全球汽车行业都在加速转型,而中国已经超越了世界上的其他国家。

中国的汽车工业生产的电动汽车(EV)占全球总库存的 44% 乃至更多,迄今为止,这在各国所占份额中独占鳌头。 中国还建造了 80 多万个公共充电站,这一数字远超其他任何地方。 中国的电动汽车生产商包括国内公司和主要国际汽车制造商。 随着汽车日益实现数字化和互联互通,多家初创企业乃至电子产品制造商都纷纷加入进来。 这是车联网(IoV)的黎明。

一汽-大众是大众与中国最大的汽车公司之一 - 一汽的合资企业,其目标是通过自身转型,在这一颠覆性的行业中脱颖而出。 除了生产出色的汽车外,该公司还希望提供高质量的整体客户体验,力求将首次购买客户转变为终身客户。

为了实现这一目标,一汽-大众与 IBM Consulting™ 展开了合作,采用了 IBM Garage™ 方法,并实施了 IBM Cloud Pak® for Integration,着力转变其开发能力,并将当今驾驶体验中涉及的服务生态系统整合为驾驶员的无缝便捷体验。

IBM 帮助一汽-大众组建并培训了一支

超过 150 人

的数字创新团队,着力推动以客户为中心的转型

凭借完善的客户体验,该公司已注册了

超过 3 百万

的大众和捷达品牌应用程序新用户

车轮上的超级计算机

“汽车行业的数字化转型是中国国民经济的重要支柱,”一汽-大众管理服务部互联网应用开发经理兼成都研发中心负责人金伟鹏解释道,“在一汽-大众,我们正在不断地夯实基础,着力成为国内电动汽车生产和数字汽车业务方面的领先创新者。 在制造出色汽车的同时,我们还致力于为国家的数字经济战略做出巨大贡献。”

一汽-大众是中国首家满足中国市场规模需求的汽车制造商。 该公司在五座城市设有八家制造工厂,主要生产大众和奥迪车型,以及以大众捷达品牌命名的独立车型系列。

因此,随着电动汽车的需求猛增,一汽-大众面临的挑战并不在制造规模上,

而是关乎软件开发。

一汽-大众总部夜景

如今的高端汽车包含超过 1 亿行代码。(相比之下,波音 787 梦幻客机只包含大约 1400 万行代码。 世界上最大的粒子加速器 - 大型强子对撞机包含 5000 万行代码。)随着车辆技术的不断发展,通过移动设备提供更多的控制选项和媒体、更多的功能,甚至是自动驾驶功能和 IoV 连接,软件的数量也将持续呈指数级增长。

一汽-大众希望在软件与驾驶员使用的外部服务生态系统(如流媒体、停车、充电和导航服务)之间创建无缝集成,并且即使每个元素中的软件不断快速演变,这种无缝集成也能继续保持。

然而,为实现这一目标,该企业需要扩展其开发能力。“软件和传统电子产品在研发方法上存在巨大差异。 软件开发注重敏捷迭代和实践,这为传统汽车工厂的研发组织带来了巨大挑战”,金伟鹏解释道。 一汽-大众旨在转变研发范式,专注于云原生开发和集成。

改造客户体验

为了培养实现目标所需的内部技能,一汽-大众向值得信赖的合作伙伴 IBM Consulting 寻求帮助,他们的合作关系已超过 20 年。 IBM Consulting. 这支 IBM 团队帮助一汽-大众不仅革新了客户开发团队的技能,还转变了其在公司内部的本质。

所用方法不仅仅是开设培训研讨班。 IBM Consulting 采用 IBM Garage 方法(指导企业设计、构建和扩展端到端转型解决方案的可靠实践)来帮助位于中国成都的一汽-大众研发中心,为其组建并培训一支设计思维和敏捷运营(包括 DevOps 实践)方面的数字化创新团队,这支团队由 150 多人组成,旨在支持该组织转型成为更加以客户为中心的企业。 这个流程产生了创新想法,并为一汽-大众提供相关实践、技术和专业知识,从而快速将这些想法转化为业务价值。

一个年轻的家庭开着大众 SUV 在海滩上度过愉快的一天

例如,该团队发现了一汽-大众三大汽车品牌使用的三个不同网络平台存在的一个缺陷。 缺乏跨平台的可扩展性和稳定性,这阻碍了新项目的创新和交付。“基于这一发现”,金伟鹏说道,“我们启动了三个品牌的集成工作,打造了一个先进、稳定、可持续演进的车联网平台,着力解决当前的困境,促进跨品牌更轻松地应用持续创新。”

