零等待的银行业务
Sagicor Bank Jamaica 借助 IBM LinuxONE 技术加快核心流程处理速度,为推出新服务做好准备
Sagicor Bank case study leadspace image

排队总是很无聊。尽管移动应用程序和在线门户网站减少了我们排队咨询银行柜员的需要,但牙买加的许多银行业务仍然需要当面办理。但若有一家银行能优先考虑客户的时间呢?这能让银行业务变得不再麻烦呢?

“与所有金融实体一样,我们所处的环境也充满激烈竞争,”Sagicor Bank Jamaica IT 副总裁 Mark Clarke 解释道,“因此,我们一直在寻找机会使自己脱颖而出,为客户创造更多价值。但为了推进我们想要增加的这些价值层,我们需要拥有合适的技术。”

Sagicor 尤其希望更新核心银行应用程序。近十年来,该银行一直依赖 IBM 合作伙伴 Temenos AG 提供的 Temenos 核心银行解决方案实例。尽管该软件每年都会推出新版本,但 Sagicor 一直在沿用最初版本。

“我们仍在使用他们的 R14 系列,”Clarke 补充道,“当然,该系列非常好用,在为我们效力的过程中从而遭到投诉。但早在人们开始谈论容器化或多云等技术之前,我们就部署了这项技术。而且重要的是,我们投资并采用的技术不仅能让我们优化核心银行业务,还能帮助我们推动数字化转型并向云技术发展。”

与此同时,底层硬件基础架构也在老化,执行常见任务的时间过长。日终结算通常需要六个多小时才能完成,这意味着有时银行早上开门营业时还在处理前一天的结算工作,导致清早的业务办理速度十分缓慢。

“对银行客户来说,一大清早光是为了存钱就要排很长时间的队,这是非常烦人的,”Clarke 补充道,“更糟糕的是,柜员也没办法。他们只能等待技术处理完任务。于是,排队的人越来越多,客户也越来越心塞。这不是我们想要看到的情况。”

缩短执行时间

 

将日终结算时间缩短了 50% 左右,现在只需不到 3 个小时即可完成以前需要 6 个多小时才能完成的工作

成本节省

 

估计每年可减少 100 万美元的成本,3 至 4 年就能实现全额投资回报

重要的是,我们投资并采用的技术不仅能让我们优化核心银行业务,还能帮助我们推动数字化转型并向云技术发展。 Mark Clarke IT 副总裁 Sagicor Bank Jamaica
性能就是证据

由于对选择 Temenos 作为自己的银行技术充满信心,Sagicor 开始评估新的硬件来支持更新后的银行环境,并很快将重点放在了 IBM 技术上。

“我认为 IBM 是我们值得信赖的资源提供商,”Clarke 指出,“当我考虑战略时,IBM 是我最先联系的公司之一。他们会花很多时间和精力去了解我的需求。他们会坐下来与我们交谈,给我们介绍广大市场的情况以及他们能给我们提供的帮助。他们不只是在推销产品。”

Temenos 拉丁美洲和加勒比地区总监 Enrique O’Reilly 补充道:“我听说很多人把更换或升级银行核心系统比作心脏手术。它往往非常复杂。你需要安全性,需要灵活性和数据完整性,需要可扩展性——尤其是当您要处理成千上万笔交易时。虽然 Temenos 与平台无关,但我们看到 IBM 一次又一次地实现了这种性能水平。”

经过初步讨论后,IBM 团队提议进行概念验证 (POC),其中涉及一台独立的 IBM LinuxONE 服务器,该服务器部署在 Sagicor 总公司,运行的是 Red Hat Enterprise Linux(ibm.com 外部链接)。

“他们对我们说:‘耳听为虚,眼见为实,所以我们会证明给你们看,’”Clarke 回忆道,“他们免费向我们提供了原型,然后配置并优化了 Temenos Transact 的设置。实际上,我们在这台 LinuxONE 上运行了几个月的并行核心银行流程,而且这次 POC 超过了我们的每一项成功参数。它让我们能够轻松地向利益相关者和企业领导者展示成功的业务案例。”

