PT Wings Surya
通过更加强大的备份解决方案实现卓越的服务连续性
了解 IBM Spectrum Protect
盯着办公桌上文件的商务人士

为制定战略以使其在印度尼西亚消费品行业领先于竞争对手,PT Wings Surya 十分依赖对任务关键型数据的访问。借助 IBM Spectrum Protect Plus,该公司加速了备份和恢复工作,提升了基础设施的弹性,并巩固了其市场领先地位。

业务挑战

PT Wings Surya 必须确保数据可用性以协助实现快速决策。随着备份作业日趋复杂并导致核心运营中断的风险上升,该公司亟需制定一项新战略。

变革

PT Wings Surya 部署了 IBM Spectrum Protect Plus 以对数百台虚拟机上运行的核心业务系统进行备份,从而确保数据安全,以免出现数据损坏和意外事故。

结果 备份完成速度
提高约 40%
增加
业务正常运行时间,并降低代价高昂的服务中断所引发的风险
60%
通过消除进行磁带与手动编程的需要来降低备份成本
业务挑战案例
延续悠久的增长历史

PT Wings Surya 从 1948 年起步,如今已发展为印度尼西亚消费品市场的领导者。该公司目前可生产数百种产品,其品类涵盖从洗涤剂和个人护理用品到食品和饮料。为保护来之不易的市场份额,PT Wings Surya 必须经受住激烈的市场竞争,并确保其产品能及时送达零售商手中,从而满足消费者需求。

为支持其运营,PT Wings 依赖多个核心业务系统,其中包括 IBM Db2 上的 SAP ERP,以及在虚拟机上运行的众多其他周边应用程序。该公司还率先使用大数据分析工具,以便评估快速变化的市场的发展情况,优化其广泛的供应链,并快速做出决策以持续领先于竞争对手。

数据可用性中断可能会阻碍公司将产品快速推向市场的能力,从而使灾难恢复规划成为 PT Wings Surya 下属 IT 团队的一项关键任务。为保护其任务关键型数据免受损坏与灾难的风险,该公司需制定一个有效的备份和恢复策略。

PT Wings Surya 的 IT 部门主管 Daniel Tjandra 解释道:“我们之前的备份解决方案很难应付分析与 ERP 环境产生的数据量。我们使用了很多手动流程和老式磁带库作为辅助存储资源,但遇到了恢复时间较长的问题。为了解决这些挑战,我们希望能找到更先进、灵活的解决方案。”

 

借助 Spectrum Protect Plus,我们完成备份作业的速度比以前快了约 40%,从而将用时从 8 小时缩短为 5 小时。 Daniel Tjandra IT 部门负责人 PT Wings Surya
变革案例
处理虚拟机备份

在评估了几种新的备份和恢复解决方案并完成概念验证 (PoC) 后,PT Wings 决定部署 IBM Spectrum Protect Plus。为完成此实施任务,该公司聘请 IBM Systems Lab Services 来确保顺利切换。

IBM Spectrum Protect Plus 简化了该公司数百台虚拟机及其 SAP 环境和 IBM Db2 数据仓库的备份和恢复任务。

Daniel Tjandra 解释道:“IBM 多年来一直是我们的重要合作伙伴,而且总能提供卓越的服务。当我们向其寻求备份解决方案时,销售顾问和技术团队会专门花时间来到我们总部、研究我们的详细要求并采纳我们的反馈意见;这给我们留下了深刻印象。

“当我们了解了 Spectrum Protect Plus 的功能后(尤其是该解决方案是专为备份虚拟机环境而设计的),我们便意识到自己已找到一个能充分满足我们需求的强大解决方案。然后,我们开展了 PoC,并亲自见证了 IBM 解决方案的卓越效率和性能。在此之后,继续推进该项目就是一个很轻松的决定了。”

该公司的备份团队提供了出色反馈,从而凸显出 IBM 解决方案的用户友好性。使用以前的工具时,该团队必须花费大量时间来开发自定义脚本,然后才能备份其复杂的虚拟机环境。现在,借助 IBM Spectrum Protect Plus,该团队可超越其众多手动备份流程。

Daniel Tjandra 继续说道:“使用我们之前的解决方案时,必须编写大量命令脚本,而管理所有脚本每周都会花费很多时间。如果创建脚本的工程师不在岗或已离职,我们就不得不花费更多时间来寻找其他解决方法。借助 Spectrum Protect Plus,我们可以自动执行这些流程,从而不受遗留脚本问题的影响。”

 

