msg
使用人工智能驱动的招聘机器人 Max 更快地填补空缺职位
图示:放大镜突出显示潜在候选人

msg 是一家全球 IT 服务提供商,正在飞速发展。为实现其极富扩张性的招聘目标,msg 构建了 Max,这是一款由 IBM Watson® 技术提供支持的机器人。Max 回答候选人与工作相关的问题,并帮助申请人将自己的简历 (CV) 与最合适的空缺职位相匹配,从而支持和加速招聘流程。

业务挑战

尽管 msg 制定了有条不紊的流程,但招聘人员在将申请人简历与空缺职位进行匹配时,仍需采用人工方法,这需要投入大量的时间和资源。

变革

msg 建立了一个人工智能机器人,向候选人提出一系列与工作相关的问题,并根据候选人的回答自动匹配最合适的职位空缺。

结果 候选人与职位的匹配率实现两位数增长,
面试和签约的成功率高于以往
通过智能化的一对一简历匹配功能,
多生成 >20% 的合适申请
通过减少招聘人员必须手动审核和匹配的简历数量,
加快求职者的申请流程
业务挑战案例
招聘规模迅速扩大

自 2016 年以来,msg 的员工数量已从 3,500 人增加到如今的 8,000 人。这种扩张水平导致八人的人力资源招聘团队每年必须完成数百个职位的招聘工作,平均每月要管理 1,000 名申请人。

这是一项复杂的任务,由于人力资源招聘集中在企业内部,因此变得更加复杂。该流程包括寻找合格的候选人并将其安排到整个公司集团的职位中,这些公司共同提供创意、战略咨询以及智能、可持续和增值 IT 解决方案等全方位服务。

在过去的 40 年中,msg 作为行业专家建立了良好的声誉,因此保持其行业地位非常重要。为此,它招募具有适当专业知识的人员,并将他们精确地安置在公司内跨行业的各个 IT、咨询、入门级和管理职位中。这些行业包括汽车、金融服务、食品、保险、生命科学和医疗保健、制造业、公共部门、电信、旅游和物流以及公用事业。

msg 人工智能和数据分析业务部门负责人 Holger Hornik 表示:“我们有很多业务部门,有很多空缺职位。在我们复杂的业务中,将合适的候选人匹配到合适的职位是一项艰巨的任务。”

部分挑战在于,每个申请人的简历都要经过人工审核,并与包含数百个空缺职位的数据库进行匹配。这是一项耗时的活动,减慢了招聘人员和求职者的申请流程。此外,由于不同业务部门存在多个类似的空缺职位,因此将候选人与完美的职位相匹配很容易受到人为误判的影响。

msg 首席顾问 Christian Hertlein 解释道:“一个业务部门可能需要一名‘Watson 高级顾问’,而另一个部门正在寻找一名‘Watson 高级解决方案顾问’。招聘团队面临的困难是决定将申请人的简历发送给哪个部门。”

团队还需要处理数百个候选人打来的电话,询问他们申请的最新进展。

随着 msg 每年增加数千名员工,事实证明传统的招聘方法对于这家具有前瞻性的公司来说效率低下。Hertlein 表示,msg 有两个选择:“我们可以扩大人力资源招聘团队,并继续以同样的方式开展业务。或者,我们可以把重点放在新技术上,将部分工作转移给申请人,以期获得更准确的信息和更好的简历匹配,同时更快地完成所有工作。”

IBM watsonx Assistant 不需要太多培训,它非常直观。 Christian Hertlein Lead Consultant msg
变革案例
来自机器人的智能招聘支持

公司选择把重点放在新技术上。

Hornik 和他的团队结合使用集成的 Watson 产品,开发了 Max,这是一款由人工智能驱动的招聘机器人。该解决方案位于 msg 的德语求职相关网页上,向候选人提出一系列与工作相关的问题,最终根据候选人的回答将其与具体的职位空缺进行匹配。或者,候选人可以上传他们的简历,Max 将根据该信息自动返回合适职位的列表。

Hertlein 补充道:“简历匹配是我们数字助理的主要用途。这个解决方案的真正价值在于其交互式搜索功能。该机器人包含一个允许您上传简历的工具;然后分析、理解它并将经验与空缺职位进行比较。然后,它会返回一份招聘团队应重点关注的最佳职位列表。帮助我们节省了大量时间。”

