Anglian Water Services Ltd
满足东英吉利及其他地区客户对卓越客户体验的渴望
有采石场的土地和有农业设备和房屋的土地的鸟瞰图

作为英国最干旱地区之一的水务和水循环服务供应商,安格利亚水务需要确保每一滴水都物尽其用,包括回收利用。作为持续效率提升和可持续发展计划的一部分,Anglian Water 正努力提升其运营弹性,降低风险并增强为数百万客户提供的服务。

业务挑战

数以百万计的家庭和企业客户依赖 Anglian Water。随着关键的后台基础设施接近报废,如何提高和进一步改善服务水平?

转型

通过将关键的 SAP 解决方案迁移到 IBM® Power Systems™ 服务器和 IBM Db2® 数据库,Anglian Water 降低了业务风险,削减了运营成本,提高了服务效率。

结果 减少 66%
服务器占用空间,有助于实现可持续发展目标
缩短 40%
批处理时间,满足严格的 SLA 要求
提高
运营绩效,改善客户服务
商业挑战故事
每一滴水都无比重要

按地理区域划分,Anglian Water 是英格兰和威尔士最大的水务和水循环公司。该地区每年平均降雨量仅为 600 毫米,比英国其他地区少三分之一。该公司负责为超过 600 万客户提供可持续的供水和水循环服务,因此,如此有限的供应加上长期干旱给公司带来了持续挑战。

在运营方面,Anglian Water 依靠 SAP® Business Suite(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)和 SAP for Utilities(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)来管理其核心业务流程,包括人力资源、运营、财务和客户计费。例如,当客户致电联络中心以及现场工程师接受维护工单时,SAP Business Suite 解决方案将提供、管理和处理数据。

这些业务关键型 SAP 应用程序在已达到使用寿命的基础设施上实施。维护只能在预定的停机时间内完成,通常是在周日,此时现场工作和交易量较低。

SAP 项目负责人 Sam Melodew 解释道:“我们致力为客户提供最佳服务。这意味着我们需要可靠的后台系统,以便我们的联络中心团队能够在出现问题时快速访问信息,并提供及时响应和实用恰当的服务。

“随着系统老化,业务风险增加。在计划停机期间,我们建议人们改用纸质记录,这可能会影响运营效率和我们的客户服务。

“很明显,现有的 IT 基础设施将无法满足我们未来的容量需求。由于维护停机时间增加,我们最终决定进行全面的系统更新,以解决我们的成本、效率和弹性问题。”

节省的成本让我们能够最大限度地为其他业务领域提供资金,例如面向客户的关键服务和可持续发展计划。 Sam Mellodew SAP Program Leader Anglian Water
变革案例
满足对更高可用性的渴望

Anglian Water 要求代表该公司托管数据中心的合作伙伴 Capgemini 与供应商合作,提出可能的基础设施解决方案。所提供的解决方案还需要符合公司为下一个资产管理期(AMP,由水务行业监管机构 Ofwat 定义)制定的业务计划。

Sam Melodew 表示:“我们希望获得一个拥有高可用性、优化性能、出色拥有成本和效率,并支持我们可持续发展精神的服务器和数据库平台。

“IBM Power Systems 和 IBM Db2 平台在各个领域都可提供显著的运营优势,从增强灾难恢复到数据压缩,包括提高系统弹性。在某种程度上,我们平衡了迁移到新平台和数据库的风险与承诺的好处。

“在向领导团队展示商业案例后,我们选择了 IBM Power Systems 和 Db2,该最佳组合可为 SAP 提供高性能、可扩展、经过验证、可靠且敏捷的平台,并显著节省成本。”

Anglian Water 与 Capgemini 和 IBM 密切合作,共同开展了为期 9 个月的项目,完成了基础设施部署以及 SAP 应用程序和数据库迁移。专家级 IBM Db2 SAP 迁移服务和 IBM 系统实验室服务作为团队与 Capgemini 和 Anglian Water 密切合作。

