采取行动保护我们的海洋
克服数据挑战,跟踪和减少海洋垃圾

塑料垃圾正在快速破坏海洋生态系统,从毁坏海滩、杀死小海龟到破坏海底珊瑚。

在过去的 13 年里,全球一半的塑料垃圾都是由塑料制品带来的,每年有 880 万吨塑料被冲入海洋,地球上很少有地方能逃过塑料的侵袭。塑料垃圾弄脏了南极洲偏远的冰湾、留尼汪岛和毛里求斯美丽的海岸,甚至深不可测的万米深的马里亚纳海沟。

一个如此普遍和严重的问题需要立即引起全球关注。

联合国环境规划署 (UNEP) 召集来自世界各国的海洋专家、环保人士、非营利组织、学者和公民科学家,共同应对环境可持续性问题。2015 年,它为地球制定了 17 项可持续发展目标 (SDG),其中目标 14 呼吁保护和可持续利用海洋。联合国开发计划署 (UNDP) 制定了到 2025 年大幅减少海洋污染的目标。

虽然在海滩上清除一次性塑料和其他形式的废弃物的重要性不言而喻,但有一个大问题:如果无法衡量评测,则改进也无从谈起。目前还没有一套程序来提供有关污染海滩的塑料数量的数据,也没有人真正知道各自为政的海滩清理工作是否取得了成效。

数以吨计的塑料


每年有 880 万吨塑料冲入海洋

增强可预测性



该模型可以预测未来 5 年后的垃圾量

 

AI 是公民科学的强大盟友,可以帮助当地乃至全球社区。我们刚刚迈出了实现这一可能的第一步。 Anne Bowser 博士 创新总监 The Wilson Center
保护水下生命

挑战 1:整合世界海洋垃圾数据


估算散落在五大洋的海洋垃圾数量比想象中要难得多。目前还没有标准的海洋垃圾数据收集方法来指导各国和各组织。Wilson Center 是美国最重要的无党派政策组织之一,它与 UNEP 和 IBM 的 Data Science and AI Elite (DSE) 团队一起,需要协调大量的模式和元数据,以便能够利用世界各地报告的数据。

为了促进所有利益相关者之间更有效的合作,UNEP 制定了一个关键目标,即建立一个全球海洋垃圾平台。借助 IBM Knowledge CatalogIBM® Cloud Pak for Data 中的功能),他们能够快速自动地清理、交叉、分类、调整并为数据科学家提供正确的数据。该解决方案还允许公民科学家追踪数据来源,与其他科学家合作,申请数据集,并利用评级和标记机制分享他们对数据集的见解。

挑战 2:利用条件数据集保护海滩健康

第二个挑战是计算海洋海滩垃圾的数量。统计随机调查有助于做出准确的科学估计,但有关垃圾的数据收集就其本质而言是随机的。由于严重依赖志愿清理人员,有关清理工作的数据可能会受到时间和空间偏差的影响。例如,一名志愿者每天收集海滩垃圾。但是,他们每天收集的样本与每周或每月收集的样本可能会有所不同,导致样本高度依赖于无数变量,从而难以进行比较和分析。

而且不同地点的清理工作并不一致,有些地方清理得过于频繁,而有些地方则很少或从未清理过,这表明样本不是独立同分布 (IID) 的。这种条件数据集阻碍了使用典型的机器学习方法来解决问题。

为了应对这些挑战,DSE 团队采用了贝叶斯推理方法和 Makov Chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) 采样技术。贝叶斯方法使他们能够考虑问题中的不确定性;MCMC 使他们能够创建一连串的依赖事件来估计海洋垃圾的参数。这一概念验证表明,可以对这一独特的混合方法进行调整和修改,以增强模型的强度。

DSE 团队在 IBM Cloud Pak for Data 中创建了一个机器学习管道,以建立一个简化的端到端 AI 生命周期。一旦确定了测量海洋垃圾的基线,该团队就可以预测特定海滩清理工作所需的志愿者人数。考虑到当前的趋势和政策,该模型将有助于预测未来五年的预期垃圾量。

