Istio

menu icon

Istio

深入了解 Istio - 这是一种开放式技术,能够为开发人员提供一种无缝连接、管理及保护不同微服务网络的方法。

什么是 Istio?

Istio 是可配置的开源服务网格层,用于连接、监视和保护 Kubernetes 集群中的容器。在本文撰写之时,Istio 仅以原生方式与 Kubernetes 一起使用,但其开源性质使任何人都可以编写扩展,让 Istio 能够在任何集群软件上运行。 今天,我们将着重关注 Istio 与 Kubernetes 的结合使用,这也是其最受欢迎的用例。

Kubernetes 是一个容器编排工具,Kubernetes 的一个核心单元就是一个节点。节点包含一个或多个容器,以及文件系统或其他组件。 微服务架构可能有十几个不同的节点,每个节点表示不同的微服务。Kubernetes 可管理节点的可用性和资源消耗情况,随着需求的增加通过 Pod 自动缩放控制器增加 Pod。 Istio 可将其他容器注入到 Pod 中,以增添安全性、管理和监视功能。

因为它是开源的,所以 Istio 可以在任何支持它的公共云提供者以及任何管理员愿意的私有云上运行。

以下视频深入讲解了 Istio 的基本知识 (5:13):

网络服务网格

当企业转至微服务时,他们需要支持数十个乃至数百个具体的应用。 单独管理这些终端意味着需要支持大量虚拟机,包括需求。Kubernetes 这样的集群软件可以创建 Pod 并向上扩展,但 Kubernetes 不提供路由、流量规则,也不提供强大的监控或调试工具。

认识服务网格。

随着服务数量的增加,潜在的通信方式数量也成倍增长。 两种服务只有两条通信路径。 三种服务有 6 条,十种服务则有 90 条。 服务网格通过创建通信策略,为配置这些通信路径提供了统一的方式。

服务网格根据预定义的配置检测服务并引导通信流量。 这意味着管理员可以为服务网格提供配置,让其完成该工作,而不是配置正在运行的容器(或编写代码来执行操作)。 这种情况以前总是发生在 Web 服务器和服务到服务通信中。

在集群中执行此操作时,最常见的方式就是使用 Sidecar 模式。 Sidecar 是 Pod 中的新容器,用于路由和观测服务与容器之间的通信流量。

Istio 和 Kubernetes

如前所述,Istio 层位于 Kubernetes 之上,添加了程序员和管理员基本上看不到的容器。 这些容器名为“Sidecar”容器,它们充当“中间人”,引导流量并监视组件之间的交互。 这两者采用以下三种方式结合使用: 配置、监视和管理。

配置

使用 Kubernetes 设置配置的主要方法是 kubectl 命令,通常为“kubectl -f <filename>”,其中文件为 YAML 文件。Istio 用户可以使用 kubectl 运行新的不同类型的 YAML 文件,也可以使用新的可选 ioctl 命令。

监控

利用 istio,您可以轻松监控与 Kubernetes 一起运行的应用的运行状况。 Istio 的检测功能可以管理和直观呈现应用的运行状况,提供更多洞察,而不只是对 Kubernetes 提供的集群和节点进行常规监视。

管理

因为 Istio 的接口与 Kubernetes 基本相同,所以管理起来几乎无需额外的工作。 事实上,Istio 支持用户创建相应的策略,用来影响和管理整个 Kubernetes 集群,减少了每个集群的管理时间,同时也无需自定义管理代码。

优点

服务网格的主要优势包括能够改善调试、监控、路由、安全和利用能力。 也就是说,利用 Istio,只需更少的工作即可管理更广泛的服务。

改善的调试过程

比如说,某种服务具有多个依赖项。 保险公司的 pay_claim 服务会调用 deductible_amt 服务,后者则会调用 is_member_covered 服务,以此类推。 复杂的依赖链可能会有 10 或 12 个服务调用。 当这 12 个中的一个发生故障时,将会产生连锁反应,带来一系列故障,导致 500 个错误、400 个错误,或者可能根本没有响应。