在技术方面,一汽-大众实施了 IBM Cloud Pak for Integration,它提供了符合该公司需求的集成模式。 一汽-大众使用 IBM Cloud Pak for Integration 组件以及 IBM Cloud Pak 的 Red Hat® OpenShift® 容器平台,跨两种场景开发基于容器化 API 的集成: 生态系统集成和后端集成。

生态系统集成将多样化的数字服务生态系统引入车辆以及客户的移动设备。 这包括与合作伙伴在流媒体、停车服务,尤其是电动汽车充电服务方面的集成。 中国拥有多家充电网络运营商,有些支持交流电 (AC),有些支持直流电 (DC),充电速度各不相同。 一汽-大众使用 IBM Cloud Pak 的 API 网关来协调集成,并加快充电运营商的准入流程。 驾驶员将获得简化的体验: 他们可以在一站式的一汽-大众应用中查看所有可用的充电选项,并可以根据他们的车辆需求进行过滤。

后端集成可将公司的记录系统与一汽-大众所有车型中不断改进的软件连接起来。 这包括使产品开发和制造流程与前端软件的敏捷开发保持同步。 对客户来说,这意味着更加便捷无缝的体验。 例如,车主可以从汽车的主机或移动应用向经销商下达维修订单,或者跟踪最近所订购汽车的生产进度。 在每种情况下,IBM Cloud Pak 的 API 管理组件都可以通过 API 在客户的界面与后端系统(如经销商管理系统和制造执行系统)之间交换信息。

“我们使用 Cloud Pak for Integration 中的 API 管理功能,将生态系统合作伙伴的上线时间从几个月缩短到几周,”金伟鹏说道,“对于后端集成,我们使用 API 简化了对复杂应用的访问,将开发使用这些系统的解决方案所需的时间减少了 50%。”

收获荣誉和众多新客户

“我们在由数字技术和数据驱动的所有触点上创造了令人信服的客户体验”,金伟鹏这样说道。

客户早已有所察觉。 自一汽-大众公司实施开发和集成转型以来,已有 300 多万新用户注册了其大众和捷达品牌移动应用。

从订购汽车到驾驶汽车,一汽-大众改善了整个体验。

它成为首家支持在线定制车辆订单的主流合资汽车企业。 这不只是一项方便的新功能,“这一订单交付项目使我们的生产计划发生了深刻的变革,”金伟鹏解释道。“我们已经从以库存为导向的模式转变为以客户为导向的模式。 我们可以掌握用户的喜好和需求,快速将其转化为产品,并灵活调整生产以满足预期。”

作为其驾驶体验创新方面的一个例子,一汽-大众凭借其智能座舱人机界面 (HMI) 设计赢得了 2021 年红点品牌与传达设计大奖(外部链接)。

该公司因将其开发团队的本质从一个以工厂为中心的软件部门转变为一个敏捷的创新者团队,而获得了额外的荣誉。 成都研发团队成为一汽-大众内部第一个获得独立研发能力的团队,并因智能网络数字能力建设项目(包括建立智能生态系统中间件平台)而获得了 IDC“未来最佳数字创新奖”。 在 2021 年 IDC“中国未来企业奖”这一奖项上,金伟鹏也被评为“年度新星”。

一汽-大众改变了该公司对于其客户而言所具有的意义。 它不再只是汽车生产商,还是现代驾驶体验的创新者。“展望未来,”金伟鹏表示,“客户体验仍将是我们的指导原则。 借助敏捷开发和集成,我们将继续创造卓越的商务和旅行服务,优化客户的驾乘体验。”

一汽-大众徽标

关于一汽-大众

一汽-大众成立于 1991 年,由一汽集团、大众汽车公司、奥迪汽车公司和大众汽车(中国)投资有限公司共同管理,它在中国运营,生产大众汽车和奥迪汽车,以及以大众捷达品牌命名的独立车型系列。 2020 年,该公司拥有 40,000 多名员工,生产了超过 200 万辆汽车。

解决方案组件

IBM Cloud Pak® for Integration
IBM Consulting™
IBM Garage™ 方法
Red Hat® OpenShift®

法律条款

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 3 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Cloud Pak、IBM Consulting 和 IBM Garage 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Red Hat® 和 OpenShift®、Fedora® 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。

本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

Accelerating the automotive industry into the future

FAW-Volkswagen delivers a seamless modern driving experience
by Rob Spencer
5-minute read

The transformation of the global automotive industry is accelerating, and China has beaten the rest of the world off the line.

