主页 Case Studies Sterling oms Instana 在黑色星期五期间借助全栈可观察性实现卓越的性能和订单管理
IBM Sterling OMS + IBM Instana
女库存经理在仓库使用笔记本电脑工作

当黑色星期五来临时,许多世界顶级零售商都依赖您的解决方案来开展业务,您的解决方案最好不要出问题。在 2023 年假期期间,IBM® Sterling Order Management 软件 (OMS) 团队使用 IBM® Instana Observability 解决方案保持了出色的性能,并帮助刷新了订单和收入记录。

IBM Sterling OMS 的 SaaS 版本为许多在美国和国际上家喻户晓的品牌提供实时订单和库存管理,这些品牌既有大型在线市场,也有经营时尚服饰和儿童礼品的潮流商店。对于这些公司来说,如果 OMS 系统出现故障,即使只有一分钟,也会造成金钱损失;在黑色星期五或其他季节性高峰期间,损失可能会达到数百万美元。

IBM 的 Sterling OMS 团队了解其中的利害关系,并承诺为客户提供 99.9999% 正常运行时间的服务级别协议 (SLA)。但是,兑现这项 SLA 并不是一件容易的事。

IBM Sterling OMS SaaS 技术堆栈

  • 数据库组件:IBM® Db2、NoSQL、Cassandra、MongoDB、Elastic Search
  • 消息传递:IBM® MQ、Kafka
  • 软件定义网络 (SDN):istio Service Mesh
  • Apache Spark 和 Apache Hadoop 将支持 AI 工作负载
  • 20 多个 IBM® Cloud Kubernetes Service 集群、900 多个工作程序节点、60,000 个活动容器
  • 即将推出:大型语言模型 (LLM) AI 用例,提升呼叫中心服务

SaaS OMS 解决方案托管超过 300 个客户端环境,并将它们与多种技术堆栈集成在一起。IBM 订单管理开发总监 Pradeep Nanjundaswamy 表示:“每个客户环境都既复杂又独特。对于任何实施,至少需要与支付系统、ERP 和配送服务等外部系统进行约 20 次集成。”必须监控整个异构堆栈的性能;每个组件对于整体的高可用性都至关重要。

150 亿次 API 调用(一周内) 亚秒级 平均响应时间
这是我们第一次以 Instana 作为监控系统来迎接假期。我们在 2023 年进行了 150 亿次 API 调用,但没有遇到严重性一级的事件或升级。总体来说,很顺利。 Pradeep Nanjundaswamy 订单管理开发总监 IBM
简化复杂性的可见性

2023 年初,Sterling OMS 团队用 IBM Instana Observability 取代了之前的第三方性能监控解决方案。

黑色星期五将成为新设置要迎接的第一个季节性数据激增。但是从开始测试 Instana 时,OMS 团队就看到了他们所知的优势在假期会为他们带来很大帮助。“以前的解决方案需要许多定制集成,我们已经能够用 Instana 的开箱即用集成来取代这些集成。”Sterling 团队的技术主管/站点可靠性工程顾问 Shoeb Bihari 说。

用户界面现在也更好了。“对于另一个解决方案,我们必须将其屏幕嵌入到我们的自助服务工具中。”Nanjundaswamy 解释道。“借助 Instana,我们利用 Instana API 重写了用户屏幕,用户体验得到了极大改善。”

OMS 支持团队现在使用 Instana 实时监控系统运行状况和性能,并根据 SLA 进行干预。“我们有基于浏览器的监控,涵盖应用程序级别和基础架构。”Sterling 团队的高级技术人员 Dinup Pillai 说道。这包括综合监控(也称为主动监控),它从不同位置模拟最终用户的操作,并持续监控可用性和响应时间。“出现任何性能问题时,自动警报有助于最大限度地缩短响应时间。”Pillai 说。

该团队还利用 Instana 的灵活性,为 API 级和业务级指标创建个性化仪表板和警报。他们可以为客户和内部人员提供基于角色的可见性。客户可以实时了解业务绩效,包括订单量和捕获率。

黑色星期五?万无一失。

黑色星期五到来后,一周内客户的订单量激增至平时的 20-30 倍。2022 年感恩节一周内,OMS 系统共接到 60 多亿次 API 调用。1一年后,API 调用次数达到约 150 亿次,比前一年增加了 120%。

那么,系统表现如何?

大多数 API 调用的响应时间以亚秒为单位。“这是我们第一次以 Instana 作为监控系统来迎接假日季,”Nanjundaswamy 说,“我们在 2023 年收到了 150 亿次 API 调用,没有遇到严重性一级的事件或升级。总的来说,一切都很顺利。”

蓝色 IBM 8 道横纹徽标 svg
关于 IBM Sterling Order Management 团队

IBM Sterling(ibm.com 外部链接)解决方案和产品提供久经考验的可靠连接、端到端可见性和实时洞察,将潜在的中断转化为客户参与、增长和盈利的机会。这些解决方案包括供应链可持续性软件,如 IBM Sterling Order Management,这是一种订单履行软件,可实时管理和优化跨渠道和履行中心的流程。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴。

 

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM
引文

1根据 IBM 保留的内部数据,2022 年感恩节一周期间的 API 调用次数超过 60 亿次。

法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2024. IBM、IBM 徽标、Db2、IBM Cloud、IBM Instana 和 IBM Sterling 是 IBM Corp. 在美国和/或其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

插图中的客户示例展示了客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能已取得的结果。实际性能、成本、节省情况或其他结果可能因具体运营环境不同而异。

Home Case Studies IBM Sterling Order Management (OMS) - Instana Achieving performance and order management excellence during Black Friday with full-stack observability
IBM Sterling OMS + IBM Instana
Female inventory manager working with computer laptop in storage warehouse

When it is Black Friday and many of the world’s top retailers rely on your solution to conduct their business, your solution better perform. During the 2023 holiday season, the IBM Sterling® Order Management software (OMS) team used the IBM Instana® Observability solution to maintain excellent performance and help smash order and revenue records.

