阿拉伯开放大学
利用数据分析,识别和帮助弱势学生
女导师帮助学生复习课桌上的材料

为了助力学生的学业成功,必须找到保持研究生和本科生积极性的方法。阿拉伯开放大学 (AOU) 使用 IBM® Watson Analytics™ 来识别哪些学生面临退学风险,并制定新举措来帮助更多学生顺利毕业。

业务挑战

AOU 希望找出学生保留率和升学率背后的关键因素,以便帮助陷入困境的学生,并增加学生数量。能否利用分析,帮助理解复杂的数据?

变革

借助 IBM Watson Analytics,AOU 可以明确学生保留率和升学率的关键驱动因素,并制定有针对性的举措,帮助陷入困境的学生重回成功的正轨。

结果 提供洞察力,
让 AOU 能够制定举措,帮助学生取得成功
帮助
提高学生保留率和升学率,创造稳定的收入
重新设计核心课程,
避免了多达 11% 的收入损失
业务挑战案例
识别有困难的学生

阿拉伯开放大学 (AOU) 在八个国家设有独立校园,是一个非常多元化的组织。该校与世界上任何地方的现代大学都面临着同样的挑战:吸引和留住学生、保持高学术标准,以及保持财务可持续性。同时,其国际化布局意味着顶层战略也需要尊重各国校园独特的文化、法律、学术和财务状况。

AOU 计算与工程学院院长兼负责信息与教育技术的副校长 Ashraf Hussein 教授解释道:“每个校区均受当地高等教育部 (MoHE) 的要求管辖,并受到不同社会经济条件和学校教育标准的影响。这意味着对学生的学业表现和成就进行全面分析,是一件具有挑战性的工作。”

Hussein 教授继续说道:“我们一直难以真正区分对学生成绩有贡献的驱动因素。因而,在制定策略帮助困难学生,并提高升学率和保留率时,我们感到挑战重重、无从下手。数据太复杂了,仅用电子表格无法理解——不仅要能看到数据本身,还要看到不同领域之间的关系、趋势以及幕后发生的事情。”

Hussein 教授认识到基于数据分析的解决方案可以提供帮助:“我决定进行一项研究,调查学生保留率和升学率背后的影响因素,但首先我需要适合这项工作的工具。”

AOU 的战略是在五年内使学生人数翻番,其中一个方面就是要提高学生的升学率和保留率。然而,由于该组织的复杂性,难以明确与学生升学率和保留率相关的关键因素。

IBM Watson Analytics 发挥了至关重要的作用,帮助我们挖掘了大量之前难以获取的数据,并揭示了有价值的洞察。 Professor Ashraf S. Hussein Dean of the Faculty of Computing and Engineering and Vice President for Information and Education Te Arab Open University
变革案例
实施数据分析解决方案

Hussein 教授开始寻找一种能够提供即时洞察力的数据分析解决方案,并且需要足够容易使用,以便将来有可能向 AOU 学生提供。

他指出:“作为 IBM 的前员工,我对 IBM 的技术和文化已经有着很好的了解,所以当我听说 IBM Watson Analytics 时,我认为它非常适合。它的点击式界面比我们考虑的其他解决方案使用起来要简单得多,并且它具有其他解决方案所没有的内置预测分析功能。更重要的是,我测试了预测分析的准确性,得分非常高。实施这一方案的决策是很容易做出的。”

IBM Watson Analytics 是一项智能数据发现服务,可引导数据探索,自动进行预测分析,并能轻松创建仪表盘和信息图表,使用户能够毫不费力地获得洞察力并分享发现。

“IBM Watson Analytics 集中一处提供大量功能,而大多数其他解决方案更像是一组独立的工具,必须不断切换,”Hussein 教授指出。“在平台上协作和共享数据也非常容易;例如,我们使用“专家故事书”功能快速构建交互式演示文稿来分享发现。”