Spectrum Protect Plus 有助于提升我们的灾难恢复规划并防止关键流程中断,从而可帮助我们将产品推向市场并增强竞争优势。 Daniel Tjandra IT 部门负责人 PT Wings Surya
案例成果
构建更智能的备份策略

借助 IBM Spectrum Protect Plus,PT Wings Surya 可加快备份和恢复作业,保障业务连续性并帮助业务用户获得优化其供应链运营所需的见解。

借助 IBM Spectrum Protect Plus 直观的用户界面和高级功能,该公司便可简化备份任务,并消除费时的编程任务。

Daniel Tjandra 评论道:“每当我们更新其余核心系统时,都会导致面向磁带驱动器的数据传输出现严重问题,于是必须花费大量时间来编写新的命令脚本,然后才能完成备份和恢复作业。

“借助 IBM 解决方案,我们可以灵活地将磁盘或云用作辅助存储资源,而不是必须使用磁带。同时,我们还可根据自身的数据保护策略来安排自动备份任务。借助 Spectrum Protect Plus,我们完成备份作业的速度比以前快了 40%,从而将用时从 8 小时缩短为 5 小时。”

通过免于使用磁带驱动器并使其备份团队能专注于更有价值的任务,PT Wings Surya 提高了其运营模式的工作效率。Daniel Tjandra 补充道:“从相关结果来看,我们通过 Spectrum Protect Plus 可将备份成本大致降低 60%。

通过使用 IBM Spectrum Protect Plus,PT Wings Surya 可持续保护其任务关键型数据,并使该数据可供业务用户用于运行分析任务,从而使该公司领先于竞争对手。出现灾难或数据损坏时,该公司可利用近乎实时的搜索和恢复功能,以便从其辅助存储位置快速恢复文件和虚拟机设置,从而最大限度降低核心运营事务出现中断的风险。

Daniel Tjandra 总结道:“我们很高兴选择继续与 IBM 开展合作。我们对此部署带来的长期效益充满信心。Spectrum Protect Plus 有助于提升我们的灾难恢复规划并防止关键流程中断,从而可帮助我们将产品推向市场并增强竞争优势。”

 

PT Wings Surya 徽标
PT Wings Surya

PT Wings Surya(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于印度尼西亚泗水,该公司是一家领先的消费品制造商,其产品涵盖肥皂和清洁剂、食品和饮料以及个人护理用品。该公司隶属于 1948 年成立的 Wings 集团,如今已有 3,000 多名员工,并在印度尼西亚和其他地区拥有广泛的分销网络。

 

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM Spectrum Protect Plus 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴,或是访问以下网站:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/products/ibm-storage-protect-plus

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM IBM Systems Software 的更多信息

脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 美国出品,2018 年 10 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Spectrum 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

关于 IBM 未来方向、意向的声明仅仅表示了目标和意愿而已,可能会随时更改或撤销,恕不另行通知。

Business challenge

PT Wings Surya must ensure data availability to aid fast decision-making. With backups growing more complex and raising the risk of disruption to core operations, the company needed a new strategy.

Transformation

PT Wings Surya will deploy IBM Spectrum Protect Plus to back up core business systems running on hundreds of virtual machines, keeping data safe from corruption and unexpected incidents.

Results

75%

faster backup completions, reducing disruption and freeing the IT team for strategic tasks

Increases

business uptime and cuts the risk of costly service outages

60%

reduced backup costs by eliminating need for tape and manual programming

Business challenge story

Continuing a long history of growth

From humble beginnings in 1948, PT Wings Surya has grown to become a leader in the Indonesian consumer goods market. The company today manufactures hundreds of products, from detergents and personal care items, to food and beverages. To protect its hard-won market share, PT Wings Surya must resist strong competition and ensure that items reach retailers in time to satisfy consumer demand.

To support its operations, PT Wings relies on core business systems including SAP ERP on IBM Db2®, and many other surrounding applications running on virtual machines. The company also pioneers the use of big data analytics tools, enabling it to assess developments in the fast-changing market, optimize its extensive supply chain, and make fast decisions to stay ahead of its rivals.

Disruption to data availability could hamper the company’s ability to bring goods to market quickly, making disaster recovery planning a key task for the IT team at PT Wings Surya. To protect its mission-critical data from the risk of corruption and disaster, the company needs an effective backup and recovery strategy.

Daniel Tjandra, Head of IT Division at PT Wings Surya explains: "Our previous backup solutions struggled to keep pace with volume of data generated by our analytics and ERP landscape. We were using many manual processes and an old-fashioned tape library as our secondary storage, and encountered issues with lengthy recovery times. To solve these challenges, we wanted to find a more advanced flexible solution."