Max 基于 IBM watsonx Assistant 技术的人工智能和自然语言功能,这是一款在法兰克福数据中心 IBM Cloud® 上托管的企业级人工智能助手。团队选择 Watson 技术的原因在于其易用性和高性能。

Hertlein 解释道:“当我们使用相同的对话和数据将 IBM watsonx Assistant 与另一个机器人框架进行比较和测试时,Watson 的排名和置信度得分始终是最好的。此外,IBM watsonx Assistant 不需要太多培训,它非常直观。”

该解决方案由 msg 的 IT 和人力资源招聘部门在六个月内共同开发完成。人力资源团队对 Max 进行了独特的招聘术语、话语和内容方面的培训,并完善了该工具向申请人提出的问题。人力资源部还定义了获得二级支持的途径以及申请人联系人力资源部门的途径。

Hertlein 说:“让人力资源招聘团队如此深入地参与,是项目成功的一个重要因素,并确保他们拥有最合适的工具来支持自己的工作。IBM watsonx Assistant 的易用性使招聘人员能够与我们密切合作。他们不需要编写代码;只需使用 IBM watsonx Assistant 中的工具包来帮助我们处理内容和对话,这意味着我们可以专注于后台的技术架构。”

该技术使用 IBM Watson Knowledge StudioIBM Natural Language Understanding 来构建专注于招聘术语和概念的 HR 特定模型。IT 团队将该模型部署到 IBM Watson Discovery 中,该机器在分析简历并将其与职位匹配时充当机器人的搜索引擎。

该解决方案还通过与申请人互动并提出一系列问题来寻找相关工作。它首先从最广泛的问题开始,例如“您是学生还是专职人员?”以及“您想要找什么样的工作”?渐渐地,问题变得更加集中,例如询问申请人希望的工作地点。

Max 还会问一些问题,以缩小申请人寻求的具体职位类型的范围。例如,如果有人选择一份咨询工作,机器人就会询问他/她想要从事的是技术咨询还是业务咨询。如果申请人选择技术咨询,机器人将询问特定的技术专业知识,例如对特定编程语言的熟练程度。它还询问申请人是否有某些行业的经验,例如银行业或汽车业,以及工作年限。

Max 收集信息后,会在数据库中查询与申请人的答案相匹配的职位描述,并返回一份有针对性的列表。候选人可以阅读各种职位描述,并提交自己心仪职位的申请。由于申请人自己已经完成了简历匹配,招聘人员可以进行联系。

当我们使用相同的对话和数据将 IBM watsonx Assistant 与另一个机器人框架进行比较和测试时,Watson 的排名和置信度得分始终是最好的。 Christian Hertlein Lead Consultant msg
案例成果
从事理想工作的高技能工人

Max 于 2019 年 6 月加入 msg,迄今已帮助 msg 完成了众多职位的招募。

自部署该机器人以来,msg 的候选人匹配关键绩效指标 (KPI) 出现了两位数的增长,更多的职位空缺带来了更多成功的面试和签约。招聘成本下降,申请质量提高;超过 20% 的候选人更适合这份工作。

申请人也从中受益。Hertlein 说:“以前,申请人可能需要等待很长时间才能得到人力资源部门的回复,因为人力资源部门试图在我们这个非常大的组织内找到合适的职位。现在,通过一对一匹配,申请人的流程要快得多,这有助于我们更快地填补职位空缺,从而为我们的同事和企业带来好处。”

Max 每天与大约 60 名求职者交谈,这个数字每个月都在增加。随着机器人对话数量的增加,人力资源部接到的电话数量会下降。

Hornik 解释说:“通过 Max,我们让申请人有机会首先向我们展示他们是谁。只有这样,我们的解决方案才能向他们展示哪些职位空缺最适合他们。他们选择其中之一并申请。这就是他们在我们公司获得正确职位的方式。”

