Skyegrid
IBM Cloud 支持创新型本地云游戏平台
一个小男孩和妹妹玩手机游戏

Skyegrid 的成立旨在通过云向预算有限游戏玩家提供顶级视频游戏。当该企业需要云平台来支持服务时,它选择了 IBM Cloud® 和 IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers。借助 IBM® 解决方案,该企业可以以实惠的价格为订户提供最新游戏。

业务挑战

为了支持云游戏平台并提供无延迟的一流游戏体验,Skyegrid 需要一个强大的云平台,可以扩展以满足不断增长的订户数量。

变革

Skyegrid 选择了 IBM CloudIBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers 来支持云游戏服务。IBM Cloud 有助于最大限度地减少延迟,而高性能图形处理单元 (GPU) 有助于提供高质量图形。

结果 支持多种设备和平台
包括 Android、Apple Mac OS、Microsoft Windows 和 Linux 操作系统 (OS)
吸引了 3,000 名付费订户
提供实惠的订阅价格
每天支持 16,000–18,000 名独立访客

每月支持 500,000–550,000 名独立访客

业务挑战案例
游戏的未来

Skyegrid 创始人兼首席执行官 (CEO) Rolly Edward 表示,云游戏就是未来。过去,如果您无法使用 PC 或笔记本电脑,或者这些设备缺乏必要规格的软硬件,您根本无法玩最新、最先进的视频游戏。“我的想法是创建一个大规模的订阅游戏服务,这样任何人都可以玩,即使没有硬件也可以,”Edward 说。

Skyegrid 的成立旨在提供一个云平台,让预算有限的游戏玩家可以通过移动设备或旧电脑在线玩游戏。而且不仅仅是任何游戏。Skyegrid 希望能够向订户提供“AAA”级游戏,这是游戏行业中对由大型工作室以较高成本制作的顶级游戏的称呼。

通过云提供一流的游戏体验可能具有挑战性。如果没有足够的计算能力,用户可能会遇到延迟或滞后,从而严重影响游戏体验。为了提供与游戏机或计算机游戏一样好的游戏体验,Skyegrid 需要一个强大的云平台来支持服务。Skyegrid 在与印度尼西亚的多家电信公司合作后,该公司发现寻找最佳解决方案变得更加重要了。“我们正在与印度尼西亚的许多电信公司建立合伙关系,他们将把 Skyegrid 纳入他们的移动数据计划中,”Edward 说。因此,Skyegrid 需要为通过这些合伙关系大幅增加订户做好准备。

如果没有新加坡和印度尼西亚的 IBM,我现在无法为这项业务提供资金。 Rolly Edward 创始人兼首席执行官 Skyegrid
变革案例
功能强大、经济实惠的裸机服务器

2018 年,Skyegrid 开始通过 Startup with IBM 计划使用 IBM Cloud。“因此,第一年,IBM 为我们提供的价格是,每台服务器每年大约 1000 美元,”Edward 说,“这对我的业务来说真的很有好处。”

随后,该企业继续使用 IBM Cloud 和 Citrix Hypervisor 来支持游戏服务。该企业还使用 IBM Cloud 上提供的高性能 GPU 技术来提供高质量图形。Skyegrid 选择了 IBM,因为 IBM 是唯一能够提供裸机服务器的提供商。“只有 IBM 提供我们需要的裸机服务器,”Edward 说,“我的软件是基于裸机的,裸机解决方案比其他云解决方案更加优惠。此外,IBM 在全球范围内提供云服务。”

使用云技术意味着 Skyegrid 可以利用运营支出而不是资本支出来获取服务器资源。“这有助于我们的用户以合理的价格试用该服务,”Edward 说,“如果云平台的价格更高,我们将不得不提高服务价格。IBM 一如既往地帮助我们优化价格。如果没有新加坡和印度尼西亚的 IBM,我现在无法为这项业务提供资金。”

案例成果
通过实惠的订阅价格吸引游戏玩家

通过使用 IBM Cloud 支持游戏平台,Skyegrid 能够降低成本,从而有助于降低订户的成本。自 Skyegrid 于 2018 年 8 月推出服务以来,已获得 3,000 名付费订户。该网站还为印度尼西亚的游戏玩家提供每日新闻推送,自推出以来累计浏览量已超过 900 万次,平均每天有 16,000-18,000 名独立访客,每月约有 500,000-550,000 名独立访客。

除了合理的订阅价格外,Skyegrid 还能够为订户提供 88 款游戏,比最有力的竞争对手多 28 款。此外,Skyegrid 是印度尼西亚唯一支持 Android 设备的云游戏平台,此外,该公司还支持运行 Mac OS、Windows 操作系统和 Linux 操作系统的设备。

该平台吸引了来自美国、马来西亚、新加坡以及印度尼西亚的游戏玩家。该地区的游戏服务潜力巨大,仅印度尼西亚就有超过 4,100 万游戏玩家。Skyegrid 计划利用 IBM Cloud 提供的全球资源将服务扩展到其他国家或地区。“您可以在世界各地的 IBM 数据中心购买 IBM 服务器,”Edward 说,“您可以在任何地方创业。”

