科技带孩子游南极
Mawson's Huts Foundation 推出基于 IBM Cloud 的 AI 驱动型学习

“南极洲是什么味道的?”关于地球最南端的大洲,只有孩子才会问出这种问题,也确实这样问过。这只是让儿童帮助填充 Antarctic Explorer 的众多活动之一,Antarctic Explorer 是一个在 IBM Cloud® 上运行的 AI 驱动的新型学习平台。

不同年龄的儿童和成年人都对南极洲充满好奇——这不足为奇。“南极有很多令人震惊的有趣事实。”Mawson’s Huts 首席执行官兼一家南极旅游公司的老板 Greg Carter 说道,“南极洲是最冷、最高、最干燥的洲。据官方说法,那里是一片沙漠。那里降水很少,有些区域有几百万年没下过雪了。南极洲拥有世界 90% 的淡水量。如果整个南极洲全部融化,海平面将上升 60 米。”

对于有幸前往南极的人来说,这是一趟改变人生的体验。“去过南极的人都会说,南极之行会改变你,让你变得谦卑。”Carter 说,“经典的说法就是,你仿佛进入了另一个星球,但其实还在地球上。”

澳大利亚的南极探险历史悠久,澳大利亚地质学家和南极探险家 Douglas Mawson 爵士并不广为人知的非凡探险便是印证。为了保护这一遗产,1997 年成立了 Mawson’s Huts 基金会。这是一家非营利组织,致力于保护南极洲和澳大利亚在南极洲的探险史。

当时,位于南极洲东部丹尼森角(地球上风最大的地方)的 Mawson's Huts(1911-1914 年 Mawson 率领的澳大利亚南极探险队大本营的四栋建筑)虽仍保存完好,但十分破旧。24 年后,这些小屋仍然在大风中屹立不倒,因为基金会与澳大利亚南极局 (Australian Antarctic Division) 共同资助了 15 次大型保护远征。

100,000 名学生

 

学习平台预计将每年惠及 100,000 名澳大利亚学生

500

 

平台数据库目前已填充了超过 500 个南极相关问题的答案

今天,这个平台的开发已经取得了巨大进展。对我们来说,这是一条陡峭的学习曲线,但 ISW 使用 IBM Watson 和云技术进行汇总,表现非常出色。 Greg Carter 首席执行官 Mawson's Huts 基金会
教育激发

Mawson's Huts 基金会有两个宗旨。其中一个重要使命是保护 Mawson 的遗产,包括澳大利亚对南极洲 42% 的领土主张。“但我们也教育学生和其他人,帮助他们了解这片大陆以及维持其原始环境的重要性。”Carter 表示,“对我来说,这一个非常重要的使命:激发下一代科学家和想要改变世界的人。”

为此,基金会推出了多个南极教育项目,包括在澳大利亚霍巴特建立了一座博物馆,该博物馆是 Mawson’s Huts 的全尺寸复制品;开往各地区学校的“科学与可持续发展”主题巴士;以及澳大利亚南极节,每隔一年在澳大利亚霍巴特举行。

IBM 业务合作伙伴 ISW 的董事总经理 Ian Warner 在基金会领导的带领下,参观了 Mawson’s Huts 复制品博物馆,然后萌生了创建交互式 AI 学习平台的想法。Warner 回忆道:“然后我们一起喝茶。我说,‘我们可以利用 AI 将这一体验再提升一个档次。’如果我们使用 IBM Watson 技术,让学生可以提出有关 Mawson’s Huts 和南极洲的各种问题,并立即得到答案,怎么样?”ISW 和基金会便开始合作,为实现这一想法奠定基础。

AI 驱动的专业知识,云级规模

2020 年,各种情况共同推动了项目的进展:ISW 找到了合适的人员;由于新冠疫情的威胁,远程教育需求十分迫切。合作开发交互式、视觉效果丰富的学习平台迅速推进,ISW 负责技术部分,基金会则负责采购底层内容。

该学习平台在 IBM Cloud 上运行,儿童和其他人无论身在何处,都可以通过浏览器访问。用户通过基于浏览器的界面提交问题,学习平台利用 IBM watsonx Assistant 提供的 AI 驱动的自然语言处理 (NLP) 功能来理解问题,并检索存储在 IBM Cloud Object Storage 中的相关媒体(视频、图像和文档),从而提供适当的答案。

为了获得更深入的交互体验,平台还提供了 IBM Watson Speech to TextIBM Watson Text to Speech AI 功能可选项,让残疾学生不需要用手也可使用,以及提供其他便利。

