将创新融入驾驶员的座椅

奥迪英国让客户拥有更智慧的体验
作者:Allison Leking
阅读时间:5 分钟

伦敦一个蒙蒙细雨的早晨,让人们有了慵懒度过周六的借口。 Olivia 懒洋洋地在舒适的公寓里边饮热茶边聆听外面的轻柔的雨声。 她要买一辆新车,于是随意在网上闲逛。

Olivia 点开了 www.audi.co.uk。 她一直对豪华汽车品牌奥迪着迷,因为奥迪车以漂亮的设计、一流的性能和卓越的车主体验而闻名。 该网站的设计让人感觉像是考虑到了 Olivia 的需求。 它十分直观,让人有身临其境之感,仿佛将她从沙发转移到了驾驶座上,且图片精美,各项规格一目了然。 Olivia 点击“预约试驾”后,她的周六变得更加有趣”。

90% 的客户开始在网上选购车辆,依托母公司大众集团运营的奥迪英国正在重塑其数字体验,让整个客户旅程尽善尽美。 奥迪非凡的体验和品牌理念“科技领导创新”或“突破科技,启迪未来”从首个接触点网站开始践行,一直贯穿客户和车主的整个旅程,最终落实到汽车本身。

新商机增加

59%

2020 年

奥迪英国开发人员交付工具的速度提升

75%

转化为实际行动

奥迪致力于智慧设计和持续演进,预测出下一代奥迪驾驶员的需求和偏好,旨在加深他们与品牌的联系,提高对品牌的忠诚度。 客户购车时会考虑各种因素:价格、体验、产品、技术及安全性。 奥迪英国网站如何让客户根据其最看重的因素轻松与奥迪展开互动?

我们能够转向领导团队,并展示我们的成果。 这是我们一直以来与 IBM 合作方式的见证。 我们不只是谈论敏捷性;我们通过交付的内容证明了这一点。
Jay Sadier
奥迪英国数字产品与转型主管
蓝色奥迪

新冠疫情 (COVID-19) 让在线体验变得愈发重要,一些汽车经销商不得不关停或限制运营。 鉴于新冠疫情 (COVID-19) 对全球经济的持续影响,人们可能会认为消费者不会再争相购买豪华车。 那么,在英国的汽车销量一年内暴跌 29%的情况下,奥迪英国的汽车销量是如何做到同比增长 59% 的呢?

利用敏捷方法,交付速度提高了 75%

奥迪寻求切实可行的数字转型和更加智慧的购车前及购车后的体验。 与 IBM® 咨询合作后,奥迪与 IBM 团队遵循敏捷且以用户为中心的 IBM Garage™ Methodology,共同制定了转型战略路线图。 为交付以客户为中心的工具,增强用户体验,奥迪和 IBM 重新设计了向奥迪网站引入创新的方式。 为改进数字化前端开发和分析,该团队利用 IBM 与 Adobe 的合作关系,迁移至最新版本的 Adobe Experience Manager

面临的第一个挑战是缩短开发周期,过去的平均开发周期在 6 到 12 个月。 通常,当奥迪交付客户要求的功能时,客户已不再需要这些功能。 而与 IBM 合作后采用了敏捷的做法,如结对编程和两周的冲刺周期,开发人员在 3 个月内即可交付工具,速度提升高达 75%。 本年度构建和扩展的解决方案包括试驾预约应用程序、车辆维护调度程序和换件计算器。 这些工具改善了客户体验,提升了品牌忠诚度。

屏幕上显示奥迪网站的笔记本电脑
奥迪 e-tron s

通过指导和实践,奥迪和 IBM 团队合作建立了新的工作方式。 开发团队采用敏捷性原则,分组为各 Scrum 团队,并选出参加每周产品改进会的产品负责人。 奥迪开发团队从面向项目的部署转变为持续性交付引擎,基于用户反馈不断推出新的工具和功能。 最终,奥迪开始以更快的速度交付更多相关功能。

奥迪英国数字产品与转型负责人 Jay Sadier 解释说:“我们能够向领导团队,展示我们的成果。 这是我们一直以来与 IBM 合作方式的见证。 我们不只是谈论敏捷性;我们通过交付的内容证明了这一点。”

