什么是 Android 设备管理?

Android 设备管理 (ADM) 是一种有组织的方法,可为员工提供基于 Android 的移动工具、内容和应用程序以提高工作效率,同时确保企业数据安全

看智能手机的女士

Android 设备管理说明

全球超过 80% 的移动设备运行 Android,这是一种由 Google 创建的移动操作系统。 这一较高的比例意味着与其他类型的设备相比,公司员工更有可能在工作和个人使用上选择 Android。

一旦访问关键业务数据的 Android 设备被黑客入侵、被盗或丢失,就可能会威胁到安全。 但通过单一的 ADM 平台,IT 和安全部门可以管理公司的所有移动设备,确保移动设备安全、员工灵活、生产率高。

Android 设备管理允许 IT 管理员管理和保护 Android 设备。 它提供系统可见性、远程应用程序管理功能、自动安全更新和安装、信息亭模式、安全警报、地理定位或地理围栏,可以自动锁定丢失或被盗的设备。


什么是主要的 Android 安全威胁?

据 Statista 称,Android 操作系统是世界上使用最广泛的移动操作系统。1 从逻辑上讲,与 Apple iOS 用户和其他用户相比,Android 用户会遇到更多的安全问题。 Android 面临的两项主要安全威胁是恶意软件和数据泄露。

恶意软件

移动恶意软件是为破坏、扰乱或非法访问客户端、计算机服务器或计算机网络而创建的未被检测到的软件。 恶意软件可以利用操作系统漏洞窃取数据、更改设备配置,让更多具有附加功能的恶意软件得以入侵、投放弹出广告或触发高级 SMS 消息字符串以实现盈利。 一些恶意软件会削弱设备,让软件在一段时间内无法使用。

数据泄露

数据泄露是指未经授权或无意地通过互联网从移动设备传输敏感信息——有时是因为恶意软件发生数据泄露。 应用程序泄露是最常见的移动安全风险之一。 网络犯罪分子更容易获取未加密的数据,他们利用与带有易受攻击的应用程序的设备相同的网络获取——这种做法称为中间人 (MitM) 攻击。

应用程序权限过多

Google Play 商店中有数百万个 Android 应用程序可用。 虽然有些是安全的,并且会极其谨慎地处理个人数据,但还有许多应用程序并不安全。 应用程序可能会受到损害。

受损的应用程序可能导致数据泄露。 个人或公司数据可能会从不安全的应用程序流入不法的第三方。 数据泄漏的原因之一是应用程序权限过多。 应用程序权限决定了应用程序可以访问用户设备上的哪些功能。 某些应用程序权限比其他权限风险更大,因此用户需要注意他们授予的权限。

根据 Wandera 的研究“了解移动威胁形势”,Android 中最常请求的权限中有 45% 被视为是高风险权限。 但是哪些权限是高风险的,又为何如此? 以下是 Wandera 认为 Android 上经常授权的较高风险权限列表:

– 查找帐户:允许该应用程序访问该手机已知的帐户列表

– 读取联系人:允许该应用程序读取有关存储在该设备上的联系人的数据

– 读取手机状态:允许应用程序访问设备的内部功能,例如电话号码和设备 ID

– 读取 SD 卡:允许应用程序读取 SD 卡的内容

– 写入 SD 卡:允许应用程序修改或删除 SD 卡的内容

– 精确定位:允许应用程序使用 GPS 或网络位置源获取精确位置

– 录制音频:允许应用程序随时使用麦克风录制音频

– 拍照和录像:允许应用程序随时使用相机

过时的操作系统
根据 Wandera 的研究,“65% 的组织至少有一台设备的操作系统已过时”,数据显示,“57% 的 Android 设备运行的操作系统至少比当前版本落后两个完整版本。”更新的操作系统不仅提高了设备性能,还包括关键的安全补丁。 因此,如果没有操作系统更新,Android 设备仍然容易受到网络攻击。

侧载应用程序
侧载 Android 设备描述了使用默认 Google Play 商店之外的应用程序安装过程。 虽然 Android 操作系统默认配置不允许从非官方来源下载和安装侧载应用程序,但可以配置 Android 操作系统设置以允许来自第三方的应用程序。 因此,用户可以从网站下载应用程序包或从第三方应用商店安装应用程序。