Mawson's Huts 基金会可以联系各种各样的主题专家,为平台提供问题和答案。“基金会建立了一个杰出的人才网络,由考古学家、保护人员、野生生物专家和气候学家以及陪同探险的医务人员组成。”Carter 说,“到目前为止,我们已经针对数千个与南极相关的问题收集了 500 多个答案。”

他继续说道:“在此之前,没有一个地方拥有这所这些信息。它们散落在各地。教育激发是这个平台的王牌——激发人们去讨论南极洲的历史、南极国际合作、动物和磷虾、气候。”

学生和老师提出的问题也为底层内容提供了全新的现实视角。Carter 说:“我们发现,孩子们提出的有些问题,我们之前都没有考虑过。他们喜欢问‘早期的探险队杀了多少只企鹅?’‘他们吃企鹅吗?味道怎么样?’这样的问题来快速了解事实。这些都是很重要的好问题。”

走进教室

现在,构建和填充平台的合作工作继续推进。“我们取得了巨大进展,团队在过去六个月中完善了 15 个主题。对我们来说,这是一个条陡峭的学习曲线。”Carter 表示,“但 ISW 使用 IBM Watson 和云技术进行汇总,表现非常出色。”

教师和学生对平台测试版的初步反应非常好。下一阶段将对平台进行微调,尽可能多囊括一些儿童提出的问题,并进行额外的测试。

尽管有澳大利亚国家课程,但每个州和地区都有责任落实南极教育,将宽泛的课程转化为更具体的内容。Mawson’s Huts 基金会正在与多个州合作编写南极相关内容,供教师在课堂上使用。

因此,在平台准备进入学校(目前定于澳大利亚 2022 学年初)之前,Carter 计划寻求澳大利亚国家及各州教育部门的认可,首先从新南威尔士州和塔斯马尼亚州入手。然后,基金会将开始联系学校,希望学校使用该平台作为教学和学习工具。

扩大覆盖范围

据基金会估计,如果一切按计划推进,Antarctic Explorer 平台最终每年可以在澳大利亚覆盖多达 10 万名小学生。平台在澳大利亚站住脚跟后,基金会就会考虑扩大其覆盖范围。

Carter 说:“我非常看好在其他国家推出该平台。特别是签署了《南极条约》的国家,以及参与我们南极节的所有大使馆,这些地区都很有潜力。特别是考虑到在南极洲的国际合作,各国开展了不可思议的合作。”

事实上,已经有几个国家表现出了兴趣。Carter 表示:“我经常与英国南极遗产信托基金会和新西兰南极遗产信托基金会合作。他们对 Antarctic Explorer 以及在他们国家推广使用非常感兴趣。”

就 ISW 而言,该平台在技术和创造力方面开辟了其他的可能性。“我们看到了使用这种方法为其他博物馆和组织开发学习平台的机会。”Warner 说道,“显然,IBM 的 AI 工具将是帮助我们进入这些市场的合理选择。”

随着平台的不断发展,基金会也将继续推进其保护南极小屋的使命。他访问了南极洲后,Carter 对学生最初提出的问题也有了答案:

“是的,南极洲确实有气味——尤其是在你靠近企鹅时。”

Mawson's Huts 基金会的徽标
Mawson's Huts 基金会简介

Mawson's Huts 基金会(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于澳大利亚悉尼,是一家非营利组织,致力于保护南极洲东部丹尼森角历史悠久的小屋——1911-1914 年,Mawson 率领的澳大利亚南极探险队修建了这些小屋。自 1996 年成立以来,基金会已与澳大利亚南极局共同资助了 15 次前往保护小屋的远征,以及许多有关澳大利亚南极遗产的教育项目。

ISW 简介

ISW (ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于塔斯马尼亚州巴特里角,是一家私营的云和 IT 服务提供商,在澳大利亚和其他国家实施解决方案。公司成立于 1996 年,各种基础设施和软件解决方案都通过了主要技术提供商的认证。公司提供咨询、许可、开发、实施、托管服务等各种服务,为 IT 项目提供支持。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM 松下北美公司

帮助服务行业打造卓越的客户体验

阅读 PDF
安联台湾人寿保险

打造 AI 驱动的虚拟助手

阅读成功案例
Bradesco

客户在几秒钟内即可收到响应,而无需等待数分钟

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 12 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud 以及 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 上的“版权和商标信息”部分中提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Tech takes kids to Antarctica

Mawson’s Huts Foundation launches AI-powered learning on IBM Cloud
by Kristin Fern Johnson
6-minute read

“What does Antarctica smell like?” It’s a question only a child could — and did — ask about the southern-most continent on Earth. And it’s just one of many from children helping to populate The Antarctic Explorer, a new AI-powered learning platform running on IBM Cloud®.

