减少销售团队的流程摩擦,助推收入增长
Asian Paints 部署自动化,简化和加快执行贸易促销活动

在印度,共同的视觉线索贯穿几乎每个生活领域:令人眼花缭乱的大胆、鲜艳色彩。这体现在衣服面料、街上的标牌,甚至在全国各地的众多美食中。在春天的洒红节上,这种对色彩的热爱可能表现得最为强烈。洒红节是对色彩的真正庆祝,当油漆和粉末染料飞舞时,一场俏皮但无拘无束的色彩狂欢达到高潮。

如果颜色是印度的一种语言,它所传达的信息就是繁荣、欢乐和美丽。不足为奇,这种通过颜色表达的本能正在印度家庭的墙壁上留下印记,尤其是快速增长的中产阶级。在这场色彩风潮中,Asian Paints 脱颖而出,不仅是因为其涂料,还在于其大胆的策略。

如今,这家总部位于孟买的公司是印度领先的涂料制造商,在全球顶级涂料公司中排名第七,在亚洲排名第二。尽管许多因素促成了其当前的市场优势,但产生最大影响的因素在于其愿意接受大胆的策略,并因此获得丰厚的回报。例如,Asian Paints 是印度第一家使用技术(当时是超级计算机)来更好地理解需求模式并做出反应的公司。

但真正让 Asian Paints 脱颖而出的是其开创性、颠覆性的分销策略,將其产品直接从制造工厂转移到经销商。尽管这种方法在物流和配送方面面临种种挑战,但使公司更接近其渠道合作伙伴,并建立了其经销商网络(现在约有 60,000 多家),成为其战略支柱和增长的关键。

最近,Asian Paints 开启了从涂料到装饰的重大转型之旅,旨在将自身从涂料产品和服务公司转型为更多元化的家居装饰解决方案(包括卫浴设备、厨房、织物、壁纸、地毯、家具、陈设和照明)提供商。对于该公司的最高业务和 IT 领导者来说,这一转变是战略的自然演变,进一步扩大了其装饰业务覆盖面,并使其收入来源多元化。

但他们也意识到,这给公司以经销商为中心的分销战略带来了一系列新的挑战和机遇。其中一个关键机会是可简化旨在增加收入的贸易促销活动的执行。该公司经扩展的新产品组合可能会使促销流程复杂化,从而可能抑制增长。对于 Asian Paints 来说,这正是需要 IT 部门和业务部门共同解决的问题。

我们意识到,更广泛的产品范围会极大地改变客户参与的长度、深度和广度,使其变得更加复杂。在这种情况下,我们发现,引入自动化来简化现场销售团队流程是强有力的商业案例。 Deepak Bhosale General Manager of IT Asian Paints Limited
通过自动化简化销售流程

作为 IT 总经理,Deepak Bhosale 监督了一系列技术驱动的转型项目,包括将分析全面纳入业务决策。如今,随着向家居装饰领域的转变,当务之急是简化和加快现场销售团队和经销商的销售流程。“我们意识到,更广泛的产品范围会极大地改变客户参与的长度、深度和广度,使其变得更加复杂,”Bhosale 先生解释道。“在这种情况下,我们发现,引入自动化来简化现场销售团队流程是强有力的商业案例。”

控制经销商订单的一些最重要因素是各种产品的折扣和激励,通常称为计划,而这些计划又基于历史订购活动、季节性变量和经销商信用历史等参数。作为定期销售计划的一部分,该公司推出了多个此类计划来推动销售。在传统流程下,经销商通过电话或集中联络中心联系其内部销售代表并提供订购“愿望清单”。在此基础上,代表或联络中心代理开始从多个系统、电子表格和其他手动来源收集经销商的数据,以根据计划目标评估业绩。然后,流程可能需要几个小时,有时甚至超过一天,经销商才会下订单。

Bhosale 先生和他的团队意识到,促销和折扣计算基于规则的性质使其成为自动化的理想用例。为了解决剩下的关键问题(具体的技术选项),他们利用了与  IBM Consulting™ 的长期合作关系。“十多年来,IBM 一直是我们的合作伙伴,并在我们转型之旅的每个阶段为我们提供支持,”他说。“IBM 的业绩记录及其在流程自动化领域的思想领导力,使我们对他们提出的方法高度信任。”

