主要城市实现使用率和性能升级
了解丹佛如何跨越应用程序所有者与 IT 运营之间的鸿沟
估算您可以节省的资金 开始免费试用

丹佛,科罗拉多州首府,同时也是一个备受欢迎的旅游胜地,成立于 1858 年,如今人口已超过 70 万。目前,有 50 多个特别机构履行各种职能,为市和县提供支持。这些机构的工作离不开 IT 组织的支持。

目前,IT 团队支持各种软件和服务,涵盖许可和执法解决方案、采购软件、工资单等。IT 团队管理的虚拟化环境包括在 40 台主机上运行的 1,500 台虚拟机 (VM),目前团队正在将部分工作量迁移到公共云。

过去,IT 运营团队使用不同的监视工具来了解环境的性能,并确定何时何地需要重新分配资源。当出现性能问题时,他们依靠手动干预来诊断根本原因并确定解决方案。此外,当应用程序所有者向 IT 团队请求分配资源以获取新服务时,他们往往会高估自己的需求。与许多组织一样,丹佛的 IT 组织内部存在一种误解,认为过量供给可以确保应用程序性能。遗憾的是,IT 运营团队没有一种工具可以标识过量供给的位置,并评估缩减规模是否能支持更好的应用程序性能。这时,IT 运营团队开始探索IBM® Turbonomic®混合云成本优化解决方案。

性能管理

 

丹佛依靠 IBM Turbonomic 来确保 1,500 台虚拟机 (VM) 的性能

提高效率

 

在 Turbonomic 的帮助下,团队的 CPU 和 RAM 使用量减少了 33%

我们之所以选择 IBM Turbonomic,是因为我们正在寻找一种通用语言,组织中的每个人都可以依赖它作为我们调整环境规模所需的事实来源。 Nick Steensland Service Delivery Manager City and County of Denver, CO
实施 AI 驱动的混合云成本优化

安装 Turbonomic 混合云成本优化解决方案后,IT 运营团队终于有了单一事实来源,可以了解计算环境的运行情况。丹佛市和县服务交付经理 Nick Steensland 解释道:“我们之所以选择 IBM Turbonomic,是因为我们正在寻找一种通用语言,组织中的每个人都可以依赖它作为我们调整环境规模所需的事实来源。”此外,团队最终掌握了具体证据,可以向应用程序所有者展示其虚拟机发生过量供给的位置。Steensland 表示:“IBM Turbonomic 提供了必要的数据,让我们能够向更广泛的团队证明:过量供给不仅不能保证性能,而且实际上会使性能面临风险。”

Turbonomic 的全堆栈可见性提供了必要的数据,让团队能够向数据库管理员证明,例如,还原 CPU 核心不会牺牲系统性能。这种级别报告有助于 IT 团队在整个团队中建立信任,从而最终能够开始全面的环境规模调整工作。

IBM Turbonomic 提供了必要的数据,让我们能够向更广泛的团队证明:过量供给不仅不能保证性能,而且实际上会使性能面临风险。 Nick Steensland Service Delivery Manager City and County of Denver, CO
在确保性能的同时提高效率

自开始这项数据中心整合工作以来,IT 运营团队已经能够在确保性能的同时,将 CPU 和 RAM 使用率降低 33%。他们还改进了规划过程。现在,当应用程序所有者向团队请求资源时,团队可以利用历史数据来确定实际分配的资源量。此外,团队还可以密切观察使用率,并在适当的时候调整规模。事实证明,当团队尝试依靠现有基础设施来部署新服务时,这种功能非常有用。新主机的成本可能超过 3 万美元。通过提高现有基础架构的使用率,团队能够确保应用程序性能,并在没有其他选择之前避免投资新服务器。

在旅程的这个阶段,团队依靠 Turbonomic 的 AI 功能为其虚拟化环境提供资源分配建议。其目标是在未来 12 个月内在该环境及公共云环境中实施自动化操作。在实施这一转变的过程中,团队将继续遵循章程,以最大程度地减少开支,同时确保员工和居民始终享有卓越的最终用户体验。

丹佛标志
关于丹佛

丹佛成立于 1858 年,如今人口已超过 70 万。有 50 多个特别机构履行各种职能,为市和县提供支持。丹佛市和县的 IT 组织支持各种软件和服务,涵盖许可和执法软件、采购软件、工资单等。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

阅读 PDF 查看更多案例 J.B. Hunt
《财富 500 强》运输领军企业安全地从一个云平台迁移到另一个云平台
阅读成功案例
BBC Studios
大型广播公司减少资源争用并提高性能
阅读成功案例
Carhartt
一家传奇品牌打破假日销售记录
阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Turbonomic 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球多个司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。如需 IBM 商标的最新列表,请访问ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Major city improves utilization and performance

How Denver bridged the gap between application owners and IT operations

Elizabeth Sheehan
4-minute read

The capital of Colorado and a popular tourist destination, Denver was founded in 1858 and today has a population of over 700,000. Presently, there are over 50 unique agencies performing various functions to support the city and county. The IT organization plays a critical role in supporting their efforts.