Antarctica inspires wonder in children and adults of all ages — and that’s no surprise. “There are so many startling and amazing facts about the Antarctic,” says Greg Carter, Chief Executive Officer of Mawson’s Huts and owner of an Antarctic tour company. “It’s the coldest, it’s the highest, it’s the driest continent. It’s officially a desert. There’s very little precipitation, and some areas have not seen snow for millions of years. It holds 90% of the world’s fresh water supply, so if the whole of Antarctica melted, sea levels would rise by 60 meters.”

For those lucky enough to visit, the experience is life altering. “As anyone who’s been to the Antarctic can tell you, it changes you — it’s very humbling,” says Carter. “The classic line is that it’s as close as you can get to being on another planet while still being on Earth.”

Australia’s roots in Antarctica run deep, as is evidenced by the remarkable, relatively unknown exploits of Australian geologist and Antarctic explorer Sir Douglas Mawson. In 1997, a desire to keep that heritage alive led to the establishment of Mawson’s Huts Foundation, a nonprofit committed to conservation of the Antarctic and Australia’s history within it.

At the time, Mawson’s Huts — four structures that served as base camp for the Mawson-led Australasian Antarctic Expedition of 1911 – 1914 — remained battered but intact in Cape Denison, East Antarctica, the windiest place on Earth. Twenty-four years later, the huts are still standing, thanks to a partnership between the foundation and the Australian Antarctic Division to co-fund 15 major conservation expeditions.

Mawson’s Hut in Antarctica

Learning platform is projected to reach

100,000

Australian schoolchildren per year

Database for platform is currently populated with more than

500

answers to Antarctic-related questions

Today, we’ve made excellent progress in developing the platform. It’s been a big learning curve for us, but ISW has done an outstanding job in putting it together using IBM Watson and cloud technology.
Greg Carter
Chief Executive Officer, Mawson’s Huts Foundation
Antarctic Petrel in flight
Educate to inspire

The Mawson’s Huts Foundation’s purpose is two-fold. A major part of its mission is to preserve the Mawson legacy, which includes Australia’s 42% territorial claim to the Antarctic. “But we also educate schoolchildren and others about the continent itself and the importance of sustaining its pristine environment,” says Carter. “For me, that’s a big, big part of the mission: to inspire that next generation of scientists and people who want to change the world.”

To that end, the foundation offers several Antarctic educational programs, including a museum in Hobart, Australia, that features a full-scale replica of the huts, a “Science and Sustainability” bus that travels to regional schools and The Australian Antarctic Festival every other year in Hobart, Australia.

The idea for creating an interactive AI-powered learning platform came to Ian Warner, Managing Director at IBM Business Partner ISW, when a foundation leader gave him a tour through the replica museum. “We had a cup of tea afterward, and I said, ‘You know, we could use AI to really step up this experience another notch,’” recalls Warner. “What if we used IBM Watson technologies to allow schoolchildren to ask questions about Mawson’s Huts and Antarctica and get immediate answers?” Together, ISW and the foundation began laying the groundwork for making that concept a reality.

Inside Mawson’s hut
AI-powered expertise, cloud scale
Antarctic bird on rocks

In 2020, circumstances converged to spur the project forward: ISW had the right people in place and COVID-19 created a pressing need for remote education. The joint venture to develop an interactive, visually rich learning platform was underway, with ISW taking on the technology piece and the foundation procuring the underlying content.

The learning platform runs on IBM Cloud Foundry, a platform as a service (PaaS) cloud offering, so children and others can access it from a browser wherever they are. Users submit questions via a browser-based interface and the learning platform uses AI-powered natural language processing (NLP) capabilities provided by IBM Watson® Assistant to interpret the questions and deliver appropriate answers with associated media — videos, images and documents — that are stored in and retrieved from IBM Cloud Object Storage.

For an even deeper interactive experience, the platform offers optional IBM Watson Speech to Text and IBM Watson Text to Speech AI capabilities, for such purposes as providing hands-free availability to students with disabilities.

The Mawson’s Huts Foundation has access to a rich assortment of subject matter experts contributing questions and answers to the platform. “The foundation has built up a wonderful network of archeologists, conservators, wildlife experts and climatologists, as well as medical officers who accompany us on expeditions,” says Carter. “So far, we've pulled together more than 500 Antarctic-related answers to many thousands of questions.”