我们意识到需要不断敏捷地适应变化。在文化上,业务和 IT 团队之间以及与 IBM 等合作伙伴之间一直存在密切合作,这使得快速适应成为可能。 Deepak Bhosale General Manager of IT Asian Paints Limited
流程自动化为经销商提供服务

他们选择的方法基于  IBM® Operations Decision Manager (ODM),这 是 IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation  解决方案的一个元素,用于优化基于规则的业务决策。按照设计,该项目是一次共同创造的活动, IBM 实验室服务 团队负责部署解决方案并开发初始业务逻辑,而 Asian Paints 人员则负责优化和进一步增强该解决方案。推动业务规则的销售数据来自 Asian Paints 的 SAP S/4HANA ERP 系统。

当销售团队登录到新的基于门户的解决方案时,他们能够看到 ODM 模型为每个经销商自动计算的折扣和促销方案。利用相同的基础模型和数据,他们还能够提出订购的产品组合,从而最大限度地提高经销商的收入和降低他们的成本。“这种速度和效率在传统订购流程中简直是不可想象的,”Asian Paints 系统副总经理、该项目的关键人物 Akhil Gupta 说道。“这是一个强有力的示例,可说明由企业数据推动的业务自动化如何能够提供显著提升的体验,并同时为组织及其经销商推动关键业务成果。”

Gupta 先生补充道,这涉及到对于 Asian Paints 最重要的经销商网络来说,什么才是最重要的问题。“无论是油漆店还是装饰公司,我们的经销商都希望将时间和精力集中在向客户销售产品,而不是‘开销’活动上,”他解释道。“因此,从大局来看,让他们的生活更轻松、流程更高效对我们来说具有高度战略意义,因为这有助于我们的共同成长。”

降低税务复杂性

当 Asian Paints 团队寻找基于规则的流程自动化的下一个重要用例时,他们在财务部门找到了可行备选方案:即,与印度商品和服务税 (GST) 相关的纳税,该框架于 2017 年首次实施。例如,假设经销商下达了购买油漆的订单。作为交易中的卖方,Asian Paints 不仅要计算经销商产生的税款,还要代表经销商向印度政府缴纳税款。然后将该金额添加到发送给经销商的发票中。同样,在采购时,Asian Paints 需要确保正确计算和核算商品及服务税,以便能够完全申请商品及服务税进项税抵免,从而将净纳税义务保持在正确的水平。

在称为税务对账的流程中出现痛点,这是一个乏味且耗时的阶段,在此阶段,买方将其采购/发票预订数据与供应商提交的商品及服务税申报表进行比较,以确保其税务计算基于正确的信息。对于Asian Paints 来说,最坏的情况是,采购发票可能无法获得,或者即使有,也可能会错误地载列纳税义务,直到发现时为时已晚。这可能导致 Asian Paints 向政府缴纳超额税款甚或遭受罚款。“在受益于基于自动化的决策优化方面,商品及服务税对账符合所有条件,”Gupta 先生说。

运用 ODM 业务规则,Asian Paints 的 IT 团队和 IBM 实验室服务团队共同创建了一种决策工具,该工具可以自动从 Asian Paints 的 ERP 系统中检索采购发票数据,并将其与供应商提交的商品及服务税申报表进行比较。当发现发票不匹配时,ODM 会发出警报,标记发票以供审查,最重要的是,会在供应商发票处理平台上阻止其付款,该平台使用  IBM Business Automation Workflow  解决方案在内部构建,此解决方案是 IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 的另一个组成部分。防止供应商出现税务问题是 Asian Paints 让供应商生活更轻松的一种方式,从而可增强他们的忠诚度和合作伙伴关系。

但正如 Bhosale 先生指出的那样,GST 工具还展示了自动化对内部效率的好处。“传统的手动 GST 发票匹配需要长达四天的时间,而这相当于每天数千笔交易,”他解释道。“通过基于规则的协调和自动化,我们能够将时间缩短到一天,从而节省大量时间和成本。”