Sam Melodew 评论道:“整个项目中的团队合作和协作非常出色,无需在组织和任务之间进行‘仲裁’。我们并未看到 IBM 和 Capgemini 之间有任何界限,我们所有人都秉持“同一个团队”的理念,专注于提供成功的解决方案。

“尤其是,IBM 始终对我们应该期待的可能技术改进以及这些改进如何转化为商业利益保持明确和开放的态度。通过将承诺与现实相匹配,我们可以根据结果准确评估风险,这增强了我们的信念:这是正确的选择。”

Anglian Water 用六台基于 IBM POWER8® 处理器的 IBM Power® System E850 和两台运行 IBM AIX® 和 IBM Db2 软件的 IBM Power System S822 服务器取代了 24 台机器,由 Capgemini 在两个数据中心托管。

核心解决方案(包括 SAP Business Suite、SAP for Utilities、SAP Business Warehouse、SAP Enterprise Portal (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)、SAP Gateway(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)和 SAP Process Orchestration (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)在 8 月的国家法定假日周末(周六至周一)迁移到 IBM Db2,并于周二上午立即上线。

在迁移过程中,Anglian Water 利用 Db2 提供的高级自适应压缩功能将总数据量从约 5 TB 缩减至 2 TB(即约 60%),从而大幅减少了对未来存储投资的需求。此外,由于 SAP NetWeaver / ERP 和 Db2 的发布周期是一致的,因此该公司将能够迅速利用新的应用程序和数据库功能满足其需求,从而最大限度地提高组合解决方案实现的益处、可用性和稳定性。

Power Systems 服务器具有 IBM 按需容量升级 (CUoD) 功能,可根据需要灵活扩展以满足峰值处理要求,同时优化已部署容量的使用。

此外,减少处理器数量有助于降低软件和数据库许可成本,而批处理时间则缩短 40%。缩短批处理时间还可确保 Anglian Water 的 IT 部门能够达到并超越其服务水平协议,为管理人员的业务决策流程提供及时的信息。

“我们在性能和交付方面所设定的目标均已实现,”Sam Melodew 评论道。

案例成果
实现最佳性能

通过将关键的 SAP 解决方案迁移到 IBM Power Systems 服务器和 IBM Db2 数据库,Anglian Water 降低了业务风险、提高了效率并降低了运营成本。

Sam Melodew 解释道:“对于Anglian Water 的客户来说,我们的新功能可帮助我们提供响应迅速的优质服务,并得到我们信息系统的持续支持。在运营方面,减少停机时间有助于最大限度地减少转向纸质流程的需要,从而显著提高生产力和连续性。”

该解决方案旨在帮助 Anglian Water 在 Ofwat 的五年监管期及更长时间内,在授予的 AMP 资金限额下实现其业务、客户服务和效率目标。弹性增强和灾难保护可大幅降低业务风险,并且该解决方案可提供更大的容量来支持未来增长。

“由于数据库许可和支持成本较低,以及数据存储和备份成本降低,新的 IBM Power Systems 和 Db2 解决方案具有很高的成本效益,”Sam Melodew 评论道。“节省的成本让我们能够最大限度地为其他业务领域提供资金,例如面向客户的关键服务和可持续性发展计划。

“将我们的 SAP 应用程序和数据迁移到 IBM Power Systems 平台和 IBM Db2 可提高性能,降低运营成本,并为我们的业务带来新弹性。这些是为我们的客户提供更优质、更可持续的水务和水循环服务的重要推动因素——因为,每一滴水都无比重要!”

Anglian Water徽标:紫色和蓝色,右侧有一个蓝色水滴。
Anglian Water Services Ltd

Anglian Water(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是英格兰和威尔士最大的水务和水循环公司,为超过 600 万家庭和企业客户提供服务。Anglian Water 每天通过 112,833 公里的管道收集、净化和分配约 12 亿升水,覆盖 27,500 平方公里,拥有约 4,000 名员工。
 

采取下一步行动

若要了解有关 IBM 和 SAP 解决方案的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站: ibm.com/sap

Capgemini 是咨询、技术和外包服务领域的全球领导者,在 40 多个国家/地区拥有超过 180,000 名员工。Capgemini 与客户一起创建并提供满足客户需求的业务、技术和数字解决方案,使他们能够实现创新和提升竞争力。有关 Capgemini 的更多信息,请访问:capgemini.com (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。