有了 IBM 解决方案,Hussein 教授就拥有了研究学生保留率和升学率背后驱动因素的工具(升学率定义为学生完成课程的速度)。

“首先,我们进行了一项为期数年的研究,以了解信息技术和计算项目 (ITC) 的升学率和辍学率随时间的变化趋势,”Hussein 教授说。“我们发现,在研究过程中,学期间的辍学率有所下降,这表明我们为提高整个大学的质量标准所做的努力是有效的。我们还发现,学习较低级别课程的学生比学习高级课程的学生的辍学率要高得多,这一发现值得进一步探索。

“数据分析发现,2013 年秋季至 2017 年秋季期间,计算与工程学院的质量保证和标准的提升,使总体辍学率平均降低了 18%,同时还使每个分校实施 ITC 项目的相对效率平均提高了 10%。此外,我们已经确认科威特、巴林和埃及的教职员工(全职和兼职)与学生的比例接近最佳水平。”

“在研究的第二阶段,我们为 ITC 项目课程制定了关键学术表现指标 [KAPI],然后监测趋势并调查影响因素。例如,一个重要的 KAPI 是退学学生百分比,即退学学生占所有学生的百分比。我们发现,学生课程成绩的标准差、原籍国和课程级别,是此 KAPI 背后的重要驱动因素——同样,学习较低级别课程的人更有可能退学。”

他补充道:“IBM 的分析解决方案至关重要,使我们得以开展这些研究、识别陷入困境的学生的影响因素和警告信号。”

RESULT 案例
提高学生保留率

借助分析揭示的洞察,AOU 现在可以识别弱势学生,并制定更有针对性的举措来帮助他们,提高保留率和升学率,并增加学生数量。

Hussein 教授评论道:“借助 IBM Watson Analytics,我们能够查明关键因素,帮助我们了解学生辍学的原因,并采取措施提高保留率。

“例如,学生的原籍国是辍学率的有力指标。我们意识到,由于我们的学生来自不同国家,他们的高中教育的质量和范围可能存在很大差异。这意味着即使在低级别课程的核心课程上,有些学生也很难跟上节奏。因此,我们决定在阿曼校区提供零学分数学入门课程 IT100、IT101 和 MA100,作为 MoHE 的强制性要求,并研究这样做的效果。

“从 2013 年秋季到 2017 年秋季,我们一直在监测这一实验。分析显示,提供上述入门课程,使一级核心数学课程退学的学生比例平均相对减少了 34%,同时通过率平均相对提高了 12%。”

“结果表明,这些入门课程成功地为学生提供了在 AOU 系统中取得成功所需的基线。我们现在正通过在其他主题和/或国家,实施类似的课程来巩固这一成功。”

除了研究跨课程的 KAPI 之外,还希望深入了解个别学生的学业表现。AOU 设计了“学生风险因素”(SRF) 分数,由学生当前的 GPA、升学率和收到警告的数量组成。

Hussein 教授指出:“这个 SRF 分数可以用来识别有困难并需要支持的学生,以便大学可以在他们停止进步和退学之前进行干预。我们发现,SRF 分数背后的一个关键因素,是学生的学术资历:由于不熟悉开放教育体系,低年级学生往往在学习的早期阶段遇到困难。

“高中 GPA 在确定 SRF 方面也起着至关重要的作用,因为高中成绩中等或较差的学生会发现本科学习更具挑战性。此外,影响 SRF 的一个重要因素是就读的国家,因为不同国家的学生有着不同的学术背景和社会经济状况,以及物质资源和基础设施的多样性。”

“例如,我们在科威特、埃及、约旦、巴林和利雅得的校区都比较现代化,拥有‘智能楼宇’,而在黎巴嫩和阿曼的校区则比较陈旧,设备也不完善。我们现在正在努力升级旧建筑,为所有学生(无论他们位于哪个校园)提供良好的学习环境。

“不同国家的政治局势也对学生的学业成功产生影响,例如在约旦和黎巴嫩,有很多叙利亚难民,他们的经济状况往往使他们很难全身心投入学业。我们现在正在努力提供资金,帮助这些学生,降低其 SRF 分数,提高他们完成大学教育的机会。”

