Formica Group 加快 B2B 交易
面向业务用户的实时事务洞察
厨房台面上摆着果盘

员工和贸易伙伴经常向 Formica Group 应用程序开发经理 Phil Catlin 提出有关新的电子数据交换 (EDI) 实施和现有连接的问题。他们通过公司服务台、电子邮件和电话联系到了他。

“他们人多,只有我一个人。当他们都开始打电话时,我手机上的分机不够用,” 他回忆说。

原因何在?Formica Group 最初成功地将其 B2B 交易管理外包给了一家信息管理解决方案供应商,该供应商随后被另一家供应商收购。新供应商的服务质量明显下降,使 Catlin 得不到主动、可靠的支持。相反,他花了过多的时间跟进业务用户的系统协助请求。

该公司的下游贸易网络包括各大洲的制造商、分销商和主要家居装修零售商。随着 1913 年高压层压板的发明,业务网络不断扩大。一个多世纪以来,该公司通过铺面创新和收购不断发展壮大。如今,Formica Group 为住宅和商业空间设计、制造和分销多种铺面材料,包括高压层压板、实心铺面板和装饰墙板。

Catlin 在公司位于俄亥俄州辛辛那提的美国总部负责监管 Formica Group 的全球电子商务和 EDI 系统。由于供应商的服务不佳,他很难维持敏捷、快速反应和具有成本效益的供应链运营。

交易量增长

 

企业对企业 (B2B) 交易量每天增长 ~40%

缩短新用户上手时间

 

将新贸易伙伴的加入流程时间从长达 8 个月缩短到不到 2 周

转向 IBM 确实是理所当然的事。这确实是我们做出的最容易的决定之一。 Phil Catlin 应用程序开发经理 Formica Group

每当合作伙伴联系 Formica Group 提出疑问或疑虑时,非技术业务部门 (LOB) 团队(例如应收账款和客户服务部门)都无法自行快速检索相关文档。相反,他们转而让 Catlin 去追踪他们。

也许最重要的是,合作伙伴无法快速加入系统。“我们有几次上机实施工作严重延误。我说的是拖延八个月或更长时间的项目,” 他说。“由于我们的外包供应商不能及时与客户取得联系,我们实际上失去了销售额。”

此外,供应商停止了对解决方案的改进,因为该解决方案缺乏 AI 驱动的搜索和其他功能。该解决方案也无法充分支持复杂的国际贸易物流。

“这次收购给我们留下了一个落后的产品,”Catlin 评论道。

端到端交易可见性

随着整个组织的挫败感不断增加,Catlin 发出了征求建议书,以了解其他供应商的供应链网络解决方案。“令我感到高兴和惊讶的是,IBM 的产品非常具有竞争力,比我们以前的供应商提供的在线工具更简洁、更易于浏览。即使是不懂技术的商务人士也可以使用并从中受益,” Catlin 说。

“IBM 还带来了全球影响力,”他补充道。“这对我们来说非常重要。”

Formica Group 选择了 IBM Sterling® Supply Chain Business Network Premium 托管服务,该服务提供跨交易网络的高度安全、基于云的连接以及个性化支持。该产品包括 Business Transaction Intelligence 功能,可为业务用户提供实时洞察分析、更深入的可见性和差异警报。通过利用 AI,他们的业务可以促进更快、更好的决策,帮助减轻供应链中断。

在合同签订后的六个月内,Formica Group 开始使用这项服务。Catlin 与 IBM 合作,支持 80 多种数据格式,并整合在 Formica Group 私有云基础设施上运行的 ERP 和其他后端系统。

“我们拥有一支来自 IBM 的优秀实施团队;我对于他们真的是赞不绝口。您能如实地说有多少项目是按时、按预算和按原定范围完成的?而且我们在不中断业务的情况下完成了这项工作,”Catlin 说道。

借助供应链业务网络高级服务,IBM 项目主管就可以协调通信、绘图、测试和其他供应链业务网络团队的工作,这些团队都参与引入新的 B2B 合作伙伴,从而使 Catlin 免于对全球加入流程集成进行微观管理。他和他的同事也有更多时间更好地为现有合作伙伴服务,并与新合作伙伴建立关系。他还计划利用 IBM 的全球可扩展性和支持,将 Formica Group 的全球供应商整合到系统中。

此外,借助业务交易智能功能,Formica Group 的业务用户可以访问一个用户友好型自助服务门户,查看从订单到交付整个生命周期的 B2B 交易。“他们非常高兴可以使用自然语言搜索,并能真正找到所需的信息,”Catlin 评论道。

