Bendigo and Adelaide Bank
利用基于 IBM UrbanCode 软件和 IBM Cloud 平台的 DevOps 提高敏捷性

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank 部署了基于 IBM® UrbanCode 软件和 IBM Cloud 平台的 DevOps 解决方案,以改善开发治理,实现开发流程自动化,并更快地上线新应用程序和服务。

业务挑战

为了更敏捷地部署新应用程序和客户服务,Bendigo and Adelaide Bank 寻求将以前的手动流程自动化,并将应用程序交付转变为云端模式。

变革

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank 应用 IBM UrbanCode 软件和 IBM Cloud 平台实现开发流程自动化,并更快地上线新应用程序和服务。

结果 减少 98%
部署新应用程序环境所需的时间
提高 IT 部门的能力
快速调整以满足内外部客户的新要求
简化应用程序交付
通过增强开发和测试流程的可见性和自动化
业务挑战案例
适应敏捷文化

在解释他的公司如何采用与大型竞争对手不同的银行业务方法时,Bendigo Adelaide Bank 的开发者兼 DevOps 工程师 Daniel Corboy 说道:“我们喜欢打破常规。我们以区域和社区为重点开展运营。我们秉承敏捷开发理念,快速交付代码和服务,同时注重建立可靠且易于管理的开发周期。”

这家银行要求新应用程序在几分钟内部署完毕,并且要求更快地交付新环境,而不是通常需要的五周时间。“我们银行的客户希望立即获得服务,而且他们通常希望通过智能手机或设备进行访问。我们遇到了严重的交付时间问题,无法跟上竞争对手的步伐。”Corboy 说:“我们的流程臃肿,因此一直在寻找不同的运作方式,以便更快地响应内部和外部客户的需求。我认为,任何在像 Bendigo and Adelaide Bank 这样规模的公司中运作的 IT 团队都会经历与交付时间和环境管理相关的痛苦。我相信,我们不是唯一一家通过成千上万电子表格来管理整个组织中无数流程的公司。”

通过使用 UrbanCode Deploy 和云技术(如 IBM Cloud Platform),我们可以颠覆传统的做法,这主要是因为我们能够敏捷地交付和进行调整。 Daniel Corboy 开发人员和 DevOps 工程师 Bendigo and Adelaide Bank
变革案例
利用 DevOps 加快步伐

为了简化开发环境的治理并提高其可见性,Bendigo and Adelaide Bank 在 IBM Cloud 平台上实施了 IBM UrbanCode Deploy 软件。

在 DevOps 方面,Corboy 的团队与银行的 IT 服务管理小组合作,以利用后者为实现基础设施构建自动化而实施的 UrbanCode Deploy 软件。“我们一眼就看中了 UrbanCode Deploy,它完全符合我们的需求。它与我们现有的工具链完美匹配,因此我们很容易作出决定。”他说。UrbanCode 软件有助于对开发流程进行管理与追踪,同时还提供了重要的自动化功能。Corboy 说:“我们从流程中消除了很多手动干预。UrbanCode 让我们以前使用电子表格和纸张管理的许多分步流程实现了自动化。”

银行还利用 IBM Cloud 平台支持其开发团队的工作方式发生根本性变革。“我们对内部的每一条规则提出质疑,以了解哪些规则真正合理。IBM Cloud 平台与该方法非常契合,因为它让我们能够快速交付、进行测试,并很快知道我们的想法是否可行。”Corboy 说:“我们不必等待数月才能启动基础设施。我们将解决方案交到用户手中,获取他们的反馈意见,反复迭代并做出必要的调整。”

Corboy 的团队与 IBM Garage 合作,后者是 IBM 旗下的一家咨询机构,致力于与公司合作加快定制解决方案的设计。“这是我们在 IBM Cloud 平台上的首次实施,我们在三个月内就将其投入生产,它还内置了新的安全模式。”

案例成果
更快取得成果

新获得的能力让应用程序可以在几分钟内部署完毕,全环境部署时间从五周缩短到半天,Corboy 发现他的部门与其内部客户(银行的业务部门)之间的关系有了明显改善。“企业主动来找我们,我们不要求他们投入大量资金和时间来推出功能全面的新服务。我们逐步提供经过全面测试的服务,他们很快就能从中获益。”

此外,与以前相比,Corboy 的团队现在能为更多的内部部门提供服务。“一些原本会被 IT 部门忽视的业务领域 - 不是故意的,而是因为我们能力不够 - 现在也能看到相关客户开始受益。”Corboy 认为,IBM Cloud 平台是支持这种敏捷性和高效交付的理想选择。“各地的利润空间都在缩小,能够在不需要大量资本支出的情况下快速、渐进地提供关键服务对每个人都有好处。”

Corboy 说:“通过使用 UrbanCode Deploy 和云技术(如 IBM Cloud 平台),我们可以颠覆传统的做法,这主要是因为我们能够敏捷地交付和进行调整。我们可以快速提供解决方案,如果解决方案不合适,我们也能够快速调整,改用更能满足业务要求的方案。”

图像
Bendigo and Adelaide Bank

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank 是澳大利亚第五大零售银行,拥有超过 7,200 名员工和 160 万名客户。该公司由 Bendigo Bank 和 Adelaide Bank 于 2007 年 11 月合并而成。银行总部位于本迪戈市,管理的资产超过 657 亿美元,市值约为 46 亿美元。

采取后续步骤

要了解有关 IBM UrbanCode 软件、IBM Cloud 平台或 IBM Garage 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 营销代表或 IBM 合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:


查看更多 IBM 客户案例

脚注

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017. IBM® Cloud – Middleware, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504 美国出品,2017 年 11 月。IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、UrbanCode 和 Bluemix 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法管辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://ibm.com/legal/copytrade。本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。关于 IBM 未来方向、意向的声明仅仅表示了目标和意愿而已,可能会随时更改或撤销,恕不另行通知。

Business challenge

To be more agile in new applications and customer services deployment, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank sought to automate previously manual processes and transform application delivery in the cloud.

