BRED Banque Populaire
为不断增长的 100 万客户群体提供值得信赖的银行服务
了解更多信息
一位女子正在喝茶,面前摆放着笔记本电脑

BRED 是一家与当地关系密切的社区银行,旨在为所有人提供便捷的银行服务,在所有渠道为客户提供同等水平的卓越服务。为了继续扩大其百万客户群,BRED 部署了 IBM Storage 和 IBM Z,以提高基本银行系统的性能和可靠性。

业务挑战

BRED 正在赢得法国和海外的新客户。为了在不影响服务质量的情况下继续发展,公司希望更新其 IT 基础设施。

变革

借助基于 IBM Storage 和 IBM Z 技术的现代化企业服务器环境,BRED 实现了更快速的服务响应,并确保能够处理不断增加的交易量。

结果 5:1
的平均存储压缩率可降低成本,为增长腾出空间
备份窗口可减少长达 60%
有助于实现卓越的服务连续性
通过
扫清采用云技术的障碍,为 BRED 的未来提供更多选择
业务挑战案例
为变革做准备

如今的消费者希望按照自己的意愿来办理银行业务。这意味着他们一方面可以随时随地通过移动设备办理业务,同时还能保持将客户与银行的紧密联系。为此,BRED 正在重塑自身,通过数字渠道取悦客户,同时继续专注于与客户建立深厚的关系。

为做好转型准备,BRED 对其 IT 基础设施进行了评估,以确保其性能、效率和可扩展性能够将银行带入新时代并保持增长。银行决定,为了满足当前和未来的要求,是时候进行变革了。

BRED 服务器、虚拟化、存储、开放式和大型机部门的 Christophe Boulanger 解释道:“我们 IT 运营的核心是由虚拟磁带解决方案 [VTS] 支持的 IBM Z 服务器。该磁带库已使用近五年,并显示出过时的迹象。随着对环境需求的增加,我们发现性能下降,备份过程越来越长,这增加了对客户服务产生负面影响的风险。”

BRED IT 团队设定了一个目标:选择面向未来的基础设施,提供更好的性能、更短的备份窗口并提供内置的可扩展性。而且,从长远来看,该团队希望为云战略奠定基础。Boulanger 表示:“我们希望未来能够将数据归档到云环境,因此需要一个新的 IT 解决方案来支持这一选项。”

 

“IBM TS7760 的平均压缩比为 5:1,本来我们预期的压缩比是 3:1,这真是让人喜出望外的结果。我们释放了存储容量,降低了每 TB 的成本,并为我们自己提供了未来三年的增长空间。” Christophe Boulanger 服务器、虚拟化、存储、开放式和大型机部门 BRED
变革案例
携手共创辉煌

为了支持下一阶段的发展,BRED 选择了基于IBM TS7760 且具有透明云分层功能的虚拟磁带解决方案。与此同时,该银行选择将其 IBM z12 服务器升级到新一代 IBM® z14

Boulanger 指出:“我们选择 IBM 是因为他们提供了市场上最好的虚拟磁带解决方案。IBM 团队提供了许多来自其他银行客户的令人信服的参考资料,因此我们知道具有类似需求的公司,已经检验和测试过该技术。同样,我们对 IBM 存储技术的耐用性和不断发展充满信心。最重要的是,这一决定使我们能够将整个环境整合到一家供应商。”

BRED 与 IBM 团队密切合作,在三个站点的高可用性配置中部署了三个 IBM TS7760 系统。数据在复制到备份站点之前,会在两个生产站点之间同步复制。

Boulanger 说道:“由于我们在 VTS 更新的同时转向新一代 IBM Z 服务器,因此这属于非常重大的项目。在 IBM 的帮助下,一切都进行得很顺利,IBM 降低了每一步的风险。与 IBM 合作的一大优势是可以获得当地资源。在整个项目中,我们都有来自法国的同一位专家在现场,这让整个过程变得更加轻松。”

我们正在密切关注 IBM 云产品的发展。令人欣慰的是,我们拥有支持云战略的技术。我们可以自由选择是否以及何时采取下一步行动 Christophe Boulanger 服务器、虚拟化、存储、开放式和大型机部门 BRED
案例成果
迎接更加光明的未来