适应性和灵活性是增长的关键

经过近十年的发展,Asian Paints 已将业务扩展到更多装饰领域(最近增加的产品是装饰照明灯具),并取得了令人瞩目的成就。在幕后,该公司的数字化转型不断进行,自动化正是这一努力的核心。Bhosale 先生和他的团队与业务部门合作,继续定义新的用例,并采用务实、敏捷的方法进行构建。“一旦我们就优先事项达成一致,我们就会采用敏捷方法,通过快速概念验证来测试价值,”他说。“如果有效,我们会将其扩展到我们的整个企业。”

通过这两项同时开展的转型,Asian Paints 有望实现更快增长,并在印度蓬勃发展的家居装饰支出中获得更大的份额。当被问及他的公司成功是否有秘诀时,Bhosale 先生简单概括:“我们意识到需要不断敏捷地适应变化,”他解释道。 “在文化上,业务和 IT 团队之间以及与 IBM 等合作伙伴之间一直存在密切合作,这使得快速适应成为可能。”

Asian Paints 徽标
关于 Asian Paints Limited

Asian Paints(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)总部位于孟买,是印度领先的油漆和装饰公司,在全球顶级涂料公司中排名第七。Asian Paints 及其子公司在全球 15 个国家/地区开展业务,拥有 27 个涂料制造工厂,通过 Asian Paints、Apco Coatings、Asian Paints Berger、Asian Paints Causeway、SCIB Paints、Taubmans 和 Kadisco Asian Paints 为中东、南太平洋、非洲和亚洲 60 多个国家/地区的消费者提供服务。Asian Paints 还提供各种家居装饰产品,是印度家居装修和装饰领域新兴的强大参与者。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看案例研究 PDF (672 KB) 查看更多案例故事 英国国家医疗服务系统血液和移植协会
利用 IBM 业务流程软件最大限度地提高患者疗效
阅读成功案例
Brownells Inc.
利用 IBM Operational Decision Manager 软件自动执行业务规则,改善客户服务
阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2023 年 2 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、IBM Cloud Pak 和 IBM Consulting 是 International Business Machines Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 ibm.com/trademark 上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。无法提供通用的预期结果,因为每个客户的结果将完全取决于客户的系统和订购的服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Cutting process friction for sales teams to help drive revenue growth
Asian Paints deploys automation to simplify and speed up trade promotion execution

There’s a common visual thread woven through practically every sphere of life in India: bold, dizzyingly vibrant color. It’s in the fabric of its clothing, the signage on the street and even in the multitude of cuisines across the country. And it’s seen, perhaps most intensely, in the springtime festival of Holi, a literal celebration of color that culminates in a playful but no-holds-barred color fight when paints and powdered dyes fly.

If color is a kind of language in India, its message is one of exuberance, joy and beauty. Not surprisingly, that same instinct to express through color is leaving a mark on the walls of India’s households, especially among its rapidly growing middle class. Amidst this colorization boom, Asian Paints stands out—not just for its paints, but for its bold strategies.

Today, the Mumbai-based company is India’s leading paint maker, and is ranked seventh among the top coatings companies in the world and second largest in Asia. While many factors contributed to its current market ascendency, those that made the biggest difference have come from a willingness to embrace audacious strategies that have paid off. Asian Paints was, for example, the first company in India to use technology—at the time, a supercomputer—to better understand and react to demand patterns.

But what truly set Asian Paints apart was a pioneering, game-changing distribution strategy in which the product moved straight from the manufacturing facility to dealers. For all the logistical and fulfillment challenges of this approach, it got the company closer to its channel partners and established its dealer network—now some 60,000+ strong—as the strategic pillar and key to growth it remains today.

More recently, Asian Paints began a major transformation journey from paint to décor, aimed at redefining itself from a paint products and services company to a provider of more diversified home décor solutions, including bath fittings, kitchens, fabrics, wallpapers, rugs, furniture, furnishing and lighting. To the company’s top business and IT leaders, the shift was a natural evolution in strategy that further broadened its décor reach to consumers and diversified its revenue sources.