凭借更高的网络可视性,应收账款、客户服务和其他 LOB 团队之间以及与贸易合作伙伴之间的合作也能更加顺畅。“例如,如果客户打电话询问其采购订单的状态,销售代表可以登录门户网站,查看订单是否已到达,如果已到达,则传输的时间和位置,”Catlin 解释道。“这在以前是不可能的,而现在则是家常便饭。”

我们拥有一支来自 IBM 的出色的实施团队......有多少项目能让您如实说出是按时、按预算、按原定范围实施的?而且,我们在不中断业务的情况下完成了这项工作。 Phil Catlin 应用程序开发经理 Formica Group
快速实现投资回报,节省 63% 的成本

通过使用 IBM Sterling™ 解决方案,Formica Group 将新合作伙伴的加入流程时间从长达八个月缩短到不到两周,具体取决于所涉及的复杂性。鉴于这些和其他新的效率,Catlin 在 IBM Sterling 解决方案上线后七个月内就在公司网络中增加了六个新合作伙伴。他正准备再增加六个。

该公司还可以更快地处理 EDI 交易并减少错误,帮助确保按时交货,提高合作伙伴的满意度。在不需要新员工的情况下,该公司的日交易量增加了近 40%,从 1800 份文档增加到 2500 份文档,而且这一数字还在继续增长。与此同时,服务电话和内部服务台单数量也有所减少。

预约咨询 IBM B2B 专家。

此外,Formica Group 可在两年内实现投资回报,并在五年内节省 63% 的支持成本。这是公司可以再投资于业务的资金。“转向 IBM 确实是理所当然的事情;这确实是我们做出的最容易的决定之一,”Catlin 说。

最后,通过与 IBM 合作,Catlin 可以从平台的持续创新中受益。他说:“我的核心产品得到了支持,而且还在不断加强和发展,并得到了我们管理层的认可,这让我感觉很好。”“我相信,随着技术的进步,我们也能与时俱进。”

Formica 标志
关于 Formica Group

Formica Group (链接位于 ibm.com 以外) 是为全球商业和住宅客户提供品牌化、设计化铺面解决方案的领先供应商。该企业注重质量、服务和创新,力求让所有人都能获得其产品。Formica Group 隶属于荷兰工业控股公司 Broadview Holding,拥有约 3300 名员工。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM Master Lock 公司

通过在云中高效整合贸易伙伴,加速全球增长

阅读成功案例
Saint-Gobain Abrasives

利用自动化重塑供应链流程

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021.IBM Corporation、IBM Sterling 和 Sterling,New Orchard Road,Armonk,NY 10504

2021 年 5 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 标志、ibm.com、Cognos、IBM Watson 和 SPSS 是国际商业机器公司的商标,已在全球多个司法管辖区注册。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新列表,请访问  ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 网站上的 "版权和商标信息"。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Expediting B2B trade at Formica Group
Real-time transactional insights for business users
Kitchen counter top with fruit bowl

Employees and trading partners regularly bombarded Phil Catlin, Application Development Manager at Formica Group, with questions about their new electronic data interchange (EDI) implementations and existing connections. They reached out to him through the company help desk, emails and phone calls.

“There’s plenty of them, and only one of me. I didn’t have enough extensions on my phone when they all started calling,” he recalls.

The reason? Formica Group had originally and successfully outsourced its B2B transaction management to an information management solution provider that was subsequently acquired by another vendor. The new provider’s service notably deteriorated, leaving Catlin without proactive, reliable support. Instead, he spent excessive time following up on business users’ requests for system assistance.

The company’s downstream trade network comprises fabricators, distributors and major home improvement retailers on every continent. The network has expanded with the business, which started with the invention of high-pressure laminate in 1913. Over more than a century, the company has grown through surfacing innovation and acquisition. Today, Formica Group designs, manufactures and distributes multiple surfacing materials for residential and commercial spaces, including high-pressure laminate, solid surfacing, and decorative wall panels.

Catlin oversees Formica Group’s global e-commerce and EDI systems from the company’s US headquarters in Cincinnati, Ohio. Given the provider’s poor service, he struggled to maintain agile, responsive and cost-efficient supply chain operations.

Growth in transactions

 

Boosted business-to-business (B2B) transaction volumes ~40% daily

Reduced onboarding time

 

Reduced onboarding for new trading partners from up to 8 months to < 2 weeks

Making the move to IBM was really a no-brainer; it was truly one of the easier decisions we’ve made. Phil Catlin Application Development Manager Formica Group

Whenever partners contacted Formica Group with queries or concerns, nontechnical line-of-business (LOB) teams, such as in accounts receivable and customer service, couldn’t rapidly retrieve pertinent documents themselves. Instead, they turned to Catlin to track them down.

Perhaps most important, partners couldn’t be quickly onboarded into the system. “We had a couple of significantly delayed onboarding implementations. I’m talking projects that dragged on eight months or longer,” he says. “We actually lost sales because our outsourced provider couldn’t come on board with customers in a timely fashion.”