通过云驱动未来发展

奥迪的云转型完全由用户体验驱动。 然而,其后端架构已建立数年,结构分散且难以维护。 奥迪现在要面向未来进行构建,而不是被动地部署新的网页和应用程序。 向基础架构交付新功能时,转向具有更高灵活性、可伸缩性和安全性的云环境。

网页响应迅速,并集成了 Adobe Experience Manager 内容管理系统 (CMS),该系统可提高开发架构中的灵活程度。 奥迪内容编辑器可以利用这一新的后端和前端框架完成日常内容更改,这样开发人员就可以专注于更加复杂的任务。 奥迪还在创建可复用组件库,例如应用程序框架,此框架已将初始设置时间从几周缩短至几分钟。

全新插电式混合动力车型:奥迪A3 、奥迪 Q3 和奥迪 Q3 Sportback、奥迪 Q8
奥迪 Q3 45 TFSI e

应用程序开发团队遵循以用户为中心的设计原则,让客户参与设计讨论,并与用户组一起测试原型。 然后,他们先根据反馈进行产品升级,再规模化生产。 奥迪的车型页面遵循了这一流程,成效斐然。 在与客户小组进行了多番讨论后,该团队决定从数字产品角度打造客户流程,交付更加沉浸式的体验。 该页面已于 2020 年初推出,让 Olivia 这样的客户能够查看车辆信息,包括奥迪提供的高品质视觉效果、技术细节和关键优势。

自定义网站需要自定义的分析软件包。 因此,奥迪和 IBM 团队借助 Adobe Analytics,从头搭建奥迪分析平台。 IBM 团队将 Adobe 专业知识引入项目,并围绕先进工具开展了一系列培训,由此,分析将成为开发周期的一部分。

此前,奥迪并没有针对其数字化活动的标准化数据报告或分析洞察,因此,团队先在其数字化环境中建立了一个核心级别的报告。 报告包含基本指标,如高级定制事件和变量的页面浏览量。 分析可提供市场营销洞察,并帮助找出并减少技术性问题。 例如,奥迪将客户提交的错误数减少了 90%,从 10% 降至 1%。

向客户提供的产品数增加 50%

奥迪网站

奥迪现在可以根据数据而非假设来制定业务决策和客户体验决策。 通过数据,团队可以查看整个客户旅程,并了解消费者如何与网站交互。 此洞察有助于奥迪不断优化有效内容,去除无效内容。 奥迪英国数字业务负责人 Antony Roberts 表示:“在关键的 18 个月的时间里,我们从非常不擅长数据分析,转变为如今能够运用各类技术自如开展分析的局面。 我们已经能够证明,在整个英国大众汽车集团,奥迪品牌拥有最有效的在线平台,我们产生的销售商机数量最多。”

奥迪已经接受了挑战,将重塑并演进其品牌的数字接触点,这为整个客户旅程定下了基调。 甚至连疫情也无法阻止奥迪提供最佳客户体验。 “在新冠疫情期间,向虚拟工作方式的过渡几乎是无缝进行的,” Sadier说。 “从奥迪的角度来看,我们实际上并没有看到任何性能下降。 事实恰恰相反,我们发现交付团队的工作节奏加快,实际产出也有所增加。” 奥迪数字化团队估计,相比去年,2020 年的产能将提升 50%。

最后,Roberts 分享了一个难忘的时刻:“对我来说,这个项目中最激动人心的部分是参加大型跨部门会议,并在会上阐述了分析。 当他们讨论我们网站的不重复访客人数下降,但产生的商机数呈指数级增长且转化率有所上升时,我保持沉默。 一位骨干负责人说,‘背后的原因是什么? 我不明白为什么会这样。’ 对话稍有点停顿,我忍不住插话说,‘是奥迪数字团队,包括 IBM 在内的整个团队的功劳,我将 IBM 也视为自己的团队。’”

想要了解您的业务功能和设计的关键所在吗? 体验虚拟 IBM Garage

奥迪徽标

关于奥迪英国

奥迪英国外部链接总部位于英国米尔顿凯恩斯,是一家顶级汽车制造商,在英国运营115 家奥迪中心。 奥迪公司成立于 1885 年,目前为大约 200 万客户提供服务,全球员工数量超过 90,000 人。 其中约有 175,000 名客户和 10,000 名员工位于英国。 奥迪英国依托其母公司大众汽车集团运营。

