打造无缝式全渠道体验
家居装修零售商 hagebau 借助集成式订单管理系统提高客户满意度
在 DIY 绘画期间略作小憩并讨论油漆样本的一对夫妇
纵观全球,DIY 家居装修市场正实现稳步增长,这反映出房主越来越倾向于自己动手完成从室内装饰到维修与建造的各种项目。随着这一风潮的高涨,德国 hagebau 一类的 DIY 零售商通过向这些 DIY 爱好者出售完成其项目所需的工具、材料和用品而实现了蓬勃发展。

与大多数主要零售商一样,hagebau 认识到它需要为客户提供更好的数字体验来补充其实体运营。于是,它促使该公司在 2018 年创建了一个名为 hagebau connect 的独立数字商务部门,而其总部位于汉堡。在此新部门的带领下,hagebau 在开发数字能力方面取得了快速突破,而这也是其为客户提供无缝式全渠道体验这一最终愿景的其中一部分。但与此同时,也伴随有发展所带来的痛苦。

对于家居装修零售商来说,全渠道用例的范围与其所销售的产品一样纷繁多样;例如,有一把 1 公斤的锤子和一个 1,500 公斤的花园大棚。某些情况下,客户可能会在线订购并在店内取货;而在其他情况下,客户可能会在店内订购非库存产品以进行代发货。这只是其中几例。为使此类交易实现“无缝”感(这是大多数全渠道零售商所渴望达到的质量),无论渠道路径如何,客户均可获得相同的高质量体验。到 2020 年初,即 hagebau 数字化之旅开启一年多一点的时候,hagebau 便清楚地意识到事实并非如此。

作为 hagebau connect 平台的负责人,Jörn Hartig 和领导团队发现:数字化活动的稳定增长似乎会加剧客户满意度方面一直存在的问题。他解释说:此问题在很大程度上可归因于无法获悉订单的处理情况。“我们会发现有些客户会感到沮丧,因为我们无法及时就他们的订单给出答复,无论是购买还是退货”,Hartig 解释道。“由于我们会运行多个订单管理系统,因此会产生盲点,尤其是针对涉及多个渠道的‘混合’交易。”

虽然 hagebau 已认识到此问题,但总体来看,它仍被视为一个相对可控的问题,而不会立即威胁到公司的增长和数字化雄心。但当疫情在 2020 年初的几个月爆发时,这一观点便产生了巨大变化。彼时,出于显而易见的原因,家居装修购买量出现激增,而其中大部分均出现在网上。面对大流行下的各种限制,人们不只是需在家中度过更多时间。他们还以前所未有的程度敞开了自己的钱包,以使自己的居家体验更为舒适。随着 hagebau 的销售额快速增长,其订单管理问题也日益凸显。

100%

 

为德国 100% 的零售店引入透明的订单管理系统 (OMS)

前 2 名

 

通过改进体验,目前在客户满意度方面始终名列家居装修零售商的前 2 名

很明显,我们需要跨所有渠道(甚至是我们的供应商)的透明视图,而集成式企业级 OMS 是实现这一目标的最佳途径。 Karsten Rypholz ERP 主管 hagebau
疫情压力催生大胆举措

作为 hagebau 的 ERP 主管以及订单管理项目的关键利益相关者,Karsten Rypholz 知道是时候采取行动了,而且已无太多时间可以浪费。“我们认识到,订单管理系统与流程的碎片化是这一问题的根本原因”,Rypholz 说道。“很明显,我们需要跨所有渠道(甚至是我们的供应商)的透明视图,而集成式企业级 OMS 是实现这一目标的最佳途径。”

在审查公司的选项时,hagebau 团队发现可扩展且成熟的企业级 OMS 候选对象范围相对较小。Rypholz 解释道:考虑到规模、时间紧迫性和高风险,决策中真正的关键问题还在于信任。“在此类敏捷项目中,我们没有时间进行上报”,他表示。“我们需要一个在部署企业级 OMS 解决方案方面拥有良好记录的合作伙伴,而我们在 GSOT 和 IBM Sterling Order Management 解决方案中找到了这种组合。”