查看更多案例故事 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017。IBM Deutschland GmbH D-71137 Ehningen。

2017 年 8 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、AIX、Db2 和 Power 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的 “Copyright and trademark information” 部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade

本文档内容在最初发布日期时是最新的,而 IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

© 2017 SAP SE。保留所有权利。SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及本文提及的其他 SAP 产品和服务及其各自的标识均为 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 关联公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的声明或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其关联公司不对与这些材料有关的错误或遗漏承担任何责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其关联公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其关联公司可能随时出于任何原因进行更改,恕不另行通知。

Business Challenge

Millions of household and business customers rely on Anglian Water. As critical back-office infrastructure neared end-of-life, how could service levels be enhanced and further improved?

Transformation

By migrating critical SAP solutions to IBM® Power Systems™ servers and the IBM Db2® database, Anglian Water is reducing business risk, cutting operating costs and increasing service efficiency.

Results

66% reduction

in server footprint contributes to sustainability aims

40% shorter

batch times enable compliance with strict SLAs

Enhanced

operational performance and improved customer service

Business Challenge Story

When every drop counts

Anglian Water is the largest water and water recycling company in England and Wales by geographic area. Its region receives an average of just 600 millimeters of rainfall each year – a third less than the rest of England. Such a limited supply combined with prolonged dry spells presents a constant challenge to the company, which is responsible for providing more than six million customers with sustainable water and water recycling services.

Operationally, Anglian Water relies on SAP® Business Suite and SAP for Utilities to manage its core business processes. These include human resources, operations, finance and customer billing. For example, when customers ring the Contact Center and when field engineers accept maintenance work orders, the data is served, managed and processed by SAP Business Suite solutions.

These business-critical SAP applications were implemented on infrastructure that had reached the end of its service life. Maintenance could only be completed during pre-booked downtime, usually on Sundays, when fieldwork and transaction volumes are lower.

Sam Mellodew, SAP Program Leader, explains, “We strive to offer our customers the best possible service. This means we need reliable back-office systems to enable our Contact Centre team to access information swiftly when issues arise, with prompt responses and helpful, appropriate service.

“As the systems aged, the business risk increased. During planned downtime, we advised people to switch to paper records, which potentially impacted operational efficiency and our customer service.

“It was clear that the existing IT infrastructure would not be able to meet our future capacity requirements. As downtime for maintenance increased, the balance swung in favor of a complete systems refresh, designed to resolve our cost, efficiency and resilience issues.”

The costs saved allow us to maximize funding in other areas of the business, such as the critical customer-facing services and sustainability programs.

—Sam Mellodew, SAP Program Leader, Anglian Water

Transformation Story

Satisfying a thirst for higher availability

Anglian Water called on its partner Capgemini, which hosts the data centers on behalf of the company, to work with vendors to propose possible infrastructure solutions. The solutions offered also needed to fit with the company’s business plan for the next Asset Management Period (AMP) as defined by Ofwat (the water industry regulator).

Sam Mellodew comments, “We wanted a server and database platform that offered high availability, improved performance, and excellent cost of ownership combined with efficiency that would support our sustainability ethos.

“The IBM Power Systems and IBM Db2 platform offered significant operational advantages in every area, from enhanced disaster recovery to data compression, including improved system resilience. To some degree we balanced the risk of migrating to a new platform and database against the promised benefits.

“After presenting the business case to the leadership team, we selected IBM Power Systems and Db2 as the best combination to deliver a high-performance, scalable, proven, reliable and agile platform for SAP, as well as offering significant cost savings.”

Anglian Water worked as an integrated team with Capgemini and IBM on a nine-month project, to complete the infrastructure deployment and SAP application and database migration. Expert IBM Db2 SAP Migration Services and IBM Systems Lab Services worked closely as a team with Capgemini and Anglian Water.

