格鲁吉亚教育与科学部对数据基础设施进行现代化改造

教育管理信息系统的重大升级显著提高了面向格鲁吉亚教师、家长和学生的数据库稳定性和用户体验

当 COVID-19 大流行来袭时,世界各地的学校和大学都面临一场突如其来且毫无准备的危机,因而需要快速适应。很多教育系统均在努力调整课程和教学资源,从而适应不断变化的时局,并在很短时间内实现远程学习。格鲁吉亚教育与科学部也不例外,也须采取紧急行动。

为应对此次疫情带来的变化,格鲁吉亚教育与科学部亟需升级其教育管理信息系统 (EMIS)。很短时间内,该组织便须调整其旧系统以适应远程学习的新现状。为此,它向首选 IT 合作伙伴寻求解决方案。

IBM 合作伙伴 Orient Logic 的软件开发与云基础设施总监 Merab Gogolauri 解释道:“EMIS 拥有一个核心系统,其内包括集成到 eSchool 应用程序的多个 Azure 应用程序,而其中就有作为 LMS [学习管理系统] 应用程序的电子日记。于 2020 年之前部署的现有系统采用单片式紧密耦合架构。各系统之间的数据集成每天晚上均会通过数据库同步程序来完成,而在此期间所有系统均须停止,直到同步程序完成。而与此同时,不时(至少每月一两次)便会出现同步错误,于是 IT 团队便须通宵工作来进行修复,以防出现系统中断或数据损坏。”

早在实施远程学习之前,该系统便难以应对峰值负荷。格鲁吉亚拥有高度集中的教育体系,且所有公立学校均隶属于教育部。用于作业、成绩、日程安排等用途的软件拥有 600,000 名用户,且每天约有 15,000 至 20,000 名用户同时登录。

格鲁吉亚教育与科学部 EMIS 副主任 David Tatishvili 表示:“在格鲁吉亚,一年级的注册人数每年都会大幅增加。每年的某一天,全国都会尝试同时对一年级学生进行注册。我们必须针对最大同步用户数量来规划容量,而这个数字一次最多可达 100,000 人。因此,我们有一个高负荷的应用程序,而它需要庞大的基础设施才能安然度过这一天。”

此外还有一个挑战便是,如果该系统出现故障,家长便会提出负面用户反馈。“在不破坏某些东西的情况下实现快速变化是不可能的”,Tatishvili 指出。“这会导致愤怒的用户对整个格鲁吉亚的 EMIS 通信与社交媒体渠道发起攻击。”

我们越发感到需要新的解决方案。Gogolauri 解释道:“EMIS 已在使用 IBM QRadar CM 技术,而该技术在整体安全性和架构方面依然扮演着重要角色。在 COVID 爆发之初,我们明显感觉到以前的软件并不是为了远程学习而设计的。随着教育部转而通过 Microsoft Teams 开展远程学习,我们必须迅速对其做出更改和调整。我意识到敏捷软件开发和敏捷基础设施可为教育与科学部和 EMIS 提供帮助,从而减少问题并解决其面临的集成困扰。”

减少 99%

 

系统中断减少 99%

显著改善

 

教师与家长的反馈大幅改善

四年前,我意识到敏捷软件开发和敏捷基础设施可为教育与科学部和 EMIS 提供帮助,从而减少问题并解决其面临的集成困扰。 Merab Gogolauri 软件开发与云基础设施总监 IBM 合作伙伴 Orient Logic LLC
基于微服务的敏捷基础设施

为缓解此情况,Orient Logic 与 EMIS IT 部门开展合作,并根据 Red Hat OpenShift Kubernetes 基础设施和 Agile Integration(ibm.com 外部链接)工具重新设计了教育部的 IT 环境。其目标是转而采用基于微服务的新系统,而该系统也会更加现代和敏捷,并可快速开发和扩展。

“现在,所有工作都会在 OpenShift 上运行”,Gogolauri 解释道,“而它也会作为所有应用程序的中央数据集成中心来运作。这种云原生技术会在该部自有的云环境中运行。此外,我们还部署了 Red Hat 集成工具来进行数据交换、API 管理以及确保与外部实体集成的安全性。这些工具均基于领先的开源项目,并可提供无与伦比的功能来集成 EMIS 未来可能需要的所有系统。”

