Active International
通过高质量、有针对性的媒体活动增加客户收入
了解 IBM Watson Assistant 深入了解 IBM Cloud
带有不同图像的数字屏幕墙

帮助公司利用其资产取得更多成果并更有效地开展媒体活动是一个复杂的过程,需要精确的数据分析和专家的专注。Active International 使用 IBM® Cloud™ 开发应用程序来优化其媒体购买周期并帮助其更有效地识别新的业务前景。

业务挑战

为了策划具有成本效益的媒体宣传活动并跟踪新线索,Active International 必须对大量数据进行分析。公司如何才能将员工从数小时的电子表格工作中解放出来,专注于战略决策?

变革

Active International 使用 IBM Cloud 来增强其财务规划流程、开发战略勘探应用程序并推出 XACTV(一项优化媒体购买的服务)。这些解决方案正在帮助该公司拓展新市场。

结果 8000 万美元
在第一年内,通过启用媒体优化可以释放估计的计费机会
全部投资回报率
通过优化高度复杂的媒体购买流程,在几个月内实现
100 个小时
通过 AI 驱动的战略勘探为业务开发团队节省资金
业务挑战案例
媒体行业的新生力量

对于许多公司来说,Active International 的核心解决方案模型提供了一个重要的机会,可以将滞销、不需要或未充分利用的库存换成高质量的服务。该公司拥有 35 年的企业贸易经验,是业内公认的品牌,帮助许多组织从其资产中获取价值。

Active International 的幕僚长 Jay Santamaria 解释说:“Active 的专业知识包括企业交易和咨询工作以及金融业务解决方案,旨在帮助企业创造价值并为利益相关者实现更多目标。我们的核心交易模式是资产驱动的媒体。换句话说,客户将表现不佳或价值被低估的资产换成活跃的贸易信用,他们可以用这些信用购买任何东西,从酒店房间和机票到物流、安全和电信服务,当然还有各种媒体。”

“媒体是我们业务的关键重点领域,”Santamaria 补充道。“我们当地的媒体购买团队夜以继日地工作,以满足需求并将我们业内所说的‘无线网络’编织在一起。我们开始寻找一种方法来扩展我们的流程并充分利用技术来帮助我们以当地汇总费率为广告商提供具有成本效益的全国覆盖范围。”

媒体生命周期涉及多个阶段——规划、购买、执行和衡量。在 Active International,首先为每位客户设计定制的媒体服务包。媒体团队详细了解客户试图覆盖的目标人群,并帮助他们为竞销活动设定可实现的目标。

接下来,团队分析大量行业数据,以确定 Active International 库存中符合每个客户策略的媒体时段。然后,团队放置广告并跟踪其进度,以确保正确的内容在正确的时间在正确的频道上播出。

Active International 执行副总裁兼首席信息官 Lou Petreski 解释道:“媒体生命周期的每个阶段都很复杂,决策需要大量专业知识。同时,很多工作非常耗时费力——尤其是高效地将广告分配到广告位的过程。从可扩展性的角度来看,这是一个糟糕的组合。最终,您的专家工作人员可能会花费大量时间进行繁琐的电子表格工作,只是为了让节目顺利进行。”

该公司还在其他领域发现了类似的挑战。例如,业务开发总监花费大量时间筛选数千条新闻报道、公司招股说明书和其他文件,以识别新的潜在客户。如果这个过程可以自动化,业务开发团队将腾出数百个小时用于更具战略性的活动。

Santamaria 总结道:“通过巩固我们在企业贸易中的主导地位,并利用技术成为无线媒体领域的主要参与者,我们看到了第一年价值 8000 万美元的业务增长机会,该领域具有无限的扩展潜力。如果我们能够找到合适的技术来减轻团队的运营压力,让他们专注于增长,我们就有信心能够抓住主动权。”

IBM Cloud 帮助我们快速将新功能推向市场,这已经帮助我们实现了数倍的投资回报。 Jay Santamaria Chief of Staff Active International
变革案例
为更具可扩展性的业务量身定制的解决方案

Active International 与 Essextec 和 IBM 合作开发了一套智能应用程序,可优化媒体生命周期并简化其战略勘探流程,从而提高其核心运营的生产力和效率。