现在,BRED 可以继续专注于扩大其在法国和更远地区的客户群,并确信其新的 IBM 基础设施能够提供满足增长需要的容量,并可轻松扩展。通过使用集成存储压缩,该银行正在提高资源利用率,以实现更好的投资回报。

Boulanger 表示:“IBM TS7760 的平均压缩比为 5:1,本来我们预期的压缩比是 3:1,这真是让人喜出望外的结果。我们释放了存储容量,降低了每 TB 的成本,并为我们自己提供了未来三年的增长空间。”

通过选择 IBM 技术,BRED 实现了更新 IT 基础设施的性能目标。该银行利用功能强大的 IBM 系统为客户提供响应迅速的服务,并加快备份流程。

Boulanger 解释说:“我们的目标是将备份窗口缩短 3 小时,借助 IBM Storage 技术,我们实现了这一目标,减少了 60%。我们的 IBM 虚拟磁带解决方案非常可靠,可提供始终如一的高性能,我们甚至还未充分挖掘这项技术的最大潜力。”

BRED 可以深入了解其 IT 基础设施,更容易获得供应商的支持。Boulanger 补充道:“现在,我们的管理员对虚拟磁带环境有了更高的可视性,从而能够持续优化性能。如果出了问题,需要面对三个不同供应商这一挑战,现在不会再出现了。现在如果需要帮助,我们可以向 IBM 支持提出单一请求,并且他们每次都会快速响应。”

该银行正在利用与 IBM 的关系,充分利用其新基础设施的潜力,并调整其长期技术战略。具体来说,BRED 正在探索利用 IBM T7760 系统内置的透明云分层功能将数据存档到云中的可能性。

Boulanger 总结道:“我们正在密切关注 IBM 云产品的发展。令人欣慰的是,我们拥有支持云战略的技术。我们可以自由选择是否以及何时采取下一步行动。”

BRED 徽标
BRED Banque Populaire

BRED(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家合作型人民银行,拥有 200,000 名用户、49 亿欧元的股本和 6,000 名员工。BRED 在法国拥有 400 个营业网点,与 100 多万客户保持着长期合作关系。作为 BPCE 集团的一部分,BRED Banque Populaire 在多个领域开展业务:零售银行业务、面向大型公司和机构投资者的企业银行业务、财富管理、国际银行业务、资产管理、贸易、保险和国际贸易融资。

 

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM Storage 或 IBM Z 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问: ibm.com/storage ibm.com/z

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Systems Hardware 的更多信息

查看法语 PDF
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2020 年 6 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Z、IBM z14 以及 z/OS 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml 的 “Copyright and trademark information” 部分包含最新的 IBM 商标列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

可能会报告未压缩和压缩数据的实际可用存储容量,并且会有所不同,并且可能会小于规定的容量。

Business challenge

BRED is winning new clients in France and overseas. To continue to grow without any impact on service quality, the company looked to refresh its IT infrastructure.

Transformation

With a modernized enterprise server landscape based on IBM Storage and IBM Z technology, BRED enabled more responsive service and ensured it can handle rising numbers of transactions. 

Results

5:1

average storage compression rate reduces costs and frees up headroom for growth

Up to 60%

decrease in backup windows helps to enable superb service continuity

Clears

the path to cloud adoption, giving BRED more options for the future

Business challenge story

Preparing for change

Today’s consumers want to bank on their own terms. That means anywhere, anytime through mobile devices, while keeping the human relationship that binds customers to banks for life. In response, BRED is reinventing itself to delight clients through digital channels, while retaining its focus on building deep relationships with its customers.

To prepare for this transformation, BRED evaluated its IT infrastructure to verify that it could provide the performance, efficiency and scalability to take the bank into a new era and sustain growth. The bank decided that, in order to meet current and future requirements, it was time for a change.

Christophe Boulanger, Servers, Virtualization, Storage, Open & Mainframe, BRED, explains: “At the center of our IT operations is an IBM Z server landscape supported by a virtual tape solution [VTS]. The tape library was almost five years old and it was showing signs of obsolescence. As demand on the environment increased, we were seeing performance decline and backup processes growing longer, which increased the risk of negative impact on our service to clients.”