Thanks to Spectrum Protect Plus, we expect to complete backup jobs 75 percent faster than previously, cutting the time taken from eight to just two hours.

—Daniel Tjandra, IT Division Head, PT Wings Surya

Transformation story

Tackling virtual machine backups

After assessing several new backup and recovery solutions and completing a proof of concept (PoC), PT Wings decided to deploy IBM Spectrum Protect Plus. To complete the implementation, the company engaged IBM STG Lab Services to ensure a smooth switchover.

IBM Spectrum Protect Plus will simplify the backup and recovery of the company’s hundreds of virtual machines, as well as its SAP environment and IBM Db2 data warehouse. In the future, PT Wings Surya also plans to use the solution to protect its Nutanix systems.

Daniel Tjandra explains: “IBM has been a key partner for us for many years now and has always delivered excellent service. When we approached them for a backup solution, we were impressed that the sales consultants and technical team took the time to come to our main office and work through our detailed requirements and take on board our feedback.

“When we learned what Spectrum Protect Plus can do—especially the fact that the solution is specifically engineered to back up virtual machine environments—we realized we had found a strong solution that would closely align with our needs. We then ran a PoC and saw at first hand the exceptional speed and performance of the IBM solution. It was an easy decision to press ahead with the project after this.”

During the testing process, the company’s backup team delivered excellent feedback, highlighting the user-friendliness of the IBM solution. With its previous tools, the team would have to spend many hours developing custom scripts before they could back up its complex virtual machines environment. Now, with IBM Spectrum Protect Plus, the team is looking forward to moving beyond many of its manual backup processes.

Daniel Tjandra continues: “With our previous solution, we had to script lots of commands, and managing all of the scripts would take many hours every week. If the engineer who created a script was unavailable or moved on, we would have to dedicate even more time to find a workaround. With Spectrum Protect Plus, we will be able to automate these processes, protecting us from legacy script issues.”

Spectrum Protect Plus will strengthen our disaster recovery planning and prevent interruption to the key processes that help us bring products to market and sharpen our competitive edge.

—Daniel Tjandra, IT Division Head, PT Wings Surya

Results story

Building a smarter backup strategy

With IBM Spectrum Protect Plus, PT Wings Surya expects to accelerate backup and recovery jobs, safeguarding business continuity and helping business users to unlock the insights required to optimize its supply chain operations.

Following its experience during the PoC, the company is now confident that the intuitive user-interface and advanced functionality of IBM Spectrum Protect Plus will significantly simplify backup tasks, removing the need for time-consuming programming tasks.

Daniel Tjandra comments: “Every time we updated the rest of our core systems, it would cause significant issues with the data transfer to the tape drive, and we would have to dedicate many hours to scripting new commands before we could complete backup and recovery jobs.

“With the IBM solution, we have the flexibility to use disk or cloud as secondary storage instead of tape and can schedule automatic backups in line with our data protection policies. Thanks to Spectrum Protect Plus, we expect to complete backup jobs 75 percent faster than previously, cutting the time taken from eight to just two hours.”

By eliminating the need for its tape drive and enabling its backup team to focus on more value tasks, PT Wings Surya also hopes to drive up the efficiency of its operating model. Daniel Tjandra adds: “Based on the results of the PoC and a comparison with spend on our previous solutions, we estimate that we will reduce our backup costs with Spectrum Protect Plus by 60 percent.”

By using IBM Spectrum Protect Plus, PT Wings Surya will also keep its mission-critical data protected and available for its business users to run the analytics tasks that keep the company ahead of its rivals. In the event of a disaster or data corruption, the company can take advantage of near-instant search and restore functionality and rapidly recover files and virtual machine settings from its secondary storage location, minimizing disruption to core operations.

Daniel Tjandra concludes: “We are very glad that we chose to continue our partnership with IBM. The results of the PoC were excellent, and we are confident of the long-term benefits of the deployment. Spectrum Protect Plus will strengthen our disaster recovery planning and prevent interruption to the key processes that help us bring products to market and sharpen our competitive edge.”

business logo

About PT Wings Surya

Based in Surabaya, Indonesia, PT Wings Surya is a leading manufacturer of consumer goods, including soaps and detergent, food and beverages, and personal care items. Part of the Wings Group founded in 1948, the company today has over 3,000 employees and operates an extensive distribution network across Indonesia and beyond. 

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Spectrum Protect Plus, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: ibm.com/us-en/marketplace/ibm-spectrum-protect-plus

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Software