Wandera 的研究表明,大约 20% 的 Android 设备启用了此设置,这会让设备面临威胁。 因为侧载应用程序绕过了 Apple 和 Google 在其官方应用程序商店中的应用程序审查流程,所以其用户面临着更大的安全风险。 因此,对于无意中安装的恶意软件,设备的防护能力较弱。 Wandera 的研究表明,“35% 的组织至少在一台设备上安装了一个或多个侧载应用程序。”

Rooting
Rooting 是允许 Android 用户控制内部操作系统的过程。 顾名思义,该技术提供对设备的 root 访问权限。 经过 root 的 Android 设备的用户可以进行重大更改,包括更改设备的操作系统。 对 Android 的操作系统进行 root 类似于 Apple 的 iOS 越狱。 两者都是特权升级的方法,但与 Apple 用户通过越狱获得的好处相比,root 为 Android 用户提供了更多的控制权。

根据 Wandera 的研究,“6% 的组织拥有至少一台越狱或 root 设备。”尽管在试图从运营商锁定中释放设备的用户中很受欢迎,但这些具有风险的配置允许他们安装未经授权的软件功能和应用程序。 一些用户可能会对其移动设备进行越狱或 root 以安装安全增强功能。 但大多数用户都在寻找一种更直接的方法来自定义操作系统,或安装官方应用商店中没有的应用程序。 无论如何,rooting 会让设备面临网络威胁。


Android 设备管理的工作原理

成功的 ADM 程序最适合 Android Enterprise。 Android Enterprise 是一项由 Google 主导的计划,支持在工作场所使用 Android 设备和应用程序。 它为部署企业所有的 Android 设备提供了一种快速、精简的方法,并且是运行 5.0+ 的 Android 设备的默认管理解决方案。

该计划提供 API 和其他开发人员的工具,将对 Android 的支持集成到他们的企业移动管理 (EMM) 解决方案中。 例如,推荐的 Android Enterprise 统一端点管理 (UEM)   平台(链接位于 ibm.com 之外)IBM Security MaaS360 with Watson 与 Android Enterprise 集成,支持 Android EMM 解决方案 API。 为 Android 操作系统带来了统一的管理体验。

Android Enterprise 集成允许组织:

– 深入了解每个设备,包括其操作系统系统和版本号、制造商详细信息和 root 检测。

– 执行操作以定位设备,并锁定或消除(全部和选择性)丢失的设备。 并通过黑名单、白名单和自动安装或删除来控制应用程序。 此外,对摄像头等硬件功能实施地理围栏,保护敏感数据。

– 设置从电子邮件到 Wi-Fi 和 VPN 等公司资源的访问策略。 管理密码更新和长度,以满足不断发展的企业标准,并实施加密和信息亭模式。

– 禁用相机、USB 存储和麦克风等硬件功能。 通过剪贴板、剪切 - 粘贴和屏幕捕获功能的功能限制来保护数据级泄漏。

  • 强制执行操作系统更新以减少漏洞或更新暂停,直到贵公司应用程序经过审查,准备好部署。
  • 对使用 OEMConfig 的新 Android 操作系统版本和设备的零日支持。
  • 通过开箱即用的配置和一次性设置进行零接触注册,实现大规模部署。

BYOD 通过保护个人应用程序信息、设备位置、物理地址、SSID 和浏览历史记录保护个人隐私,保证心灵宁静。 借助 Android 工作资料,个人数据可以保持私密性,而工作数据仍然安全。 用户可以在工作和个人资料之间切换,而无需在两者之间共享数据。


解决方案

移动设备管理

为运行 iOS、macOS、Android 和 Windows 获得足够的可见性、可管理性和安全性。 并利用无缝的无线 (OTA) 设备注册,让部署轻松快速。

移动安全

无论您支持单一操作系统类型还是拥有多种设备, IBM 移动安全都可以提供市场上最安全、最高产和最直观的解决方案。 IBM 利用 AI 技术的力量帮助您快速做出更明智的决策。

统一终端管理

IBM 由 AI 和分析提供支持,并与您现有的 IT 基础架构集成,简化并加速了对多样化、复杂端点和移动环境的支持。 简化智能手机、平板电脑、笔记本电脑、可穿戴设备和物联网的管理和安全。

企业移动管理

企业移动管理 (EMM) 将用户、应用程序和内容管理与强大的数据安全相结合,简化您管理设备环境的方式。 利用 IBM EMM 解决方案,在用户生产力和移动安全性之间取得平衡