解决方案组件
奥迪徽标

关于奥迪英国

奥迪英国外部链接总部位于英国米尔顿凯恩斯,是一家顶级汽车制造商,在英国运营115 家奥迪中心。 奥迪公司成立于 1885 年,目前为大约 200 万客户提供服务,全球员工数量超过 90,000 人。 其中约有 175,000 名客户和 10,000 名员工位于英国。 奥迪英国依托其母公司大众汽车集团运营。

解决方案组件

Putting innovation in the driver’s seat

Audi UK brings smarter experiences to customers
by Allison Leking
5-minute read

It was a drizzly morning in London that gave citywide permission for a lazy Saturday. Olivia lounged in her cozy flat sipping warm tea and listening to the soft patter of rain. In the market for a new car, she was casually poking around online.

Olivia tapped out www.audi.co.uk. She had been lusting after luxury vehicle brand Audi because of its reputation for beautiful design, top-of-the-line performance and exceptional owner experiences. The website felt like it had been designed with Olivia in mind. It was intuitive and immersive, pulling her from her couch into the driver’s seat, with beautiful images and clear specifications. Olivia's Saturday just got a little more interesting as she clicked “Book a test drive.”

With 90% of car purchases now starting online, Audi UK, which operates under parent company Volkswagen Group, is reimagining its digital experiences to complement the entire customer journey. Audi’s exceptional experiences and brand philosophy, “Vorsprung durch Technik,” or “Advancement through Technology,” begin at the first touchpoint — the website — and continue through the entire customer and ownership journey, culminating in the vehicle itself.

Lead generation increased

59%

in 2020

Audi UK developers deliver tools

75%

faster

Committed to smart design and constant evolution, Audi anticipates the needs and preferences of the next generation of Audi drivers, aiming to deepen their connection and loyalty to the brand. Customers are motivated by various aspects of car-buying: price, experience, product, technology, safety. How can the Audi UK website make it easy for customers to interact with Audi based on whichever element is most prominent for them?

We are able to turn around to our leadership team and show what we’ve delivered. It’s a testament to the way that we’ve been working with IBM. We are not just talking agile; we are proving it through delivery.
Jay Sadier
Head of Digital Product & Transformation, Audi UK
Blue Audi

COVID-19 has made the online experience even more important as car dealerships have had to close or limit operations. As COVID-19 continues to affect economies worldwide, one might think that consumers aren’t clamoring to purchase luxury cars. So, while car sales plunged 29% in the UK in one year, how did Audi UK see a 59% increase in leads year over year?

Delivering 75% faster with agile approach

Audi sought true digital transformation and smarter experiences pre- and post-purchase. Working with IBM® Consulting, the Audi and IBM team co-created a strategic roadmap for transformation following the agile, user focused IBM Garage™ Methodology. To deliver customer-centric tools that enhance the user experience, Audi and IBM reimagined how they could deliver new innovations to the Audi website. To improve digital front-end development and analytics, the team tapped into the IBM and Adobe partnership and moved to the latest version of Adobe Experience Manager.

The first challenge was cutting development cycles, which were averaging between 6 and 12 months. More often than not, by the time Audi delivered customer-requested functionality it was no longer relevant. After working with IBM to adopt agile practices such as pair programming and two-week sprint cycles, developers are delivering tools in three months — up to 75% faster. Solutions built and scaled this year include a test-drive booking application, vehicle maintenance scheduler and part exchange calculator. These tools improve the customer experience and encourage brand loyalty.

Laptop with Audi website on the screen
Audi e-tron s

Through coaching and practice, the Audi and IBM teams collaborated to establish new ways of working. Development squads adopted agile principles, organized into scrum teams and selected product owners who attended weekly product refinement sessions. The Audi development team moved from project-oriented deployments to a continuous delivery engine churning out new tools and functionality based on user feedback. As a result, Audi began delivering more relevant functionality faster.

Jay Sadier, Head of Digital Product & Transformation at Audi UK, explains: “We are able to turn around to our leadership team and show what we’ve delivered. It’s a testament to the way that we’ve been working with IBM. We are not just talking agile; we are proving it through delivery.”