Skyegrid 徽标
Skyegrid

Skyegrid 位于印度尼西亚的雅加达,是一个云游戏平台,旨在让游戏玩家可以通过移动数据服务随时随地畅享优质游戏。该平台还为游戏玩家提供综合媒体、通信和客户支持。该平台于 2018 年推出,归 PT Harmoni Indo Media 所有。Skyegrid 的 11 名员工热衷于为东南亚的游戏玩家社区带来更灵活的游戏选择。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

阅读 PDF 查看更多客户案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020.IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 3 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Cloud 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

Linux® 注册商标是根据 Linux 基金会的再许可使用的,该基金会是 Linus Torvalds 的独家许可证持有人,也是该商标的全球所有者。

Microsoft、Windows、Windows NT 和 Windows 徽标是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

To support its cloud gaming platform and deliver a top-notch gaming experience free from latency, Skyegrid needed a powerful cloud platform that could scale to meet growing numbers of subscribers.

Transformation

Skyegrid chose IBM Cloud and IBM Cloud Bare Metal Servers to support its cloud gaming service. The IBM Cloud helps minimize latency while high-performance graphics processing units (GPUs) help deliver quality graphics.

Results

Supports multiple devices and platforms

including Android, Apple Mac OS, Microsoft Windows and Linux operating systems (OSs)

Attracted 3,000 paying subscribers

through low subscription prices

Supports 16,000 –18,000 unique visitors daily

and 500,000 – 550,000 unique visitors monthly

Business challenge story

The future of gaming

Cloud gaming is the future, according to Skyegrid founder and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Rolly Edward. In the past, if you didn’t have access to a PC or laptop or those devices lacked the necessary specifications, you simply couldn’t play the latest and most advanced video games. “I had this idea to create a massive subscription gaming service, so that anyone could play, even without having the hardware,” says Edward.

Skyegrid was founded to provide a cloud platform that allows gamers on a budget to play games online from their mobile devices or older computers. And not just any games. Skyegrid wanted to be able to offer its subscribers “AAA” games, a designation in the gaming industry given to the top-tier games that are created by larger studios, with larger budgets.

Delivering a top-notch gaming experience via the cloud can be challenging. If there’s not enough computing power available, users can experience latency, or lags, that seriously disrupt play. To deliver a gaming experience that’s just as good as play on a console or computer, Skyegrid needed a powerful cloud platform to support its service. Finding the best solution became even more important after Skyegrid partnered with several telecommunications companies in Indonesia. “We’re forging partnership with a lot of telco companies in Indonesia where they will bundle Skyegrid to their mobile data plan,” says Edward. So Skyegrid needed to be prepared for a big increase in subscribers through these partnerships.

Without IBM in Singapore and in Indonesia, I could not fund this business right now.

Rolly Edward, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Skyegrid

Transformation story

Powerful, affordable bare metal servers

In 2018, Skyegrid began using IBM Cloud through the Startup with IBM program. “So for the first year, I'm getting about a thousand dollars for one server for one year from IBM,” says Edward. “That's really healthy for my business.”

The business then continued to use IBM Cloud along with Citrix Hypervisor to support its gaming service. The business is also using the high-performance GPU technology that’s available on IBM Cloud to deliver high quality graphics. Skyegrid chose IBM because it was the only provider able to offer bare metal servers. “Only IBM provides the bare metal servers that we needed,” says Edward. “My software is based on bare metal, and the bare metal solution is much cheaper than other cloud solutions. Plus, IBM has cloud services available around the world.”  

Using cloud technology means Skyegrid can get its server resources using its operating expenses, not its capital expenses. “It’s helping our users to try the service for a reasonable price,” says Edward. “If the price of the cloud platform was higher, we would have to increase the price of the service. IBM is helping me to optimize the price as always. Without IBM in Singapore and in Indonesia, I could not fund this business right now.”

Results story

Low subscription prices attract gamers

By using IBM Cloud to support its gaming platform, Skyegrid is able to keep its costs down, which in turn helps keep costs low for its subscribers. Since Skyegrid launched it services in August 2018, it has gained 3,000 paying subscribers. The site, which also has a daily news feed for Indonesian gamers, has also accumulated more than 9 million views since its launch, with an average of 16,000 – 18,000 unique visitors daily, and about 500,000 – 550,000 unique visitors monthly.

In addition to a reasonable price for a subscription, Skyegrid is able to offer its subscribers access to 88 gaming titles, which is 28 more than its closest competitor. Plus, Skyegrid is the only cloud gaming platform in Indonesia that supports Android devices, in addition to those running the Mac OS, Windows OSs and Linux OSs.  

The platform is attracting gamers from the US, Malaysia and Singapore as well as Indonesia. The region has huge potential for the gaming service, with more than 41 million gamers in Indonesia alone. Skyegrid plans to expand its service to other countries using the global resources available through IBM Cloud. “You can just procure an IBM server in an IBM datacenter around the world,” says Edward. “You can just start your business anywhere.”

business logo

About Skyegrid

Located in Jakarta, Indonesia, Skyegrid is a cloud gaming platform that gives gamers access to premium games that can be played anywhere, anytime through mobile data services. The platform also provides integrated media, communication and customer support for gamers. The business, which launched in 2018, is owned by PT Harmoni Indo Media. Skyegrid's 11 employees are passionate about bringing more flexible gaming options to the gamer community across Southeast Asia.

Take the Next Step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.