Currently, the IT team supports a wide variety of software and services that range from permitting and law enforcement solutions to procurement software, payroll and more. They manage a virtualized environment containing 1,500 virtual machines (VMs) running on 40 hosts, and they are in the process of migrating some of their workloads to the public cloud.

Historically, the IT Operations team used disparate monitoring tools to understand how their environment was performing and to determine when and where they needed to reallocate resources. When there was a performance issue, they relied on manual intervention to diagnose root cause and identify a solution. Moreover, when application owners turned to them to allocate resources for a new service, they would often overestimate what they needed. Like many organizations, there was a misconception within the IT organization at Denver that overprovisioning could assure application performance. Unfortunately, the IT Operations team did not have a tool that would identify where they were overprovisioning and evaluate whether downsizing would support better application performance. This is when they began exploring the IBM® Turbonomic® Application Resource Management (ARM) solution.

Denver State Capitol Building with Mountain View

Denver relies on IBM Turbonomic to assure the performance of

1,500

VMs

With the help of Turbonomic, the team achieved

33%

reduction in CPU and RAM usage

We chose IBM Turbonomic because we were looking for a common language that everyone in the organization could rely on as a source of truth for what we need to right-size our environments.
Nick Steensland
Service Delivery Manager, City and County of Denver, CO

Implementing AI-powered application resource management

A group of colleagues working together on a computer in a modern office

Once they installed the Turbonomic ARM solution, the IT Operations team finally had a single source of truth to understand how their compute environment was performing. “We chose IBM Turbonomic because we were looking for a common language that everyone in the organization could rely on as a source of truth for what we need to right-size our environments,” explains Nick Steensland, Service Delivery Manager for the City and County of Denver. Additionally, they finally had concrete evidence to show application owners where their VMs were overprovisioned. “IBM Turbonomic gave us the data we needed to show the broader team that overprovisioning would not only fail to assure performance, but actually put performance at risk,” says Steensland.

Because of Turbonomic’s full stack visibility, the team had the data they needed to show their database administrator, for example, that giving back CPU cores would not sacrifice the performance of their systems. This level of reporting helped them establish trust across the team and allowed them to finally begin a comprehensive resizing effort across their environment.

IBM Turbonomic gave us the data we needed to show the broader team that overprovisioning would not only fail to assure performance, but actually put performance at risk.
Nick Steensland
Service Delivery Manager, City and County of Denver, CO

Driving efficiency while assuring performance

Computer programmers working in office

Since beginning this data center consolidation effort, the IT Operations team has been able to achieve a 33% reduction in their CPU and RAM usage, all while assuring performance. They have also improved their planning processes. Now, when application owners come to the team with a resourcing request, they have historical data to support them in determining what volume of resources to actually allocate. They also are able to closely observe utilization and resize when appropriate. This capability has proven to be hugely beneficial as the team attempts to rely on their existing infrastructure to deploy new services. A new host can cost upwards of USD 30,000. By improving the utilization of their existing infrastructure, the team has been able to assure application performance and avoid investing in a new server until there is no other option.

At this stage of their journey, the team is relying on Turbonomic’s AI-powered resourcing recommendations for their virtualized environment. Their goal is to implement automated actions across this environment as well as their public cloud environment within the next 12 months. As they navigate this transition, they will continue to follow their charter to minimize spend while maintaining a consistently excellent end-user experience for their employees and their residents.

Denver logo
About Denver

DenverExternal Link was founded in 1858 and today has a population of over 700,000. There are over 50 unique agencies performing various functions for citizens across the city and county. The IT organization within City and County of Denver supports a wide variety of software and services which range from permitting and law enforcement software to procurement software, payroll and more.

Solution component
Denver logo
About Denver

DenverExternal Link was founded in 1858 and today has a population of over 700,000. There are over 50 unique agencies performing various functions for citizens across the city and county. The IT organization within City and County of Denver supports a wide variety of software and services which range from permitting and law enforcement software to procurement software, payroll and more.

Solution component