挑战 3:展望未来,加强预防和支持

解决海洋垃圾问题的最好办法就是预防。展望未来,沿海社区如何才能避免对原始海岸线造成永久性破坏?DSE 团队创建了一个时间序列预测,以帮助跟踪海洋塑料,并制定更准确、更有效的政策来消除塑料。为了使数据集易于使用,该团队创建了一个执行仪表板,使各利益相关者能够:

  • 监测海洋垃圾密度的逐年增加情况
  • 按国家地点对数据进行切分,以评估随时间推移的垃圾趋势
  • 将重点缩小到特定海滩,以收集更详细的数据
  • 完善方法,向志愿者团体推荐最佳移动应用程序

有了端到端的 AI 生命周期,科学家和政策制定者就能从 Wilson Center 的数据集中挖掘出更多价值,无论是编排清理工作,还是预测实现零污染的时间表。IBM 定制的数字仪表板使没有技术专长的人也能轻松访问和共享这些工作。

利用这些工具,像哥斯达黎加这样的 UNEP 利益相关者,能够跟踪该国在完全消除塑料这一目标方面所取得的进展。

 

挑战 4:让更多人关注海洋垃圾问题

UNEP 领导层希望更深入地研究数据,在公众与海洋垃圾问题之间建立联系。为了建立这种联系,该组织设想了一个数字头像作为信息入口。于是,一个名叫 Sam 的数字人诞生了。

IBM 杰出工程师兼数字人类倡导者 Richard Darden 解释道:“Sam 能与用户建立情感联系,因为他确实反应灵敏。

Sam 的情感反应源自 IBM® Watsonx Assistant,该产品由 IBM Watson Speech to Text 技术提供支持。这些程序可以解读用户的意图,然后通过深入研究 UNEP 庞大的资料库和其他来源,详细阐述 Sam 的回复。

然后,这些信息将通过由 Soul Machines 公司制作的栩栩如生的化身进行筛选,该公司位于旧金山,制造所谓的“数字人。”

Sam 能与用户建立情感联系,因为他确实反应灵敏。 Richard Darden 杰出工程师和数字人类倡导者 IBM
从概念验证到生产

通过利用技术的力量与塑料污染作斗争,IBM 向联合国环境大会展示了其对保护环境的承诺,强调 AI 可以成为衡量未来进展的重要工具,并可以影响有关海洋塑料干预措施的直接政策,从而建立一个可持续的海洋生态系统。UNEP 现在正将注意力转向使数据收集更容易、更具影响力。

Wilson Center 创新总监兼项目负责人 Anne Bowser 博士表示,Wilson Center 正在探索如何在环境署的报告中使用公民科学,而不仅仅局限于海滩清理,包括使用具有物体检测和分类功能的更复杂的移动应用程序。

基于她与 IBM 合作的早期成功,Bowser 认为,通过 AI 赋予公民科学家权力,可以达成更多的 UNEP 目标(ibm.com 外部链接)。Bowser 表示:“AI 是公民科学的强大盟友,可以帮助当地乃至全球社区。我们刚刚迈出了实现这一可能的第一步。”

Wilson Center 和 UNEP 徽标
关于 Wilson Center

Wilson Center(ibm.com 外部链接)于 1968 年由美国国会特许成立,是 Woodrow Wilson 总统的官方纪念馆,也是美国重要的无党派政策论坛,通过独立研究和公开对话来解决全球问题,为政策制定者提供可行的意见。该组织帮助推出了“Earth Challenge 2020”,这是一个增加开放和可交互操作公民科学数据量的平台,并通过移动应用程序吸引公众参与。

联合国环境规划署 (UNEP)

UNEP(ibm.com 外部链接)是全球环境领域的权威机构,负责制定全球环境议程,促进在联合国系统内协调一致地落实可持续发展的环境举措。该组织成立于 1972 年,是全球环境的权威倡导者。欲了解更多信息,请访问:https://www.unep.org(ibm.com 外部链接)。

采取后续步骤
统一企业数据和 AI 所需的工具、流程和人员 立即开始 启动您的下一个数据科学项目 与我们合作 利用 IBM Cloud Pak for Data 的数据架构更快地解锁数据 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021.IBM Corporation, Global Business Services, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 7 月。

Global Business Services、IBM Cloud Pak 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地许多司法辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 ibm.com/trademark 网站上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 业务合作伙伴自行设定价格,价格可能会有所不同。 IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Taking action to preserve our oceans

Overcoming data challenges to track and reduce marine litter
by Jennifer Clemente
5-minute read

Plastic waste is destroying marine ecosystems at a rapid pace — from ruining beaches to killing baby turtles to destroying coral on the sea floor.