Santamaria 解释了 Active International 选择实施 IBM 技术的原因:“我们最近将财务规划系统迁移至 IBM Planning Analytics ,项目取得了巨大成功。这让我们对 IBM 的技术和专业知识充满信心。”

Essextec 和 Active International 使用了一套 IBM Cloud 解决方案,包括 IBM Db2® Warehouse on Cloud 以及 IBM Cloud Databases for MongoDB 和 IBM Messages for RabbitMQ,构建一个集成解决方案,旨在自动化公司无线网络媒体管理生命周期的关键方面。除此之外,该解决方案还可以帮助公司以最佳价值购买媒体,优化媒体定价建议,并根据客户当前的贸易信贷余额跟踪客户的媒体支出。

以这一解决方案为基础,该公司最近推出了 XACTV (链接位于 ibm.com 之外),这是一款独立的媒体产品,广告商可以用它来浏览复杂的媒体市场,估算和优化本地媒体市场库存,并在整个广告活动中跟踪关键绩效指标。XACTV 还可配置为支持多种客户使用和支付方法,包括现金交易方案。

“IBM Cloud 平台非常适合快速应用程序开发,”Petreski 说。“快速集成网络规模技术并将其与 IBM Watson® 服务相结合的能力是一个独特的优势:它使我们能够轻松地通过人工智能和机器学习来丰富我们的应用程序。”

例如,该团队使用 IBM Watson DiscoveryIBM Watson Assistant 构建了一个聊天机器人,支持更有效的战略勘探方法。业务开发总监可以用自然语言向聊天机器人询问有关当前或潜在客户公司的问题。然后,该应用程序通过分析和排名多个结构化和非结构化数据源来研究客户,并返回最相关的数据和直观的信息图表,以帮助员工快速做出战略决策。

Santamaria 表示:“得益于 Essextec 的技术专业知识和 IBM 技术的多功能性,我们能够将 Watson 服务连接在一起并立即启动开发环境。因此,我们大大加快了上市速度。在 18 个月内,我们构建了一套应用程序,彻底改变了我们的媒体和业务开发团队的工作方式,并为未来的发展奠定了坚实的基础。”

受到无线网络、XACTV 和战略勘探项目成功的刺激,Active International 决定加倍加大对云技术的投资,将其遗留平台(大约 100 个应用程序和数据库)迁移至 IBM Cloud 裸机服务器

“我们的后端系统包含有关客户资产、贸易信用和媒体库存的商业敏感数据,”Petreski 解释道。“IBM Cloud 裸机服务器为我们在 IBM 一级数据中心提供了专用基础架构,因此我们非常有信心我们的数据得到适当保护且完全安全。”

Active International 认为 IBM Cloud 裸机服务器非常适合其安全需求,因为与多租户公共云服务不同,专用体系结构可确保客户的数据与其他系统和工作负载完全隔离。同时,该公司受益于将其基础架构问题外包给 IBM,使 Active International 团队能够专注于其核心业务。

未来几个月,Active International 会将其剩余的核心遗留系统迁移至 IBM Cloud 裸机服务器。一旦该公司采取这一举措,它计划通过将其无线网络和战略勘探应用程序与其遗留平台完全集成,为其所有业务建立一个中央枢纽。

快速集成网络规模技术并将其与 IBM Watson 服务相结合的能力是一个独特的优势:它使我们可以轻松地通过人工智能和机器学习来丰富我们的应用程序。 Lou Petreski Executive Vice President and Chief Information Officer Active International
案例成果
无与伦比的增长平台

借助由 IBM 云端解决方案提供支持的智能应用程序,Active International 简化了其媒体购买活动并实现了快速投资回报,同时保持了数据安全。

Santamaria 表示:“通过 IBM Cloud 为我们的 XACTV 无线网络产品提供支持,我们极大地提高了整个媒体购买周期的效率。我们的员工不再花费数小时手动计算要购买的媒体或运行数据分析来帮助优化客户媒体提案——这些流程现在已实现自动化。这意味着我们可以随着需求的增长轻松扩大业务规模,而无需增加员工人数。”

Active International 还发现识别新销售线索所需的时间有所减少。业务开发总监现在可以在几分钟而不是几小时内运行分析流程,以确定潜在客户的生存能力。

“IBM Cloud 帮助我们快速将新功能推向市场,这已经帮助我们实现了数倍的投资回报,”Santamaria 继续说道。“我们让我们的团队能够专注于增长,而不是被运营问题所束缚——随着我们继续扩大媒体服务业务,我们预计收入和利润将大幅增长。”

