iFarming
更多农作物。更少用水。更美好的星球。
葡萄园中生长的紫色葡萄的特写

为了帮助农民减少用水,初创企业 iFarming 开发了一种新的智能灌溉解决方案。该平台由 IBM Watson® 和 IBM Cloud® 技术提供支持,使用 IoT 传感器数据来预测用水需求并实时控制灌溉,从而根据作物生长情况和当地天气来调整水位。

业务挑战

为了解决地区干旱问题,iFarming 希望帮助当地农场更好地管理用水量,并助力地区当局更好地根据当地气候来制定计划作物。

变革

iFarming 利用 IBM® 技术开发了一款智能灌溉应用程序,该应用程序可从 IoT 传感器获取大量数据,从而改进农业技术、更好地预测作物需水量并避免过度浇水。

结果 通过更好地将灌溉工作与植物需求保持一致
从而节水 40%
平均灌溉成本降低 25%,
同时将生产率提高 30%
借助可扩展的开源云平台
实现更高的灵活性
业务挑战案例
生长季节

对于一个主要由水组成的星球来说,为保持水分而做出的努力可谓艰苦卓绝。植物会长出复杂的根系。动物则会在常见的水坑附近定居。自古以来,人类就沿主要水源建立起自己的社会,并开发出将可用水从这些天然湖泊和河流转移到自己家园和田地的技术。

然而,当全球气温上升、平均降雨量下降时,很快就被证明光是这些努力还并不足够。

“最近,这对所有地中海国家来说都是一个相当大的挑战”,Sofia Holding 联合创始人 Amine Lasram 解释道。Sofia Holding 是 IBM 业务合作伙伴,也是欧洲多家技术企业的母公司。“在该地区,我们已有五年出现降雨量减少,人们苦不堪言。我们大约 70% 的用水量会用于农业。”

由于需求如此之高,供应却如此之低,整个地中海地区的农民在消除水资源浪费方面面临的压力越来越大。Sofia 相信这正是提供帮助的完美时机。

该公司已活跃于医疗保健和汽车行业,并开始探索如何重新利用其 IT 和物联网 (IoT) 先进技术从而为农业社区提供帮助。这一探索促成了 iFarming 的成立。

“农业在欧洲可是一项大事”,Lasram 解释道。“iFarming 让我们为该地区带来了智能农业。”

无论是种植杏仁、橄榄还是橙子,我们的普通用户均可减少 40% 的用水量。 Amine Lasram Co-Founder Sofia Holding
变革案例
AI、物联网和水 (H2O)

针对其初始产品,该新公司开发了一个智能灌溉平台 Phyt’Eau。借助该平台,农民可实时监控植物健康状况和灌溉需求。该解决方案依靠 Watson™ 技术,并可根据作物的性质、生长水平以及当前和预测的天气模式提出有针对性的灌溉建议,从而帮助农民避免过度浇水或浇水不足。

Lasram 补充说:“这一切都是为了减少用水量。”“我们会跟踪每株植物的压力点,并告诉对方是否需要浇水。如果该软件能与灌溉系统相集成,就能自动发送指令。”

Phyt’Eau 解决方案托管在 IBM Cloud 环境中,并使用 IBM Watson IoT® Platform 进行构建,它可主动从整个监控区域的传感器以及 IBM 旗下的 The Weather Company 提取温度和气压数据。借助这些信息流以及 IBM 提供的 7 天天气预报,该解决方案可每隔 30 分钟计算出每株植物的压力点,并提出相应的浇水建议。

我们研究了其他云平台,但这些平台都不提供同等的支持。通过 IBM,不仅可以获得云,还可获得人才。 Amine Lasram` Co-Founder Sofia Holding
案例成果
更少用水。减少浪费。

Phyt'Eau 已在突尼斯和法国的农场进行部署,且正在产生显著的影响。

“无论是种植杏仁、橄榄还是橙子”,Lasram 解释道,“我们的平均用户用水量均可减少 40%。在法国,我们还为一个高尔夫球场使用了 Phyt'Eau。我们为对方节省了 30% 的用水量。”

用水量的减少反过来又有助于将总体灌溉成本降低 25%,并将农业生产力平均提高 30%。

除了这些节约外,iFarming 还对 IBM 持续提供的支持感到非常满意。“我们研究了其他云平台,但其他云平台都不提供同等的支持。通过 IBM,不仅可以获得云,还可获得人才。我们是一家小公司,从我们注册那一刻起,他们就在向我们提供反馈并询问我们:‘您为什么这么做?’以及‘您为什么不试试这个?’这真的很有帮助。”

为了进一步帮助 iFarming 提升其 Phyt’Eau 产品的成熟度并培养更成熟的认知技能,IBM 还为该公司提供 IBM Scale Zone 计划的访问权限,该计划是一项由 IBM 推动的合作项目,旨在将初创企业与潜在的大型客户关联起来。

“我们非常高兴能与 IBM 合作实现这一目标”,Lasram 总结道。“如果我们和其他公司一起做这件事,情况可能会完全不同。我们将不得不采纳对方的体系结构建议。但在 IBM,它是开源的。我们可以根据自身需要定制所有内容,并且仍能享受到 IBM 的安全性和可扩展性。”

iFarming 徽标
关于 iFarming

iFarming(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 2017 年,是 Sofia Holding 集团的一部分。该公司开发的解决方案专注于农业现代化,以便将 AI 和 IoT 技术融入日常农业。该组织目前总部位于突尼斯,并在法国设有其他办事处。

The Weather Company®

IBM 旗下的 The Weather Company 每天向全球数百万消费者和成千上万的营销人员及企业提供超过 250 亿次个性化且切实可行的预报。它通过天气的 API、其业务解决方案部门以及来自 The Weather Channel(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)和 Weather Underground(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)的数字产品来实现此目标。其产品包括全球下载量最大的天气应用程序、由 250,000 个私人气象站组成的网络、美国排名前 20 的网站、全球最大的物联网 (IoT) 数据平台之一以及行业领先的业务解决方案。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2019。IBM Corporation, IBM Watson, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

于 2019 年 9 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Watson、Watson 和 Watson IoT 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Business challenge

To address regional drought concerns, iFarming wanted to help local farms better manage their water usage and empower regional authorities to better map planned crops to the local climate.