Sam Mellodew remarks, “The teamwork and collaboration was great throughout the project – with no need to ‘referee’ between organizations and tasks. The line between IBM and Capgemini was invisible to us, and we all took a ‘one team’ view, focused on delivering a successful solution.

“In particular, IBM was always clear and open about the likely technical improvements we should expect, and how these would translate into business benefits. By matching promises to reality, we could make accurate assessments of risk against outcome, which reinforced our belief that this was the right choice.”

Anglian replaced 24 machines with six IBM POWER8® processor-based IBM Power® System E850 and two IBM Power System S822 servers running IBM AIX® and IBM Db2 software, hosted by Capgemini in twin data centers.

The core solutions, including SAP Business Suite, SAP for Utilities, SAP Business Warehouse, SAP Enterprise Portal, SAP Gateway and SAP Process Orchestration, were migrated to IBM Db2 during a national holiday weekend in August, Saturday to Monday, with immediate go-live on the Tuesday morning.

During the migration, Anglian Water took advantage of the advanced, adaptive compression features offered by Db2 to shrink total data volumes from around 5 TB to 2 TB, some 60 percent, dramatically reducing the need for future storage investments. Additionally, because release cycles for SAP NetWeaver / ERP and Db2 are aligned, the company will be able to take advantage of new application and database features at a pace to match their need, maximizing the delivered benefits, availability and stability of the combined solution.

The Power Systems servers feature IBM Capacity Upgrade on Demand(CUoD) features, providing the flexibility to scale up for peak processing requirements if needed, while optimizing the use of deployed capacity.

Additionally, the reduced number of processors contributes to lower software and database licensing costs, even as batch times have improved by up to 40 percent. The shorter batch times also ensure Anglian Water’s IT division can meet and exceed its service level agreements, delivering timely information for executives’ business decision processes.

“Everything we set out to achieve in performance and delivery terms has been achieved,” comments Sam Mellodew.

Results Story

Releasing maximum performance

By migrating critical SAP solutions to IBM Power Systems servers and IBM Db2 database, Anglian Water has reduced business risk, increased efficiency and reduced operating costs.

Sam Mellodew explains, “For Anglian Water’s customers, our new capabilities help us provide a high-quality, responsive service, continuously supported by our information systems. Operationally, reduced downtime helps to minimize the need to switch to paper-based processes, offering significantly improved productivity and continuity.”

The solution is designed to span and exceed the five-year Ofwat regulatory period, helping Anglian Water achieve its business, customer service and efficiency objectives with the awarded AMP funding limits. The improved resilience and disaster protection have greatly reduced the business risk, and the solution delivers greater capacity to enable future growth.

“The new IBM Power Systems and Db2 solution is highly cost-efficient thanks to lower database license and support costs, and reduced data storage and backup costs,” comments Sam Mellodew. “The costs saved allow us to maximize funding in other areas of the business, such as the critical customer-facing services and sustainability programs.

“Migrating our SAP applications and data to the IBM Power Systems platform and IBM’s Db2 has boosted performance, cut operational costs and introduced new resiliency to our business. These are essential enabling factors to deliver even better, sustainable water and water recycling services for our customers – when every drop truly counts!”

business logo

About Anglian Water Services Ltd

Anglian Water is the largest water and water recycling company in England and Wales by geographic area, serving more than six million domestic and business customers. Anglian Water collects, cleans, and distributes around 1.2 billion liters of water a day through 112,833 kilometers of pipes, covering 27,500 square kilometers, and employs about 4,000 people.
 

Solution Components

  • DB2 for SAP
  • IBM Power Systems E850
  • IBM Power Systems S822
  • IBM-SAP Alliance
  • Power Systems
  • Power Systems running AIX
  • STG Lab Services: Power
  • STG Lab Services: Power (AIX)

Take the Next Step

To learn more about solutions from IBM and SAP, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: ibm.com/sap

Capgemini is a global leader in consulting, technology and outsourcing services, employing more than 180,000 people in over 40 countries. Together with its clients, Capgemini creates and delivers business, technology and digital solutions that fit their needs, enabling them to achieve innovation and competitiveness. For more information on Capgemini, please visit: capgemini.com

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Hardware