在管理层的支持下,Sagicor 开始配合 IBM 团队制定整个解决方案(包括恢复环境和配套存储空间)。联合团队将已部署的 LinuxONE 服务器迁移到了该银行的恢复站点,同时在公司的主数据中心安装了新的 LinuxONE 平台作为生产环境。

这两个系统都利用开源的 Kernel-based Virtual Machine (KVM) 技术来实现跨平台的多个虚拟环境。目前,这些服务器在生产环境和恢复环境中分别运行着 8 台和 18 台 Linux 集成设备 (IFL)。与此同时,IBM 和 Sagicor 还部署了一对 IBM FlashSystem 7200 存储设备(每个站点一台)来存储由更新后银行系统管理的相应帐户数据。

“Temenos 解决方案是银行金融系统的基石,”O’Reilly 解释道,“因此它需要处理大量数据。用户可以通过它监督并管理客户、往来帐户、投资、借贷资金——几乎涵盖了用户的所有核心功能。如果某项操作的对象是客户,它很可能会通过 Temenos 来完成。”

实际上,我们在这台 LinuxONE 上运行了几个月的并行核心银行流程,而且这次 POC 超过了我们的每一项成功参数。 Mark Clarke IT 副总裁 Sagicor Bank Jamaica
早采用,早创新

“在与负责人交谈时,我最在意的一件事就是向他们解释,我们现在处理的不再是 IT ‘成本’问题,”Clarke 指出,“我一直在小心翼翼地改变他们的思维方式,让他们不再使用这个词语,而是将 IT 说成是‘投资’。现在我们已经投资了 Temenos 和 LinuxONE,我们正在引领行业,开始我们的数字化之旅。”

Sagicor 尤其希望扩大服务范围,为顾客提供更多数字和移动银行解决方案。同样,人工智能驱动的聊天机器人也有助于为银行客户提供更快捷的全天候服务。

“一切皆有可能,”Clarke 解释道,“我梦想着未来会怎样。它会变得灵活起来。在我的设想中,客户将不再需要实体店,他们可以在虚拟空间中获享我们的所有服务,你也可以将这个空间称为金融元宇宙。无论身在何处,他们都能享受到流畅的银行体验。”

为了促进这些可用服务的创建和扩展,该银行打算利用 Temenos 平台提供的 API。“我们的架构提供了多个内置 API,使 Sagicor 不仅能与企业内部的不同平台集成,还能与外部平台集成,”O’Reilly 解释说,“因此,它能够组合并创建其他工具——支付发起工具、分析工具以及他们想要的任何工具。”

Clarke 继续说道:“我们将能引入新的收入来源——新的业务模式——这对我们来说是一大优势。当我们采取后续措施时,也就是向多云混合云过渡时,LinuxONE 将能轻松应对。”

在我的设想中,客户将不再需要实体店,他们可以在虚拟空间中获享我们的所有服务,你也可以将这个空间称为金融元宇宙。 Mark Clarke IT 副总裁 Sagicor Bank Jamaica
Sagicor 徽标
关于 Sagicor Bank Jamaica

Sagicor(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家领先的全服务型金融机构,通过遍布牙买加的 16 个分支机构开展业务。该公司总部位于牙买加金斯敦,隶属于专门经营人寿健康保险产品的金融服务集团 Sagicor Group Jamaica。

Temenos 徽标
关于 Temenos AG

IBM 合作伙伴 Temenos(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家软件开发经销商,其旗舰解决方案是一个领先的开放式可组合银行平台,每天可为全球超过 12 亿用户创造各种机会。Temenos 为 150 多个国家或地区的 3,000 多家银行提供服务,协助他们打造全新的银行服务和一流的客户体验。

接下来:
阅读 PDF Nowy Style
智能系统整合 — 以时尚的方式提高性能
阅读成功案例
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM 公司,IBM Systems,New Orchard Road,Armonk,NY 10504

2023 年 1 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM FlashSystem 和 z/VM 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。最新的 IBM 商标清单可在以下网站的“版权和商标信息”部分查阅:http://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

