CTE
建立增值服务,为更牢固的客户关系奠定基础
了解更多信息
可供购买或租赁的起重机

CTE 销售、租赁建筑和工业机械并提供相关服务,其 Carolina CAT 部门主要经营 Caterpillar 产品。为了提高客户忠诚度,CTE 希望提供增值服务。在 IBM® Services 的帮助下,CTE 部署了 SAP S/4HANA®,统一把握绩效全貌,达成详细数据分析。

业务挑战

CTE 希望简化其现有 IT 环境,以把握运营全貌,并加速数据分析,从而减少人工管理工作,使员工能够专注于增值任务。

变革

该公司委托 IBM Services 将三个不同的遗留系统替换为部署在云中的 SAP S/4HANA 应用程序,形成单一运营数据池。

结果 削减
手动管理工作量,使员工能够专注于增值任务
揭示
详细的运营数据,为强大的分析提供动力
借助新技术
利用 IBM IMPACT 解决方案减少 SAP S/4HANA 的设置时间
业务挑战案例
应对市场份额流失

即使是重型机械行业也要应对电子商务革命带来的冲击。分销业务受到的影响尤为严重,互联网零配件销售商和第三方服务机构对客户的诱惑越来越大。

有一家公司决心阻止这种转变:CTE 公司为北卡罗来纳州西部的客户提供 Caterpillar Inc. 的建筑设备、备件和服务。为了激发建筑客户的忠诚度,该公司需要一种差异化竞争手段,旨在改变市场运营格局。

CTE 意识到,分析公司的历史销售和服务数据,可能会带来设备维护、成本和运营方面的宝贵洞察结果。如果公司能够分析这些信息并将其提供给客户,例如成本比较等服务,那么这种增值工具就可以将他们与 CTE 紧密结合起来,并有助于提高忠诚度。

当时,CTE 运行着三个独立的业务系统,这些系统都是从以前的收购和公司早期继承下来的。宝贵的数据实际上被困在这些系统孤岛中,而这些孤岛依赖于传统技术,无法支持基于应用程序的现代工作方式。为了完成财务报告和运营规划等任务,员工需要花费大量时间手动从每个系统中提取数据,整理并验证结果,然后才能提交准确的报告。对于 CTE 以客户为中心的雄心勃勃的信息计划,合并遗留系统数据的时间和成本构成了重大障碍。

副总裁兼首席财务官 Matt Nazzaro 表示:“像我们这样的维护供应商和经销商,我们所面临的市场环境正在发生变化,CTE 决心适应变化,保持领先地位。由于互联网威胁到许多分销商或“中间商”公司的去中介化,我们必须寻找为我们的服务增加价值的方法,以便在充满挑战的数字经济中继续发展。首先,我们需要一个坚实的财务基础架构作为这一变革的基础。”

变革案例
起重作业

在考虑可能的软件解决方案时,CTE 考查了北美其他 Caterpillar 分销商做出的选择,并评估了最适合每个公司部门的 ERP 平台。

CTE 之前曾在其两个业务部门运行早期版本的 SAP ERP 应用程序。基于对 SAP 软件可靠性和功能的亲身了解,CTE 选择实施 SAP S/4HANA 作为其核心财务和企业管理解决方案。业务运营将迁移到 SAP S/4HANA,从支持销售、服务和维护的核心财务解决方案开始。

Matt Nazzaro 指出:“公司 IT 部门有 30 名员工,我们正在寻找一位具备深厚专业知识的系统实施合作伙伴,能够填补我们的知识空白,并在我们专注于业务的同时完成实施工作。我们之所以选择 IBM Services,是因其展现了 SAP S/4HANA 部署的成功经验,以及卓越的行业背书和对达成结果的有力承诺。

“我们需要一个能力强大、工作勤奋的团队,我们的员工可以与之很好地合作,同时也需要有实际实施经验的顾问。这个项目的实施,涉及与我们多个部门员工的协作,因此我们希望对方团队是非常易于合作的。IBM Services 完全符合要求:其团队具备完成这项工作所需的专业知识和资源,他们工作热情、乐于帮助,并致力于为我们公司创造价值。”

新的建筑技术

基于适用于 SAP S/4HANA 的 IBM IMPACT 解决方案,IBM Services 实现了加速部署,并在八个月内交付了实时解决方案。IBM IMPACT 解决方案是一个预配置的 SAP S/4HANA 实例,专为满足特定市场领域的需求而定制。根据配置,实施团队可以迅速行动,专注于定制 SAP S/4HANA,以最大限度地提高每个客户的利益,从而快速实现价值。

