一家鼎鼎有名的创新公司在其全球企业范围内部署 AIOps
Electrolux 实现 IT 自动化并支持雄心勃勃的碳减排目标

过去的颠覆性创新在当今往往被认为是理所当然的。自 100 多年前 Electrolux AB 在斯德哥尔摩成立以来,它突破性地实现了日常生活的自动化,推出了一些最早的吸尘器、冰箱、洗碗机和洗衣机。当然,这些事情现在不再让我们感到惊讶。

但是,Electrolux 确实是一家现代公司,它拥有长远目光。Electrolux 于 1919 年在斯德哥尔摩成立,现已发展成为一家全球性企业,每年生产 6000 万台家用电器。在不断提升自动化、效率和优雅设计,并将其融入常见生活用途的同时,Electrolux 还致力于进行当前创新,开辟新的领域。

该公司不仅将自动化融入其家用电器中,还结合 AI 实现运营自动化,从而提高整体效率,甚至有助于实现雄心勃勃的环境可持续性发展目标。

缩短解决时间

 

传统上需要三周时间解决的 IT 问题现在只需 1 个小时

通过自动化节省成本

 

常见维修任务的自动化每年可节省 1000 个小时

我们每天需要查看约 100,000 个事件。在这片巨大的事件海洋中,准确识别必须处理的事件以减轻压力,这非常重要。 Joska Lot Joska Lot Global Solution Service Architect: Monitoring and Events Management Electrolux AB
全球范围内的复杂性

Joska Lot 在意大利东北部的 Electrolux 工厂(或者,2020 年和 2021 年更常见的是在他的家庭办公室)监控 Electrolux 全球 IT 基础架构的运营情况。这是一个庞大而复杂的基础架构。

Electrolux 多年来的增长大部分来自并购,每次并购都会增加新的物理基础架构以及独特的技术平台和应用程序环境。正如 Lot 所解释的那样:“我们有 Windows、AIX、Linux……我们在 65 个国家或地区拥有 10,000 台服务器,还有连接它们的网络设备、100,000 个应用程序、数据库和规则。

对于 Lot 和他的小团队来说,要确保此类基础架构的运营效率,面临两个主要挑战。首先是与所有平台和环境集成以创建统一的概况。“如果我没有标准工具,”Lot 说,“我的工作或多或少是不可能完成的。我们必须协调一致。”

第二个挑战是有效地切断网络“噪音”,并确定将维持运营的具体任务。

集成和 AI 驱动的自动化

Lot 和 Electrolux 团队长期以来一直使用 IBM® Netcool® 解决方案作为其集成式全球 IT 运营管理平台来应对这两个挑战。正如 Electrolux 不断寻找新的方法来增强其家用电器一样,Lot 和团队现在也在采用 IBM Netcool 平台的当前演进版本 IBM Cloud Pak® for Watson AIOps 中的 AI 驱动的自动化功能。

Lot 看到了通过使用机器学习实现 IT 中所谓事件关联的自动化,从而获得关键效率的潜力。“事件”是有关 IT 环境中无数元素功能的数据片段。它们涵盖非常广泛的现象,而且绝大多数事件并不表明存在实际问题。事件关联意味着将相关事件分组到“实例”中,以便更清楚地了解实际问题所在。

Lot 列举出一个基本示例:“想象一下,有人不小心断开了连接到十台计算机的网络路由器。这会产生 11 个不同的事件,但只有一个真正的问题:路由器需要重新连接。”这 11 个事件实际上只是一个实例。“但这只是沧海一粟,”Lot 说道,“我们每天需要查看约 100,000 个事件。”像 Lot 这样的 IT 运营经理查看实例而不是事件的速度越快,他们就能越快地查明实际问题并进行解决。Lot 生动地描述了这一点:“在这片巨大的事件海洋中,准确识别必须处理的事件以减轻压力,这非常重要。”

然而,传统上,事件关联意味着需要一个团队花费大量时间手动分析事件警报并找出关联性。“在一年内,”Lot 说道,“我们修复相同类型问题的次数是 1,000 次,而且我们已经有人花了一个小时手动管理这些活动。”现在,通过在 AI 中实施基于专业知识的规则,Electrolux 可以实现这项工作自动化并大大提升速度。

