增长 500%。这是 Dealerware 为自己设定的目标。

Dealerware 提供了一种解决方案,可实现汽车零售商车队管理的现代化并进行简化。该公司制定了一系列增长计划,旨在提高租赁合同量,并将管理的车辆数量增加四倍。

然而,在实施这些举措之前,Dealerware 的工程团队观察到,上午 8 点是使用高峰,下午 5 点左右会减少。为了应对高峰期的预期增长和更大的峰值,工程团队将 Dealerware 的平台从单体式应用迁移到更具可扩展性的基于容器的架构。

这一转变发生后,Dealerware 需要新的工具来简化和扩展运营。随着指数级增长和新架构的出现,运营团队担心 Dealerware 应用程序可能存在的瓶颈、性能和延迟问题。

面对新冠病毒疫情产生的额外紧急要求,应用程序性能和速度愈发重要:非接触式体验的需求。

Dealerware 的 DevOps 团队将交付延迟缩短了

98%
从 10 分钟缩短到 10 -12 秒

该团队正在使用 Instana® 实现

< 250
毫秒的延迟目标

确保顶级服务

对于 Dealerware,应用程序性能是关键任务。经销商依赖于 Dealerware 平台的功能和响应能力。为了提供最佳的客户体验,该公司希望更好地衡量和了解应用程序性能。

自 2016 年成立以来,Dealerware 一直在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云平台上运行,在有单体应用程序的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) 实例上构建其应用程序。容器是小型资源,配置速度比普通 Amazon EC2 实例更快。配置容器化应用程序只需几秒钟,有时只需几毫秒,而虚拟机则需要几分钟。速度至关重要。借助容器,Dealerware 可以更有效地扩展,并在需求高峰时从 5 个实例快速增加到 40 个实例,而不会在高峰时段出现延迟,降低客户体验。

但如果没有合适的工具,就不可能在基于容器的架构中监控应用程序性能。Dealerware 需要提高其容器、API 调用和数据库查询的可见性,来发现瓶颈。它需要一种方法来可视化每个应用程序和基础架构组件的依赖关系。服务之间的依赖关系可以深入到多层。单个微服务中的延迟峰值可能会影响上下游,引发问题。

两位男士正在说话,一个向另一个展示文件。

端到端可视性

当产品团队将 500% 的增长目标告知工程团队时,得到的最初反应是“我们需要监控它。我们怎样能做到最好?”

Dealerware DevOps 团队记得在几年前在 DevOps Days 会议上曾看到 IBM® Observability by Instana 技术演示。Instana 应用程序监控解决方案提供了无缝启动,单个代理可自动检测正在运行的内容并从中收集数据。

将 Instana 代理安装到 Dealerware 的 Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (EKS) 集群后,它会自动发现在 Pod、服务和端点中运行的所有容器以及它们之间的依赖关系。代理会自动捕获每个端点的错误消息并为其编制索引,然后会将其汇总到服务和应用程序级别。

Instana 解决方案还提供对微服务和云原生技术的监控,例如 EKS 和 Dealerware 现在使用的 AWS 全栈。可自定义的 Instana 仪表板可提供关于应用程序依赖关系和性能指标的丰富可视化内容。除了 DevOps 和产品团队的目标用户之外,灵活性对于其他潜在的未来目标用户非常重要。

在迁移到性能更好的环境后,可观察性、监控和扩展功能正是 Dealerware 控制延迟所需要的。

可观察性工具通常从团队想要监视的系统收集和显示数据。但数据需要有意义且切实可行的分析。分析能力越强,在可观察性和监控方面的投资就越有价值。

那就是 Instana 大显身手的地方。Instana Enterprise Observability Platform (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)提供对整个环境的自动检测,以及对 EKS 集群的全面监控。Instana 代理无需额外配置即可完成所有繁重的工作:

  • 运行时自动注入容器
  • 提供关于应用程序依赖关系和性能指标的丰富可视化内容
  • 全面映射所有应用程序依赖关系

跟踪每一个请求 - 无需采样。Instana 提供全面的可视性,监控最终用户事务请求并提供相关的相关后端请求。

一起看电脑的男士和女士。

Instana 还支持跨三个类别的警报:

  • 更改 — 小事件,例如容器标签更改或者主机增加或减少
  • 家 IBM 公司,提供问题 — 达到 CPU 使用率峰值或容器限制等低级别事件
  • 事件 — 更复杂的事件集,包括机器学习在应用程序运行不顺畅时发出通知,并借助历史视图来显示导致事件的原因

这些警报可在故障排除开始之前深入了解所发生的情况。它不仅仅是应用程序性能管理 (APM),还包括实时基础架构监控、平台监控、最终用户监控和智能警报系统。

Dealerware 跟踪并阻止延迟

借助 Instana,Dealerware 现在可以监控、观察和管理其所有环境。从单个控制界面中,用户可以查看问题发生的位置、了解原因并启动修复。

“我一直在使用 Instana 进行故障诊断,”Dealerware 的高级 DevOps 工程师 Kenneth Skertchly 说,“好处是可以在基础架构视图中跟踪问题的根源。它为我不了解的问题提供了洞察。”

Dealerware 现在可以了解给定数据库查询或微服务延迟激增的原因,以及如何消除瓶颈。通过这些信息和行动,该公司可在出现延迟差距时进行缩小,提高 Dealerware 平台的性能并改善客户体验。当特定服务出现延迟问题时,工程团队可以提醒 UI 团队隐藏某些功能。

这种能力非常重要,特别是在 2020 年初的行业变化之后,彼时 Dealware 不得不调整标准操作程序并进行非接触式操作。该公司发现,在某些情况下,通过 SMS 发送的合同最多需要 10 分钟才能到达客户手中。

开发运营团队使用来自 Instana 和 AWS CloudWatch 的实时数据后,发现文本消息排队时,作业的运行时间更长。该团队对队列进行了分离,分别监控并设置警报,将交付延迟从 10 分钟缩短到 10 到 12 秒。

Dealerware 的下一步

随着延迟得到控制,Dealerware 团队正在将重点转移到构建新的平台特性和功能,并加速其持续集成、持续交付 (CI/CD) 流程。

Dealerware 首席平台架构师 Bryce Hendrix 表示:“我们与 Instana 合作的目标一直是保证延迟预期。我们的服务呼叫目标是在 250 毫秒内完成。因此,这不仅仅用于演习。而是可以在日常工作中提高性能,推动我们朝着 250 毫秒的目标前进。Instana 可以帮助我们实现这一目标。”

工程团队还希望将 Instana 的使用扩展到其他团队,特别是营销和客户支持。虽然这些团队可能不想像开发和运营团队那样深入挖掘数据,但与其业务相关的更高级别的指标将产生有价值的洞察。

这就是 Instana 可自定义仪表板的用武之地。无需查看办公室中的单个显示器,个人用户可以创建小部件,来显示与他们相关的自定义指标,并将它们组合起来,创建定制的登录页面,在早上开始工作时首先看到它。

Dealerware 徽标

关于 Dealerware

Dealerware (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)提供了一种互联汽车移动解决方案,可简化汽车经销商的车队管理。其平台允许经销商降低成本并增强服务部门的客户体验。如今,Dealerware 为数百家经销商管理着数万辆汽车,与前十大汽车经销商集团和超过 25 个原始设备制造商品牌合作。

Instana 徽标

关于 Instana, an IBM Company

Instana 是一家 IBM 公司,提供企业可观察性平台(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)和自动化应用性能监控(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)功能,支持企业运行复杂的现代云原生应用,无论这些应用位于何处 — 无论是在本地运行,还是在公有云和私有云中运行,包括在移动设备或 IBM Z® 大型机上运行的应用。

通过 Instana 中由 AI 驱动的发现能力,揭示混合应用中的深层依赖关系,从而控制现代化的混合应用。 Instana 还提供针对开发管道的可视性,帮助实现闭环的 DevOps 自动化。