The BRED IT team set a target: select future-proof infrastructure that offers better performance, enables shorter backup windows and provides built-in scalability. And, thinking long-term, the team wanted to lay the foundations for a cloud strategy. Boulanger comments: “As we want to keep open the possibility of archiving data to the cloud in the future, we needed a new IT solution that would support this option.”

Our average compression ratio on the IBM TS7760 is 5:1 – we were expecting it to be 3:1, so this is a really impressive outcome. We have freed up storage capacity, driving down the cost per TB and giving ourselves space to grow over the next three years.

Christophe Boulanger, Servers, Virtualization, Storage, Open & Mainframe, BRED

Transformation story

Partnering for success

To support the next phase in its evolution, BRED selected a virtual tape solution based on IBM TS7760 featuring Transparent Cloud Tiering. At the same time, the bank opted to upgrade its IBM z12 server to the IBM z14® generation. 

“We chose IBM because they offered the best virtual tape solution on the market,” says Boulanger. “The IBM team presented many compelling references from other banking clients, so we knew that the technology was tried and tested by companies with similar demands. Equally, we had confidence in the durability and ongoing evolution of the IBM storage technology. Above all, the decision allowed us to consolidate to a single vendor for the entire landscape.”

BRED worked closely with the IBM team to deploy three IBM TS7760 systems in a high-availability configuration across three sites. Data is synchronously replicated between the two production sites before being replicated to the backup site.

“Since we were moving to a new generation of IBM Z server at the same time as the VTS refresh, this was a major project,” remarks Boulanger. “With help from IBM, it all went very smoothly, with IBM mitigating risk every step of the way. One of the big advantages of working with IBM is the access to local resources – we had the same expert from France on-site throughout the project, making the process much easier.” 

We are closely following the evolution of IBM’s cloud offerings. It’s reassuring to know that we have the technology in place to support a cloud strategy. We are free to choose if and when we will make the next move

Christophe Boulanger, Servers, Virtualization, Storage, Open & Mainframe, BRED

Results story

Banking on a bright future

BRED can now resume its focus on extending its client base both in France and further afield, confident that its new IBM infrastructure offers the capacity and easy scaling to accommodate growth. Using integrated storage compression, the bank is boosting utilization of resources to enable better returns on its investments.

“Our average compression ratio on the IBM TS7760 is 5:1 – we were expecting it to be 3:1, so this is a really impressive outcome,” says Boulanger. “We have freed up storage capacity, driving down the cost per TB and giving ourselves space to grow over the next three years.”

In choosing IBM technology, BRED achieved its performance goals for the refreshed IT infrastructure. The bank uses the powerful IBM systems to deliver responsive services to clients and accelerate backup processes.  

“We targeted a three-hour decrease in backup windows, and with IBM Storage technology we achieved that, representing a reduction of 60 percent,” explains Boulanger. “Our IBM virtual tape solution is very reliable, offering consistently high performance, and we’re not even pushing the technology anywhere near its limits yet.”

BRED benefits from deep insight into its IT infrastructure and easier access to vendor support. Boulanger adds: “Our administrators now have much greater visibility of our virtual tape environment, allowing them to optimize performance on an ongoing basis. If something does go wrong, we no longer have to deal with the challenges of three different vendors. Instead, we can raise a single ticket with IBM support if we need help and they respond fast, each and every time.”

The bank is drawing on its relationship with IBM to utilize its new infrastructure to its full potential and to fine-tune its long-term technology strategy. Specifically, BRED is exploring the possibility of data archival to the cloud using the Transparent Cloud Tiering feature built into the IBM T7760 system. 

Boulanger concludes: “We are closely following the evolution of IBM’s cloud offerings. It’s reassuring to know that we have the technology in place to support a cloud strategy. We are free to choose if and when we will make the next move.”

business logo

About BRED Banque Populaire

BRED is a cooperative people’s bank, supported by its 200,000 members, €4.9bn in equity and 6,000 employees. BRED has a network of 400 business sites in France and maintains a long-term relationship with more than one million customers. As part of the BPCE Group, BRED Banque Populaire operates in various sectors: retail banking, corporate banking for large-cap companies and institutional investors, wealth management, international banking, asset management, trading, insurance, and international trade financing. 

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Storage or IBM Z, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit: ibm.com/storage and ibm.com/z

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Hardware