旭化成集团
借助 IBM Power Systems 的 SAP HANA 解决方案拓展业务机会
天黑后的东京大都市上空

旭化成集团快速扩张,一直在寻找简化和优化其后台 IT 系统的方法。如何能够在不产生基础架构更新成本和复杂性的情况下支持增长?旭化成开发了一个可扩展平台,通过迁移到 IBM Power Systems 来提升运营敏捷度。

业务挑战

但是,业务量超过了旭化成集团支持其 SAP HANA 数据库的 IT 基础架构的增长能力,该公司需要更换基于 x86 的系统,而这会产生高昂成本。

 

变革

旭化成选择迁移到 IBM Power Systems 平台,利用先进的虚拟化来降低总拥有成本、降低复杂性并提高性能。

结果 灵活性
通过单个易于管理的系统管理临时、峰值和计划增长,
减少
运营成本和总体拥有成本
大幅提升
系统性能
商业挑战故事
探索全新未来

当旭化成集团首次部署 SAP HANA 内存数据库技术时,该公司走的是“设备”路线,采用 x86 架构服务器。该公司需要在整个集团部署五台服务器来运行 SAP HANA 数据库,包括生产、质量管理和开发实例以及两台测试服务器。

随着公司的发展,服务器环境也在不断发展,系统的管理成本日益增加,而且由于复杂性增加,可靠性随之降低。随着事务处理量的增加,旭化成 IT 团队意识到基础架构更新已不可避免。x86 架构不允许向现有服务器添加计算能力和内存,而是需要全新部署更大型的机器。该公司还计划升级其 SAP HANA 软件版本,同时希望降低总体拥有成本,提高可靠性、可用性和安全性。

此外,该团队渴望摆脱硬件升级循环,并寻找一种更渐进的方式来增加未来的容量。再加上预算方面的商业限制,旭化成对新基础架构提出了较高要求。

旭化成公司系统运营部的 Shiotsuki 先生解释说:“在引入 SAP HANA 之前,我们依靠隔夜批处理来进行业务分析。使用 SAP HANA 之后,我们可以实现几乎实时的数据分析。此外,由于处理速度快得惊人,很快我们处理的报告就超过了最初的计划。之前,面对逐年积累的数据量,我们可以通过删除旧数据来维持性能,但这种方法已达到极限。

“当我们询问是否可以添加系统内存来应对数据工作负载的增加时,供应商的答复是我们无法进一步增加内存,这令我大吃一惊,因为这个问题非常严重。”

IBM Power Systems 平台的功能正是我们所需要的。 Mr. Suzuki Corporate IT Management Asahi Kasei
变革案例
利用 IBM Power Systems 实现灵活性

当 IT 团队首次评估 IBM Power Systems 作为 SAP HANA 数据库 x86 架构替代方案的可行性时,他们担心平台架构变化(用技术术语来说,从小端到大端)带来数据迁移风险。为了让旭化成放心,IBM 和 IBM 业务合作伙伴 AJS Inc.(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)进行了数据迁移概念验证 (PoC),展示了流程的简易性,表明其能够超越性能目标。

根据 PoC 和旭化成工作负载计算得出总体拥有成本,展现 IBM Power Systems 平台的优势。通过将 SAP HANA 数据库部署到单个 IBM Power Systems E870C 服务器,旭化成得以消除管理多个物理服务器的成本、复杂性和工作负载。该服务器包含 20 个 POWER8® 处理器内核,具有 1.4 TB 主内存。

使用 IBM PowerVM® 功能,旭化成可以在服务器上创建多个独立的环境(称为 LPAR)。每个 LPAR 都可以运行支持虚拟机 (VM) 的隔离操作系统,例如用于运行 SAP HANA 的 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications。每个 LPAR 都可以精准配置所需的可用资源份额,以优化其 VM 性能,包括动态分配内存和计算容量以管理临时峰值工作负载。此外,旭化成现在能够享受近乎无限的可扩展性,利用按需扩容功能来管理未来工作负载的增长。

旭化成公司 IT 管理部的 Suzuki 先生说明了公司选择 IBM Power Systems 平台的原因:“IBM Power Systems 具有极高的灵活性,可以在需要时增加尽可能多的内核和内存,而无需购买额外的机器,即使在升级期间也能确保完全的业务连续性。IBM Power Systems 平台的功能正是我们所需要的。”