作为甄选流程中尽职调查的一部分,hagebau 的供应商甄选团队让专门从事 IBM Sterling Order Management 快速实施的 IBM 合作伙伴 GSOT 制定了概念验证 (POC) 解决方案。除展示 GSOT 的方法与部署工具的有效性外,hagebau 还将 POC 视为定义用例、查明流程问题以及制定修复这些问题所需变化的一次机会。此外,为最大限度提高该项目的效率,hagebau 还规定 GSOT 应设计 POC,以将其作为全面 OMS 的基石所在。

GSOT 不负众望,在不到六周的时间内便交付了 POC,并在此过程中展示了 Sterling 的灵活 API 连接器所带来的集成便利性。凭借这一表现,hagebau 为 GSOT 执行此次全面项目开了绿灯。在此期间,IBM Sterling Lab Services 的交付专家受邀提供项目管理与治理服务。

我们注意到全渠道客户的问题解决速度变快了,满意度也提高了。我们曾在满意度排名中几近垫底,但现在我们却一直位居头名或前两名。 Matthias Schumacher 运营主管 hagebau connect
基于透明度的无缝全渠道体验

虽然速度是 hagebau 交付策略中的一大考虑因素,但具有前瞻性也同样十分重要。Rypholz 指出,为实现这两个目标,hagebau 和 GSOT 遵循了 Sterling 解决方案的最佳实践主导式方法,以便在必要时扩展此解决方案,从而为解决方案可扩展性框架内的所有定制流程提供支持。

如今,IBM Sterling 解决方案已在 hagebau 位于德国的近 350 家 hagebaumarkt 商店以及位于奥地利的 45 家商店中进行部署。除去经典的在线购买、店内提货 (BOPIS) 交易外,该解决方案还可支持 hagebau 客户进行在线购买、送货到店、店内购买、送货上门、在线购买以及店内退货/换货。

对于 hagebau connect 运营主管 Matthias Schumacher 来说,该解决方案还为 hagebau 提供了更灵活的履行选项,尤其是履行来自特定商店的订单的能力,而其好处更是超出了运营效率的范畴。“凭借我们店内发货能力,我们现在能最大限度地缩短交货距离”,他解释道。“这是集成式 OMS 在提高我们供应链物流活动可持续性影响方面的一个很好例子。”

一次处理一个订单,从而建立起感到满意的客户群

从宏观战略角度来看,新的 OMS 解决方案所带来的最重要好处在于,无论是购物还是退货,客户满意度均会显著提高,从而实现更顺畅、简单和方便的体验。由于该系统提供了覆盖所有关键接触点(包括商店、仓库和供应商)的透明订单视图,导致全渠道客户感到沮丧的订单“盲点”便已基本消除。Schumacher 表示:这意味着店内和呼叫中心的工作人员可以更快地解决客户的问题。"虽然我们的数字与全渠道业务量还在持续增长,但我们却注意到,全渠道客户的解决速度变快了,满意度也提高了。我们曾在满意度排名 [针对德国零售商] 中几近垫底,但现在我们却一直位居头名或前两名。”

更快地解决订单问题并非满意度上升的唯一原因。通过提高供应商库存的透明度,hagebau 员工还可更好地识别可能影响订单的“危险信号”,并在这些信号影响客户之前将其彻底清除。这一能力对于体积较大且直接发货的订单(例如泳池、花园大棚等)产生了巨大影响,而此类订单过去更易引发问题。

在适应此次大流行的终极压力测试后,hagebau 将其可扩展的集成式 OMS 视为自身持续实现全渠道增长的坚实基础。“我们认识到,我们的成功始于并终于客户的满意度”,Schumacher 评论道。“有了 GSOT 和 IBM 这样值得信赖的合作伙伴,我们现在便可提供客户所需的无缝式全渠道体验。”

hagebau 徽标
关于 hagebau

hagebau(ibm.com 外部链接)是德国最大的 DIY 零售商之一,其 2022 年的收入为 77 亿欧元。该公司(其名称意为“建筑材料贸易公司”)在七个欧洲国家设有约 1,500 个分支机构,并专门从事建筑材料、木材、瓷砖和花园设备等业务。

合作伙伴 GSOT 徽标
关于 GSOT

GSOT(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于英国和印度,它是一家 IBM 合作伙伴。该公司专门从事快速、按时且符合预算的全渠道订单管理项目,并与客户团队开展合作,从而为客户提供以最佳实践作为主导的项目成果。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM Pandora Jewelry