要调试这一系列调用,可以使用类似于堆栈跟踪的方法。 在前端,客户端开发者可以看到从 Web 服务器中以什么顺序拉回哪些元素,然后进行检查。 前端程序员可以获取瀑布图来帮助进行调试。

该示例不会显示数据中心内部发生的情况 - parselLotamaAudiences 回调如何调用其他四个 Web Service,以及哪些 Web Service 响应速度更慢。稍后,我们将会看到 Istio 如何提供工具来跟踪与此非常相似的图中的函数调用。

监测和观测能力

DevOps 团队和 IT 管理人员可能希望观测流量,查看等待时间、服务时间、错误占流量的百分比等等。通常,他们希望看到仪表板。 仪表板以可视化形式显示总和、平均值或这些度量随时间变化情况,或许还能够“向下钻取”到特定节点、服务或 Pod。 Kubernetes 本身不提供此功能。

策略

缺省情况下,Kubernetes 支持 Pod 之间相互发送流量。 Istio 支持管理员创建策略,限制哪些服务可以相互协作。 例如,服务只能调用其他真正具有依赖关系的服务。 保持服务正常运行的另一个策略是速率限制,这将阻止过量流量阻塞服务,并防止拒绝服务攻击。

路由和负载均衡

缺省情况下,Kubernetes 提供循环负载均衡。如果有六个 Pod 提供微服务,Kubernetes 将会提供负载均衡器或“服务”,以递增顺序向每个 Pod 发送请求,然后再重新开始。 但是,有时公司会在生产中部署不同版本的同一服务。

最简单的例子可能就是蓝绿部署。 在这种情况下,软件可能会在生产中构建全新版本的应用,而无需向其发送生产用户。推广新版本后,公司可以保留原有服务器,以便在发生故障时快速切换回来。

借助“istio”,这如同在配置文件中使用标记一样简单。 管理员还可以使用标签来指示要连接到的服务类型,并根据标头构建规则。例如,测试用户可以路由到具有最新和最佳构建的“canary”Pod,而普通用户则可以转到稳定的生产构建。

回路中断

如果服务超负荷或关闭,那么在继续使系统过载时,其他请求将会失败。 因为 istio 会跟踪错误和延迟,所以它可以在策略设置的特定数量的请求之后强制暂停(允许服务恢复)。 通过创建小型文本文件并引导 Istio 将其用作新策略,您可以跨整个集群实施此策略。

安全

Istio 在缺省情况下提供身份、策略和加密功能,同时还提供认证、授权和审计 (AAA) 功能。 与他人通信的任何接受管理的 Pod 都将使用加密流量,防止任何观测。 身份服务与加密相结合,确保未经授权的用户无法伪造或“假冒”服务调用。 AAA 为安全和运营专业人员提供必要的监视工具,并且减少了开销。

简化了管理

传统应用仍需要 Istio 提供的识别、策略和安全功能。 这会使程序员和管理员在错误的抽象级别上工作,反复地为每个服务重新实施相同的安全规则。 Istio 支持他们通过单个控制面板在正确的级别工作,为集群设置策略。 同时,通过下面所述的 Istio 访问控制、仪表板和调试工具,您可以在命令行轻松添加插件,而不必访问网页。

示例

直观呈现服务

Istio 1.1 包含一个名为 Kiali 的新附加组件,它提供了基于 Web 的可视化功能。您可以用它来跟踪服务请求,钻取详细信息,甚至可以将服务请求历史记录以 JSON 形式导出,以便以您自己的方式进行查询和格式化。 下面的工作负载图根据实际相互依赖的服务,提供了实时生成的依赖关系图。 它是根据交通的实际观测结果生成的。