通过助力 AOU 为陷入困境的学生提供有针对性的帮助,并提高保留率,IBM 解决方案还为这所大学创造了更稳定的收入来源。

Hussein 教授说:“当学生辍学时,会对大学产生财务影响。”“通过提高保留率,我们提升了财务安全性,并有能力继续投资于更好的教育资源。这是双赢的。

“除了跟踪和分析学生的学业成绩之外,IBM Watson Analytics 还帮助我们更新了 ITC 项目,该项目上一次再验证是在 2017 年 4 月。我们的分析显示,提供仅包含三到五个学时的核心课程,会导致收入损失 6% 到 11%。因此,我们更新了该项目,仅提供四个和八个学时的核心课程,从而增加了收入,并促成了更好的学习成果。”

他总结道:“IBM Watson Analytics 起到了至关重要的作用,帮助我们挖掘了大量之前难以获取的数据,并发现了有价值的洞察。利用这些洞察来提高升学率和保留率,我们不仅为弱势学生提供了所需的支持,还确保了稳定的收入来源,让资金可以重新投入大学、进一步增强教育体验——如果不利用数据分析,就不可能实现这个良性循环。

“在大学生活各个领域,数据分析对于基于事实的决策正变得至关重要。我将 IBM Watson Analytics 视为决策伙伴,它帮助 AOU 取得了更大的学术、管理和财务成功。”

阿拉伯开放大学

阿拉伯开放大学 (AOU)(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是一个可持续发展和教育非营利项目,由 AOU 董事会主席 Talal Bin Abdul-Aziz 亲王殿下于 2002 年建立。AOU 总部位于科威特,并在黎巴嫩、约旦、沙特阿拉伯、埃及、巴林、阿曼和苏丹设有七个国家校区。根据与英国开放大学的合作协议,AOU 提供一系列以英语授课的本科和研究生学术课程。

采取下一步行动

IBM Analytics 提供世界上最深入、最广泛的分析平台、领域和行业解决方案之一,为企业、政府和个人带来新价值。欲了解有关 IBM Analytics 如何利用数据帮助行业和职业转型的更多信息,请访问 ibm.com/analytics。在 Twitter 上关注我们:@IBMAnalytics,关注我们的博客 ibm.com/blog,并加入 #IBMAnalytics 对话。

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Analytics 的更多信息

法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States.

2017 年 6 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Watson Analytics 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网址的 “Copyright and trademark information” 部分中包含了最新的 IBM 商标列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

AOU wanted to identify the key factors behind student progression and retention rates, so that it could help struggling students and boost numbers. Could analytics help make sense of the complex data?

Transformation

By harnessing IBM Watson Analytics, AOU can pinpoint key drivers of student progression and retention, and develop targeted initiatives to help struggling students get back on track for success.

Results

Delivers

insight that empowers AOU to develop initiatives that help students succeed

Helps

boost student retention and progression rates, creating stable revenue

Up to 11%

revenue loss avoided by redesigning core courses

Business challenge story

Identifying struggling students

With independent campuses across eight countries, the Arab Open University (AOU) is a very diverse organization. It faces the same challenges as any modern university, anywhere in the world: attracting and retaining students, maintaining high academic standards, and preserving financial sustainability. At the same time, its international scope means that its top-level strategies also need to respect the unique cultural, legal, academic and financial situation of each national campus.

Professor Ashraf Hussein, Dean of the Faculty of Computing and Engineering and Vice President for Information and Education Technology at AOU, explains: “Each campus is governed by its local Ministry of Higher Education (MoHE) requirements and affected by different socio-economic conditions and school education standards. This means that it’s challenging to obtain a comprehensive analysis of students’ academic performance and achievements.”

Professor Hussein continues: “We were struggling to really separate the drivers that contribute to student performance. This made it a challenge to know where to start when devising strategies to help failing students, and therefore boost progression and retention rates. The data is simply too complicated to understand using only spreadsheets—you need to be able to see not only the data itself, but the relationships between different areas, how it’s trending, and what’s going on behind the scenes.”

