Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Sirketi
保险公司如何利用自动化在不影响速度的情况下获得准确性
一位医生脖子上挂着听诊器直视前方的特写镜头

在不断增长的市场竞争中,保险公司 Anadolu Sigorta 与 IBM 合作伙伴 JFORCE Bilisim Teknolojileri A.S. 合作,推出了一个可轻松适应不断变化的规则和行业标准的自动化健康理赔处理平台。在 IBM Business Automation® Workflow 技术的支持下,该系统可为保险理赔请求提供快速、准确的答案。

业务挑战

出于对理赔泄露程度的担忧,Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Sirketi 希望提高健康理赔处理解决方案的准确性和可靠性。

变革

借助新的提交门户网站,企业可以实现健康保险理赔的调查、审查和支付自动化。

结果 大约 80% 的理赔
现在自动进行处理
下降 50%
泄漏减少幅度,从而使运营成本降低 40%
<1 年
为项目实现全额投资回报率 (ROI) 的时间
业务挑战案例
了解最新动态

土耳其的健康保险行业正在迅速发展。

过去二十年里,通过一系列政府改革建立了全民医疗保健体系,由国家社会保障机构 (Sosyal Güvenlik Kurumu) 管理。但是,近年来,鉴于更多立法的通过,为附加保险开拓了市场,使公民能够获得有助于支付私人医疗机构费用的计划。

在这样一个年轻且不断增长的市场中,客户期望、政府政策甚至系统要求都处于不断变化的状态,这使得 Anadolu Sigorta 等保险公司很难跟上步伐。

“竞争非常激烈,”Anadolu Sigorta 首席信息官 Mehmet Abaci 解释道,“而且,我们的业务和声誉建立在快速、全额支付理赔的原则上。但这种速度有时会带来困难。”

该企业尤其担心理赔泄漏 – 付款发放不当。由于后端流程发生了如此多的变化,因此官方保单文档上印刷的条件常常与保险公司自动化系统遵循的规则不匹配。每次发生此类不匹配的情况时,都必须由第三方仲裁问题,这往往会导致解决和最终付款延迟数周。

“在竞争如此激烈的市场中,这是我们无法容忍的缺点,”Abaci 补充道。

我们可以在几个小时内将新产品和健康保单添加到平台上,而这在过去需要花费数周的时间。 Mehmet Abaci 首席信息官 Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Şirketi
变革案例
快速提供正确答案

为了应对这一挑战,Anadolu Sigorta 与 IBM 合作伙伴 JFORCE 合作,创建了新的 Anadolu Sigorta Medical (ASMED) 门户网站,这是一个集成式健康理赔管理解决方案,可根据既定业务规则实现处理自动化。

现在,医院或其他医疗机构可以通过集中式门户网站向 Anadolu Sigorta 提交健康保险理赔条款,该门户会自动识别:

  • 提交者是否有资格获得付款
  • 患者是否拥有有效保单
  • 确定的保单是否涵盖推荐的治疗

对于每项理赔,ASMED 都旨在根据数千条规则和保单在一秒钟内对提交的信息进行评估,并做出付款决定。与此同时,该系统还能监控可能指示存在更大问题的异常情况。

“该系统着眼于治疗的时间,”Abaci 澄清道,“特别是在接近保单的开始或结束日期时。或者,如果同一位医生对某一病症提出了大量可疑的治疗请求,该系统会通知我们。如果有什么异样,它会提醒我们的员工重新审视理赔。”

对于新的 ASMED 门户网站,Anadolu Sigorta 和 JFORCE 组建了一个联合解决方案团队,由 5 名医生、4 名数据分析师、14 名开发人员、4 名业务线专家、3 名 Scrum Master、1 名项目经理和 1 名技术顾问组成。

“我们查看了 Anadolu Sigorta 的所有保单信息,对所有这些规则进行了提取、分组和精简,”JFORCE 业务开发与软件总监 Umit Sile 解释道,“我们总共在门户网站上将大约 300,000 个医疗理赔代码组织成 14,000 项服务。我们将所有这些服务的代码与政府健康目录的扩展版本进行了同步,这有助于简化合规性。”

JSure Health Insurance Platform 是 ASMED 门户网站的核心,负责管理传入理赔的自动化和授权。该团队还使用 IBM Business Automation Workflow 软件开发了两个规则测试套件,用于跟踪保险公司不断变化的保单调整的遵守情况。此外,JFORCE 团队创建了一个基于 Microsoft Excel 的场景工具,Anadolu Sigorta 可以使用该工具来审查冲突的规则集。

为了促进理赔自动化门户网站与更大的网络环境之间进行高度安全的通信,同时监督企业对企业 Web 服务集成,Anadolu Sigorta 部署了 IBM® DataPower® Gateway 设备。