名为 Kiali 的新附加组件的图像,它提供基于 Web 的可视化

跟踪服务调用

Jaeger 服务(Istio 的一个组件)可为任何给定的服务提供跟踪。 在此示例中,我们跟踪了产品页面。 第一张图中的每个点都表示一次服务调用。 通过单击某个点,我们可以“向下钻取”到瀑布图中,以遵循准确的服务请求和响应。

Jaeger 服务(Istio 的一个组件)的图像,提供对任何给定服务的跟踪。  在此示例中,我们跟踪了产品页面。 第一张图像中的每个点表示一个服务调用。

我们也可以更仔细地查看产品页面。 我们可以看到错误位于产品页面本身 - 成功地返回了详细信息。

产品页面的图像。  我们可以看到错误位于产品页面本身 - 成功地返回了详细信息。

仪表板

Istio 随附许多即取即用的仪表板,可监视系统运行状况和性能。 它们可以测量 CPU 和内存利用率、流量需求、400 和 500 个错误数量、请求服务时间等等。 最棒的是,只需安装和运行 Istio 并添加 Grafana(包含的一个用于 Istio 的开源仪表板工具),便立即可用。 Istio 还另外提供了两个仪表板:Kiali 和 Jaeger。

Istio 许多仪表板(现成可用)的图像,用于监控系统运行状况和性能。

Istio 与 Envoy

Istio 使用 Envoy 的一个版本(但已大量扩展)来执行监视、管理和日志记录操作。 每个 Pod 都需要跟踪,Istio 则需要汇总,并提供有关所有 Pod 的信息。 对于使用 Istio,一个可能的替代方法就是将 Envoy 直接部署到 Kubernetes 集群中,并编写管理代码。 但稍加思索便会发现,这基本上是在重写 Istio,包含了自定义开发项目的所有相关成本和错误。

教程

Istio Web 站点(链接位于 IBM 外部)包含大量有用文档和有关 Istio 入门的指示信息。 

Istio 和 IBM

托管 Istio 现已纳入 IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service。该服务提供 Istio 的无缝安装,控制平面组件的自动更新和生命周期管理,以及与平台记录和监控工具的集成。 将托管 Istio 集成添加到新的或现有集群,并立即收回对您的微服务的控制。 如果您对探索 Knative 感兴趣,请参阅“Knative:基本指南”。

了解有关 IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service 中的托管 Istio 的更多信息

有关托管 Kubernetes 如何帮助您踏上云旅程的概述,请观看我们的视频“托管 Kubernetes 的优势”:

要深入了解在生产环境中启用和加速容器部署的最佳实践,请参阅报告“在生产中运行容器和 Kubernetes 的最佳实践”。

通过“Istio 说明:服务网格入门”(PDF, 4.1 MB) 实践指南,了解服务网格如何帮助您控制应用中的服务之间的交互。

如果您已准备好立即开始使用 IBM Cloud,请在此注册。

Istio: A Complete Guide

By: IBM Cloud Education

Summary

Learn more about Istio—open technology that provides a way for developers to seamlessly connect, manage, and secure networks of different microservices.

What is Istio?

Istio is a configurable, open source service-mesh layer that connects, monitors, and secures the containers in a Kubernetes cluster. At this writing, Istio works natively with Kubernetes only, but its open source nature makes it possible for anyone to write extensions enabling Istio to run on any cluster software. Today, we'll focus on using Istio with Kubernetes, its most popular use case.

Kubernetes is a container orchestration tool, and one core unit of Kubernetes is a node. A node consists of one or more containers, along with file systems or other components. A microservices architecture might have a dozen different nodes, each representing different microservices. Kubernetes manages availability and resource consumption of nodes, adding pods as demand increases with the pod autoscaler. Istio injects additional containers into the pod to add security, management, and monitoring.

Because it is open source, Istio can run on any public cloud provider that supports it and any private cloud with willing administrators.