珠宝客户获得个性化的数字体验

阅读成功案例
Sally Beauty Holdings

全渠道配送从未如此出色

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品。2023 年 10 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、IBM Sterling 和 Sterling 是 International Business Machines Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新列表,请访问 ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。无法提供通用的预期结果,因为每个客户的结果将完全取决于客户的系统和订购的服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Building a seamless omnichannel experience
Home improvement retailer hagebau drives higher customer satisfaction with an integrated order management system
Couple taking a break from DIY painting, discussing paint swatches
Throughout the world, the DIY home improvement market has grown steadily, reflecting an increasing trend toward homeowners taking projects—from interior decoration to repairs and construction—into their own hands. As the wave has gained momentum, DIY retailers like Germany’s hagebau have thrived by selling these DIYers the tools, materials and supplies needed to get their projects done.

Like most major retailers, hagebau recognized that it needed to provide customers with a better digital experience to complement its brick-and-mortar operations. That led the company, in 2018, to create a standalone digital commerce unit known as hagebau connect, which is based in Hamburg. Spearheaded by the new unit, hagebau made rapid progress in developing its digital capabilities, which are part of its ultimate vision of providing its customers with a seamless omnichannel experience. But there were growing pains.

For home improvement retailers, the range of omnichannel use cases is about as diverse as the products they carry; think, for example, a one kilogram hammer versus a 1500 kg garden shed. In some cases, a customer may order online for in-store pickup; in others, a customer may order a non-inventoried product in store for drop-ship delivery. And that’s just to name a few. For such transactions to be “seamless”—a quality most omnichannel retailers aspire to—customers get the same high-quality experience regardless of the channel path. By early 2020, a little more than a year into hagebau’s digital journey, it was clear to hagebau that this was not the case.

As the Head of platform of hagebau connect, Jörn Hartig and the leadership team had observed that the steady growth of digital activity seemed to exacerbate what had been a simmering issue with customer satisfaction. Much of the problem, he explains, could be traced to the inability to know where an order is in the process. “We could see that some customers were getting frustrated because we couldn’t give them prompt answers about their orders, whether they were purchases or returns,” Hartig explains. “The fact that we were running several different order management systems had the effect of creating blind spots, especially for ‘hybrid’ transactions when multiple channels were involved.”

While hagebau recognized the problem, it was seen, in the scheme of things, as a relatively manageable one that didn’t imminently threaten the company’s growth and digital ambitions. But that view drastically changed when the pandemic took hold in the early months of 2020, and home improvement buying surged—much of it, for obvious reasons, online. Faced with the restrictions of the pandemic, people weren’t just spending more time at home. To an unprecedented degree, they were also opening up their wallets to make their homebound experience more palatable. As hagebau’s sales grew rapidly, its order management issues intensified.

100%

 

Introduced a transparent order management system (OMS) to 100% of retail outlets in Germany

Top 2

 

Through improved experience, now consistently ranked in the top 2 home improvement retailers in customer satisfaction ratings

It was clear that we needed a transparent view across all our channels—even up to our suppliers—and that an integrated, enterprise-grade OMS was the optimal way to achieve it. Karsten Rypholz Head of ERP hagebau
Pandemic pressures drive bold action

As hagebau’s Head of ERP and a key stakeholder in the order management project, Karsten Rypholz knew it was time to act, and there was little time to lose. “We recognized that the fragmentation of our order management systems and processes were the root cause of the problem,” says Rypholz. “It was clear that we needed a transparent view across all our channels—even up to our suppliers—and that an integrated, enterprise-grade OMS was the optimal way to achieve it.”

In vetting the company’s options, the hagebau team recognized that the pool of scalable, mature enterprise-level OMS candidates was relatively small. Given the magnitude, tight timeframe and high stakes involved, Rypholz explains, the real linchpin issue in the decision was trust. “In an agile project like this, we don’t have time for escalation,” he says. “We wanted a partner that had a strong track record for deploying an enterprise-grade OMS solution, and we found that combination in GSOT and the IBM Sterling Order Management solution.”