Linux 注册商标是根据 Linux 基金会的再许可使用的,该基金会是 Linus Torvalds 的独家许可证持有人,也是该商标的全球所有者。

Red Hat、JBoss、OpenShift、Fedora、Hibernate、Ansible、CloudForms、RHCA、RHCE、RHCSA、Ceph 和 Gluster 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。本文档中的内容(包括货币或不包括适用税费的定价参考)为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Banking without the waiting
Sagicor Bank Jamaica accelerates its core processes and positions itself to launch new services with IBM LinuxONE technology
Sagicor Bank case study leadspace image

Standing in line is rarely fun. And while mobile apps and online portals have reduced our need to queue up to speak to a bank teller, in Jamaica, plenty of banking operations still occur in person. But what if there were a bank that prioritized its customers’ time? That made banking less of a chore?

“Like all financial entities, we’re participating in a very competitive landscape,” explains Mark Clarke, Vice President of IT for Sagicor Bank Jamaica. “So we’re always seeking opportunities to differentiate ourselves and to increase the value we deliver to our customers. But to move forward with any of these value layers that we want to add, we need to have the right technology in place.”

In particular, Sagicor wanted to update its core banking application. For nearly a decade, the organization had relied on an instance of the Temenos core banking solution from IBM Business Partner Temenos AG. But while new versions of the software came out each year, Sagicor had stayed with its initial release.

“We were still using their R14 series,” adds Clarke, “which of course works very well and has served us without complaint. But we deployed that technology long before anyone was talking about containerization or multicloud or so on. And it was critical that we invested in and moved to a technology that not only allowed us to optimize our core banking but that will help us move forward on our digital transformation and pivot to cloud.”

At the same time, the underlying hardware infrastructure was equally aged and taking too long for common tasks. End of day closing routinely required more than six hours to complete, meaning that sometimes the bank would open its offices in the morning while the previous day’s closings were still being finalized, causing early operations to behave sluggishly.

“As a bank customer, it’s incredibly annoying to start your day standing in line for a long time just to post a deposit,” adds Clarke. “And the worst thing about it is that the teller can’t do anything. They’re stuck waiting for the technology to do its job. So queues back up, and customers get more frustrated. It’s not ideal.”

Reduced Execution Time

 

Shortens end of day closing by roughly 50% now taking <3 hours to complte what previously required >6 hours

Cost Savings

 

Cuts annual costs by an estimated USD 1 million achieving a full ROI in 3-4 years

[I]t was critical that we invested in and moved to a technology that not only allowed us to optimize our core banking but that will help us move forward on our digital transformation and pivot to cloud. Mark Clarke Vice President of IT Sagicor Bank Jamaica
The proof is in the performance

Confident in its choice of Temenos for its banking technology, Sagicor began evaluating new hardware to host its updated banking environment, quickly focusing on IBM technology.

“I consider IBM to be our trusted source provider,” notes Clarke. “When I’m thinking about strategy, IBM is one of my first calls. They spend the time and energy to understand my needs. And they sit down and talk with us and show us what is happening in the larger market and how they can assist us. They’re not just pushing products.”

Enrique O’Reilly, Regional Director at Temenos for Latin America and the Caribbean, adds: “I’ve heard many people compare changing or upgrading a bank core to open heart surgery. It tends to be very complicated. You need security. You need flexibility and data integrity. You need scalability—especially if you’re looking at tens of thousands, or hundreds of thousands of transactions. And while Temenos is platform agnostic, we’ve seen IBM deliver that level of performance again and again.”

After some initial discussions, the IBM team proposed a proof of concept (POC) that involved a lone IBM® LinuxONE server, running Red Hat® Enterprise Linux® (link resides outside of ibm.com), that was deployed at Sagicor’s main office.

“They told us, ‘Don’t take our word for it—we’re going to prove it to you,’” recalls Clarke. “They shipped us a prototype at no cost to us, and then they configured and optimized a setup of Temenos Transact. We essentially ran a parallel core banking process on this LinuxONE for a few months—and this POC exceeded every one of our success parameters. It let us easily present a winning business case to our stakeholders and business leaders.”