我们总共在门户网站上将大约 300,000 个医疗理赔代码组织成 14,000 项服务。 Umit Sile 业务开发与软件总监 IBM 合作伙伴 JFORCE Bilisim Teknolojileri A.S.
案例成果
明显的优势

借助 IBM 技术和 ASMED 门户网站,Anadolu Sigorta 简化了理赔流程,现在大约 80% 的传入理赔无需人工干预即可处理。对于这些决定中的大部分,都是在不到一秒的时间即可计算出来,从而有助于加快支付、提升用户满意度和改善市场地位。

同时,新的解决方案将泄漏减少了一半,使运营成本降低了 40%。通过减少泄露和降低运营成本,仅在使用的第一年就为该项目实现了全额投资回报率。

“这也减轻了我们员工的生活负担,”Abaci 指出,“我们可以在几个小时内将新产品和健康保单添加到平台上,而这在过去需要花费数周的时间。现在,我们的流程文档和保单都在线存储或通过网络服务存储,我们无需管理和跟踪如此多的物理文档。而对于所用的时间,一定会让您感到惊讶。此外,借助新的 ASMED 全数字健康保险理赔门户网站,我们所有的员工都可以在新冠疫情导致居家期间进行远程工作。”

除了这些新功能之外,保险企业很满意能与 JFORCE 合作。

Abaci 补充道:“我们之所以选择 JFORCE,是因为他们在医疗保险自动化方面拥有丰富的经验。他们了解我们面临的问题和行业压力,并帮助我们避免更新理赔系统存在的陷阱。我们拥有共同的语言和对目标的共同理解,这让我们实现了近乎完美的实施。”

我们之所以选择 JFORCE,是因为他们在医疗保险自动化方面拥有丰富的经验。他们了解我们面临的问题和行业压力,并帮助我们避免更新理赔系统存在的陷阱。 Mehmet Abaci 首席信息官 Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Şirketi
Anadolu Sigorta 徽标
Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Sirketi

Anadolu Sigorta(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 1925 年,是土耳其成立的第一家国家保险公司。如今,该公司提供广泛的保险范围(火灾、交通、人身事故、工程、农业、法律、健康和信贷),可满足各种消费者和企业的需求。Anadolu Sigorta 总部位于土耳其伊斯坦布尔,在全国拥有约 2,500 个专业代理商。

关于 JFORCE Bilisim Teknolojileri A.S.

IBM 合作伙伴 JFORCE(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 2003 年,主要针对金融领域的需求提供各种技术解决方案,例如理赔处理、风险评估、续订自动化和欺诈检测。该公司总部位于土耳其的伊斯坦布尔,在安卡拉设有办事处。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

阅读 PDF 查看更多客户案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 2 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、DataPower 和 IBM Automation 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

Microsoft 是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Home Case Studies Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Sirketi Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Sirketi
How an insurer used automation to gain accuracy without sacrificing speed
Close-up of doctor with stethoscope around his neck looking directly at you

Competing in a growing market, insurer Anadolu Sigorta teamed with IBM Business Partner JFORCE Bilisim Teknolojileri A.S. to launch an automated health claims processing platform that could easily adapt to shifting rules and industry standards. Backed by IBM Business Automation® Workflow technology, the system provides fast, accurate answers to insurance claim requests.

Business challenge

Concerned with its levels of claims leakage, Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Şirketi wanted to improve the accuracy and reliability of its health claims processing solution.

Transformation

With a new submission portal in place, the business can automate the investigation, review and payment of health insurance claims.

Results ~80% of claims
are now processed automatically
50% drop
in leakage, leading to a 40% reduction in operations costs
< 1 year
for a full return on investment (ROI) for the project
Business challenge story
Try to keep up

The health insurance sector in Turkey is growing quickly.

Over the past two decades, a series of governmental reforms established a universal healthcare system that was managed by the nation’s Sosyal Güvenlik Kurumu (Social Security Institution). However, in recent years, additional legislation was passed, opening up the market for supplemental coverage and empowering citizens to secure plans that helped cover charges received from private medical institutions.

With such a young and growing market, customer expectations, government policy and even system requirements are in a constant state of flux, making it challenging for insurance providers, like Anadolu Sigorta, to keep pace.

“There’s a lot of competition,” explains Mehmet Abaci, Chief Information Officer at Anadolu Sigorta. “And we have built our business and our reputation on the principle of paying claims quickly and in full. But that speed can sometimes lead to difficulties.”

In particular, the business was concerned about claims leakage—improper payments being issued. With so many changes occurring with its backend processes, far too often the conditions printed on official policy documents did not match the rules being followed by the insurer’s automation system. And each time one of these mismatches occurred, the issue had to be arbitrated by a third party, which delayed resolution and final payment often by weeks.

“It was a shortcoming that we couldn’t tolerate in such a competitive market,” adds Abaci.