The following video explains the basics of this open-platform, independent service mesh and looks at how it runs on Kubernetes:

The network service mesh

When organizations move to microservices, they need to support dozens or hundreds of specific applications. Managing those endpoints separately means supporting a large number of virtual machines or VMs, including demand. Cluster software like Kubernetes can create pods and scale them up, but Kubernetes does not provide routing, traffic rules, or strong monitoring or debugging tools.

Enter the service mesh.

As the number of services increases, the number of potential ways to communicate increases exponentially. Two services have only two communication paths. Three services have six, while 10 services have 90. A service mesh provides a single way to configure those communications paths by creating a policy for the communication.

A service mesh instruments the services and directs communications traffic according to a predefined configuration. That means that instead of configuring a running container (or writing code to do so), an administrator can provide configuration to the service mesh and have it complete that work. This previously always had to happen with web servers and service-to-service communication.

The most common way to do this in a cluster is to use the sidecar pattern. A sidecar is a new container, inside the pod, that routes and observes communications traffic between services and containers.

Istio and Kubernetes

As mentioned earlier, Istio layers on top of Kubernetes, adding containers that are essentially invisible to the programmer and administrator. Called "sidecar" containers, these act as a "person in the middle," directing traffic and monitoring the interactions between components. The two work in combination in three ways: configuration, monitoring, and management.

Configuration

The primary method to set configuration with Kubernetes is the kubectl command, commonly "kubectl -f <filename>", where the file is a YAML file. Istio users can either run new and different types of YAML files with kubectl or use the new, optional, ioctl command.

Monitoring

With Istio, you can easily monitor the health of your applications running with Kubernetes. Istio's instrumentation can manage and visualize the health of applications, providing more insight than just the general monitoring of cluster and nodes that Kubernetes provides.

Management

Because the interface for Istio is essentially the same as Kubernetes, managing it takes almost no additional work. In fact, Istio allows the user to create policies that impact and manage the entire Kubernetes cluster, reducing time to manage each cluster while eliminating the need for custom management code.

Benefits of Istio

The major benefits of a service mesh include capabilities for improved debugging, monitoring, routing, security, and leverage. That is, with Istio, it will take less effort to manage a wider group of services.

Improved debugging

Say, for example, that a service has multiple dependencies. The pay_claim service at an insurance company calls the deductible_amt service, which calls the is_member_covered service, and so on. A complex dependency chain might have 10 or 12 service calls. When one of those 12 is failing, there will be a cascading set of failures that result in some sort of 500 error, 400 error, or possibly no response at all.

To debug that set of calls, you can use something like a stack trace. On the frontend, client-side developers can see what elements are pulled back from web servers, in what order, and examine them. Frontend programmers can get a waterfall diagram to aid in debugging:

Waterfall Diagram

What the example does not show is what happens inside the data center—how callback=parselLotamaAudiences calls four other web services and which ones respond more slowly. Later, we will see how Istio provides tools to trace function calls in a diagram much like this one.

Monitoring and observability

DevOps teams and IT Administration may want to observe the traffic to see latency, time-in-service, errors as a percentage of traffic, and so on. Often, they want to see a dashboard. A dashboard provides a visualization of the sum, or average, or those metrics over time—perhaps with the ability to "drill down" to a specific node, service, or pod. Kubernetes does not provide this functionality natively.

Policy

By default, Kubernetes allows every pod to send traffic to every other pod. Istio allows administrators to create a policy to restrict which services can work with each other. So, for example, services can only call other services that are true dependencies. Another policy to keep services up is a rate limit, which will stop excess traffic from clogging a service and prevent denial of service attacks.

Routing and load balancing

By default, Kubernetes provides round-robin load balancing. If there are six pods that provide a microservice, Kubernetes will provide a load balancer, or "service," that sends requests to each pod in increasing order, then it will start over. However, sometimes a company will deploy different versions of the same service in production.

The simplest example of this may be a blue/green deploy. In that case, the software might build an entirely new version of the application in production without sending production users to it. After promoting the new version, the company can keep the old servers around to make switchback quick in the event of failure.