这些功能提供客户所需的切实可行的反馈,帮助他们优化应用性能,实现创新和降低风险,帮助 DevOps 提高效率,为软件交付管道增添价值,同时满足服务和业务级别的目标。

有关更多信息,请访问 instana.com(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。

解决方案组件

IBM® Observability by Instana®

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 IBM Z 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Instana® 是 IBM 公司 Instana 的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

Top-of-the-line performance in fleet management
Dealerware brings IBM Instana Observability to a containerized environment
Experience IBM Instana Observability

Five hundred percent growth. That was the goal Dealerware set for itself.

Dealerware provides a solution that modernizes and streamlines fleet management for automotive retailers. The company planned a set of growth initiatives intended to drive up rental and loaner contract volume and quintuple the number of vehicles under management.

Prior to these initiatives, however, Dealerware’s engineering team saw usage spikes at 8 AM for pick-up and around 5 PM for drop-off. To prepare for the anticipated growth and even greater spikes during peak demand, the engineering team migrated Dealerware’s platform from monolithic applications to a more scalable container-based architecture.

Along with this transition, Dealerware sought new tools for streamlining and scaling operations. With exponential growth and a new architecture, the team was concerned about possible bottlenecks, performance issues and latency of Dealerware applications.

App performance and speed became even more critical when the COVID-19 pandemic created an additional, urgent requirement: the need for a contactless experience.

Does this story resonate with your business challenges? Take the next step today.

Reduced delivery latency

 

Dealerware's DevOps team reduced delivery latency by 98% from 10 minutes to 10–12 seconds

Very low latency

 

The team is using Instana® to drive toward a latency goal of < 250 milliseconds

It’s great to have something to be able to trace the root of the problem at the infrastructure view. It’s provided insights into issues I wasn’t aware of. Kenneth Skertchly Senior DevOps Engineer Dealerware
Ensuring top-of-the-line service

For Dealerware, app performance is mission critical. Dealerships depend on the Dealerware platform’s capabilities and responsiveness. To deliver the best possible customer experience, the company wanted to better measure and understand application performance.

Since its founding in 2016, Dealerware has been running on the Amazon Web Services (AWS) cloud platform, building its app on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) instances with a monolithic stack. Containers are smaller resources that are faster to provision than plain Amazon EC2 instances. Provisioning containerized applications can take just seconds—sometimes milliseconds—versus minutes for virtual machines. This speed matters. With containers, Dealerware can scale more effectively and go from five to forty instances quickly when demand spikes, rather than experiencing latency and degrading the customer experience during peak hours.

But monitoring application performance in a container-based architecture is impossible without the right tools. Dealerware needed greater visibility across its containers, API calls and database queries in order to uncover bottlenecks. It needed a way to visualize the relational dependencies of every application and infrastructure component. And the dependencies between services can go many layers deep. A latency spike in a single microservice can cascade up and downstream, causing issues.

End-to-end visibility

When the product team brought the goal of 500% growth to the engineering team, the initial response was, “We’ll need to monitor it. How do we do that best?”

The Dealerware DevOps team remembered seeing a demo of IBM Instana® Observability technology at a DevOps Days conference a couple years prior. The Instana application monitoring solution offered an seamless launch, with a single agent that automatically detects what’s running and collects data from it.

Once the Instana agent has been installed into Dealerware’s Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (EKS) clusters, it automatically discovers all the containers running in the pods, services and endpoints, and the dependencies between them. The agent automatically captures and indexes error messages against each endpoint and rolls them up to the service and application level.

The Instana solution also offers monitoring for the microservices and cloud-native technologies, such as EKS and the full AWS stack that Dealerware now uses. The customizable Instana dashboards provide rich visualization of application dependencies and performance metrics. The flexibility is important for potential future target users beyond the DevOps and product teams.

After moving to a better performing environment, observability, monitoring and scaling abilities were just what Dealerware needed to control latency.