该团队使用由 SAP Activate 提供支持的 IBM Ascend 方法,以三周为一个开发段开展工作,将敏捷流程正规化。每个开发段的成果都会提交给 CTE 的利益相关者,并提供持续反馈的机会,以确保项目达到预期目标、实现功能并按时完成。IBM 还提供了有关最佳实践方法的建议,将现有系统的接口映射到 SAP S/4HANA,并帮助确保项目按预算按时完成。

在第一阶段,CTE 和 IBM 重点关注实施财务、控制和总账等财务解决方案,并创建公司运营的统一视图。IBM Services 在十天内交付了第一个概念验证,为实施可能性提供了坚实的证据。

Matt Nazzaro 表示:“最初,我对使用敏捷方法持怀疑态度;我可以看到它在小型创业型项目中的价值,但我认为它不适合在运营系统面临极大压力的成熟环境中使用。但是在我们开始实施后,IBM 很快就向我们展示了优势。IBM Ascend 方法帮助我们以协同和响应的方式开发解决方案,并通过逐步改进来达成对每个人都有利的结果,而不是等到一切都已既成事实,才意识到我们错过了什么。”

从本地到云端

CTE 使用本地基础架构运行其以前的 SAP ERP 解决方案。向 SAP S/4HANA 的迁移为检验云运营的优势提供了机会。该公司被云服务提供的灵活可扩展性所吸引,并且已经开始在其他业务部门使用云服务,因此要求 IBM Services 在云中实施新的 SAP S/4HANA 应用程序。

Matt Nazzaro 继续说道:“云运营帮助我们保持精简的资产负债表,并减少资本支出。在技术层面,在选择从本地运营迁移到云运营后,IBM Services 帮助我们创建了可满足业务需求的安全云环境,并完成了针对我们业务需求的快速、成功的部署。云提供了我们所需的可扩展性和可管理性,并为我们成为数据驱动型公司迈出了第一步。”

 

IBM Services 是 CTE 数字型企业蝶变之路的中坚力量。 Matt Nazzaro VP and CFO CTE
案例成果
改进管理基础

随着核心财务应用程序现在在 SAP S/4HANA 上运行,CTE 可以获得其所有运营部门运营情况的统一、集成的视图。通过迁移到云端,CTE 可以将以前专门负责服务器管理和维护的人员重新分配给增值任务。

CTE 节省了核对独立系统生成的数据所花费的时间,SAP S/4HANA 单一实例上的合并分类账使公司能够为任何业务部门生成标准报告。现在,CTE 的分析师可以依靠来自单一来源的有效数据来审查预算、创建预测以及进行重要的客户分析。

Matt Nazzaro 解释说:“以前,我们可能很难判定,叉车部门掌握其详细信息的客户是否也是 Caterpillar 设备客户。通过单一分类账和统一的会计科目表,我们可以轻松了解谁购买了什么,以及我们是否可以为该客户提供其他服务。同样,我们可以利用财务数据来研究每位客户的消费模式,帮助我们和客户了解他们自己的支出情况,使我们今后能够为他们提供更好的服务。”

SAP S/4HANA 帮助构建下一代功能

过去,许多看似简单的任务相对复杂,需要跨部门手动整合和合并数据。依赖多个数据源的报告需要不断更新。通过引入 SAP S/4HANA,Caterpillar CAT 不仅实现了从单一数据源提供一致、快速的报告,还消除了后台报告维护的工作量。此外,用户更喜欢基于窗格的 SAP Fiori 界面,这样他们就能轻松访问现代应用。

在 IBM Services 的协助下,CTE 现在计划通过数据安全、材料管理和盈利分析应用程序来扩展该解决方案,准备开始预测分析之路,以提高客户忠诚度。

“有了 IBM Services 提供的 SAP S/4HANA 解决方案,CTE 能够捍卫自己强大的市场地位,”Matt Nazzaro 继续说道。“IBM Services 帮助 CTE 部署了 SAP S/4HANA 解决方案,使我们能够轻松应对不断增加的工作量并支持更多功能,从而成为一家反应迅速、数据功能强大的公司。借助新的解决方案,CTE 可以利用包括 IBM Watson® 在内的一系列令人振奋的新功能,并利用我们掌握的巨大数据储备。”

Matt Nazzaro 总结道:“最终,随着我们扩展 SAP S/4HANA,将财务数据与运营和产品数据联系起来,CTE 将能够获得更深入的洞察并形成新的结论,帮助我们的客户从投资中获得最大价值。IBM Services 是 CTE 数据驱动、数字型企业蝶变之路的中坚力量。”

 

选择由 IBM Services 协助进行 SAP S/4HANA 云部署,让 CTE 可以占据信息优势,自信迎接未来。 Matt Nazzaro VP and CFO CTE
CTE 徽标
CTE

CTE 成立于 1926 年,立下宏愿,通过向建筑、道路建设、公用事业和采矿业提供 Caterpillar 装备和支持服务,为北卡罗来纳州的发展做出贡献。90 多年后的今天,CTE 已满足了泛卡罗来纳地区的装备需求。除了提供全系列的建筑、林业和铺路产品外,该公司还提供全系列的物料搬运设备、工程系统、卡车发动机和发电系统以及卓越的产品支持。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM 为 SAP S/4HANA 提供迁移和咨询服务的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:ibm.com/consulting/sap-s4hana

查看更多案例 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States.