With Istio, this is as simple as using tagging in a configuration file. Administrators can also use labels to indicate what type of service to connect to and build rules based on headers. So, for example, beta users can route to a ‘canary’ pod with the latest and greatest build, while regular users go to the stable production build.

Circuit breaking

If a service is overloaded or down, additional requests will fail while continuing to overload the system. Because Istio is tracking errors and delays, it can force a pause—allowing a service to recover—after a specific number of requests set by policy. You can enforce this policy across the entire cluster by creating a small text file and directing Istio to use it as a new policy.

Security

Istio provides identity, policy, and encryption by default, along with authentication, authorization, and audit (AAA). Any pods under management that communicate with others will use encrypted traffic, preventing any observation. The identity service, combined with encryption, ensures that no unauthorized user can fake—or "spoof"—a service call. AAA provides security and operations professionals the tools they need to monitor, with less overhead.

Simplified administration

Traditional applications still need the identify, policy, and security features that Istio offers. That has programmers and administrators working at the wrong level of abstraction, reimplementing the same security rules over and over for every service. Istio allows them to work at the right level—setting policy for the cluster through a single control panel. At the same time, with Istio's access controls, dashboards, and debugging tools described below, you can easily add a plugin at the command line, rather than go to a web page.

Istio Examples

Visualize services

Istio 1.1 includes a new add-on called Kiali that which provides a web-based visualization. You can use it to track service requests, drill into details, or even export the service request history as a JSON to query and format in your own way. The workload graph below offers a real-time generated dependency graph based on the services that actually depend on each other. It is generated from actual observations of traffic.

Workload Graph

Trace service calls

The Jaeger service, a component of Istio, provides tracing for any given service. In this example, we’ve traced the product page. Ever dot in the first image represents a service call. By clicking on a dot, we can “drill down” into the waterfall diagram to follow the exact services requests and responses.

Trace service

We can also look more closely at the product page. We can see the errors are in product page itself—that details returned successfully.

Product page

Dashboards

Istio comes with many dashboards (out of the box) to monitor system health and performance. These can measure CPU and memory utilization, traffic demand, the number of 400 and 500 errors, time to serve requests, and more. Best of all, they are available by simply installing and running Istio and adding Grafana, one of the included open source dashboard tools for Istio. Istio also provides two other dashboards: Kiali and Jaeger.

Dashboards

Istio vs. Envoy

Istio uses a version of Envoy, though heavily extended, to perform the monitoring, management, and logging. Every pod needs to be tracked, and Istio needs to aggregate and provide information about all of the pods. One possible alternative to using Istio would be to deploy Envoy into the Kubernetes cluster directly and write management code. Although, when you think about it, this is essentially rewriting what Istio is, with all the associated costs and bugs of a custom development project.

Istio tutorial

The Istio website includes lots of helpful documentation and instructions for getting started with Istio. For example, you can find step-by-step instructions for installing and configuring an Istio mesh on IBM Cloud.

Istio and IBM

Managed Istio is available as part of IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service. The service provides seamless installation of Istio, automatic updates and lifecycle management of control plane components, and integration with platform logging and monitoring tools. Add the managed Istio integration to your new or existing clusters and take back control of your microservices today. If you're interested in exploring Knative, see "Knative: A Complete Guide."

Learn more about Managed Istio on IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service

For an overview of how managed Kubernetes can help you in your cloud journey, see our video, "Advantages of Managed Kubernetes":

To learn more about best practices to enable and expedite container deployment in production environments, see the report "Best Practices for Running Containers and Kubernetes in Production."

If you are ready to start using IBM Cloud today, sign up here.

Follow IBM Cloud

IBM Cloud News connects you to insight and information you can put to work right away—straight from the minds of IBM Cloud experts, IBM customers, and business and IT leaders.

Email subscribeRSS

Be the first to hear about news, product updates, and innovation from IBM Cloud