Generally, observability tools collect and display data from the system that teams want to monitor. But data requires meaningful and actionable analysis. The better your analysis capabilities are, the more valuable your investments in observability and monitoring become.

That is where Instana shines. IBM Instana Observability offers automatic detection of whole environments, with comprehensive monitoring of EKS clusters. The Instana agent does all the heavy lifting without additional configuration:

  • Auto-injection into containers at runtime
  • Rich visualization of application dependencies and performance metrics
  • Comprehensive mapping of all application dependencies

There is a trace for every request—no sampling. Instana provides full visibility, monitors end-user transaction requests and provides the relevant correlated back-end requests.

Instana also enables alerting across three categories:

  • Changes—small events such as changes to container labels or hosts spinning up or down
  • Issues—low-level events such as CPU usage spikes or container limits being reached
  • Incidents—more complex sets of events, including machine learning informing when an application looks less-than-perfect, with a historical view to show what led to the incident

These alerts provide insight into what occurred before troubleshooting even begins. It’s not just application performance management (APM), but a real-time infrastructure monitoring, platform monitoring, end-user monitoring and intelligent alerting system.

Dealerware stops latency in its tracks

With Instana, Dealerware can now monitor, observe and manage all of its environments. From a single control pane, users can see where issues occur, understand the causes and initiate fixes.

“I’ve been using Instana as a troubleshooting tool,” says Kenneth Skertchly, a Senior DevOps Engineer at Dealerware. “It’s great to have something to be able to trace the root of the problem at the infrastructure view. It’s provided insights into issues I wasn’t aware of.”

Dealerware now understands why a given database query or microservice spiked in latency, and how to remove the bottleneck. With this information and action, the company closes latency gaps as they occur, improving the Dealerware platform’s performance and the customer experience. When a specific service has latency issues, the engineering team can alert the UI team to hide certain functionality.

This capability was important particularly after the industry change near the beginning of 2020, when Dealerware had to adjust standard operating procedures and go contactless. The company discovered that in some cases, contracts sent via SMS were taking up to 10 minutes to get to customers.

Using real-time data from Instana and AWS CloudWatch, the DevOps team discovered that the text messages were queued with longer running jobs. The team was able to separate the queues, monitor them and set alerts, resulting in a decrease in delivery latency from 10 minutes down to 10–12 seconds.

What’s next for Dealerware

With latency under control, the Dealerware team is shifting its focus to building out new platform features and functionality, and accelerating its continuous integration, continuous delivery (CI/CD) process.

Bryce Hendrix, Lead Platform Architect at Dealerware, explains: “With Instana, our day-to-day goal is to be able to guarantee a latency expectation. Our goal for service calls is to complete within less than 250 milliseconds. So, it’s not just for fire drills. In the day-to-day, we’re able to improve performance, and that drives us toward that 250 milliseconds goal. Instana makes this possible.”

The engineering team is also looking to expand use of Instana to other teams, in particular marketing and customer support. While these teams may not want to drill down as deep into data as development and operations, higher-level metrics relevant to their business will yield valuable insights.

This is where Instana’s customizable dashboards come in. Rather than looking at one single monitor in the office, individual users can create widgets that show custom metrics relevant for them, and assemble them to create tailored landing pages that will be the first thing they see in the morning when work starts.

Dealerware logo
About Dealerware

Dealerware (link resides outside of ibm.com) provides a connected-car mobility solution that streamlines fleet management at automotive dealerships. Its platform allows dealers to lower cost and enhance the customer experience in the service department. Today, Dealerware manages tens-of-thousands of vehicles for hundreds of dealerships, working with all of the top 10 dealer groups and more than 25 original equipment manufacturer brands.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

View more case stories Contact IBM PathMotion
Helping employers find the perfect employees
Read the case study
Vivy
Introducing your digital healthcare assistant
Read the PDF
Conrad Electronic International
Supplying the world’s electronics, without fail
Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, July 2021.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, Instana, and IBM Z are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at ibm.com/trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.