1849年,曾经的农场工人 John Boot 踏出勇敢的一步,彻底改变自己的职业发展道路,专注于草药生物医学和疗法。

虽然这位农民除了从从事草药管理的母亲那里学到的知识外,并无正式的医学资质,但 Boot 还是受到启发,在诺丁汉的 Goose Gate 开设了一家从事草药疗法的药店。

尽管 173 年过去了,人世间沧海桑田,但 Boots 家族标志性的一点始终没有变: 对客户健康的承诺。 这家英国领先的以药品为主导的健康与美容零售商始终秉持初心,不改使命:提供卓越的客户服务和患者医疗。 但标志性的实体企业能否在数字环境中取得成功?

数字订单增长率超过

42%
- 每年

收入增加超过

115%
- 过去 2 年

数字化“大修”势在必行

尽管 Boots 宣称自己是一家药店,但它不仅仅是一站式满足医疗保健需求的商店。 在这里,客户可以买到琳琅满目的商品、便利服务和美容品。 然而,为了持续满足客户需求,跟上时代发展的步伐,这家历史悠久的企业需要实施数字化重塑。

Boots 需要升级现有基础架构,以支持全新类型的客户访问流量,因为运行旧版本的电子商务网站软件已带来诸多问题。 客户数量持续增加,但该网站处理流量的能力却没有跟上,使得 Boots 的团队越来越担心在业务高峰期发生问题。 2020 年,由于新冠疫情迫使越来越多的人在线购物,全球的消费模式发生了显著变化,因此该网站的问题也变得更加突出。

Boots 的首席信息官 (CIO) Rich Corbridge 解释道:“我们为业务高峰期担惊受怕。 我们的网站是为疫情前的用户流量而设计的,而且知道它很难做到网站负载均衡,难以在业务高峰期保持平稳运行和灵活调度。 从每分钟 7000 人的访问量猛增到最高峰期的 19000 人,网站根本无法承受;因此我们需要升级整个基础架构和工具。”

Corbridge 继续表示:“问题在于,‘我们如何将 Boots.com 迁移到现代化平台,也就是类似于云的平台,并提升 AI 的能力? 我们如何升级到最新版本的 Web 商务,使用更多的工具来支持客户? 我们如何稳定运行为疫情前的用户数量而准备的平台,有效应对疫情期间和之后的用户激增情况?’”

Boot and Company 药店产品的历史广告

疫情改变了工作方式

Corbridge 和他的团队已经与 IBM 建立了长期关系,他们希望 IBM® Consulting 帮助自己实施数字化转型。 由于疫情的影响,旅行受到限制,这意味着大家不再能够坐在一起,在“行动指挥室”里面对面地交流。 来自 IBM® Consulting 的 IBM iX® 部门的顾问不得不调整与 Boots 团队开展合作的方式,这两个团队很快学会了如何以不同方式进行协作。 为了将人员、流程和技术整合在一起,Boots 与 IBM Consulting 的联合团队采用 IBM Garage 方法,开展共同创造(设计)、共同执行(构建)和共同运营(扩展)活动,通过这种行之有效的框架快速实施转型。

“通过与 IBM 合作,我们采用全新工作方式,同时仍能将人员汇聚起来。”Corbridge 说道,“我们通过虚拟平台建立了关系,同时仍能够开展协作,共同完成工作。 这对我来说很重要,因为这种方法不仅仅展现了 IBM 同事的才能,更重要是表现出他们的态度。”

起初,大家都觉得以远程方式实施这样一个大型项目肯定困难重重,但这并不妨碍团队全身心投入到所有工作之中。 无边界工作的一大好处在于,IBM 能够迅速集结全球各地最优秀的主题专家,与 Boots 开展合作,推动项目取得成功。 Corbridge 发现这种方式带来了意想不到的好处:合作者在自己家中相对舒适的环境中开展工作,有助于缓解一些情境压力。 IBM 和 Boots 团队无缝协作,严格遵循时间方面的限制条件,确保按时完成任务。

Corbridge 解释道:“我们无法像 Boots IT 过去所做的那样,一起坐在大房间里,规划最重要的事情。 来自世界各地的成员,包括印度、中国和美国的专家,进行视频连线,举行虚拟会议。 但 IBM 仍能够将各种力量汇集起来,最终在预算范围内帮助我们按时实现了巨大的变革。”

数字化“心肺移植”