自从实施 IBM Instana 来实现可观察性和应用程序性能监控功能之后,系统性能监控的工作强度也随之下降。“我们在近期部署了 IBM Instana,并对结果和可见性的改善感到非常满意”,Gogolauri 表示。“现在,我们可以实时了解导致问题的原因。当为应用程序设置的服务水平指标出现偏差时,Instana 便会向相关人员发送详细通知,以便对方立即查看此问题的根本原因,并立即启动补救程序。如今,它已在帮助我们排除故障,并通过加快问题识别来大幅缩短解决时间。总之,这些工具有助于该部在不破坏系统的情况下快速实施变更,即使是应用新的软件更新也是如此。”

“系统错误已不会再导致系统中断”,Tatishvili 证实说。“以前的同步操作非常糟糕,但现在它却变得非常完美。自从我们部署 Red Hat 集成而不是使用旧的数据同步程序已过去了近 11 个月,而从那时起我们甚至都没出现过任何重大问题。”

虽然格鲁吉亚目前已恢复在课堂环境中进行的线下学习,但 Gogolauri 坚信远程学习可以非常轻松地再次上线:“我们团队的能力仍然存在,并且可在必要时重新部署。该系统现在变得更为强大了;如果出现问题,也只是很小范围内的局部问题,并可进行回滚。有些系统会直接通过 API 来集成。EMIS 过去需要大量手动部署,现在则实现了完全自动化。”

我们在近期部署了 IBM Instana,并对结果和可见性的改善感到非常满意。现在,我们可以实时了解导致问题的原因。它可通过加快问题识别来大幅缩短解决问题的时间。 Merab Gogolauri 软件开发与云基础设施总监 IBM 合作伙伴 Orient Logic LLC
教师和家长都非常满意

IT 员工和合作伙伴对这些现代化功能和改进措施非常赞赏,而他们也无需再通宵达旦地忙于快速修复。回滚功能特别受欢迎。“我们为 EMIS 提供了一个面向未来且技术出众的解决方案”,Gogolauri 说道。“现在,对任一系统做出的任何更改都非常快速、简便;且即使一个系统出现故障,也完全不会影响其他系统。如果某一应用程序的更新版本出现问题,EMIS 也可一键恢复为前一稳定版本。”

现在,软件更新的效率也实现了大幅提高。Gogolauri 解释道:“过去,手动部署新版本需要好几个小时。因此,以小幅增量的方式来提供软件更新并不现实。相反,每隔几个月便会部署大量软件更新。实施 CI/CD 和 GitOps 之后,软件开发流程得到了简化:我们会先编写软件,而 OpenShift 则负责进行部署,且无需工程协助。每天,我们会以小幅增量的方式部署数次新软件,因而可加快软件开发项目。”

在教育与科学部看来,新局面也代表着一种进步,而建议在格鲁吉亚政府的其他部门推广 EMIS 也变得顺理成章。“透过 EMIS,我们一直能听到大家在说自己对结果有多满意”,Tatishvili 说道。“来自老师和家长的非正式用户反馈也非常正面。”

Gogolauri 补充道:“我们为能帮助到客户而感到自豪和欣慰。以前,同步也是令我们头疼的问题,但我们也帮助他们取得了更大成功。所有这些变化都使得用户满意度实现了显著提高,因为应用程序不再出现中断,并且每天都会向应用程序添加新功能。EMIS 的下一步措施是改造其旧的核心系统,以便将所有内容重写为微服务并实施新的功能和软件。我们已实现了持续发展。”

格鲁吉亚教育与科学部徽标
关于格鲁吉亚教育与科学部

格鲁吉亚教育与科学部(ibm.com 外部链接)旨在与民间社会开展密切合作从而建立起现代且创新的教育环境,以便提供终身学习和平等享受优质教育的机会,进而让每个人都能为迎接未来生活做好准备,同时促进就业、个人发展和职业发展。教育管理信息系统 (EMIS) 于 2012 年成立。通过开发先进的信息与通信技术以及电子教育管理系统,EMIS 旨在进一步助力教育部门。

Orient Logic 徽标
关于 Orient Logic LLC

IBM 合作伙伴 Orient Logic(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家顶尖 IT 公司。自 1995 年以来,该公司一直在格鲁吉亚市场开展运营,同时通过颠覆性的技术和软件开发为公共与私营部门的企业客户提供帮助。该公司专门从事安全、云管理和数字业务自动化,同时也是擅长云基础设施和中间件的 Red Hat 高级合作伙伴。