But they also recognized that it presented a new set of challenges and opportunities for the company’s dealer-centric distribution strategy. One key opportunity was streamlining the execution of trade promotions, which are designed to increase revenues. The company’s new and expanded mix of offerings threatened to complicate promotions processes, potentially restraining growth. For Asian Paints, it was exactly the kind of issue that brought IT and the lines of business together to address.

We recognize that a broader range of offerings changes the length, depth and breadth of customer engagement quite a bit, making it more complex. In that scenario, we saw a strong business case for bringing in automation to simplify those processes for our field sales teams. Deepak Bhosale General Manager of IT Asian Paints Limited
Simplifying the sales process through automation

As General Manager of IT, Deepak Bhosale had overseen a series of technology-driven transformation projects, including the widespread incorporation of analytics into business decision-making. Now, with the shift into home décor, the imperative was to streamline, simplify and speed up the sales processes for field sales teams as well as dealers. “We recognize that a broader range of offerings changes the length, depth and breadth of customer engagement quite a bit, making it more complex,” Mr. Bhosale explains. “In that scenario, we saw a strong business case for bringing in automation to simplify those processes for our sales teams.”

Some of the most important factors that govern a dealer’s order are the discounts and incentives for various products, generally referred to as schemes—which in turn are based on parameters like historical ordering activity, seasonality variables and dealer credit history. As part of periodic sales planning, multiple such schemes are rolled out to drive sales. Under the traditional process, dealers contact their internal sales rep with their ordering “wish list” by phone or at the centralized contact center. From there, the rep or the contact center agent goes about gathering that dealer’s data from multiple systems, spreadsheets and other manual sources to evaluate achievement against the scheme targets. Only then—after a process that can take hours or sometimes more than a day—does the dealer place its order.

Mr. Bhosale and his team recognized that the rules-based nature of the promotion and discount calculations made it an ideal use case for automation. To address the key remaining question—specific technology options—they tapped into their long-time association with IBM Consulting™. “IBM has been our partner for more than a decade and has supported us at every stage in our transformation journey,” he says. “IBM’s track record, along with its thought leadership in the process automation space, gave us a high level of trust in the approach they proposed.”

We recognize the need to continuously adapt to changes with agility. Culturally, there has been close collaboration between business and IT teams—and also with partners like IBM, which makes such rapid adaptation possible. Deepak Bhosale General Manager of IT Asian Paints Limited
Process automation delivers for dealers

The foundation of the approach they chose is IBM® Operational Decision Manager (ODM), an element of the IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation solution used to optimize rules-based business decisions. As designed, the project was an exercise in co-creation, with a team from IBM Lab Services deploying the solution and developing the initial business logic, and Asian Paints personnel taking over to optimize and further enhance the solution. The sales data that drives the business rules comes from Asian Paints’ SAP S/4HANA ERP system.

When sales teams log in to the new portal-based solution, they’re able to see the discount and promotional schemes that have been automatically calculated for each dealer by the ODM model. With the same underlying model and data, they are also able to propose the mix of products to order that will maximize the dealer’s revenue and minimize their costs. “That speed and efficiency was simply inconceivable under the traditional ordering process,” says Akhil Gupta, Associate General Manager of Systems at Asian Paints and a key figure in the project. “It’s a powerful example of how business automation—fueled by enterprise data—can deliver a demonstrably better experience and drive key business outcomes for the organization and its dealers simultaneously.”

And that, Mr. Gupta adds, gets to the question of what matters most to Asian Paints’ all-important dealer network. “Whether you’re a paint shop or a décor company, our dealers want to focus their time and effort on selling to their customers, not on ‘overhead’ activities,” he explains. “So in the big picture, it’s highly strategic for us to make their lives easier and their processes more efficient, because it helps their growth—and ours.”