自带设备安全

当员工可以使用他们的个人设备时,您就赋予了他们在办公室内外都能做到最好的能力。 BYOD 计划可将硬件成本转移给用户,从而发挥节省预算的额外优势。 但员工需要知道您正在保护他们的个人使用和隐私。 通过 IBM 保护您的远程员工。

零信任安全

当今开放的多云环境需要一个不同的安全模型:零信任。 零信任意味着保持严格的访问控制,默认情况下不信任任何人,即使是那些已经在您的网络内部的人。 IBM 提供了许多零信任安全解决方案,这些方案通过只能在有限的基础上和适当的情况下进行访问数据和资源,让它们得到保护。


¹ 《2012 年 1 月至 2021 年 1 月移动操作系统在全球的市场份额》 Statista,2021 年 2 月, https://www.statista.com/statistics/272698/global-market-share-held-by-mobile-operating-systems-since-2009  (链接位于 ibm.com 之外)。

What is Android device management?

Android device management (ADM) is an organized approach to provide a workforce with Android-based mobile tools, content and applications for productivity while keeping corporate data secure

Woman looking into a smartphone

Android device management explained

More than 80% of all mobile devices worldwide run Android, a mobile operating system created by Google. This higher percentage means company employees are more likely to use Android for both work and personal use than other device types.

Android devices, if accessing critical business data, can threaten security if hacked, stolen or lost. But with a single ADM platform, IT and security departments can manage all of a company's mobile devices, keeping them secure and the workforce flexible and productive.

Android device management allows IT administrators to manage and secure Android devices. It provides system visibility, remote app management capabilities, automatic security updates and installs, kiosk mode, security alerts, geolocation or geofencing that can auto-lock lost or stolen devices.


What are major Android security threats?

Android OS is the most widely used mobile operating system in the world, according to Statista. 1 And logically, Android users encounter more security compromises compared to Apple iOS users and others. Two major Android security threats are malware and data leaks.

Malware

Mobile malware is undetected software created to damage, disrupt or gain illegitimate access to a client, computer, server or computer network. It can exploit OS vulnerabilities to steal data, change device configurations to pull more malicious software with additional functionality, deliver pop-up ads or trigger strings of premium SMS messages for monetization. Some can cripple devices, making them unusable for some time.

Data leaks

Data leaks are the unauthorized or unintentional transfer of sensitive information from a mobile device over the internet—sometimes because of malware. A leaking app is one of the most common mobile security risks. Unencrypted data makes data more readily available to a cybercriminal utilizing the same network as the device with a vulnerable app, a practice known as a man-in-the-middle (MitM) attack.

Excessive app permissions

There are millions of Android apps available in the Google Play store. And while some are safe and treat personal data with the utmost care, many are unsafe. Apps can be compromised.

Compromised apps can lead to data leaks. Personal or corporate data can funnel to unscrupulous third-parties from unsafe apps. One way data can leak is through excessive app permissions. App permissions determine what functions an app has access to on a user's device. Some app permissions are riskier than others, so users need to pay attention to the permissions they grant.

According to Wandera's study, "Understanding the mobile threat landscape," 45% of the most requested permissions on Android are considered high risk. But which permissions are high risk and how? Here's a list of regularly accepted permissions on Android that Wandera considers as higher risk:

  • Find accounts: This allows the app to get the list of accounts known by the phone.
  • Read contacts: This allows the app to read data about contacts stored on a device.
  • Read phone status: Allows the app to access the device's internal features, such as phone number and device IDs.
  • Read SD card: This allows the app to read the contents of an SD card.
  • Write to SD card: This allows the app to modify or delete an SD card's contents.
  • Precise location: This allows the app to get a precise location using GPS or network location sources.
  • Record audio: This allows the app to record audio with the microphone at any time.
  • Take pictures and video: This allows the app to use the camera at any time.

Out-of-date operating systems
Per Wandera's study, "65% of organizations have at least one device with an out-of-date operating system," and the data shows "57% of Android devices are running an OS at least two full versions behind the current one." Updated operating systems not only improve device performance but also include critical security patches. So without OS updates, Android devices remain vulnerable to cyberattacks.

Sideloading apps
Sideloading Android devices describes an app installation process outside of using the default Google Play store. While an Android OS default configuration doesn't allow sideloaded apps to be downloaded and installed from unofficial sources, it's possible to configure Android OS settings to allow apps from third-parties. So users can download application packages from websites or install apps from third-party app stores.