接下来:
GBSBank

GBSBank 的高性能、超弹性 IBM Storage 助其赢得客户信任

阅读成功案例
Netox Oy

Netox 使用 IBM Security QRadar SIEM 解决方案和 IBM Storage 来保护数字企业免受各种网络威胁

阅读成功案例
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品。2023 年 5 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、Instana 和 QRadar 是 International Business Machines Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新清单可在 ibm.com/trademark 上找到。

Red Hat、OpenShift 和 Ansible 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。

Microsoft、Windows 和 Windows NT 是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。无法提供通用的预期结果,因为每个客户的结果将完全取决于客户的系统和订购的服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Georgian Ministry of Education and Science modernizes data infrastructure

Major upgrades in Education Management Information System significantly improve database stability and user experience for teachers, parents and pupils in Georgia

When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, schools and universities around the world faced an unexpected and unplanned crisis that demanded rapid adaptability. Many education systems struggled to adapt their lessons and teaching resources to constantly changing circumstances and implement distance learning on very short notice. The Ministry of Education and Science in Georgia was no exception, and urgent action was required.

In response to the changes driven by the pandemic, the Ministry of Education and Science in Georgia faced a very pressing need to upgrade its Education Management Information System (EMIS). Within a short time frame, the organization had to adapt its legacy systems to the new reality of distance learning. It turned to a preferred IT partner to find a solution.

Merab Gogolauri, Software Development & Cloud Infrastructure Director at IBM Business Partner Orient Logic, explains: “EMIS had a core system in place that included several Azure applications integrated into an eSchool app, which included an electronic journal as an LMS [learning management system] application. The existing systems that were in place before 2020 were monolithic and tightly coupled. Data integration between systems took place via database synchronization procedures every night, and all systems had to be stopped until synchronization procedures had been completed. Periodically, at least once or twice a month, there was a sync error and the IT team had to work overnight to fix it to prevent system outage or data corruption.”

The system had struggled to cope with peak loads even before distance learning was implemented. Georgia has a highly centralized education system, with all public schools falling under the Ministry of Education. The software used for assignments, grades, schedules and so on had 600,000 users, with about 15,000 to 20,000 users logged in simultaneously on any given day.

David Tatishvili, Deputy Head of EMIS at the Georgian Ministry of Education and Science, says: “In Georgia, first-grade registration causes a major annual surge. There is one day a year when the whole country tries to register their first graders at the same time. Capacity had to be planned for the maximum number of simultaneous users, up to 100,000 at once. That meant that we had a work-heavy application requiring huge infrastructure just to accommodate that one day.”

An additional challenge was the negative user feedback from parents if the system went down. “It was impossible to introduce rapid changes without breaking something,” Tatishvili notes. “That would lead to angry users storming EMIS communication and social media channels throughout Georgia.”

It was increasingly clear that new solutions were needed. Gogolauri explains: “EMIS was already using IBM QRadar CM technology, which is still important in terms of overall security and architecture. At the start of Covid, it became apparent that the previous software was not designed for remote learning. We had to rapidly change and adapt it as the Ministry switched to distance learning through Microsoft Teams. I realized that agile software development and agile infrastructure would help the Ministry of Education and Science and EMIS, reducing problems and resolving their integration concerns.”

99% reduction

 

Reduced system outage by 99%

Dramatic Improvement

 

Teacher and parent feedback improved dramatically

Four years ago, I realized that agile software development and agile infrastructure would help the Ministry of Education and science and EMIS, reducing problems and resolving their integration concerns. Merab Gogolauri Software Development & Cloud Infrastructure Director IBM Business Partner Orient Logic LLC
Agile infrastructure based on microservices

To alleviate the situation, Orient Logic worked with the EMIS IT department to redesign the Ministry of Education’s IT landscape based on Red Hat® OpenShift® Kubernetes infrastructure and Agile Integration (link resides outside of ibm.com) tools. The aim was to move toward a new system based on microservices, which would be more modern and more agile, and could be rapidly developed and expanded.

“Everything now runs on OpenShift,” Gogolauri explains, “which operates as a central data integration hub for all applications. This cloud-native technology runs on the Ministry’s own cloud environment. Red Hat integration tools have also been deployed for data exchange, API management and security for integration with external entities. These tools are based on leading open-source projects and provide unmatched capabilities to integrate any systems EMIS might require in future.”