Professor Hussein recognized that an analytics solution could help: “I decided to do a study to investigate contributory factors behind student retention and progression rates—but first I needed the right tools for the job.”

As part of its strategy to double student numbers over five years, AOU set out to improve student progression and retention rates. However, the organization’s complexity made it difficult to identify key factors related to student progression and retention.
 

IBM Watson Analytics has been vital in enabling us to unpick a mass of previously impenetrable data and unveil valuable insights.

—Professor Ashraf S. Hussein,Dean of the Faculty of Computing and Engineering and Vice President for Information and Education Te,Arab Open University

Transformation story

Implementing an analytics solution

Professor Hussein began looking for an analytics solution that could provide instant insight, and was easy enough to use that it could potentially be made available to AOU students in the future.

He notes: “As a former IBM employee, I already had a good understanding of IBM technology and culture—so when I heard about IBM Watson Analytics, I saw that it would fit the bill. Its point-and-click format is much simpler to use than the other solutions we considered, and it has built-in predictive analytics capabilities that others don’t. What’s more, I tested the accuracy of the predictive analytics and it scored very highly. It was an easy decision to implement it.”

IBM Watson Analytics is a smart data discovery service that guides data exploration, automates predictive analytics, and enables easy dashboard and infographic creation, empowering users to effortlessly gain insight and share findings.

“IBM Watson Analytics gives you a host of capabilities in a single place, whereas most other solutions are more like a set of separate tools that you have to keep switching between,” notes Professor Hussein. “It’s also very easy to collaborate and share data on the platform; for example, we use the ‘Expert Storybooks’ feature to quickly build interactive presentations to share findings.”

With the IBM solution in place, Professor Hussein had the tools to study the drivers behind student retention and progression rates (the progression rate being defined as how quickly a student completes their course).

“To start with, we conducted a study over several years to see how progression and dropout rates trended over time for the Information Technology and Computing Program (ITC),” says Professor Hussein. “We found that the semester-to-semester dropout rate fell over the course of the study, demonstrating that our efforts to improve quality standards across the university have been effective. We also discovered that students doing lower-level courses have a much higher dropout rate than those doing more advanced courses, a finding that warrants further exploration.

“Analytics has revealed that enhancing the quality assurance and standards within the Faculty of Computing and Engineering improves the overall dropout rate by an average of 18 percent, while also enhancing the relative efficiency of each branch in administering the ITC program by an average of 10 percent, throughout the considered duration from Fall 2013 to Fall 2017. In addition, we’ve confirmed that Kuwait, Bahrain and Egypt are working close to the optimum staff (full and part-time) to student ratio.”

“In the second phase of the study, we developed key academic performance indicators [KAPIs] for ITC Program courses, and then monitored trends and investigated contributing factors. For example, one important KAPI was the percentage of withdrawn students; that is, the percentage of students who drop out of a course. We saw that the standard deviation of a student’s course results was an important driver behind this KAPI, along with their country of origin, and their course level—again, those studying lower-level courses were more likely to drop out.”

He adds: “The IBM analytics solution is vital in enabling us to run these studies, and identify the contributing factors and warning signs for struggling students.”
 

Results story

Boosting student retention rates

With the insights unveiled by analytics, AOU can now identify vulnerable students and devise more targeted initiatives to help them—increasing retention and progression rates, and boosting student numbers.

Professor Hussein comments: “Thanks to IBM Watson Analytics, we’ve been able to pinpoint key factors that help us understand why students drop out of university, and take steps to boost retention rates.

“For example, students’ country of origin was a strong indicator of drop-out rates. We realized that because our learners come from a range of different countries, the quality and scope of their high school education can vary considerably. This meant that some students struggled to keep up even on a low-level program’s core courses. As a result, we decided to examine the effect of offering the introductory zero-credit math courses IT100, IT101 and MA100 in our Oman country campus as a mandatory requirement from the MoHE.