伊莱克斯才开始采用这种人工智能驱动的自动化,但 Lot 认为这是非常重要的一步。“衡量事件和事故之间的差异是实现完整人工智能管理运营的第一步,也可能是能够为自学技术带来最快投资回报的一步。”

这也不仅仅是利润问题。Lot 没有取代人类智能,而是发现了 AI 提升员工专业知识的潜力。“我们需要投资来改变我们的想法。我们必须解释为什么我们应该取消可以很好地执行这些活动的操作员进行的手动活动。”通过对每年耗费 1,000 个小时的琐碎任务实现自动化,Electrolux 不仅可以节省大部分时间,而且操作员的专业知识可以应用于更有价值、更高级别的任务。示例包括确定可馈送到 Watson AIOps 解决方案的新关联标准,或根据本地条件细化规则和操作。Lot 表示,它创造了一个良性循环:自动化节省了时间,可以重新分配节省的时间,进而丰富自动化。同时,操作员可以丰富自己的专业知识。

展望未来,Lot 正在探索监控解决方案的容器化。通过与 IBM 合作,他最近在 IBM Cloud Pak 解决方案的 Red Hat® OpenShift® 容器平台上完成了一个开发环境,现在他和他的团队正在 OpenShift 上测试作为容器化解决方案的 Watson AIOps 功能。目前的监控环境主要部署在本地,但 Lot 认为,在 Electrolux 的 Microsoft Azure 云平台上部署容器化版本,可能是在异构环境中提供监控更新和新功能的更高效、更有效的方法。

效率、弹性、可持续性发展

“解决时间不是三周,而是一小时。”这就是 Lot 对传统事件管理与集成式自动化 AIOps 之间差异的概括。

这种效率对核心业务有直接影响。例如,在工厂中,解决 IT 问题节省三周时间意味着可以避免三周的产量减少,而且这种影响是全局性的。能够快速解决全球 IT 问题可以对成本效率和制造产量产生积极的影响。

Lot 甚至将监控解决方案连接到实际生产线机械和设备上的传感器,同时为通常为 IT 保留的监控工具创建工业 4.0 应用程序。在一个实例中,Lot 的团队发现扫描家用电器总成零部件的光学枪读取器经常出现故障。通过了解,发现特定型号的枪读取器存在缺陷,Electrolux 停止使用该产品并避免了进一步的停机。

当 Lot 和他的许多同事转向远程办公时,Electrolux 还使用集成式解决方案来应对新冠疫情。“我们或多或少可以从一个角度控制全球环境,”Lot 说道,“而且这些信息可以在个人电脑、平板电脑或手机上自动获取。因此我们可以持续为世界各地的所有办事处和工厂提供 IT 服务。”

最后,AIOps 功能有助于实现更大、更重要的创新。自 2005 年以来,Electrolux 已将其运营中的绝对二氧化碳排放量至少减少 75%。此外,2019 年,该公司自愿加入了“企业雄心助力 1.5°C 限温目标行动”(Business Ambition for 1.5°C),这是一项由联合国主导的倡议,旨在帮助限制全球气温上升。作为此工作的一部分,Electrolux 承诺到 2050 年实现二氧化碳净零排放。兑现这一承诺需要优化资源使用。这时,AIOps 就有了用武之地。通过实现任务自动化,确保合适的 CPU 利用率以及服务器和数据中心硬件的正常运行,Electrolux 可以减少功耗和空调能耗 – 碳排放的主要原因。正如 Lot 所解释的,这又是一个规模问题:“在我们所有的服务器机房中成倍增加这些功能,结果绝对是巨大的。”

伊莱克斯徽标
关于 Electrolux AB

Electrolux(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 1919 年,总部位于斯德哥尔摩,它是全球领先的家用电器公司,旗下品牌包括Electrolux、AEG、Anova、Frigidaire、Westinghouse 和 Zanussi。

此页面上的图片来自 www.electrolux.com(ibm.com 外部链接)。

 