在 Max 的支持下,招聘团队现在有能力专注于重要的招聘计划,而无需承受达到完美手动匹配的压力。此外,该解决方案的成功还提升了该部门在公司内部的品牌形象。

对于极具创新和令人鼓舞的人工智能技术,msg 是坚决拥护者和早期采用者,作为代理商和解决方案提供商,该公司可以在向自己的客户介绍 Max 时推广这一地位。Hertlein 总结道:“我们仍在讨论开发 msg 机器人的方法,但将来我们也将向我们的客户提供这项资产。”

msg 徽标
关于 msg

msg(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家独立的国际集团公司,在全球拥有 8,000 名员工。msg Systems 是 msg 集团的核心。该集团公司为以下行业提供创意、战略咨询以及智能、可持续和增值 IT 解决方案等全方位服务:汽车、金融服务、食品、保险、生命科学和医疗保健、制造、公共部门、电信、旅游和物流以及公用事业。msg 总部位于德国伊斯马宁,2018 年营收达到创纪录的 9.61 亿欧元。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM® 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看案例研究 PDF 查看更多客户案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020.IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2020 年 2 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Watson 和 Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

Despite developing methodical processes, recruiters at msg still faced manual methods when matching applicant CVs with open positions, which required significant investment of both time and resources.

Transformation

msg built an AI-powered bot that asks candidates a series of job-related questions and automatically matches them with the most suitable job openings based on the candidates’ answers.

Results

Realizes double-digit increase in candidate-matching

with roles, leading to more successful interviews and contracts than before

Generates >20% more suitable applications

with intelligent, one-to-one CV matching capabilities

Speeds up the application process for job seekers

by reducing the number of CVs recruiters must manually review and match

Business challenge story

Recruitment on a rapidly growing scale

Since 2016, msg has grown from 3,500 people to a workforce of 8,000 today. That level of expansion led to the eight-strong HR recruitment team having to fulfil hundreds of positions annually and manage an average of 1,000 applicants a month.

It’s a complicated task, made even more complex as HR recruitment is centralized within the business. The process involves finding and placing qualified candidates in roles across the entire group of companies, which together offer a holistic service spectrum of creative, strategic consulting and intelligent, sustainable and value-added IT solutions.

Having built an excellent reputation as an industry specialist over the past 40 years, it is important for msg to maintain its position. It does so by recruiting people with appropriate expertise and precisely placing them in roles chosen from a wide variety of IT, consulting, entry-level and managerial positions across industries. These industries include automotive, financial services, food, insurance, life science and healthcare, manufacturing, public sector, telecommunications, travel and logistics, as well as utilities.

“We have a lot of business units with a lot of open positions,” says Holger Hornik, Head of the AI and Data Analytics business unit at msg. “In our complex business, it was a difficult task to match the right candidates to the appropriate positions.”

Part of the challenge was that each applicant’s CV was manually reviewed and matched against a database of hundreds of open positions. This was a time-consuming activity that slowed the application process for recruiters and job seekers alike. Additionally, with several similar openings across different business units, matching a candidate with the perfect role was susceptible to human misjudgment.

Christian Hertlein, Lead Consultant for msg, explains: “There may be an opening for a ‘Watson senior consultant’ in one business unit, while another division is looking for a ‘Watson senior solution consultant.’ The difficulty for the recruitment team was deciding which department is sent the applicant’s CV.”

In addition, the team had to deal with hundreds of phone calls from candidates asking for updates on their applications.

With msg growing by thousands of employees each year, the traditional recruitment method was proving to be inefficient for the forward-thinking company. According to Hertlein, msg had two choices: “We could expand the HR recruitment team and keep doing business the same way. Or, we could focus on new technologies to shift some of the work to the applicants — and get better information and better CV matching, while doing it all faster.”

Watson Assistant doesn’t require much training — it’s incredibly intuitive.

Christian Hertlein, Lead Consultant, msg

Transformation story

Intelligent hiring support from a bot

The company chose to focus on new technologies.

Using a combination of integrated Watson™ offerings, Hornik and his team developed Max, a recruitment bot powered by AI. The solution, which resides on msg’s German-language career webpage, asks candidates a series of job-related questions, ultimately matching them with specific job openings based on the candidates’ answers. Alternatively, individuals can upload their CVs and Max will automatically return a list of the suitable positions based on that information.

“CV matching is the major use case for our digital assistant,” adds Hertlein. “What is really valuable about this solution is the interactive search capability. The bot includes a tool that allows you to upload your CV; it then analyzes, understands it and compares the experience with open job roles. Then it returns a list of the best positions that the recruitment team should focus on. It saves a significant amount of time.”