“Until now, there’s been no single place that holds this information,” he continues. “It’s been scattered everywhere. The potential to educate and inspire people — to talk about history of the continent, international cooperation in the Antarctic, animals and krill, the climate — that’s the big drawcard for this platform.”

Questions from schoolchildren and teachers are providing a fresh, real-world perspective to the content, as well. “We’re finding kids are asking questions we hadn’t considered,” says Jensen. “They like to get to the nitty gritty very quickly with questions like, ‘How many penguins did the early expeditions have to kill?’ ‘Did they eat them and what did they taste like?’ and things like that. These are all good, important questions.”

Entering the classroom

Today, the collaborative work to build and populate the platform continues to flourish. “We’ve made excellent progress, with coverage of 15 topics that the team has refined over the last six months. It’s been a big learning curve for us,” says Carter. “But ISW has done an outstanding job of putting it together using IBM Cloud and IBM Watson technology.”

Initial responses from teachers and students to beta versions of the platform have been highly favorable. The next stage will be to fine-tune the platform, incorporating as many questions from children as possible and conducting additional testing.

Although there’s an Australian National Curriculum, each state and territory is responsible for its implementation and for translating the broad curriculum into more specific content. The Mawson’s Huts Foundation is working with a number of individual states to write Antarctic-related content that is ready for teachers’ use in their classrooms.

So before the platform is ready to launch in schools — currently slated for the beginning of the 2022 Australian school year — Carter plans to seek endorsements from the Australian government education department, as well as various state education departments, starting with New South Wales and Tasmania. The foundation then will begin reaching out to schools to enlist them to use the platform as a teaching and learning tool.

Kids learning about Antarctica
Broadening the reach
Penguins in Antarctica

If all goes as planned, the foundation estimates the Antarctic Explorer platform ultimately could reach up to 100,000 primary students in Australia every year. And once the platform is established in Australia, the foundation is considering extending its reach.

“I see a lot of promise for rolling this out in other countries,” says Carter. “There's so much potential with the signatory nations of the Antarctic Treaty in particular, as well as all the embassies involved in our Antarctic Festival. And especially given the international cooperation that happens in Antarctica — it’s just unbelievable how countries work together.”

In fact, several have already expressed interest. “I work a lot with the United Kingdom Antarctic Heritage Trust and the New Zealand Antarctic Heritage Trust,” says Carter. “They’re very interested in the Antarctic Explorer and the possibility of using it in their countries.”

For ISW’s part, the platform has opened up additional technological and creative possibilities. “We see an opportunity to use the same methodologies to develop learning platforms for other museums and organizations,” says Warner. “And obviously IBM AI tools would be the logical choice for helping us reach those markets.”

As development of the platform evolves, the foundation also continues to further its mission of preserving the huts in Antarctica. Based on his visits to the continent, Carter has an answer to the schoolchild’s original question:

“Yes, Antarctica does have a smell — particularly when you get near the penguins.”

Mawson’s Huts Foundation  logo

About Mawson’s Huts Foundation

Headquartered in Sydney, Australia, the Mawson’s Huts FoundationExternal Link is a nonprofit organization committed to conserving the historic huts in Cape Denison, East Antarctica, built by the Australasian Antarctic Expedition of 1911 – 1914 led by Douglas Mawson. Since its founding in 1996, the foundation has funded 15 conservation expeditions to the huts in partnership with the Australian Antarctic Division, as well as educational programs on Australia’s Antarctic heritage.

About ISW

Headquartered in Battery Point, Tasmania, ISWExternal Link is a privately held cloud and IT services provider, implementing solutions in Australia and abroad. Founded in 1996, the company is certified in a broad range of infrastructure and software solutions from major technology providers. It supports IT projects with services ranging from consultation to licensing to development to implementation to managed services.

Solution components
Mawson’s Huts Foundation  logo

About Mawson’s Huts Foundation

Headquartered in Sydney, Australia, the Mawson’s Huts FoundationExternal Link is a nonprofit organization committed to conserving the historic huts in Cape Denison, East Antarctica, built by the Australasian Antarctic Expedition of 1911 – 1914 led by Douglas Mawson. Since its founding in 1996, the foundation has funded 15 conservation expeditions to the huts in partnership with the Australian Antarctic Division, as well as educational programs on Australia’s Antarctic heritage.

About ISW

Headquartered in Battery Point, Tasmania, ISWExternal Link is a privately held cloud and IT services provider, implementing solutions in Australia and abroad. Founded in 1996, the company is certified in a broad range of infrastructure and software solutions from major technology providers. It supports IT projects with services ranging from consultation to licensing to development to implementation to managed services.

Solution components