接下来:
查看 PDF 充分利用收件箱,从 IBM 获取最佳资源。
订阅精选简讯,了解最新的技术、商业和思想领导力。
订阅
将球迷参与度推向新的高度
大师的课程可以帮助企业创造新价值
阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2022 年 1 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Cloud、IBM Cloud Pak 和 Netcool 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新清单,请访问网站 www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

Red Hat® 和 OpenShift 是 IBM 旗下公司 Red Hat 的注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

A legendary innovator brings AIOps to its global enterprise

Electrolux automates IT and supports ambitious carbon reduction goals
by Rob Spencer
6-minute read

The revolutionary innovations of yesterday are often taken for granted today. Since Electrolux AB formed in Stockholm just over 100 years ago, it has automated everyday living in groundbreaking ways, introducing some of the earliest vacuum cleaners, refrigerators, dishwashers and washing machines. Of course, these things don’t surprise us anymore.

Electrolux, however, is truly a company of today, with its sights set on tomorrow. From Stockholm in 1919, Electrolux has grown into a worldwide enterprise, producing 60 million appliances yearly. And while it continues to bring new levels of automation, efficiency and elegant design to the most common aspects of life, Electrolux is also working on current innovations that are breaking new ground.

The company is putting automation into more than just its appliances, incorporating AI to automate operations in ways that will boost overall efficiency, and even contribute to ambitious environmental sustainability goals.

Mother and daughter playing with fresh towels just washed in Electrolux washer and dryer

Time to resolve IT issues that would traditionally take three weeks:

1

hour

Automation of a common repair task can save

1,000

hours per year

We see about 100,000 events per day. It is so important in this huge ocean to identify exactly the drop of venom that you have to remove to save your life.
Joska Lot
Global Solution Service Architect: Monitoring and Events Management, Electrolux AB
Electrolux 36 inch Induction Freestanding Range

Complexity on a global scale

From an Electrolux facility in northeastern Italy (or, more often in 2020 and 2021, from his home office) Joska Lot monitors the operations of the global Electrolux IT infrastructure. And it’s a vast and complex infrastructure.

Much of Electrolux’s growth over the years has come through acquisition, each merger adding new physical infrastructure as well as unique technology platforms and application environments. As Lot explains: “We have Windows, we have AIX, we have Linux … We have 10,000 servers across 65 countries plus the networking devices connecting them, 100,000 apps, databases, rules.

For Lot and his small team to ensure operational efficiency across an infrastructure like this, there are two primary challenges. The first is integrating with all of the platforms and environments to create a unified overview. “If I don’t have a standard tool,” says Lot, “my job is more or less impossible. We have to harmonize.”

The second challenge is to efficiently cut through the network “noise” and identify the specific tasks that will maintain operations.

Electrolux refrigerator and oven in a sunlit, well decorated kitchen

Integration and AI-driven automation

Joska Lot, Global Solution Service Architect: Monitoring and Events Management, Electrolux AB

Lot and the Electrolux team have long tackled both challenges using IBM® Netcool® solutions as their integrated global IT operations management platform. And just as Electrolux continually finds new ways to enhance its appliances, Lot and team are now adopting AI-driven automation capabilities from the current evolution of the IBM Netcool platform, IBM Cloud Pak® for Watson AIOps.

Lot sees potential to gain critical efficiency by using machine learning to automate what’s known in IT as event correlation. “Events” are pieces of data about the functioning of the myriad elements in the IT environment. They cover a very wide range of phenomena, and the large majority of events do not indicate actual problems. Event correlation means grouping related events into “instances” to gain a much clearer picture of where actual problems are.

Lot provides an elementary example: “Imagine someone accidentally disconnects a network router that’s connected to ten computers. That creates 11 different events, but there’s only one real problem: the router needs to be reconnected.” Those 11 events are really just a single instance. “But that would be a single drop in our ocean,” says Lot. “We see about 100,000 events per day.” The faster IT ops managers like Lot can view instances instead of events, the faster they can pinpoint actual problems and address them. Lot describes it vividly: “It is so important in this huge ocean to identify exactly the drop of venom that you have to remove to save your life.