System performance monitoring is also less labor-intensive since implementing IBM® Instana® for observability and application performance monitoring capabilities. “We recently deployed IBM Instana and are very happy with the results and improved visibility,” Gogolauri says. “Now we can see what is causing problems in real time. In case of any deviation from the service level metrics that have been set for applications, Instana sends detailed notifications to the relevant people, who can instantly view the root cause of the problem and immediately start remediation procedures. It is already assisting us in troubleshooting, and significantly improves time to resolution by accelerating identification of the problem. Overall, these tools made it possible for the Ministry to implement any changes rapidly, without breaking the system, even with new software updates.”

“Bugs no longer break the system,” Tatishvili confirms. “Synchronization was very bad before, but now it works flawlessly. It has been almost 11 months since we deployed the Red Hat integration instead of using the legacy data synchronization procedures, and we have not had major problems even once since then.”

Although Georgia has returned to offline learning in a classroom setting, Gogolauri is confident that distance learning could easily be accommodated again: “Teams capability is still present and could be redeployed if necessary. The system is more robust now; if something breaks, the problem is very local and can be rolled back. Some systems are integrated directly through APIs. EMIS used to have a lot of manual deployment, but now it’s all automatic.”

We recently deployed IBM Instana and are very happy with the results and improved visibility. Now we can see what is causing problems in real time. It significantly improves time to resolution by accelerating identification of the problem. Merab Gogolauri Software Development & Cloud Infrastructure Director IBM Business Partner Orient Logic LLC
Very satisfied teachers and parents

The modernizations and improvements are much appreciated by IT staff and partners, who no longer have to work nights on quick fixes. The rollback feature has been particularly welcome. “We provided EMIS with a future-ready, technically superior solution,” Gogolauri says. “Now any change to any system is quick, easy, and even one system fails, it does not impact other systems at all. If there are problems with the updated version of an application, EMIS can restore the previous stable version with one click.”

Software updates are also significantly more efficient now. Gogolauri explains: “It used to take several hours to manually deploy new versions. As a result, it was not practical to deliver software updates in small increments. Instead, large chunks of software updates were deployed once every few months. After implementing CI/CD and GitOps, the software development process is streamlined: we write it, OpenShift deploys it, and no engineering assistance is needed. New software is deployed several times a day in small increments, accelerating software development projects.”

From the perspective of the Ministry of Education and Science, the new situation also represents an improvement, and EMIS has not been shy about recommending rollout in other parts of the Georgian government. “EMIS has been telling people how happy they are with the results,” Tatishvili says. “Informal user feedback from teachers and parents has also been very positive.”

Gogolauri adds: “We are proud and happy that we helped our customer. Synchronization was our headache too, but we also helped them to be a lot more successful. All these changes led to a significant increase in user satisfaction, as there are no application outages anymore, and new functionality is added to applications on a daily basis. The next step is for EMIS to revise its old core systems, rewriting everything into microservices and implementing new features and software. We have achieved ongoing development.”

Georgian Ministry of Education and Science logo
About the Georgian Ministry of Education and Science

The Georgian Ministry of Education and Science (link resides outside of ibm.com) aims to establish a modern and innovative educational environment in close cooperation with civil society, providing lifelong learning and equal access to quality education, in order to prepare each individual for future life, promote employment, personal and professional development. In 2012 the Education Management Information System (EMIS) was founded. By developing advanced information and communication technologies and an electronic education management system, EMIS aims to further support the education sector.

Orient Logic logo
About Orient Logic LLC

IBM Business Partner Orient Logic (link resides outside of ibm.com), a leading IT company, has been operating in the Georgian market since 1995, assisting enterprise customers in the public and private sectors with transformative technologies and software development. The company specializes in security, cloud management and digital business automation and is a Red Hat Premier Partner with specializations in cloud infrastructure and middleware.

Next up:
GBSBank

GBSBank inspires trust with help from high-performance, ultra-resilient IBM Storage

Read the case study
Netox Oy

Netox uses the IBM Security QRadar SIEM solution and IBM Storage, protecting digital businesses from a world of cyberthreats

Read the case study
Footnotes

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America. May 2023.

IBM, the IBM logo, Instana, and QRadar are trademarks or registered trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation, in the United States and/or other countries. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on ibm.com/trademark.

Red Hat®, OpenShift®, and Ansible® are trademarks or registered trademarks of Red Hat, Inc. or its subsidiaries in the United States and other countries.

Microsoft, Windows, and Windows NT are trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States, other countries, or both.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Generally expected results cannot be provided as each client's results will depend entirely on the client's systems and services ordered. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.