this project will make it the first of many across a range of our business units around the world,” he says.

Max Mara Fashion Group logo

About Max Mara Fashion Group

Based in Reggio Emilia, Italy, Max Mara (external link) is a global fashion company established in 1951. With 41 companies and over 5,500 employees, Max Mara operates in 105 countries. Family-owned, the company was among the first fashion companies to focus on up-market ready-to-wear clothing. Today, the company operates 10 brands worldwide.


Solution components
IBM® Process Mining

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Services, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, October 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, and ibm.com are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.