他继续说道:“即使服务器位于本地,也可以像云端一样使用,随着数据工作负载的增加和减少,轻松激活和调整资源。通过在同一台服务器上共享生产和开发实例,就不需要额外的物理系统来管理这些变化,从而提供了极大的业务灵活性。”

IBM Power Systems 的 SAP HANA 具备灵活性和可用性,成为推动公司宏伟信息战略的强大手段。 Mr. Suzuki Corporate IT Management Asahi Kasei
案例成果
帮助实现业务目标

借助 IBM Power Systems 服务器,旭化成获得了已通过 SAP 认证的高度可靠的基础架构。最重要的是,该解决方案可以灵活地管理公司以前难以管理的临时峰值工作负载,并提供极高的解决方案可靠性。

使用 IBM PowerVM,旭化成可以在多个 LPAR 创建虚拟环境,在单个托管系统上运行生产、测试和开发服务,从而帮助减少管理工作量和成本。IBM Power Systems 技术可帮助旭化成最大限度地提升绩效,确保最大的投资回报,并提供能够与公司一同成长的长期解决方案。

Suzuki 先生表示:“在 IBM 和 IBM 业务合作伙伴 AJS 的协助下,旭化成获得了出色的灵活性和可扩展性。可以轻松快捷地添加新的 SAP HANA 实例。IBM Power Systems 的 SAP HANA 具备灵活性和可用性,成为推动公司宏伟信息战略的强大手段。”

旭化成徽标
关于旭化成集团

旭化成集团(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1931 年,是一家以化学为核心的多元化制造商。公司在三大业务领域开展业务:材料(纤维、化学品、电子产品)、家居(建筑材料)和医疗保健(药品、医疗器械、急症重症护理)。旭化成总部位于东京,拥有超过 33,000 名员工,是日本最大的化学品公司之一。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM Power Systems for SAP HANA 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问:ibm.com/power/sap-hana

查看更多案例故事 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States。

美国出品,2018 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Power、Power Systems、POWER8 和 PowerVM 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications 不是 IBM 的产品或服务。SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications 根据 SUSE 的条款和条件(视情况而定)向用户出售或许可,这些条款和条件随产品或服务一起提供。SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications 的可用性以及所有保证、服务和支持由 SUSE 直接负责,并直接向用户提供。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

关于 IBM 未来方向、意向的声明仅仅表示了目标和意愿而已,可能会随时更改或撤销,恕不另行通知。

可能会报告已解压和压缩数据的实际可用存储容量,并且会有所不同,可能会小于规定的容量。

© 2018 SAP SE。保留所有权利。此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时进行更改出于任何原因,恕不另行通知。

Business Challenge

Business volumes were outpacing Asahi Kasei Group’s ability to grow the IT infrastructure supporting its SAP HANA databases, and the company was faced with a costly replacement of x86-based systems.

Transformation

Asahi Kasei chose to migrate to the IBM Power Systems platform, taking advantage of advanced virtualization to deliver lower total cost of ownership, reduced complexity and improved performance.

Results

Flexibility

to manage ad-hoc, peak and planned growth

Reduces

operational costs and total cost of ownership

Greater

system performance from with a single easy-to-manage system

Business Challenge Story

Looking for a new future

When Asahi Kasei Group first deployed SAP HANA in-memory database technology, the company had taken the ‘appliance’ route, with x86 architecture servers. Across the group, the company required five servers to run the SAP HANA databases, including production, quality management and development instances, and two test servers.

As the company grew, so did the server landscape, and the systems were becoming costly to manage – and less reliable as complexity grew. With transaction volumes rising, the Asahi Kasei IT team could see that an infrastructure refresh was inevitable. The x86 architecture did not permit the addition of compute power and memory to the existing servers, instead requiring an entirely new deployment of larger machines. The company also planned to upgrade its SAP HANA software version, and at the same time looked for reduced total costs of ownership and greater reliability, availability and security.

In addition, the team was keen to escape the cycle of hardware upgrades, and looked for a more gradual way to increase future capacity. Combined with commercial constraints on budget, Asahi Kasei set a high bar for the new infrastructure.

