将技术融入金融科技
Broadridge 为未来金融业扩大规模
人们在周围带有显示股票图表的显示器的房间里工作

每天六万亿美元。美股交易及代理业务市场占有率领先。这些都是 Broadridge Financial Solutions 面临的风险。准确性和可靠性不是奢侈品,而是必需品。即使是日常流程中最小的失误也可能危及公司的声誉,而且危及华尔街本身的稳定。

Broadridge 是金融服务行业核心的金融科技英雄,这家公司默默无闻地为全球金融市场的日常交易提供支持。

“金融业贯穿我们的业务始终”,Broadridge 首席信息官 (CIO) Mark Schlesinger 说道。“我们通过丰富的用户参与、优化效率、规避风险和促进增长来帮助企业实现业务转型。”

为了充分利用行业对技术驱动型解决方案日益增长的需求,Schlesinger 和他的团队寻求将现有基础设施外包,降低内部成本,提高速度和可扩展性。为此,Broadridge 需要一个在每个环节都值得信赖的合作伙伴。

“我们最终一致认为 IBM 是适合 Broadridge 的解决方案,”Schlesinger 说道,“无论是从其市场地位、金融服务地位还是交付能力来看都是如此。”

深入了解金融服务的未来

处理速度更快

 

将关键系统的处理速度提高 20–30 %

更快的数据迁移

 

实现全面数据迁移所需的时间 7 个周末

我们能够在七个周末内完成这项工作,而这本来可能需要九个月到一年的时间。 Scott Anderson IT 副总裁 Broadridge Financial Solutions

IBM 咨询 的一个团队与 Broadridge 携手制定了一项积极的项目计划,同时避免了业务中断的风险。

“我们几乎就像兄弟姐妹一样,”IBM 全球项目主管 Loyd Simpson 说道。“推拉并举,共同努力为客户争取最好的结果。”

这一艰苦努力产生了一个创新的解决方案:一个处理能力强大的私有云环境,可以应对最苛刻的交易日,并有能力处理不断增长的客户群。彻底的转变。

Broadridge 的 IT 副总裁 Scott Anderson 表示:“这对我们来说是一个真正的变化,我们基本上从拥有自己的资产转变为真正的外包关系,并由 IBM 为我们管理。”

创新解决方案的新一代技术

挑战显而易见:将数据和处理过程完全迁移到新的灵活且可扩展的系统中。任务虽然复杂,但可以完成。真正的问题是找到时间。

由于 Broadridge 需要与全球金融市场保持同步,因此工作日禁止进入。IBM 提出了一个新奇的想法:周末怎么办?借助 IBM iSeries 云技术,Broadridge 可以比设计全新系统更快地迁移到私有云基础设施。

通过周末工作,仅用七个周末就完成了迁移。这样,该项目就在四个月的期限内完成了。

“我们能够在七个周末内完成这项工作,而这本来可能需要九个月到一年的时间,”Anderson 说。

除了在截止日期前完成任务外,Broadridge 及其客户从未懈怠。迁移工作顺利完成,新平台提供“坚如磐石、日复一日的服务”,Schlesinger 说。这使得 Broadridge 能够以快 20 - 30% 的处理速度交付许多关键的、大容量的和面向客户的系统。新的云技术使公司能够更快地接待客户。同时,它还具有可扩展性,可以将业务扩展到全球新市场。

“在内部,我们称之为 Broadridge 3.0,因为它实际上是将 Broadridge 提升到一个新的水平,”Schlesinger 说。“这就是我们所说的创新 ABCD,利用新一代技术:A 代表人工智能和机器人技术,B 代表区块链解决方案,C 代表云技术,D 代表数字技术。”

在内部,我们称之为 Broadridge 3.0,因为它实际上是将 Broadridge 提升到一个新的水平。 Mark Schlesinger Broadridge Financial Solutions 首席信息官
创新路线图

Schlesinger 和 Broadridge 并没有就此止步。这次转型非常成功,他们很快就找到了下一个将业务推向未来的机会。作为多年战略合作的一部分,Broadridge 将创建由 IBM 提供支持的 Broadridge 私有云。该公司将把其全球基础设施的很大一部分转移到 IBM,实施Red Hat OpenShift  (链接位于 ibm.com 以外)平台—业界最全面的 Kubernetes 平台。

Schlesinger 说:“加快我们的云战略将使客户能够利用行业领先、高度灵活和有弹性的技术平台,并使 Broadridge 能够加快我们的产品路线图,使我们的客户能够更快地获得新的行业解决方案。”

Broadridge 标志
Broadridge 简介

Broadridge (链接位于 ibm.com 以外)成立于 2007 年,是一家全球金融科技公司,收入超过 40 亿美元。该公司每天与世界上一些最大的公司和金融机构合作,处理数百万美元的交易,并为超过 75% 的北美家庭提供通信支持。

采取下一步行动
利用数据打击人口贩运 ISO 20022 如何启动一家瑞士银行的数字化转型 大多数越南人没有银行账户。Techcombank 想改变这种状况。
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2020 年 9 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 标志和 ibm.com 是国际商业机器公司在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“版权和商标信息”部分中提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Red Hat® 和 OpenShift® 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Putting the tech into fintech
Broadridge scales up for the future of finance
People working in a room surrounded by monitors with stock charts

Six trillion dollars a day. The leading market share of the US stock trading and proxy business. These are the stakes for Broadridge Financial Solutions. Accuracy and reliability aren’t luxuries — they’re necessities. Even the smallest slip in daily processes could jeopardize not just the company’s reputation, but the stability of Wall Street itself.