The SaaS version of IBM Sterling OMS facilitates real-time order and inventory management for many brands that are household names in the US and internationally, from massive online marketplaces to popular shops for fashion apparel and children’s gifts. For these companies, if the OMS system falters, even for a minute, it is money lost; during Black Friday or other seasonal peaks, it could be millions.

The Sterling OMS team at IBM understands what is at stake, and it commits to a service-level agreement (SLA) of 99.9999% uptime for customers. But making good on this SLA is no simple task.

IBM Sterling OMS SaaS technology stack

  • Database components: IBM® Db2®, NoSQL, Cassandra, MongoDB, Elastic Search
  • Messaging: IBM MQ, Kafka
  • Software defined networking (SDN): istio Service Mesh
  • Apache Spark and Apache Hadoop to support AI workloads
  • 20+ IBM Cloud® Kubernetes Service clusters, 900+ worker nodes, 60,000 active containers
  • Coming soon: Large Language Model (LLM) AI use cases to enhance services for call centers

The SaaS OMS solution hosts more than 300 client environments and integrates them with a diverse technology stack. “Each customer environment is both complex and unique,” says Pradeep Nanjundaswamy, Director of Order Management Development at IBM. “For any implementation, there is a minimum of around 20 integrations with external systems such as payment systems, ERP and delivery services.” Monitoring performance across the whole heterogeneous stack is a must; each component is critical to overall high availability.

15B API calls in one week Sub-seconds Average response time
It was the first year we faced the holiday season with Instana as the monitoring system. We had 15 billion API calls in 2023 without experiencing severity one incidents or escalations. Overall, it was smooth. Pradeep Nanjundaswamy Director of Order Management Development IBM
Visibility that simplifies complexity

Earlier in 2023, the Sterling OMS team had replaced its previous, third-party performance-monitoring solution with IBM Instana Observability.

Black Friday would be the first seasonal surge for the new setup. But from the time they began testing Instana, the OMS team saw advantages they knew would serve them well during the holidays. “The previous solution required many custom integrations that we have been able to replace with out-of-the-box integrations from Instana,” says Shoeb Bihari, Technical Lead / Site Reliability Engineer Advisor on the Sterling team.

The user interface is also better now. “With the other solution, we had to embed its screens into our self-service tool,” explains Nanjundaswamy. “With Instana we rewrote the user screens leveraging Instana APIs, and the user experience has greatly improved.”

The OMS support team now uses Instana to monitor system health and performance in real time and intervene according to the SLAs. “We have browser-based monitoring, covering the application level and infrastructure,” says Dinup Pillai, Senior Technical Staff Member on the Sterling team. This includes synthetic monitoring (also known as active monitoring), which simulates end-user actions from different locations and continually monitors availability and response time. “When any performance issues arise, automated alerts help minimize response time,” says Pillai.

The team also takes advantage of Instana’s flexibility to create personalized dashboards and alerts for API-level and business-level metrics. They can provide role-based visibility to client and internal personnel. Clients get real-time views of business performance, including order volumes and capture rates.

Black Friday? No problem.

When Black Friday arrived, clients’ order volumes exploded by 20-30 times their normal rates for a solid week. In 2022, over 6 billion API calls1 hit the OMS system during Thanksgiving week.  A year later, there were about 15 billion API calls—an increase of 120% over the previous year.

So, how did the system do?

Most of the API calls had a response time in sub-seconds. “It was the first year we faced the holiday season with Instana as the monitoring system,” says Nanjundaswamy. “We had 15 billion API calls in 2023 without experiencing severity one incidents or escalations. Overall, it was smooth.”

Blue IBM 8-bar logo svg
About IBM Sterling Order Management team

IBM Sterling (link resides outside of ibm.com) solutions and offerings provide proven reliable connectivity, end-to-end visibility, real-time insights to turn potential disruptions into opportunities for customer engagement, growth and profit.  The solutions include supply chain sustainability software like IBM Sterling Order Management, an order fulfillment software that manages and optimizes processes across channels and fulfillment centers in real time.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

 

View more case studies Contact IBM
Citations

1According to internal data retained by IBM, there were over 6 billion API calls during the Thanksgiving week period in 2022.

Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2024. IBM, the IBM logo, Db2, IBM Cloud, IBM Instana and IBM Sterling are trademarks or registered trademarks of IBM Corp., in the U.S. and/or other countries. This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

Client examples are presented as illustrations of how those clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual performance, cost, savings or other results in other operating environments may vary.