“The experiment has been monitored throughout the considered duration from Fall 2013 to Fall 2017. The analytics has revealed that offering the aforementioned introductory courses resulted in reducing the percentage of withdrawn students from level-one core math courses relatively by an average of 34 percent while relatively increasing the pass rate by an average of 12 percent.”

“The results suggest that these introductory courses have been successful in giving students the baseline they need to succeed in the AOU system. We’re now building on that success by implementing similar courses in other topics and/or countries.”

As well as looking at KAPIs across courses, it was also desired to gain insight into the academic performance of individual students. The AOU designed a “Student Risk Factor” (SRF) score, which is composed of the student’s current GPA, progression rate, and the number of warnings received.

Professor Hussein notes: “This SRF score can be used to identify students who are struggling and need support, so that the university can intervene before they stop progressing and drop out. We discovered that one key factor behind SRF scores was the student’s academic seniority: junior students tend to struggle in the early part of their studies due to their unfamiliarity with the Open Education System.

“High school GPA also plays a crucial part in determining the SRF, since students with average and low performance in high school find their undergraduate studies more challenging. Additionally, an important factor affecting the SRF is the country people were studying in, due to the fact that students in different countries have differences in academic background and various socio-economic situations, along with diversity in physical resources and infrastructure.”

“For example, our campuses in Kuwait, Egypt, Jordan, Bahrain, and Riyadh are more modern and have ‘smart buildings’, while the ones in Lebanon and Oman are older and less well-equipped. We’re now working on upgrading our older buildings to provide an excellent learning environment for all our students, whichever campus they’re based at.

“The political situations in different countries also plays a role in students’ academic success—in Jordan and Lebanon for instance, there are a lot of Syrian refugees, whose financial situation can often make it very difficult for them to commit to their studies. We’re now working to provide funds to assist these students and help reduce their SRF scores, boosting their chances of completing a university education.”

By enabling AOU to provide targeted help to struggling students and increase retention rates, the IBM solution also helps create a more stable revenue stream for the university.

“When students drop out, it has a financial impact on the university,” remarks Professor Hussein. “By boosting retention rates, we have greater financial security and the ability to continue investing in even better educational resources. It’s a win-win.

“Aside from tracking and analyzing students’ academic performance, IBM Watson Analytics has helped us update the new ITC Program, which was revalidated in last April, 2017. Our analysis revealed that offering core courses that comprise only three or five credit-hours of study leads to losses in revenue of 6 to 11 percent. Therefore, we have updated the program to offer only four and eight credit-hour core courses, increasing our revenue and providing even better program learning outcomes.”

He concludes: “IBM Watson Analytics has been vital in enabling us to unpick a mass of previously impenetrable data and uncover valuable insights. By using this knowledge to boost progression and retention rates, we’re not only providing vulnerable students with the support they need—we’re also ensuring a stable revenue stream that can go back into the university to further enhance the educational experience—it’s a positive cycle that wouldn’t be possible without harnessing analytics.

“Data analytics is becoming crucial for fact-based decision-making in all areas of university life. I see IBM Watson Analytics as a decision-making companion to help AOU achieve even greater academic, administrative and financial success.”

About Arab Open University

The Arab Open University (AOU) is a sustainable development and educational non-profit project established in 2002 by HRH Prince Talal Bin Abdul-Aziz, the Chairman of the AOU Board of Trustees. AOU is headquartered in Kuwait and has a further seven country campuses in Lebanon, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Bahrain, Oman and Sudan. Under a partnership agreement with the Open University in the UK, AOU offers a range of undergraduate and postgraduate academic programs taught in English.
 

Solution components

  • Watson Analytics

Take the next step

IBM Analytics offers one of the world's deepest and broadest analytics platform, domain and industry solutions that deliver new value to businesses, governments and individuals. For more information about how IBM Analytics helps to transform industries and professions with data, visit ibm.com/analytics. Follow us on Twitter at @IBMAnalytics, on our blog at ibmbigdatahub.com and join the conversation #IBMAnalytics.

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Analytics