Transformation

Using IBM technology, iFarming developed a smart irrigation app that pulls large volumes of data from IoT sensors to improve agricultural techniques, better predict crop water needs and avoid overwatering.

Results

40% water savings

by better aligning irrigation efforts with plant needs

25% lower costs

for irrigation on average, alongside 30% higher productivity

Greater flexibility

with a scalable, open-source cloud platform

Business challenge story

Growth season

For a planet that is made of mostly water, the struggle to remain hydrated can be surprisingly difficult. Plants develop complex root systems. Animals localize around common watering holes. And from time immemorial, humans have built their societies alongside major water sources and developed technologies to transfer usable water from these natural lakes and rivers to their homes and their fields.

But when global temperatures rise and rainfall averages drop, these efforts can quickly prove insufficient.

“Lately, it’s been quite the challenge for all of the Mediterranean countries,” explains Amine Lasram, Co-Founder of Sofia Holding, an IBM Business Partner and the parent company for a number of technology businesses in Europe. “In the region, we’ve had five years of decreased rainfall, and people are really suffering. And about 70 percent of our water usage is going towards agriculture.”

With such a high demand and a low supply, farmers throughout the Mediterranean have been facing increasing pressures to eliminate water waste. And Sofia believed that it was in the perfect position to help.

Already active in the healthcare and automotive industries, the business began to explore how it could repurpose its IT and Internet of Things (IoT) advances to bring assistance to the farming community. An exploration that led to the founding of iFarming.

“Agriculture is big business in Europe,” elaborates Lasram. “And iFarming lets us bring smart agriculture to the region."

Whether they are growing almonds or olives or oranges, our average users have cut their water use by 40 percent.

Amine Lasram, Co-Founder, Sofia Holding

Transformation story

AI, IoT and H2O

For its initial offering, the new business developed a smart irrigation platform, Phyt’Eau, which empowers farmers to monitor plant health and irrigation needs in real time. The solution, relying on Watson™ technology, can make targeted watering recommendations based on the nature of the crop, its growth level as well as current and predicted weather patterns, helping farmers to avoid over- or underwatering.

“It’s all about reducing water usage,” adds Lasram. “We track the stress point for each plant, and we tell them whether or not it needs water. And if the software is tied into their irrigation system, it can send the command automatically.”

Hosted in an The Weather Company, an IBM Business. And armed with this stream of information along with IBM-provided seven-day weather forecasts, the solution can calculate the stress point for each plant every 30 minutes and make corresponding watering recommendations.

We looked at other cloud platforms, and those others don’t have the same support. With IBM, you don’t just get the cloud, you get the people.

Amine Lasram, Co-Founder, Sofia Holding

Results story

Less water. Less waste.

Already deployed at farm sites in Tunisia and France, Phyt’Eau is having a noticeable impact.

“Whether they are growing almonds or olives or oranges,” explains Lasram, “our average users have cut their water use by 40 percent. And we used Phyt’Eau for a golf course here in France. We gave them a 30 percent savings.”

This reduced water use, in turn, helps cut overall irrigation costs by 25 percent and increases the productivity of farming efforts, on average, by 30 percent.

Beyond this savings, iFarming is also pleased with the ongoing level of support it has received from IBM. “We looked at other cloud platforms, and those others don’t have the same support. With IBM, you don’t just get the cloud, you get the people. We’re a small company, and from the moment we signed up, they were giving us feedback – asking us, ‘Why are you doing it that way?’ and, ‘Why don’t you try this?’ It really helped.”

To further help iFarming mature its Phyt’Eau offering and build more mature cognitive skills, IBM also provided the firm with access to the IBM Scale Zone program, a cooperative effort driven by IBM that connects startups with potential large-scale clients.

“We are very pleased to partner with IBM for this,” concludes Lasram. “If we would have done this with someone else, it would have been completely different. We would have to follow their architecture recommendations. But IBM, it’s open source. We can customize everything to how we want it and still benefit from the IBM security and scalability.”

business logo

About iFarming

Established in 2017, iFarming is a part of the Sofia Holding group. The business develops solutions focused on modernizing the agriculture industry, incorporating AI and IoT technology into everyday farming. The organization is presently headquartered in Tunisia and maintains additional offices in France.

About The Weather Company

The Weather Company, an IBM Business, delivers more than 25 billion personalized and actionable forecasts globally each day to millions of consumers and thousands of marketers and businesses. It accomplishes this through Weather’s API, its business solutions division, and digital products from The Weather Channel and Weather Underground. Its products include the world’s most downloaded weather app, a network of 250,000 personal weather stations, a top-20 US website, one of the world’s largest Internet of Things (IoT) data platforms, and industry-leading business solutions.

Solution components

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.