With half the world’s plastic produced in the last 13 years and 8.8 million tons washing into the oceans annually, few places on earth have escaped its reach. Plastic litter fouls the remote, icy coves of Antarctica, the beautiful shores of Réunion and Mauritius, and even the unfathomable reaches of the 10,000-meter-deep Mariana Trench.

A problem so pervasive and pernicious requires immediate, global attention.

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) rallies marine experts, environmentalists, nonprofits, academics and citizen scientists from countries around the world to confront the issue of environmental sustainability. In 2015, it established 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) for the planet, with goal 14 calling for conservation and sustainable use of the oceans. Its United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) set a goal of significantly reducing marine pollution by 2025.

While no one would argue against the importance of ridding beaches of single-use plastic and other forms of debris, there’s a big problem: you can’t improve what you can’t measure. There’s no process in place to deliver data on the amount of plastic polluting beaches today — and no one really knows if siloed beach cleanup efforts are even making a dent.

Tons of plastic washing into oceans annually

8.8

million

The model can predict litter volumes

5

years into the future

AI is a powerful ally for citizen science that can help local to global communities. We are just taking the first steps toward realizing this potential.
Dr. Anne Bowser
Director of Innovation, the Wilson Center
Bag of garbage with design of earth on the bag

Conserving life below water

Challenge 1: Uniting the world’s ocean litter data

Estimating the volume of marine litter scattered across all five oceans is harder than it seems. No standard marine litter data collection method exists to guide countries and organizations. The Wilson Center, one of the US’s premier nonpartisan policy organizations, together with UNEP and IBM’s Data Science and AI Elite (DSE) team, needed to harmonize tons of schemas and metadata so data reported from all corners of the world could be used.

To foster more effective collaboration between all stakeholders, UNEP set a key objective to establish a global platform for marine litter. With IBM Watson® Knowledge Catalog in IBM Cloud Pak® for Data, they were able to quickly and automatically clean, crosswalk, classify, conform and make available the right data for data scientists. The solution also allowed citizen scientists to trace origins of the data, collaborate with other scientists, request datasets and share their insights on the datasets using rating and tagging mechanisms.

Colorful living coral reef
Pile of crushed empty water bottles and garbage

Challenge 2: Conquering conditional datasets to preserve the health of beaches

The second challenge was to calculate the volume of marine beach litter. Statistically randomized surveys help create accurate scientific estimates, but data collection about litter is, by its very nature, random. Heavily reliant on volunteer cleanup crews, data about cleanup efforts can be shaped by temporal and spatial biases. For example, one volunteer collects beach litter daily. But what they collect each day will differ from what someone who collects weekly or monthly may find, leading to samples highly dependent on myriad variables, thus difficult to compare and analyze.

And clean-up efforts are inconsistent across locations, with some places cleaned too frequently and others rarely or never touched, indicating that samples are neither independent nor identically distributed (IID). Such conditional datasets prevent problem resolution using typical machine learning methods.

To address these challenges, the DSE team utilized the Bayesian Inference method with Makov Chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) sampling techniques. The Bayesian approach allowed them to account for uncertainties in the problem; MCMC allowed them to create a chain of dependent events to estimate the parameters of marine litter. This proof of concept revealed this unique hybrid methodology could be adjusted and modified to enhance the model’s strength.

The DSE team created a machine learning pipeline in IBM Cloud Pak for Data to establish a streamlined end-to-end AI lifecycle. Once they established a baseline for measuring marine litter, the team could predict the number of volunteers needed for a cleanup effort at a particular beach. Given current trends and policies, the model will help project the amount of expected litter five years into the future.