As part of its due diligence in the selection process, hagebau’s vendor selection team had GSOT—an IBM Business Partner specializing in rapid IBM Sterling® Order Management implementations—put together a proof-of-concept (POC) solution. In addition to demonstrating the effectiveness of GSOT’s methodologies and deployment tools, hagebau saw the POC as an opportunity to define use cases, pinpoint process issues and lay out the changes that would need to be made to fix them. Further, to maximize the efficiency of the project, hagebau also specified that GSOT design the POC such that it could serve as a cornerstone for the full-blown OMS.

Living up to its billing, GSOT delivered the POC in less than six weeks, in the process showcasing the ease of integration facilitated by Sterling’s flexible API connectors. On the strength of this performance, hagebau gave GSOT the green light for the full-scale project. Delivery specialists from IBM Sterling Lab Services were brought on to provide project management and governance services.

We’re seeing faster resolution and higher satisfaction ratings from our omnichannel customers. Where we were once near the bottom in satisfaction rankings, now we’re consistently among the top one or two. Matthias Schumacher Head of Operations hagebau connect
A seamless omnichannel experience built on transparency

While speed was an important consideration in hagebau’s delivery strategy, so was future proofing. To accomplish both, notes Rypholz, hagebau and GSOT followed a best-practice led approach for the Sterling solution, extending the solution when necessary to support any bespoke processes within the solution extensibility framework.

Today, the IBM Sterling solution is deployed across hagebau’s nearly 350 hagebaumarkt stores in Germany and 45 in Austria. In addition to classic buy online, pick up in store (BOPIS) transactions, the solution also enables hagebau customers to buy online, ship to store; buy in store, ship to home; and buy online, return/exchange in store.

To Matthias Schumacher, Head of Operations of hagebau connect, the fact that the solution also provides hagebau with more flexible fulfillment options—especially the ability to fulfill orders from specific stores—has benefits that go beyond operational efficiency. “With our ship-from-store capabilities, we now have the capacity to minimize delivery distances,” he explains. “It’s a great example of how an integrated OMS can improve the sustainability impact of our supply chain logistics activities.”

Building a satisfied customer base, one order at a time

In the big strategic picture, the most important benefit of the new OMS solution is a measurable increase in customer satisfaction resulting from a smoother, simpler and more convenient experience, whether it’s shopping or returns. Because the system provides a transparent view of orders across all the key touch points—including stores, warehouses and suppliers—the order “blind spots” that frustrated omnichannel customers have largely disappeared. That, says Schumacher, means in-store and call center associates can resolve a customer’s issue faster. “Even as we continue to see our digital and omnichannel business volumes grow, we’re seeing faster resolution and higher satisfaction ratings from our omnichannel customers. Where we were once near the bottom in satisfaction rankings [among German retailers], now we’re consistently among the top one or two.”

Faster resolution of order problems isn’t the only reason satisfaction is on the rise. With a more transparent view into supplier inventories, hagebau associates are also better able to identify “red flags” that could impact orders and head them off before they impact the customer. That capability makes a particularly big difference in the bulkier, drop-shipped orders—pools, garden sheds and the like—that were more prone to cause issues before.

Having adapted to the ultimate stress test of the pandemic, hagebau sees its scalable, integrated OMS as a solid foundation for its continued omnichannel growth. “We recognize that our success begins and ends with the satisfaction of our customers,” comments Schumacher. “With GSOT and IBM as our trusted partners, we’re now able to deliver the seamless omnichannel experience that our customers are demanding.”

hagebau Logo
About hagebau

With 2022 revenues of EUR 7.7 billion, hagebau (link resides outside of ibm.com) is one of Germany’s largest DIY retailers. The company, whose name stands for “trading company for building materials,” operates roughly 1,500 locations across seven European countries, specializing in building materials, wood, tiles and garden equipment.

Business Partner GSOT Logo
About GSOT

Based in the UK and India, GSOT (link resides outside of ibm.com) is an IBM Business Partner specializing in implementing rapid on-time, on-budget omnichannel order management projects and work in partnership with client teams to deliver best-practice led results for their customers.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

View more case stories Contact IBM Pandora Jewelry

Jewelry customers gain a personalized digital experience

Read the case study
Sally Beauty Holdings

Omnichannel shipping never looked so good

Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America. October 2023.

IBM, the IBM logo, IBM Sterling, and Sterling is trademarks or registered trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation, in the United States and/or other countries. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Generally expected results cannot be provided as each client's results will depend entirely on the client's systems and services ordered. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.