Driving the future via the cloud

Audi’s cloud transformation is purely driven by user experience. Yet its back-end architecture had been built over years and had become fragmented and challenging to maintain. Audi is now building for the future instead of reactively deploying new pages and applications. Moving to a cloud environment provided greater flexibility, scalability and security when delivering new features to the infrastructure.

Webpages are responsive and integrate with the Adobe Experience Manager content management system (CMS), which offers a lot of flexibility in the development architecture. With this new back-end and front-end framework, Audi content editors are empowered to complete everyday content changes so that developers can focus on more complex tasks. Audi is also creating libraries of reusable components, such as an application framework that has reduced initial setup time from weeks to minutes.

The new plug-in hybrid models: Audi A3, Audi Q3 and Audi Q3 Sportback, Audi Q8
Audi Q3 45 TFSI e

Following user-centered design principles, application development teams involved customers in design discussions and tested prototypes with user groups. Then, they iterated based on that feedback before scaling. Audi’s model pages followed this process with great results. After various discussions with customer panels, the team decided to create customer journeys and more immersive experiences from a digital product perspective. The pages launched in early 2020, giving customers — like Olivia — the ability to view vehicle information, including high-quality visuals, details about technology and key differentiators that Audi offers.

A custom website demands a custom analytics package. So, the Audi and IBM team built the Audi analytics platform from scratch on Adobe Analytics. The IBM team brought Adobe expertise to the project and provided education around advanced tools so that analytics would become part of the development cycle.

Previously, Audi didn’t have standardized data reporting or analytical insights for its digital activity, so the team first established a core level of reporting across the digital landscape. Reports include basic metrics such as page views up through advanced customized events and variables. Analytics provide marketing insights and help pinpoint and mitigate technical issues. For example, Audi reduced customer submission errors by 90%, from 10% to 1%.

Getting 50% more to customers

Audi website

Audi can now make business and customer-experience decisions based on data rather than assumptions. Through data, the team can see holistic customer journeys and understand how consumers interact with the site. This insight helps Audi continuously optimize what is working and scratch what isn’t. Antony Roberts, Head of Digital at Audi UK, says: “In a matter of 18 months, we went from being very poor in terms of the data analytics that we were able to present, to being incredibly rich. We’ve been able to prove that across the entire VW Group in the UK, the Audi brand has the most effective online platform and we generate the highest number of leads that result in a sale.”

Audi has embraced the challenge to reinvent and evolve its brand’s digital touchpoints, which set the tone for the whole customer journey. Not even a pandemic is going to stop Audi from providing the best customer experience. “Regarding COVID, the transition to working virtually was actually seamless,” says Sadier. “From an Audi perspective, we haven’t actually seen any dip in performance. In fact, we’ve seen the opposite, where the cadence of the delivery teams and the output has actually increased.” The Audi digital group estimates that in 2020, it will deliver 50% more than last year.

In closing, Roberts shares a memorable moment: “The most exciting part of this project for me was when I sat in a big, cross-department meeting where we presented analytics. I stayed quiet as they talked about how our website’s number of unique visitors had dropped, but our leads had grown exponentially and our conversions had improved. One of the key directors said, ‘What’s behind this? I don’t understand this.’ There was a lull in the conversation and I couldn’t resist chiming in with, ‘It’s the Audi digital team, the entire team, including IBM, who I consider my team.’”

Want to find your business’ crossroads of functionality and alluring design? Talk to an IBM Garage expert.

Audi logo

About Audi UK

Headquartered in Milton Keynes, England, Audi UKExternal Link, a premium automotive manufacturer, operates 115 Audi Centres in the UK. Founded in 1885, Audi currently serves approximately 2 million customers and employs more than 90,000 people globally. Approximately 175,000 customers and 10,000 employees are based in the UK. Audi UK operates under parent company Volkswagen Group.

Solution components
Audi logo

About Audi UK

Headquartered in Milton Keynes, England, Audi UKExternal Link, a premium automotive manufacturer, operates 115 Audi Centres in the UK. Founded in 1885, Audi currently serves approximately 2 million customers and employs more than 90,000 people globally. Approximately 175,000 customers and 10,000 employees are based in the UK. Audi UK operates under parent company Volkswagen Group.

Solution components