China’s auto industry is producing 44% or more of the world’s total electric vehicle (EV) inventory — the largest share of any nation, by far. The country has also rolled out more than 800,000 public charging stations, vastly more than anywhere else. China’s EV producers include domestic companies as well as major international automakers. Multiple startups and even electronics manufacturers are getting in on the game as cars become more digital and more interconnected every day. It’s the dawn of the Internet of Vehicles (IoV).

For FAW-Volkswagen, a joint venture between Volkswagen and FAW, one of China’s largest automotive companies, the goal is to get out in front of the transforming industry by transforming itself. Beyond producing great vehicles, the company wants to deliver an overall customer experience of such quality that it turns first-time customers into lifetime customers.

Toward that goal, FAW-Volkswagen has engaged IBM® Consulting, followed the IBM Garage™ Methodology and implemented IBM Cloud Pak® for Integration to transform its development capabilities and bring together the ecosystem of services involved in today’s driving experience into a seamless, convenient experience for the driver.

Volkswagen electric car charging on a family's driveway

IBM helped FAW-Volkswagen build and train a digital innovation team of

> 150

people to drive a customer-focused transformation

With enhanced customer experiences, the company has registered

> 3

million new users for its VW and Jetta brand apps

We’ve created a compelling customer experience on all touch points powered by digital technologies and data.
Weipeng Jin
Manager of Internet Application Development, Management Services Department, and Head of Chengdu R&D Center, FAW-Volkswagen
Volkswagen electric car charger
Supercomputers on wheels

“The digital transformation of the auto industry is an important pillar of China’s national economy,” explains Weipeng Jin, FAW-Volkswagen’s Manager of Internet Application Development, Management Services Department, and Head of Chengdu R&D Center. “At FAW-Volkswagen, we’re laying a solid foundation to be the country’s leading innovator in electric vehicle production and in the digital automotive business. While making great cars, we also aim to contribute greatly to the national digital economy strategy.”

FAW-Volkswagen is China’s first carmaker built to meet the scale of the Chinese market. At eight manufacturing plants in five cities, it produces Volkswagen and Audi models, and a separate line of vehicles named for VW’s Jetta brand.

So, as demand for EVs skyrockets, the challenge for FAW-Volkswagen is not so much about manufacturing scale.

It’s about software development.

FAW-Volkswagen headquarters
Man charging his Volkswagen

Today’s high-end automobiles contain more than 100 million lines of code. (For comparison, a Boeing 787 Dreamliner contains about 14 million lines of code. The Large Hadron Collider, the world’s largest particle accelerator, contains 50 million lines.) And as vehicle technology continues to evolve — offering more control options and media, more functionality through mobile devices, and even self-driving capabilities and IoV connectivity — the amount of software will continue growing exponentially.

FAW-Volkswagen wanted to create seamless integrations between the software and the ecosystem of external services consumed by drivers — such as streaming media, parking, charging and navigation services — and maintain the seamlessness even as the software in every element continues to rapidly evolve.

To make it happen, however, the company needed to extend its development capabilities. “There is a huge difference between software and traditional electronics in terms of research and development methods. Software development focuses on agile iteration and practice, which poses a huge challenge to the R&D organization of traditional car factories,” explains Jin. FAW-Volkswagen aimed to shift the R&D paradigm to focus on cloud-native development and integration.

Transforming the customer experience

To build the internal skills needed to meet its goals, FAW-Volkswagen turned to a trusted partner it has worked with for more than 20 years: IBM Consulting. The IBM team helped FAW-Volkswagen transform not just the skills of the client’s development team, but also the very nature of the team within the company.

This was no mere training workshop. IBM Consulting employed the IBM Garage Methodology — proven practices that guide a company through designing, building and scaling solutions for end-to-end transformation — to help the FAW-Volkswagen R&D Center in Chengdu, China, create and train a 150+ person digital-innovation team in Design Thinking and agile operations, including DevOps practices, to support the organization’s transformation into a more customer-focused enterprise. The process generated innovative ideas and equipped FAW-Volkswagen with the practices, technologies and expertise to rapidly turn those ideas into business value.

For example, the teams identified a deficiency related to the three distinct networking platforms for FAW-Volkswagen’s three major car brands. A lack of scalability and stability across the platforms hindered innovation and delivery of new projects. “Based on this discovery,” says Jin, “we initiated the integration of the three brands and built an advanced, stable and evolvable Internet of Vehicles platform to solve the current dilemma and promote ongoing innovation that can more easily be applied across the brands.”