Broadridge is a fintech hero at the heart of the financial services industry, a company that inconspicuously enables daily trading across global financial markets.

“The financial industry runs through us,” says Mark Schlesinger, Broadridge’s Chief Information Officer (CIO). “We help companies transform their business by enriching customer engagement, optimizing efficiency, navigating risk and generating growth.”

To capitalize on the increased demand for technology-driven solutions in the industry, Schlesinger and his team sought to outsource their existing infrastructure, reduce internal costs and increase speed and scalability. For that, Broadridge needed a partner it could trust every step of the way.

“We ultimately agreed that IBM was the right solution for Broadridge,” says Schlesinger, “both from its position in the market, its position in financial services and its ability to deliver.”

Explore the future of financial services

Faster Processing

 

Faster processing speed of critical systems 20–30 percent

Faster Data Migration

 

Time to achieve full data migration 7 weekends

We were able to get this done in seven weekends when it could have taken nine months to a year. Scott Anderson Vice President of IT Broadridge Financial Solutions

A team from IBM® Consulting dove in headfirst with Broadridge to develop an aggressive project plan, without risking business disruption.

“We’re almost like siblings,” says Loyd Simpson, IBM Global Project Executive. “There’s push and pull, working together to get the best outcome for their customers.”

That hard work produced an innovative solution: a private cloud environment with the processing power to tackle the most demanding trading day and the capacity to handle a growing customer base. A total transformation.

“It was a real change for us,” says Scott Anderson, Vice President of IT at Broadridge, “to basically move from owning our own assets to a true outsourcing relationship and having IBM manage that for us.”

Next-gen tech for innovative solutions

The challenge was clear: a complete migration of data and processing to a new flexible and scalable system. The task was complex but achievable. The real issue was finding the time.

Weekdays were off-limits, since Broadridge needed to keep sync with global financial markets. IBM proposed a novel idea: what about weekends? With IBM iSeries cloud technology, Broadridge could move to a private cloud infrastructure much faster than if it had to design a brand-new system.

The weekend work made it possible to complete the migration in just seven weekends. That brought the project in just under the four-month deadline.

“We were able to get this done in seven weekends when it could have taken nine months to a year,” says Anderson.

Beyond meeting the deadline, Broadridge and its clients never skipped a beat. The migration happened seamlessly, and the new platform provides “rock-solid, day-in and day-out services,” says Schlesinger. That allows Broadridge to deliver many of its critical, high-volume and client-facing systems with 20 - 30% faster processing. The new cloud technology enables the company to onboard customers much more quickly. It also gives it scalability to expand its business to new markets around the world.

“Internally, we’re calling this Broadridge 3.0, because it’s really about taking Broadridge to the next level,” says Schlesinger. “It’s what we call the ABCDs of Innovation, leveraging next-gen technology: A for AI and robotics, B for blockchain solutions, C for cloud and D for digital.”

Internally, we’re calling this Broadridge 3.0, because it’s really about taking Broadridge to the next level. Mark Schlesinger Chief Information Officer, Broadridge Financial Solutions
A roadmap to innovation

Schlesinger and Broadridge aren’t stopping there. The transformation was so successful that they quickly identified the next opportunity to push their business into the future. As a part of a multiyear, strategic collaboration, Broadridge will create what it calls the Broadridge Private Cloud, powered by IBM. The company will transition a significant portion of its global infrastructure to IBM, implementing the Red Hat OpenShift (link resides outside ibm.com) platform — the industry’s most comprehensive Kubernetes platform.

“Accelerating our cloud strategy will enable clients to leverage an industry-leading, highly flexible and resilient technology platform,” Schlesinger says, “and allow Broadridge to accelerate our product roadmap, providing our clients with faster access to new industry solutions.”

Broadridge logo
About Broadridge

Founded in 2007, Broadridge (link resides outside ibm.com) is a global fintech company with over USD 4 billion in revenues. Daily, the company works with some of the world’s biggest companies and financial institutions, handles millions of dollars in trades, and supports communications with over 75% of North American households.

Take the next step
Banking on data to disrupt human trafficking How ISO 20022 launched one Swiss bank’s digital transformation Most people in Vietnam don’t have a bank. Techcombank wants to change that.
Footnotes

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, September 2020.

IBM, the IBM logo, and ibm.com are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml.

Red Hat® and OpenShift® are trademarks or registered trademarks of Red Hat, Inc. or its subsidiaries in the United States and other countries.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.