Cutting through tax complexity

When the Asian Paints team sought the next big use case for rule-based process automation, they found a strong candidate in the finance department: specifically, tax payments related to India’s Goods & Services Tax (GST)—a framework first implemented in 2017. Say, for example, a dealer buys an order of paint. As the seller in the transaction, it’s up to Asian Paints to not only calculate the tax incurred by the dealers, but also to pay it to the Indian government on their behalf. That amount is then added on to the invoice sent to the dealers. Similarly, while making purchases, Asian Paints needs to ensure that the right calculations for GST are done and accounted, so as to enable complete claiming of GST input tax credit, thereby keeping the net tax liability at the right level.

The pain point comes in a process known as tax reconciliation, a tedious, time-consuming stage in which purchasers compare their purchases/invoice booked data with the GST returns filed by their suppliers, to ensure that their tax calculations were based on the right information. Under the worst-case scenario for Asian Paints, purchase invoices can be unavailable or, even when available, incorrectly state the tax liability—and not be discovered until it’s too late. This can cause Asian Paints to potentially pay excess tax or even penalties to the government. “In terms of benefitting from automation-based decision optimization, GST reconciliation checked all the boxes,” says Mr. Gupta.

Using ODM business rules, Asian Paints’ IT team and the IBM Lab Services team co-created a decision tool that automatically retrieves purchase invoice data from the Asian Paints’ ERP system and compares it with the GST returns filed by the suppliers. When an invoice mismatch is found, ODM issues an alert, flags the invoice for review and, most importantly, blocks its payment on the vendor invoice processing platform, which was built in-house using the IBM Business Automation Workflow solution, another component of IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation. Preventing tax headaches for suppliers is one way Asian Paints is making life easier for them, thereby strengthening their loyalty and partnership.

But as Mr. Bhosale points out, the GST tool also demonstrates the benefits of automation on internal efficiency. “Traditional, manual GST-invoice matching took as long as four days—and that’s for thousands of transactions per day,” he explains. “Through rule-based reconciliation and automation, we are able to reduce that to one day, cutting significant time and cost.”

Adaptation and agility as the key to growth

Now nearly a decade in the making, the expansion of Asian Paints into more décor domains—its most recent addition being decorative lighting fixtures—has been a high-profile success. Behind the scenes, the company’s digital transformation continues apace, and automation is front and center of the effort. Working with the lines of business, Mr. Bhosale and his team are continuing to define new use cases, and applying a pragmatic, agile approach to building them out. “Once we agree on priorities, we follow an agile approach to test value through rapid proofs of concept,” he says. “If it works, we scale it to our entire business.”

Through both of these parallel transformation efforts, Asian Paints is positioning itself to grow faster and gain a growing share of India’s burgeoning home décor spending. Asked if there’s a theme underlying his company’s success, Mr. Bhosale kept it simple: “We recognize the need to continuously adapt to changes with agility,” he explains.  “Culturally, there has been close collaboration between business and IT teams—and also with partners like IBM, which makes such rapid adaptation possible.”

    Asian Paints logo
    About Asian Paints Limited

    Based in Mumbai, Asian Paints (link resides outside of ibm.com) is India’s leading paint and décor company and ranked seventh amongst the top coatings companies in the world. Asian Paints along with its subsidiaries have operations in 15 countries across the world with 27 paint manufacturing facilities, servicing consumers in over 60 countries across Middle East, South Pacific, Africa and Asia through Asian Paints, Apco Coatings, Asian Paints Berger, Asian Paints Causeway, SCIB Paints, Taubmans and Kadisco Asian Paints. Asian Paints also offers a wide range of Home Décor products and is an emerging strong player in the home improvement and décor space in India.

    Take the next step

    To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

    View case study PDF (672 KB) View more case stories UK National Health Service Blood and Transplant
    Maximising patient outcomes with IBM business process software
    Read the case study
    Brownells Inc.
    Automating business rules to improve customer service with IBM Operational Decision Manager software
    Read the case study
    Legal

    © Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

    Produced in United States of America, February 2023.

    IBM, the IBM logo, IBM Cloud Pak, and IBM Consulting  are trademarks or registered trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation, in the United States and/or other countries. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on ibm.com/trademark.

    This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

    All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Generally expected results cannot be provided as each client's results will depend entirely on the client's systems and services ordered. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.