With management buy-in, Sagicor began coordinating with the IBM team to map out the entire solution, including a recovery environment and accompanying storage. The joint team migrated the already-deployed LinuxONE server to the bank’s recovery site, while installing a new LinuxONE platform within the company’s primary data center to serve as the production environment.

The two systems are taking advantage of open-sourced Kernel-based Virtual Machine (KVM) technology to enable multiple virtual environments across the platforms. Currently the servers are running eight and 18 Integrated Facilities for Linux (IFLs) in the production and recovery environments, respectively. At the same time, IBM and Sagicor deployed a pair of IBM FlashSystem® 7200 storage devices—one at each site—to store the corresponding account data being managed by the updated banking systems.

“The Temenos solution forms the bedrock of a bank’s financial systems,” explains O’Reilly, “so it runs through a lot of data. It lets users oversee and manage their clients, current accounts, investments, the lending treasury—pretty much all their core functionality. If it’s an action being performed for a customer, it’s likely going through Temenos.”

We essentially ran a parallel core banking process on this LinuxONE for a few months—and this POC exceeded every one of our success parameters. Mark Clarke Vice President of IT Sagicor Bank Jamaica
Early adoption, early innovation

“One of the things that I have been most careful about in speaking with my principals is to explain that we are not dealing with IT ‘costs’ anymore,” notes Clarke. “I’ve been careful to shift their mindset from that word—instead speaking of IT as an ‘investment.’ And now that we’ve invested in Temenos and LinuxONE, we’re leading the industry as we embark on our digital journey.”

In particular, Sagicor is hoping to expand access to its services, providing more digital and mobile banking solutions to consumers. Similarly, AI-powered chatbots could help facilitate faster, around-the-clock service to bank customers.

“The sky’s the limit,” explains Clarke. “I have dreams of how it will be in the future. It’s going to be agile. I envision a world where our customers will no longer need a brick-and-mortar store—where they can access all our services in a virtual space, a financial metaverse if you will. No matter where they are on the globe, their banking experience will be seamless.”

And to facilitate the creation and expansion of these available services, the bank intends to take advantage of the APIs made available by the Temenos platform. “Our architecture offers several built-in APIs that will allow Sagicor to integrate to different platforms not only inside the business but also outside,” clarifies O’Reilly. “So it will be able to combine and create other tools—payment initiation tools, analytics tools, whatever they want.”

Clarke continues: “We’ll be able to introduce new revenue streams—new business models—that’s a big plus for us. And as we take the next steps—which is the transition to multicloud hybrid—LinuxONE will be ready to handle that.”

I envision a world where our customers will no longer need a brick-and-mortar store—where they can access all our services in a virtual space, a financial metaverse if you will. Mark Clarke Vice President of IT Sagicor Bank Jamaica
Sagicor logo
About Sagicor Bank Jamaica

Sagicor (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a leading, full-service financial institution that operates through 16 branch offices located throughout Jamaica. The company, headquartered in Kingston, Jamaica, is part of Sagicor Group Jamaica—a financial services conglomerate that specializes in life and health insurance offerings.

Temenos logo
About Temenos AG

IBM Business Partner Temenos (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a software developer and distributor whose flagship solution is a leading, open platform for composable banking that creates opportunities for over 1.2 billion people around the world every day. Temenos serves over 3,000 banks in more than 150 countries, helping them build new banking services and state-of-the-art customer experiences.

Next up:
Read the PDF Nowy Style
Smart system consolidation—accelerating performance with style
Read the case study
Footnotes

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, IBM Systems, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in United States, January 2023.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, IBM FlashSystem, and z/VM are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at http://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

The registered trademark Linux® is used pursuant to a sublicense from the Linux Foundation, the exclusive licensee of Linus Torvalds, owner of the mark on a world­wide basis.

Red Hat®, JBoss®, OpenShift®, Fedora®, Hibernate®, Ansible®, CloudForms®, RHCA®, RHCE®, RHCSA®, Ceph®, and Gluster® are trademarks or registered trademarks of Red Hat, Inc. or its subsidiaries in the United States and other countries. 

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. The content in this document (including currency OR pricing references which exclude applicable taxes) is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.