我们目前的目标是将基础架构及其旧程序迁移到 IBM Cloud®。 经过一年多的努力,两家公司合作使用 Red Hat® OpenShift® on IBM Cloud 容器平台,构建、复制和测试数字环境。 终于,一年半之后,彩排结束,“大戏”即将在周末开场。

要在旧网站的基础上进行改造以满足现代电子商务的需求并非易事,在一个周末完成升级有相当的难度。 但由于团队为了周末上线做了充分的准备和检查工作,因此新平台在启动过程中没有发生任何事故,也没有对客户产生任何影响。

“这项工作可形容为同时进行心肺移植。” Corbridge 解释道,“我们决定在一个周末同时迁移到 IBM Cloud inside Boots 以及 HCL Commerce(以前名为 IBM Websphere Commerce)第九版 。 我们请求很多人放弃周末的休息时间,在半夜完成这项工作,这样就不会影响客户。 所有人都齐心协力,在很短的时间内完成了迁移。”

Corbridge 解释说,启动后的工作让这次合作显得与众不同。 尽管网站上线后,项目合同已告完成,但 IBM 团队并未停下脚步,而是继续帮助 Boots 实施转型。 IBM 团队扩大了支持范围,以确保知识的顺利交接,以及不遗留任何问题。

“有幸与这个领域的领先合作伙伴 IBM 携手合作,我们为客户和患者带来了更广泛、更出色、更有用的网站。”Corbridge 这样表示,“人们现在可以同时从数字和实体渠道获得 Boots 的产品和服务。 由于新冠疫情期间人们无法外出,因此这一点显得尤其可贵。”

英国伦敦 Marylbone 的街道,两边有商店和咖啡馆

全面发展

真正的考验是在“黑色星期五”。 过去,业务高峰期会让 Boots 担惊受怕,但现在,该公司以轻松的心态迎接这一天的到来。 该公司网站中的购物篮平均规模远远超过了团队所预测的水平。 仅仅一年以前,该网站还发生过可怕的停运事故,但这都是过去时了。 Boots 的新基础架构不只是平稳运行,而且运行速度呈指数级提高,在最高峰,每分钟可以非常轻松接待 27000 名访客。

该网站改进了搜索功能,并以个性化方式展示产品,这是以前的基础架构无法做到的。 一些 Boots 过去从未销售过的商品,包括一款番茄酱,现在的销量不断飙升。

“我们甚至都不知道正在销售这款产品。”Corbridge 笑着说,“要了解搜索功能有多好,看看数百万人搜索番茄酱就知道了,虽然有点好笑,但还是感到令人难以置信的惊讶。”

Boots 迎来的另一个非常重要的日子是 2021 年 12 月 23 日的一次销售发布会。 该公司的网站见证了迄今为止最重要的一天,Corbridge 将其归功于新平台:“如果采用先前的版本和基础架构,我们甚至连三分之一的流量都处理不了。”

Boots 在数字化转型之后,实现了显著的增长:

  • 年收入增长了 54% 以上,过去两年收入增长了 115% 以上。
  • 公司的客户群扩大了 45% 以上,年订单数增加了 42% 以上。
  • 年客户转化率提高了 16% 以上,过去两年转化率提高了 43%。
  • 年平均订单价值提高了 8% 以上,过去两年订单价值提高了 13% 以上。

爆炸式的合作关系

可以说,Boots 团队完成了设想中的所有任务,即便有时实现的方式与预想的不同。 借助现代化的基础架构,该零售商实现了无限的数字可扩展性和电子商务能力。 那么,这个标志性品牌企业下一步打算做什么? 有了坚实的基础之后,Corbridge 和他的团队将目光投向一系列新项目,包括新的支付和结账流程、全新设计的移动应用,以及 IBM 将参与的数字商店计划。

“IBM 不仅为我们建立了新的现代化基础架构和工具,还提供了一个环境,使我们能够不断发展新的能力。”Corbridge 这样表示,“这证明了团队之间的合作非常有效。 完成的工作并不是昙花一现的奇迹;它会延续下去,这种合作关系会呈现爆炸式发展,遍地开花。”

解决方案组件

Boots 徽标

关于 Boots UK

Boots(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1849 年,是英国主要的以药店主导的健康和美容零售商,也是 Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc. 零售药店国际分部的成员。 该零售连锁店拥有 2460 多家商店,大约有 51000 名员工。 Boots 是零售药店的全球领先企业,每天通过分发药品和提供易于访问的高质量医疗服务,影响着数百万人的生活。

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 5 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud 和 IBM iX 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Red Hat® 和 OpenShift® 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家或地区的注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

Retailer leans into Digital Commerce and continues 173 years of innovation

Boots UK measures significant growth with the help of IBM Consulting
by Brittany King
5-minute read

In 1849, John Boot, a former farmworker, took a leap of faith and drastically altered his career to focus on herbal biology and remedies.