Mr. Shiotsuki, Corporate Systems Operation Department, Asahi Kasei, explains, “Prior to introducing SAP HANA we relied on overnight batch processing to enable business analysis. By using SAP HANA we could achieve almost real-time data for analysis. Additionally, since the processing speed was overwhelmingly fast, very soon we consumed more reports than originally planned. As the amount of data accumulated each year, we were able to sustain performance by deleting old data, but this approach had reached the limit.

“When we asked if we could add system memory to cope with the increase in data workload, I was surprised by the vendor’s response that I could not increase memory further, which presented a significant problem."

The capabilities of the IBM Power Systems platform were exactly what we were looking for.

—Mr. Suzuki, Corporate IT Management, Asahi Kasei

Transformation Story

Finding flexibility with IBM Power Systems

When the IT team first reviewed IBM Power Systems as an alternative to the x86 architecture for the SAP HANA database, it was concerned about the data migration risks posed by the change in platform architecture (in technical terms, from little-endian to big-endian). To reassure Asahi Kasei, IBM and IBM Business Partner AJS Inc. demonstrated a data migration Proof of Concept (PoC), showing the ease of the process and that performance targets could be exceeded.

The total cost of ownership was calculated based on the PoC and the Asahi Kasei workload, showing the advantages of the IBM Power Systems platform. Asahi Kasei could remove the cost, complexity and workload of managing multiple physical servers by deploying its SAP HANA databases to a single IBM Power Systems E870C server. The server contains 20 POWER8® processor cores, with 1.4 TB of main memory.

Using IBM PowerVM® capabilities, Asahi Kasei can create multiple separate environments, known as LPARs, on the server. Each LPAR can run an isolated operating system supporting a virtual machine (VM) – for example, SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications to run SAP HANA. Each LPAR can be configured with exactly the right share of available resources to optimize performance of its VM, including dynamic allocation of memory and compute capacity to manage ad-hoc and peak workloads. In addition, Asahi Kasei is now able to enjoy near-limitless scalability to manage future workload growth by taking advantage of Capacity on Demand capabilities.

Mr. Suzuki, Corporate IT Management at Asahi Kasei, explains why the company chose the IBM Power Systems platform: "IBM Power Systems offered the flexibility to add as much core and memory as and when needed without purchasing additional machines, and to provide complete business continuity even during an upgrade. The capabilities of the IBM Power Systems platform were exactly what we were looking for.”

He continues, “Even though the server is on-premises you can use it like a cloud, easily activating and flexing resources as the data workload increases and decreases. By sharing the production and development instances on the same server, there is no need for additional physical systems to manage these changes, offering great business flexibility."

The flexibility and availability of SAP HANA on IBM Power Systems has become a powerful way to promote the company's ambitious information strategy.

—Mr. Suzuki, Corporate IT Management, Asahi Kasei

Results Story

Helping to realize business goals

With the IBM Power Systems server, Asahi Kasei gains a highly reliable SAP-certified infrastructure. Most importantly, the solution offers the flexibility to manage the ad-hoc and peak workloads that the company previously struggled to manage, and delivers very high solution reliability.

Using IBM PowerVM, Asahi Kasei can create virtual environments in multiple LPARs to run its production, test, and development services on a single managed system, helping to reduce administration workload and cost. The IBM Power Systems technologies help Asahi Kasei to maximize performance, ensure the greatest return on investment, and provide a long-term solution as the company grows.

Mr. Suzuki remarks, "Asahi Kasei has gained excellent flexibility and scalability, assisted by IBM and IBM Business Partner AJS. Adding new SAP HANA instances can be completed easily and quickly. The flexibility and availability of SAP HANA on IBM Power Systems has become a powerful way to promote the company's ambitious information strategy.”

business logo

About Asahi Kasei Group

Founded in 1931, the Asahi Kasei Group in Japan is a diversified manufacturer centered on chemistry. The company operates in three business sectors: materials (fibers, chemicals, electronics); homes (construction materials); and healthcare (pharmaceuticals, medical devices, acute critical care). Headquartered in Tokyo, Asahi Kasei employs more than 33,000 people and is one of the largest chemicals companies in Japan.

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Power Systems for SAP HANA, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit: ibm.com/power/saphana

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Hardware