美国出品,2018 年 10 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

© 2018 SAP SE。保留所有权利。此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时进行更改出于任何原因,恕不另行通知。

Business Challenge

CTE wanted to simplify its existing IT environment to gain a unified view of its operations and accelerate data analysis, in order to reduce manual administrative work and free up staff to focus on value-added tasks.

Transformation

The company engaged IBM Services to replace three disparate legacy systems with SAP S/4HANA applications, deployed in the cloud, forming a single pool of operational data.

Results

Cuts

manual administrative workload, enabling staff to concentrate on value-add tasks

Unearths

detailed operational data to fuel powerful analytics

Reduced

set-up time with the IBM IMPACT solution for SAP S/4HANA

Business challenge story

Fighting erosion of market share

Even the heavy machinery industry is not immune to the e-commerce revolution. Distribution businesses have been particularly affected, with customers increasingly tempted by internet-based sellers of spare parts and third-party service organizations.

One company was determined to halt the shift: CTE, which supplies Caterpillar Inc. construction equipment, spare parts and servicing to customers across Western North Carolina. To inspire loyalty among its construction clients, the company needed a game-changing competitive differentiator.

CTE realized that its historical sales and service data could contain valuable insight into equipment maintenance, costs and operations. If the company could analyze the information and offer it to customers in services such as cost comparisons, this value-added facility could bind them closely to CTE and help reinforce loyalty.

At the time, CTE ran three separate business systems, inherited from previous acquisitions and earlier corporate history. Precious data was effectively trapped in these system silos, which depended on legacy technologies not able to support modern app-based ways of working. To complete tasks such as financial reporting and operational planning, employees spent considerable time manually extracting data from each system, collating and validating the results before being able to present accurate reports. The time and cost of merging data from the legacy systems presented a significant barrier to CTE’s ambitious plans for customer-centered information.

Matt Nazzaro, VP and Chief Financial Officer, comments, “The environment for maintenance suppliers and dealerships like us is changing, and CTE is determined to stay ahead of the curve. As the internet threatens to disintermediate many distributor or ‘middleman’ companies, we must look for ways to add value to our services, to continue evolving in a challenging digital economy. First we needed a solid financial infrastructure on which to base this evolution.”

Transformation story

Heavy lifting

When considering possible software solutions, CTE reviewed choices made by fellow Caterpillar distributors in North America, and assessed which ERP platform would best suit each company division.

CTE’s own experience included operating earlier versions of the SAP ERP application in two of its business units. Based on its experience of the SAP software’s reliability and capabilities, CTE chose to implement SAP S/4HANA as its core financial and enterprise management solution. Business operations would migrate to SAP S/4HANA, starting with core financials solutions to support sales, service and maintenance.

Matt Nazzaro elaborates, “With an IT department of 30 people, we were looking for a system implementation partner with the depth of expertise able to fill our knowledge gaps and complete the implementation while we focused on the business. We selected IBM Services because they demonstrated successful experience of SAP S/4HANA deployments, with excellent references and absolute commitment to achieving results.

“We wanted a strong, hard-working team that our staff could work well with, as well as consultants with real-life implementation experience. This project would involve collaboration with a broad cross-section of our employees, and we looked for people who were easy to work with. IBM Services fit the bill perfectly: its team offered the expertise and resources to do the job, and they were enthusiastic, helpful and committed to delivering value for our company.”

IBM Services is a central part of CTE’s journey to becoming a data-driven, digitally enabled business.

—Matt Nazzaro, VP and CFO, CTE

New building techniques

Based on the IBM IMPACT solution for SAP S/4HANA, IBM Services achieved accelerated deployment, with a live solution delivered in eight months. The IBM IMPACT solution is a pre-configured SAP S/4HANA instance, tailored to meet the needs of specific market sectors. Based on the configuration, implementation teams can move swiftly ahead to focus on tailoring SAP S/4HANA to maximize the benefits for each client, delivering fast time-to-value.