Volkswagen parked on a beach with a small family on vacation
FAW-Volkswagen factory

On the technology side, FAW-Volkswagen implemented IBM Cloud Pak for Integration, which provides integration patterns that align with the company’s requirements. FAW-Volkswagen uses IBM Cloud Pak for Integration components, as well as the IBM Cloud Pak’s Red Hat® OpenShift® container platform, to develop containerized API-based integrations across two use cases: ecosystem integration and back-end integration.

The ecosystem integration brings the diverse digital service ecosystem into vehicles as well as customers’ mobile devices. This includes integration with partners in streaming media, parking services and, in particular, EV charging services. There are multiple charging network operators in China, some that support alternating current (AC), others that support direct current (DC), with varying charge speeds available. FAW-Volkswagen uses the IBM Cloud Pak’s API gateway to mediate integration and accelerate the onboarding of charging operators. And drivers get a streamlined experience: they see all available charging options, filtered to their vehicles’ requirements, in a single FAW-Volkswagen app.

The back-end integration connects the company’s systems of record to the always-evolving software of all FAW-Volkswagen vehicle models. This includes synchronizing product development and manufacturing processes with agile development of front-end software. For customers, it means a more convenient and seamless experience. For example, a car owner can place a maintenance order to a dealership from the car’s head unit or from a mobile app, or track production progress of a recently ordered car. In each case, the IBM Cloud Pak’s API management component exchanges information via APIs between the customer’s interfaces and back-end systems such as the dealer management system and the manufacturing execution system.

“We use the API management capability in the Cloud Pak for Integration to reduce onboarding time for ecosystem partners from months to weeks,” says Jin. “For back-end integration, we use APIs to simplify access to complex applications, reducing the time to develop solutions that use these systems by 50%.”

Accolades and many, many new customers
Woman getting out of a Volkswagen car

“We’ve created a compelling customer experience on all touch points powered by digital technologies and data,” says Jin.

And customers have noticed. More than three million new users have registered for FAW-Volkswagen’s VW and Jetta brand mobile apps since the company’s development and integration transformation.

From ordering a car to driving it, FAW-Volkswagen has improved the experience.

It became the first mainstream, joint-venture vehicle enterprise to enable online custom vehicle orders. More than just a convenient new feature, “the Order to Delivery project initiated a profound change in our production planning,” explains Jin. “We have moved from an inventory-oriented model to a customer-oriented model. We can grasp users’ preferences and needs, quickly convert them to products and flexibly adjust production to satisfy expectations.”

As an example of its innovations in the driving experience, FAW-Volkswagen won a 2021 Red Dot Brand and Communication Design Award (external link) for its Smart Cockpit Human-Machine Interface (HMI) design.

The company garnered additional accolades for transforming the very nature of its development team from a factory-focused software department to an agile group of innovators. The Chengdu R&D team became the first team within FAW-Volkswagen to gain independent R&D capabilities and won an IDC award for “Best in Future of Digital Innovation” for an intelligent network digital capacity-building project, which included the establishment of an intelligent ecosystem middleware platform. Weipeng Jin was also recognized as the “Rising Star of the Year” in the 2021 IDC China Future Enterprise Awards.

FAW-Volkswagen has changed what the company means to its customers. No longer just a producer of cars, it’s also an innovator of the experience of modern driving. “Moving forward,” says Jin, “the customer experience will continue to be our guiding principle. Using agile development and integration, we will continue to create excellent business and travel services and optimize customers’ driving and riding experiences.”

FAW-Volkswagen logo

About FAW-Volkswagen

Founded in 1991 and jointly managed by First Automotive Group Corporation, Volkswagen AG, Audi AG and Volkswagen (China) Investment Co., Ltd., FAW-VolkswagenExternal Link operates in China and produces Volkswagen and Audi automobiles and a separate line of vehicles named for Volkswagen’s Jetta brand. The company employs more than 40,000 people and produced more than two million vehicles in 2020.

Solution components
FAW-Volkswagen logo

About FAW-Volkswagen

Founded in 1991 and jointly managed by First Automotive Group Corporation, Volkswagen AG, Audi AG and Volkswagen (China) Investment Co., Ltd., FAW-VolkswagenExternal Link operates in China and produces Volkswagen and Audi automobiles and a separate line of vehicles named for Volkswagen’s Jetta brand. The company employs more than 40,000 people and produced more than two million vehicles in 2020.

Solution components