Hand holding a bucket with garbage in it
Woman collecting water sample

Challenge 3: Looking ahead to shore up prevention and support

The best way to solve the marine litter problem is to prevent it. Looking forward, how can coastal communities forestall permanent damage to pristine coastlines? The DSE team created a time-series forecast to help track marine plastic and develop more accurate and effective policies to eradicate it. To make the dataset easily consumable, the team created an executive dashboard allowing various stakeholders to:

  • Monitor the progression of marine litter density year over year
  • Slice and dice the data by national location to evaluate litter trends over time
  • Narrow focus to specific beaches for more granular data collection
  • Refine methodology to recommend the best mobile apps to volunteer groups
  • With an end-to-end AI lifecycle in place, scientists and policymakers could extract even more value from the Wilson Center’s datasets, whether to choreograph cleanups or predict a timeline for getting to zero pollution. IBM’s custom digital dashboard makes the work easily accessible and sharable even for those without technical expertise.

    These tools empower a UNEP stakeholder like Costa Rica to track its progress toward the nation’s aim of ridding itself of plastics entirely.

    Challenge 4: Making more people care about marine litter

    UNEP leadership wanted to go even deeper into the data, to create a bond between the public and the issue of marine litter. To achieve this connection, the organization envisioned a digital avatar as the information go-to. And so, a digital human called Sam was born.

    “Sam can emotionally connect with users because he’s actually responsive,” explains Richard Darden, Distinguished Engineer and Digital Human Advocate at IBM.

    Sam’s emotive responses derive from IBM Watson Assistant using IBM Watson Speech to Text technology. These programs can interpret the intent of a user and then elaborate Sam’s reply by diving into UNEP’s vast repository and other sources.

    That information is then filtered through a lifelike avatar built by Soul Machines, a San Francisco-based company that makes what it calls “digital people.”

    3 young kids with trashbags on a beach collecting trash
    Sam can emotionally connect with users because he’s actually responsive.
    Richard Darden
    Distinguished Engineer and Digital Human Advocate, IBM

    Proof of concept to production

    By harnessing the power of technology to battle plastic pollution, IBM demonstrated to the United Nations Environmental Assembly its commitment to the preservation of the environment — emphasizing that AI can be a vital tool for measuring future progress and can influence direct policy on marine plastic interventions toward building a sustainable marine ecosystem. UNEP is now turning its attention to making data collection easier and more impactful.

    The Wilson Center is exploring ways to use citizen science in UNEP’s reporting beyond beach cleanups, including with more sophisticated mobile apps featuring object detection and classification, says Dr. Anne Bowser, Director of Innovation at the Wilson Center and project lead.

    Based on the early success of her collaboration with IBM, Bowser thinks more UNEP goalsExternal Link could benefit from empowering citizen scientists with AI. “AI is a powerful ally for citizen science that can help local to global communities,” Bowser says. “We are just taking the first steps toward realizing this potential.”

    Wilson Center and UNEP logo

    About the Wilson Center

    The Wilson CenterExternal Link chartered by the US Congress in 1968 as the official memorial to President Woodrow Wilson, is the nation’s key nonpartisan policy forum for tackling global issues through independent research and open dialogue to inform actionable ideas for the policy community. The organization helped launch Earth Challenge 2020, a platform for increasing the amount of open and interoperable citizen science data, with a mobile app to engage the public.

    The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

    UNEPExternal Link is the leading global environmental authority that sets the global environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system. Formed in 1972, it serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment. For more information, visit: https://www.unep.orgExternal Link.

    Solution components
    Wilson Center and UNEP logo

    About the Wilson Center

    The Wilson CenterExternal Link chartered by the US Congress in 1968 as the official memorial to President Woodrow Wilson, is the nation’s key nonpartisan policy forum for tackling global issues through independent research and open dialogue to inform actionable ideas for the policy community. The organization helped launch Earth Challenge 2020, a platform for increasing the amount of open and interoperable citizen science data, with a mobile app to engage the public.

    The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

    UNEPExternal Link is the leading global environmental authority that sets the global environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system. Formed in 1972, it serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment. For more information, visit: https://www.unep.orgExternal Link.

    Solution components