In addition, the provider stopped enhancing the solution, which lacked AI-driven search and other functions. The solution also couldn’t adequately support the complex logistics of international trade.

“The acquisition left us with a backwater product,” comments Catlin.

End-to-end transaction visibility

With frustrations increasing across the organization, Catlin issued a request for proposal to learn about other vendors’ supply chain network solutions. “I was pleased and surprised that IBM came in very competitively with offerings that featured much cleaner, easier-to-navigate online tools than those of our previous vendor’s. Even nontechnical businesspeople could use and benefit from them,” says Catlin.

“IBM also brought global reach to the table,” he adds. “That was hugely important to us.”

Formica Group selected IBM Sterling® Supply Chain Business Network Premium managed services, which provide security-rich, cloud-based connectivity across trading networks with personalized support. The offering includes the Business Transaction Intelligence feature, which empowers business users with real-time insights, deeper visibility and discrepancy alerts. By capitalizing on AI, their business can facilitate faster and better decision-making to help mitigate supply chain disruptions.

Within six months of the contract signing, Formica Group went live with the service. Catlin worked with IBM to accommodate more than 80 data formats and integrate ERP and other back-end systems running on Formica Group’s private cloud infrastructure.

“We had a great implementation team from IBM; I really can’t say enough nice things about those folks. How many projects can you truthfully say come in on time, on budget and to the original scope? And we did it with no disruption to our business,” says Catlin.

With Supply Chain Business Network Premium services, the IBM project executive coordinates the efforts of communications, mapping, testing and other Supply Chain Business Network teams that are involved in bringing new B2B partners onboard, freeing Catlin from micromanaging global onboarding integrations. He and his colleagues also have more time to better serve existing partners and foster relationships with new ones. He also plans to take advantage of IBM’s global scalability and support to integrate Formica Group’s worldwide suppliers into the system.

In addition, with the Business Transaction Intelligence feature, Formica Group business users can access a user-friendly, self-service portal that lets them view B2B transactions across the order to delivery lifecycle. “They are really pleased that they can use natural language searches and can actually find the information they’re looking for,” comments Catlin.

With greater network visibility, accounts receivable, customer service and other LOB teams can also work more fluidly with each other and trading partners. “For instance, if a customer calls to ask about the status of their purchase order, the rep can log in to the portal, see if the order has arrived, and if it has, what time it was transmitted and where it is,” explains Catlin. “That wasn’t possible before, and now it’s routine.”

We had a great implementation team from IBM … How many projects can you truthfully say come in on time, on budget and to the original scope? And we did it with no disruption to our business. Phil Catlin Application Development Manager Formica Group
Rapid ROI with 63% cost savings

Using the IBM Sterling™ solution, Formica Group reduced the onboarding period for new partners from up to eight months to fewer than two weeks, depending on the complexities involved. Given these and other new efficiencies, Catlin added six new partners to the company’s network within seven months of going live with the IBM Sterling solution. He is in the process of adding six more.

The company can also process EDI transactions faster and with fewer errors, helping ensure on-time deliveries and higher satisfaction among partners. Without requiring new hires, the business increased daily transactions by nearly 40%, from 1,800 to 2,500 documents, a number that continues to grow. At the same time, volumes of service calls and internal help desk tickets decreased.

Book a consultation with an IBM B2B expert.

Further, Formica Group can achieve ROI within two years and savings of 63% in support costs over five years. It’s money the company can reinvest in the business. “Making the move to IBM was really a no-brainer; it was truly one of the easier decisions we’ve made,” says Catlin.

Finally, by engaging with IBM, Catlin can benefit from continual innovations in the platform. “It gives me a good feeling to know that I’m on a supported core product that is being enhanced and developed and has mindshare with our management,” he says. “I’m confident that as technology moves forward, we’ll be able to move forward with it.”

Formica logo
About Formica Group

Formica Group (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a leading provider of branded, designed surfacing solutions for commercial and residential customers worldwide. Focused on quality, service and innovation, the enterprise seeks to make its products accessible to all. With approximately 3,300 employees, Formica Group is a division of Broadview Holding, a Netherlands-based industrial holding.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

View more case studies Contact IBM The Master Lock Company

Accelerating global growth with efficient trading partner integration in the cloud

Read the case study
Saint-Gobain Abrasives

Reshaping supply chain processes with automation

Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Sterling, and Sterling, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, May 2021.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, Cognos, IBM Watson, and SPSS are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.

IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided. The client is responsible for ensuring compliance with laws and regulations applicable to it. IBM does not provide legal advice or represent or warrant that its services or products will ensure that the client is in compliance with any law or regulation.