The team worked in three-week sprints, using the IBM Ascend methodology powered by SAP Activate, which formalizes the Agile process. The results of each sprint were presented to CTE stakeholders, with opportunities for evolving feedback to ensure that the project met expectations, delivered on functionality, and achieved timelines. IBM also offered advice on best-practice approaches, mapped interfaces from existing systems to SAP S/4HANA, and helped ensure that the project stayed on budget and on time.

For the first phase, CTE and IBM focused on implementing financial solutions such as Financials, Controlling and General Ledger, and creating a unified view of the company’s operations. IBM Services delivered a first Proof of Concept within ten days, providing solid evidence of what was possible.

Matt Nazzaro remarks, “At first I was skeptical about using the Agile approach; I could see its value in small, startup-style projects, but I didn’t think it belonged in an established environment where operational systems are under extreme pressure. But once we began IBM soon showed us the advantages. Rather than coming to the big reveal and realizing we had missed something, the IBM Ascend methodology helps us to develop solutions collaboratively and responsively, with incremental improvements that deliver a result that works for everyone.”

From earth to cloud

CTE ran its former SAP ERP solutions using on-premises infrastructure. The migration to SAP S/4HANA opened up the opportunity to examine the advantages of switching to cloud operations. The company was attracted by the flexible scalability offered by cloud services, and had already started using cloud services elsewhere in the business, and therefore asked IBM Services to implement the new SAP S/4HANA applications in the cloud.

Matt Nazzaro continues, “Cloud operations helps us retain a lean balance sheet, and reduce our capital expenditure. At a technical level, after choosing to move from on-premises to cloud operations, IBM Services helped us to create our own secure cloud environment that meets our business requirements, and completed a rapid, successful deployment tailored to our business needs. Cloud provides the scalability and manageability we need, and offers the first step on our road to becoming a data-driven company.”

Results story

Improved administrative foundations

With the core financial applications now running on SAP S/4HANA, CTE gains a unified, integrated view of all its operational divisions. By moving to the cloud, CTE can reallocate staff formerly dedicated to server administration and maintenance to value-added tasks.

CTE has recovered the time spent on reconciling data generated by separate systems, and the consolidated ledgers on the single instance of SAP S/4HANA enable the company to generate standard reports for any business unit. CTE’s analysts can now rely on validated data from a single source to review budgets and create forecasts, and perform all-important customer analysis.

Matt Nazzaro explains, “Previously we might have struggled to identify that a customer whose details were held in the lift truck division was also a Caterpillar equipment customer. With a single ledger and a unified chart of accounts, we can easily see who buys what, and whether there may be additional services we could offer that customer. Similarly, we can use financial data to examine the patterns of spend by each customer, helping us and them understand their expenses, and enabling us to offer them better services in future.”

Selecting a cloud deployment for SAP S/4HANA, enabled by IBM Services, positions CTE for a future based on information advantage.

—Matt Nazzaro, VP and CFO, CTE

SAP S/4HANA helps build the next capabilities

In the past, many apparently simple tasks were relatively complex, requiring manual consolidation and merging of data across divisions. Reports that relied on multiple data sources would require continuous updates. By introducing SAP S/4HANA, not only has Caterpillar CAT enabled consistent, rapid reporting from a single data source, but the background report maintenance workload has also been removed. Additionally, users much prefer the tile-based SAP Fiori interface, giving them easy access to modern applications.

With assistance from IBM Services, CTE now plans to extend the solution with data security, materials management and profitability analysis applications, starting the journey towards the predictive analytics that will drive customer loyalty.

“The SAP S/4HANA solution delivered by IBM Services, positions CTE to defend its strong market position,” continues Matt Nazzaro. “IBM Services has helped CTE to deploy an SAP S/4HANA solution that can easily meet rising workload and support additional functionality, making us a highly responsive, data-enabled company. With the new solutions, CTE can take advantage of a host of exciting new capabilities, including IBM Watson®, and exploit huge reserves of data at our disposal."

Matt Nazzaro concludes, “Ultimately, as we extend SAP S/4HANA to link financial to operational and product data, CTE will be able to draw deeper insights and form new conclusions, helping our customers gain the maximum value from their investments. IBM Services is a central part of CTE’s journey to becoming a data-driven, digitally enabled business.”

business logo

About CTE

Founded in 1926, CTE made a commitment to support the growth of North Carolina by supplying and supporting Caterpillar equipment to the construction, road-building, utility and mining industries. More than 90 years later, CTE has served the equipment needs of the Carolinas. In addition to offering a full line of construction, forestry and paving products, the company also offers a complete line of material handling equipment, engineered systems, truck engines and power generation systems as well as superior product support.

Take the Next Step

To learn more about IBM Migration and Consulting Services for SAP S/4HANA, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: ibm.com/services/sap/s4hana

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Services