We can add new products and health policies to the platform in a matter of hours—that used to take us weeks. Mehmet Abaci Chief Information Officer Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Şirketi
Transformation story
Making the fast answer, the right answer

To address this challenge, Anadolu Sigorta joined with IBM Business Partner JFORCE to create its new Anadolu Sigorta Medical (ASMED) portal, an integrated health claims management solution that automates processing according to established business rules.

Now, hospitals or other medical offices can submit their health insurance claim provisions to Anadolu Sigorta through the centralized portal, which automatically identifies:

  • If the submitter is eligible for payment
  • If the patient has a valid policy
  • If the identified policy covers the recommended treatment

With each claim, ASMED is designed to evaluate the submitted information against thousands of rules and policies in under one second and make a determination regarding payment. At the same time, the system monitors for irregularities that might indicate a larger issue.

“It looks at the timing of the treatment,” clarifies Abaci, “particularly if its near the beginning or ending date of a policy. Or it notifies us if a suspiciously large volume of treatment requests for a condition are being requested by the same physician. If something seems strange, it lets our staff know to take another look at the claim.”

For the new ASMED portal, Anadolu Sigorta and JFORCE assembled a joint solutions team comprised of five doctors, four data analysts, 14 developers, four line of business experts, three scrum masters, one project manager and one technical consultant.

“We looked through all of Anadolu Sigorta’s policy information, extracting, grouping and rationalizing all of these rules,” explains Umit Sile, Business Development and Software Director at JFORCE. “Altogether, we organized around 300,000 medical claim codes into 14,000 services on the portal. And we synchronized the codes for all of these services with an expanded version of the government’s health catalog, helping to simplify compliance.”

The JSure Health Insurance Platform serves as the heart of the ASMED portal, managing the automation and authorization of the incoming claims. And the team used IBM Business Automation Workflow software to develop two rule-testing suites that track compliance with the insurance company’s ever-shifting policy adjustments. In addition, the JFORCE team created a Microsoft Excel-based scenario tool that Anadolu Sigorta can use to vet conflicting rule sets.

And to promote security-rich communication between the claims automation portal and its greater network environment while also overseeing business-to-business web service integration, Anadolu Sigorta deployed an IBM® DataPower® Gateway device.

Altogether, we organized around 300,000 medical claim codes into 14,000 services on the portal. Umit Sile Business Development and Software Director IBM Business Partner JFORCE Bilisim Teknolojileri A.S.
Results story
A distinct advantage

With the IBM technology and ASMED portal in place, Anadolu Sigorta streamlined its claims processes, with roughly 80% of incoming claims now being handled without human intervention. And the bulk of these determinations are calculated in less than a second, encouraging faster payouts, greater user satisfaction and an improved market standing.

At the same time, the new solution cuts leakage in half, yielding a 40% drop in operations costs. And these savings quickly added up, achieving a full ROI for the project in just the first year of use.

“It also makes life easier for our staff,” notes Abaci. “We can add new products and health policies to the platform in a matter of hours—that used to take us weeks. And now that our process documents and policies are stored online or via web services, we don’t have to manage and track so many physical documents. You’d be surprised how much time that consumes. In addition, with the help of the new ASMED fully digital health insurance claims portal, all our people could work from distance during COVID-19 pandemic lockdown.”

Beyond these new capabilities, the insurance business is pleased with its choice to work with JFORCE.

Abaci adds: “We chose JFORCE because of their experience in healthcare insurance automation. They understood the issues and industry pressures that we were facing, and they helped us navigate around the pitfalls of updating our claims systems. We had a common language and a common understanding of goals, and that let us achieve an almost perfect implementation.”

We chose JFORCE because of their experience in healthcare insurance automation. They understood the issues and industry pressures that we were facing, and they helped us navigate around the pitfalls of updating our claims systems. Mehmet Abaci Chief Information Officer Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Şirketi
Anadolu Sigorta  logo
Anadolu Anonim Türk Sigorta Sirketi

Established in 1925, Anadolu Sigorta (link resides outside of ibm.com) was the first national insurance company founded in Turkey. Today the business offers a broad array of insurance coverage—fire, transportation, personal accident, engineering, agricultural, legal, health and credit—catering to a range of consumers and businesses. Anadolu Sigorta is headquartered in Istanbul, Turkey, and it employs roughly 2,500 professional agents across the country.

About JFORCE Bilisim Teknolojileri A.S.

Founded in 2003, IBM Business Partner JFORCE (link resides outside of ibm.com) offers technology solutions, predominately focused on needs in the financial sector—like claims handling, risk evaluation, renewals automation and fraud detection. The business is presently headquartered in Istanbul, Turkey, with additional offices in Ankara.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

Read the PDF View more client stories
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, February 2021.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, DataPower, and IBM Automation are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark.

Microsoft is a trademark of Microsoft Corporation in the United States, other countries, or both.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.

The client is responsible for ensuring compliance with laws and regulations applicable to it. IBM does not provide legal advice or represent or warrant that its services or products will ensure that the client is in compliance with any law or regulation.