Petreski 补充道:“IBM Cloud 固有的可扩展性使我们能够很好地满足对服务不断增长的需求,因为我们可以扩展我们的系统,而无需购买和维护自己的硬件。此外,我们的数据保持安全并处于我们的控制之下。”

展望未来,Active International 计划通过为其客户创建自助服务门户网站来进一步开发其无线网络和战略勘探应用程序。

Santamaria 总结道:“通过 Essextec 帮助我们开发创新应用程序来增强 IBM Cloud 中的核心运营,我们可以将更多时间集中在帮助客户改造不需要的资产并开展引人注目的媒体活动上。”

Active International

Active International(链接位于 ibm.com 之外)专注于通过一套商业和财务解决方案帮助客户实现更多目标。Active 植根于企业贸易,与技术合作伙伴合作进行自我转型,并不断适应“下一步是什么?”经济的需求。Active 致力于提供最优质的产品、服务、资源和解决方案,帮助客户和媒体提供商实现业务目标。在任何特定时候,Active 都与合作伙伴签订了数千份合同,涵盖各种媒体产品,以及满足客户日常运营需求的一系列其他类别。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM Cloud 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问 ibm.com/cloud

Essextec 通过应用创新的云、认知和网络安全技术帮助组织解决重大业务挑战。作为一家员工持股的公司,该公司拥有一支求知欲强、技术精湛的团队,是值得信赖的顾问,始终如一地帮助客户超越其目标并取得长期成功。要了解更多信息,请访问 essextec.com(链接位于 ibm.com 之外)

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Cloud 的更多信息

阅读博客文章
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 美国出品,2018 年 5 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Db2、IBM Cloud 以及 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下 Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分包含了最新的 IBM 商标列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Business Challenge

To plan cost-effective media campaigns and track new leads, Active International must analyze vast amounts of data. How could the company free its staff from hours of spreadsheet work to focus on strategic decision-making?

Transformation

Active International used the IBM Cloud to enhance its financial planning processes, develop a strategic prospecting application, and launch XACTV, a service that optimizes media buying. These solutions are helping the company expand into new markets.

Results

USD 80 million

in year-one estimated billing opportunities unlocked by enabling media optimization

Full ROI

achieved within months by optimizing highly complex media buying processes

100s of hours

saved for business development teams with AI-powered strategic prospecting

Business challenge story

A new force in the media industry

For many companies, Active International’s core solutions model provides a vital opportunity to exchange slow-moving, unwanted, or underutilized inventory for high-quality services. With 35 years of experience in corporate trade, the company is a recognized name in the industry and helps many organizations extract value from their assets.

Jay Santamaria, Chief of Staff at Active International, explains: “Active’s expertise, which includes corporate trading and consultative work as well as financial business solutions, is all about helping companies create value and achieve more for their stakeholders. Our core trading model is asset-enabled media. Put another way, clients exchange their underperforming or undervalued assets for Active trade credits, which they can use to purchase anything from hotel rooms and airline tickets to logistics, security and telecommunications services and, of course, every variety of media.”

“Media is a critical focus area for our business,” adds Santamaria. “Our local media buying team was working day and night to meet demands and knit together what we in the trade call an ‘unwired network’. We started looking for a way to scale our processes and take full advantage of technology to help us offer our advertisers cost-effective national coverage at aggregated local rates.”

The media lifecycle involves numerous stages—planning, buying, executing, and measuring. At Active International, it begins with designing a bespoke package of media services for each client. The media team builds a detailed picture of the target demographic that the client is trying to reach and helps them set achievable goals for their campaigns.

Next, the team analyzes vast amounts of industry data to identify the media slots in Active International’s inventory that align with each client’s strategy. The team then places the ads and tracks their progress to make sure that the right content gets aired on the right channels at the right time.

Lou Petreski, Executive Vice President and CIO at Active International, explains: “Every stage of the media lifecycle is complex and decision-making requires a lot of expertise. At the same time, much of the work is very time-consuming and laborious—especially the process of efficiently allocating ads to slots. That’s a bad combination from a scalability perspective. You can end up with your expert staff spending long hours on tedious spreadsheet work just to keep the show on the road.”