Max is based on the AI and natural language capabilities of IBM Watson Assistant technology, an enterprise-level AI assistant hosted on IBM Cloud™ in the Frankfurt data center. The team chose Watson technologies for their ease of use and high performance.

“When we compared and tested Watson Assistant against another bot framework using the same dialog and data, the ranking and confidence scores from Watson were always the best,” explains Hertlein. “Plus, Watson Assistant doesn’t require much training — it’s incredibly intuitive.”

The solution was jointly developed in six months by msg’s IT and HR recruitment departments. The HR team trained Max on the unique terminology, discourse and content of recruiting, honing the questions that the tool asks applicants. HR also defined the path to second-level support and route for applicants to contact the HR department.

“Having the HR recruitment team so heavily involved was a major contributor to the success of the project and ensures they have the most suitable tool to support their work,” says Hertlein. “The ease of using Watson Assistant allows people from recruitment to work closely with us. They weren’t required to write code; they simply used the tool kit in Watson Assistant to help us with the content and dialog, meaning we could focus on the technical architecture in the background.”

The technology uses IBM Watson Knowledge Studio and IBM Natural Language Understanding to build HR-specific models that focus on recruiting terminology and concepts. The IT team deployed the models into IBM Watson Discovery, which acts as the bot’s search engine when analyzing and matching CVs to roles.

The solution also finds relevant jobs by interacting with applicants and asking a series of questions. It starts with the broadest questions first, such as “Are you a student or a professional?” and “What kind of job do you want?” Gradually, the questions become more focused, such as asking applicants their desired work location.

Max also asks questions to narrow down the specific type of position applicants are seeking. For instance, if someone selects a job in consulting, the bot will inquire if he or she wants technical or business consulting. If the applicant selects technical consulting, the bot will ask about specific technology expertise, such as proficiency in particular programming languages. It also asks applicants if they have experience in certain industries, such as banking or automotive, and for how many years.

After Max collects the information, it queries the database for job descriptions that match the applicant’s answers and returns a focused list. Candidates can read the various job descriptions and submit their application for the job of their choice. And with the CV matching already done by applicants themselves, the recruiter can make contact.

When we compared and tested Watson Assistant against another bot framework using the same dialog and data, the ranking and confidence scores from Watson were always the best.

Christian Hertlein, Lead Consultant, msg

Results story

Highly skilled workers in their ideal jobs

Max launched in June 2019 and has helped fulfil numerous roles at msg to date.

Since the bot’s deployment, msg has seen a double-digit increase in its candidate-matching key performance indicator (KPI), with more job vacancies leading to more successful interviews and contracts. Hiring costs are down and the quality of the applications has improved; more than 20 percent of candidates are better qualified for the job.

Applicants are reaping the benefits too. “Previously, applicants could wait a long time before getting a response from the HR department because HR was trying to find the right position inside our very large organization,” says Hertlein. “Now, with one-to-one matching, the process is much faster for the applicant and it’s helping us to fill roles quicker to the benefit of our colleagues and the business.”

Max converses with around 60 job seekers a day, a number that increases each month. As the number of bot conversations rise, the volume of phone calls to HR goes down.

“With Max, we’re giving applicants the opportunity to show us who they are first,” explains Hornik. “Only then does our solution show them which job openings are best suited for them. They select one and apply. This is how they get the correct position in our company.”

With the support of Max, the recruitment team now has the capacity to focus on important recruitment initiatives rather than the pressures of perfect manual matching. Additionally, the solution’s success has bolstered the department’s internal branding within the company.

msg is clearly an early adopter of innovative and exciting AI technologies — a position that, as a reseller and solutions provider, the company can promote when it’s time to introduce Max to its own clients. Hertlein concludes: “We are still discussing ways to develop the bot for msg but, in the future, we’ll make this asset available to our clients as well.”

business logo

msg

msg is an independent, international group of companies with 8,000 employees around the world. msg systems is the core of the msg group. The group of companies offers a holistic service spectrum of creative, strategic consulting and intelligent, sustainable and value-added IT solutions for the following industries: automotive, financial services, food, insurance, life science and healthcare, manufacturing, public sector, telecommunications, travel and logistics, and utilities. msg is headquartered in Ismaning, Germany, and reported a record revenue of EUR 961 million in 2018.

Take the Next Step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.