Though the agriculture laborer had no formal qualifications beyond what he learned from his mother, who practiced herbal management, Boot was inspired to set up a shop to sell medicinal herbal remedies at Goose Gate, Nottingham.

While a lot has changed in 173 years, one thing remains instilled in the iconic Boots family: its commitment to customer wellbeing. The UK’s leading pharmacy-led health and beauty retailer continues to be unmatched in its mission to deliver exceptional customer and patient care as it evolves with the times. But can the iconic brick-and-mortar business carry that success over into the digital landscape?

Boots original storefront

Digital orders grew by more than

42%

annually

Revenues increased by more than

115%

over 2 years

We now have a modernized infrastructure with an up-to-date version of e-commerce platform that will take us from keeping up with competitors to getting ahead of them.
Rich Corbridge
Chief Information Officer, Boots UK
Newspaper ad for Boots from the 1800's

The need for a digital overhaul

Although it markets itself as a pharmacy, Boots is more than just a one-stop shop for healthcare needs. It’s where a wide array of goods, convenience and beauty can fill a customer’s basket. Yet to continue to meet the needs of its customers and keep up with modern times, the longstanding business needed to evolve digitally.

Boots needed to upgrade its existing infrastructure to support a new type of customer capacity because running old versions of website e-commerce software had become problematic. The number of customers kept increasing, but the site’s ability to handle the volume wasn’t keeping up — leading the team at Boots to become increasingly fearful of peak times. The site’s issues became even more prominent in 2020, when the world’s consumerism drastically changed as the COVID-19 pandemic forced more people to shop online.

Rich Corbridge, Chief Information Officer (CIO) at Boots, explains: “We were in fear of peak. We had a site built for a pre-Covid world and knew that it would be difficult to balance a site and keep it running and moving in peak times. Going from 7,000 people a minute to 19,000 at its highest peak just wasn’t working; we needed to upgrade the entire infrastructure and tools.”

Corbridge continues: “The questions were, ‘How do we move Boots.com over to a modern platform, a cloud-like platform and boost AI? How do we upgrade to the latest version of web commerce to give us more tools to support customers? How do we stabilize a platform that was growing pre-pandemic in numbers of users and has simply just exploded?’”

Small street in the UK

Pandemic alters ways of working

Woman online shopping at home

Already having had a longstanding relationship with IBM, Corbridge and his team looked to IBM® Consulting to assist in their digital makeover. Due to the pandemic, travel was restricted which meant it was no longer an option to sit down together and be face-to-face in a war room. Consultants from IBM iX®, a division of IBM® Consulting, had to adjust their way of working with the Boots group, and the two teams quickly learned how to collaborate differently. To bring together people, processes and technology, the joint Boots and IBM Consulting team followed the IBM Garage Methodology — co-create (design), co-execute (build), co-operate (scale) — a proven framework for rapid transformation.

“With IBM, there were new ways of working that still brought people together,” says Corbridge. “We built relationships over a virtual platform and could still collaborate and perform together. That was important to me because it shows the attitude, not just the aptitude, of IBM colleagues has been spot on for this account.”

At first, being remote for such a large project was intimidating, but the circumstances didn’t impede the team’s ability to remain fully engaged in getting everything over the line. An upside to virtual working allowed IBM to assemble the best SMEs quickly from around the world to work with Boots and deliver success. Corbridge admits that the unexpected opportunity for collaborators to be relatively comfortable in their own homes helped alleviate some situational stress. IBM and the team at Boots worked seamlessly together, adhering to the time constraints while remaining on deadline.

Corbridge explains: “We all couldn’t sit in big rooms together, planning the biggest thing that Boots’ IT has ever done. It was video links and virtual meetings with people from across the world, ranging from India, China, the US. Still, IBM really pulled together to deliver a huge change and ultimately delivered on time and budget.”