Wandera's research shows around 20% of Android devices have this setting enabled, which opens up the device to threats. Users that sideload apps face increased security risks because it bypasses Apple and Google's application vetting process on their official app stores. Thus, the device has less protection against inadvertently installed malware. "35% of organizations have at least one device with one or more sideloaded apps installed," according to Wandera's study.

Rooting
Rooting is the process of allowing Android users to gain control over internal OS systems. And as the name implies, the technique provides root access to the device. Users of rooted Android devices can make drastic changes, up to and including changing the device's operating system. Rooting an Android OS is similar to jailbreaking an Apple's iOS. Both are privilege escalation methods, but rooting provides more control to Android users than Apple users gain through jailbreaking.

Per the Wandera study, "6% of organizations have at least one jailbroken or rooted device." Although popular with users trying to free a device from carrier lock, these risky configurations allow them to install unauthorized software functions and applications. Some users might jailbreak or root their mobile devices to install security enhancements. But most look for a more straightforward method to customize the OS or install applications that aren't available on the official app stores. Whatever the case, rooting opens up the device to cyberthreats.


How Android device management works

A successful ADM program works best with Android Enterprise. Android Enterprise is a Google-led initiative, enabling the use of Android devices and apps in the workplace. It provides a fast, streamlined method for deploying corporate-owned Android devices, and it's the default management solution for Android devices running 5.0+.

The program offers APIs and other developers' tools to integrate support for Android into their enterprise mobility management (EMM) solutions. For example, IBM Security MaaS360 with Watson, an Android Enterprise Recommended (link resides outside of ibm.com) unified endpoint management (UEM) platform, integrates with Android Enterprise to support the Android EMM solution APIs. It brings a unified experience of management to the Android operating system.

An Android Enterprise integration allows an organization to:

  • Gain insight into each device, including its OS system and version, manufacturer details and root detection. 
  • Perform actions to locate devices and lock or wipe (full and selective) the lost ones. And control apps with blocklist, allowlist and auto-install or removal. Enforce geofencing on hardware features like the camera to protect sensitive data.
  • Set policies to enable access to corporate resources from email to wifi and VPN. Manage passcode updates and length to meet corporate standards, and enforce encryption and kiosk mode.
  • Disable hardware functions like the camera, USB storage and microphone. Protect data level leaks with feature restrictions for the clipboard, cut and paste and screen capture functions.
    • Enforce OS updates to reduce vulnerabilities or pause updates until your corporate applications are vetted and ready for deployment.
    • Zero-day support for new Android OS versions and devices using OEMConfig.
    • Zero-touch enrollment with out-of-the-box configuration and one-time setup for large scale deployments.

Privacy peace of mind for BYOD, by shielding personal app information, device location, physical address, SSID and browsing history. With an Android work profile, personal data can stay private while work data remains secure. The user can switch between work and personal profiles without sharing data between the two.


Solutions

Mobile device management

Get adequate visibility, manageability and security for running iOS, macOS, Android and Windows. And take advantage of seamless over-the-air (OTA) device enrollment for easy, rapid deployment.

Mobile security

Whether you support a single operating system type or have a mixed variety of devices, IBM mobile security offers the most secure, productive and intuitive solution on the market. IBM harnesses the power of AI technology to help you make rapid, better-informed decisions.

Unified endpoint management

Powered by AI and analytics and integrated with your existing IT infrastructure, IBM simplifies and accelerates the support of a diverse, complex endpoint and mobile environment. Simplify the management and security of smartphones, tablets, laptops, wearables and IoT.

Enterprise mobility management

Enterprise mobility management (EMM) combines user, app and content management with robust data security to simplify how you manage your device environment. Get the right balance between user productivity and mobile security with IBM EMM solutions.

Bring your own device security

When an employee can use their personal device, you empower them to do their best work in and out of the office. BYOD programs can have the added benefit of saving the budget by shifting hardware costs to the user. But employees need to know that you're protecting their personal use and privacy. Secure your remote workforce with IBM.

Zero trust security

Today's open, multi-cloud environment requires a different security model: zero trust. Zero trust means maintaining strict access controls and not trusting anyone by default, even those already inside of your network. IBM offers many zero-trust security solutions that help protect your data and resources by making them accessible only on a limited basis and under the right circumstances.


¹ "Mobile operating systems' market share worldwide from January 2012 to January 2021," Statista, February 2021, https://www.statista.com/statistics/272698/global-market-share-held-by-mobile-operating-systems-since-2009 (link resides outside of ibm.com).