Traditionally, however, event correlation means having a team of people spending a lot of time manually analyzing event alarms and finding correlations. “In one year,” says Lot, “we fix the same type of issue 1,000 times. And we’ve had people spending one hour managing these activities manually.” Now, by implementing expertise-based rules into AI, Electrolux can automate and greatly accelerate that work.

Electrolux is just beginning to incorporate this kind of AI-powered automation, but Lot sees it as a very important step. “Sizing the difference amongst events and incidents is the first step to a complete AI management of operations, and probably the one that can bring the fastest return on investment in self-learning technologies.

It’s not just about the bottom line, either. Rather than displacing human intelligence, Lot sees the potential for AI to promote employees’ expertise. “We need to invest in changing our minds. We have to explain why we should remove manual activities from operators who perform those activities very well.” By automating a menial task that consumes 1,000 hours a year, not only can Electrolux recoup much of that time, but the operators’ expertise can be applied to more valuable, higher-level tasks. Examples include identifying new correlation criteria that can be fed to the Watson AIOps solution, or refining rules and actions based on local conditions. It creates a virtuous circle, says Lot: automation saving time that can be reallocated to enriching the automation. Meanwhile, the operators can enrich their own expertise.

Moving forward, Lot is exploring containerization of the monitoring solution. Working with IBM, he recently completed a dev environment on the IBM Cloud Pak solution’s Red Hat® OpenShift® container platform, and he and his team are now testing the Watson AIOps capabilities as containerized solutions on OpenShift. The current monitoring environment is deployed largely on premises, but Lot thinks that deploying containerized versions on Electrolux’s Microsoft Azure cloud platform could be a more efficient, effective way to deliver monitoring updates and new features across the heterogeneous landscape.

Fresh salmon with herbs and lemons being placed in an Electrolux oven

Efficiency, resilience, sustainability

Electrolux appliances in a sunny, modern kitchen

“Resolution times are not three weeks, but one hour.” That’s how Lot sums up the difference between traditional event management and integrated, automated AIOps.

This efficiency has a direct impact on the core business. Saving three weeks of an IT issue in a factory, for example, means avoiding three weeks of diminished production. And this effect is global. The ability to quickly resolve IT issues worldwide is a major support to cost efficiency and manufacturing volumes.

Lot has even connected the monitoring solution to sensors on actual production line machinery and equipment, creating an Industry 4.0 application for monitoring tools typically reserved for IT. In one instance, Lot’s team detected frequent failures in optical gun readers that scan parts for appliance assemblies. By discovering that a particular model of gun reader was defective, Electrolux discontinued its use and avoided further downtime.

Electrolux also uses the integrated solution to navigate the COVID-19 pandemic, when Lot and many of his colleagues have switched to remote work. “We more or less have the global environment under control in one single point of view,” says Lot. “And this information is automatically available on a PC, on a tablet or on mobile. So we can continually provide IT services for all of our offices and factories in the world.”

Finally, the AIOps capabilities contribute to a larger, more important innovation. Since 2005, Electrolux has reduced the absolute CO2 emissions from its operations by at least 75%. Further, in 2019, the company voluntarily joined Business Ambition for 1.5°C, a United Nations-led initiative to help limit the global temperature increase. For its part in the effort, Electrolux pledged to achieve net zero carbon emissions by 2050. Making good on this pledge will require optimized resource usage. That’s where AIOps comes in. By automating tasks that ensure proper CPU utilization and proper functioning of server and datacenter hardware, Electrolux can reduce power consumption and air conditioning — primary causes of carbon emissions. Again, as Lot explains, it’s a matter of scale: “Multiply these capabilities across all of our server rooms, the results are absolutely huge.”

Electrolux AB logo

About Electrolux AB

Based in Stockholm, where it was founded in 1919, ElectroluxExternal Link is a leading global appliance company whose brands include Electrolux, AEG, Anova, Frigidaire, Westinghouse and Zanussi.

Images on this page from www.electrolux.comExternal Link

Solution component
Electrolux AB logo

About Electrolux AB

Based in Stockholm, where it was founded in 1919, ElectroluxExternal Link is a leading global appliance company whose brands include Electrolux, AEG, Anova, Frigidaire, Westinghouse and Zanussi.

Images on this page from www.electrolux.comExternal Link

Solution component