A digital “heart and lung transplant”

The goal at hand consisted of moving the infrastructure and its legacy programs over to IBM Cloud®. For over a year, the two companies worked together using the Red Hat® OpenShift® on IBM Cloud container platform to build, replicate and test the digital environment. Finally, after a year and a half, the dress rehearsal was over, and it was time for the opening weekend.

To take a legacy site and evolve it to meet a modern e-commerce world is no simple task, and to do it over the course of a single weekend is incredibly ambitious. But because the teams had done so much preparation and checks leading up to rollout weekend, the new platform experienced zero incidents during the launch, affecting zero customers.

“The work can be described as akin to a heart and lung transplant at the same time,” comments Corbridge. “We made the decision to move to what we term IBM Cloud inside Boots and migrate to HCL Commerce (formerly IBM Websphere Commerce) to version nine in the same weekend. We were asking so much of people, asking them to give up a huge amount of time to get this done in the middle of the night so that it wouldn’t impact customers. Everybody truly pulled together to make it happen in that short period of time.”

The post-launch engagement set the collaboration apart from other experiences, explains Corbridge. Though the project contracts were up as the site was live, that didn’t stop the IBM team from continuing to assist Boots in its transformation. The IBM team extended their support to ensure there was a smooth handover of knowledge transfer, making sure nothing fell through the cracks.

“Being able to work and collaborate with IBM as sort of a lead partner in this has given us the ability to have a much wider, better and more useful site for our customers and patients that come to us,” says Corbridge. “People now really do see digitally that Boots is there for them as well as physically. That has been very important as people aren’t out and about as much because of COVID-19.”

Woman recieving a package

Growth across the board

Neon pharmacy sign

Then came the real test — Black Friday. The peak event used to intimidate Boots, but now the company welcomed the day with ease. The company’s website saw an average basket size that far exceeded anything the team had forecasted. The site had a horrific outage just a year prior, but that was in the past. Boots’ new infrastructure didn’t just run smoothly, it performed exponentially faster and, at its peak, handled over 27,000 visitors without a hitch.

The site’s improved search and personalized features showcased products in ways the previous infrastructure couldn’t. Items that had never taken off for Boots, including a ketchup, were now experiencing skyrocketing sales.

“None of us even knew we were selling it,” laughs Corbridge. “To see how well the search capability held up as millions of people searched for ketchup, though silly, was just unbelievably amazing.”

Another hugely important date for Boots came on December 23, 2021, during a sales launch. The company’s website saw its most significant day to date, which Corbridge credits to the new platform: “We wouldn’t have even come a third of the way there on the previous versions and infrastructure.”

Boots is now measuring significant growth rates following its digital transformation:

  • Revenue is up more than 54% annually, and up more than 115% over two years.
  • The company’s customer base has grown by more than 45%, and orders increased by more than 42% annually.
  • Conversion rates are up by more than 16% annually and 43% over two years.
  • Average order value increased by more than 8% annually and by more than 13% over two years.
  • An explosive partnership

    Woman shopping online and holding her infant

    Suffice to say, the Boots team accomplished everything it set out to do, even if, at times, they went about it in different ways. With a modernized infrastructure in place, the retailer’s digital scalability and e-commerce capabilities seem limitless. So, what’s next for the iconic brand? Equipped with a strong foundation, Corbridge and his team can set their sights on a handful of new projects, including a new payment and checkout process and a newly designed mobile app, and digital store initiatives which IBM will be a part of.

    “IBM has not only set us up with a new modernized infrastructure and tools, but also an environment that allows us to build on continuously,” says Corbridge. “This is a testament to the way the collaboration worked between the teams. It isn’t a one-hit wonder and we’re done; it’s a continuation, a real explosion of how a partnership can work.”

    Boots logo

    About Boots UK

    Established in 1849, BootsExternal Link, the UK’s leading pharmacy-led health and beauty retailer, is part of the Retail Pharmacy International Division of Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc. The retail chain has more than 2,460 stores and roughly 51,000 employees. Boots is a global leader in retail pharmacy, impacting millions of lives every day by dispensing medicines and providing accessible, high-quality care.

    Solution components
    Boots logo

    About Boots UK

    Established in 1849, BootsExternal Link, the UK’s leading pharmacy-led health and beauty retailer, is part of the Retail Pharmacy International Division of Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc. The retail chain has more than 2,460 stores and roughly 51,000 employees. Boots is a global leader in retail pharmacy, impacting millions of lives every day by dispensing medicines and providing accessible, high-quality care.

    Solution components