Transformation

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank applied IBM UrbanCode software and the IBM Cloud platform to automate development processes and bring new applications and services online more quickly.

Results

98% reduction

in time required to deploy new application environments

Increases IT department ability

to quickly adapt to meet new internal and external customer requirements

Streamlines application delivery

by enhancing visibility into, and automating, development and testing processes

Business challenge story

​Adapting to an agile culture

“We like to disrupt a bit,” says Daniel Corboy, developer and DevOps engineer at Bendigo Adelaide Bank, as he explains how his company takes a different approach to banking than its larger competitors. “We operate with a strong regional and community focus and we’ve set ourselves up to be agile, delivering code and services quickly, but just as importantly, establishing a reliable and easy-to-manage development cycle.”

The bank needed new applications deployed in minutes and new environments delivered much more quickly than the five weeks it typically took. “Our bank’s customers want their services now and they typically want access from their smartphone or device. We had significant issues with delivering in a timely manner and keeping pace with our competition,” says Corboy. “We ended up with process bloat and were looking for ways to operate differently and respond to our customers – both internal and external - more quickly. I think any IT group operating in a company the size of Bendigo and Adelaide Bank experiences pain associated with delivery times and the management of environments. I’m sure we’re not the only organization with thousands of spreadsheets managing enumerable processes throughout the organization.”

UrbanCode Deploy and cloud technologies, like IBM Cloud platform, allow us to disrupt, mainly due to the agility we’re able to deliver and pivot on.

—Daniel Corboy,Developer and DevOps Engineer,Bendigo and Adelaide Bank

Transformation story

​Moving faster with DevOps

In order to ease and streamline the governance of, and increase visibility into, its development environment, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank implemented IBM UrbanCode Deploy software on the IBM Cloud platform.

On the DevOps side, Corboy’s team piggybacked on an UrbanCode Deploy software implementation already underway with the bank’s IT service management group, which was seeking to automate infrastructure builds. “We took one look at UrbanCode Deploy and saw that it suited our needs perfectly. It paired really well with our existing tool chain and made the decision easy,” he says. The UrbanCode software facilitates the governance and traceability of development processes, and provides critical automation. “We’ve removed a lot of the manual intervention from our process,” says Corboy. “UrbanCode automates so much of the step-by-step processes that we previously managed with spreadsheets and paper.”

The bank also tapped the IBM Cloud platform to support a fundamental change in the way its development teams approached their work. “We challenged every rule we had internally to see which ones actually made sense. The IBM Cloud platform fit hand-in-hand with that approach, because we could deliver quickly, test things and know very quickly if we had something good on our hands,” says Corboy. “We didn’t have to wait months for infrastructure to be spun up. We got the solutions in the hands of our users, got their feedback, iterated and made the necessary adjustments.”

Corboy’s team worked with IBM Cloud Garage, an IBM consultancy group that partners with companies to accelerate the design of custom solutions. “This was our first implementation on the IBM Cloud platform, and we were able to bring it to production within three months, with new security patterns built in.”
 

Results story

Delivering results quicker

With the newfound ability to deploy applications in minutes and reduce full environment deployment times from five weeks to a half-day, Corboy sees a marked improvement in the relationship between his department and its internal customers—the bank’s business units. “The business is coming to us and we’re not asking them for a significant amount of money and time to deliver a full-blown new service. We’re delivering fully tested services incrementally, and they realize the benefits quickly.”

Additionally, Corboy’s team is servicing more internal departments than it was able to previously. “Some areas of the business that would have been neglected by IT—not deliberately, but because we didn’t have the capacity—are now seeing benefits flow to their particular customers.” According to Corboy, the IBM Cloud platform is ideal for supporting such agility and streamlined delivery. “Margins are smaller everywhere and the ability to deliver critical services quickly and incrementally without a massive capital outlay is a benefit to everyone.”

“UrbanCode Deploy and cloud technologies, like IBM Cloud platform, allow us to disrupt, mainly due to the agility we’re able to deliver and pivot on,” says Corboy. “We can deliver solutions quickly, and if that solution isn’t right, we’re able to adapt quickly and change to something which better meets the business requirements.”
 

business logo

About Bendigo and Adelaide Bank

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank is Australia’s fifth largest retail bank, with more than 7,200 staff and 1.6 million customers. The company was formed by the merger of Bendigo Bank and Adelaide Bank in November 2007. With its national headquarters in the city of Bendigo the bank has assets under management of more than $65.7 billion and market capitalization of around $4.6 billion.

Solution components

  • IBM Bluemix Garage
  • UrbanCode Deploy
  • UrbanCode Deploy on Cloud

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM UrbanCode software, the IBM Cloud platform, or the IBM Cloud Garage, please contact your IBM marketing representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following websites:


View more IBM client stories