The company also identified similar challenges in other areas. For example, business development directors were spending significant amounts of time sifting through thousands of news stories, company prospectuses, and other documents to identify new prospective clients. If this process could be automated, the business development team would free up hundreds of hours to spend on more strategic activities.

Santamaria sums up: “We saw a first-year USD 80 million opportunity to grow the business by building on our dominant position in corporate trade and leveraging technology to become a major player in the unwired media sector, which has unlimited scaling potential. If we could find the right technology to take the operational pressure off our team and let them focus on growth, we were confident that we could seize the initiative.”

The IBM Cloud helps us get new capabilities to market quickly, which has already helped us achieve return on investment several times over.

—Jay Santamaria, Chief of Staff, Active International

Transformation story

Tailored solutions for a more scalable business

Together with Essextec and IBM, Active International has developed a suite of intelligent applications that optimizes the media lifecycle and streamlines its strategic prospecting processes—elevating the productivity and efficiency of its core operations.

Santamaria explains why Active International chose to implement IBM technology: “We had recently moved our financial planning systems to IBM Planning Analytics and the project was a big success. That gave us a lot of confidence in IBM’s technology and expertise.”

Essextec and Active International utilized a suite of IBM Cloud solutions including IBM Db2® Warehouse on Cloud, IBM Compose for MongoDB, and IBM Compose for RabbitMQ to build an integrated solution designed to automate key aspects of the media management lifecycle for the company’s unwired network. Among other things, the solution helps the company purchase media at the best value, optimize media pricing proposals, and track clients’ media spend against their current balance of trade credits.

Using this solution as a foundation, the company has recently launched XACTV, an independent media product that advertisers can use to navigate the complex media marketplace, estimate and optimize local media market inventory, and track KPIs throughout their campaigns. XACTV can also be configured to support multiple client usage and payment methodologies, including cash-and-trade scenarios.

“The IBM Cloud platform is perfect for rapid application development,” says Petreski. “The ability to integrate web-scale technologies quickly and combine them with IBM Watson® services is a unique advantage: it makes it so easy to enrich our applications with artificial intelligence and machine learning.”

As an example, the team has used IBM Watson Discovery and IBM Watson Assistant to build a chatbot that supports a much more efficient approach to strategic prospecting. Business development directors can ask the chatbot questions about a current or prospective client’s company in natural language. The application then researches the client by analyzing and ranking multiple sources of structured and unstructured data and returns the most relevant data and intuitive infographics to help employees make strategic decisions—fast.

Santamaria says: “Thanks to the technical expertise of Essextec and the versatility of IBM technology, we were able to link the Watson services together and spin up development environments in no time. As a result, we accelerated our speed to market significantly. Within 18 months, we built a set of applications that completely transforms the way our media and business development teams work, and provides a strong foundation for future development.”

Spurred on by the success of the unwired network, XACTV, and strategic prospecting projects, Active International decided to double down on its investment in cloud technologies by migrating its legacy platforms—around 100 applications and databases—to IBM Cloud bare metal servers.

“Our back-end systems contain commercially sensitive data about our clients’ assets, trade credits, and media inventory,” explains Petreski. “The IBM Cloud bare metal servers give us a dedicated infrastructure in IBM’s tier-one data centers, so we have a lot of confidence that our data is properly protected and fully secure.”

Active International sees IBM Cloud bare metal servers as a good fit for its security requirements because, unlike a multi-tenant public cloud service, the dedicated architecture ensures that clients’ data is kept completely isolated from other systems and workloads. At the same time, the company benefits from outsourcing its infrastructure concerns to IBM, enabling the Active International team to focus on its core business.

In the months ahead, Active International will move the remainder of its core legacy systems to IBM Cloud bare metal servers. Once the company has made this move, it plans to build a central hub for all of its operations by fully integrating its unwired network and strategic prospecting applications with its legacy platforms.

The ability to integrate web-scale technologies quickly and combine them with IBM Watson services is a unique advantage: it makes it so easy to enrich our applications with artificial intelligence and machine learning.

—Lou Petreski, Executive Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Active International

Results story

A platform for unparalleled growth

With intelligent applications powered by IBM solutions in the cloud, Active International has streamlined its media purchasing activities and achieved a rapid return on investment, while keeping its data secure.

Santamaria says: “With IBM Cloud powering our XACTV unwired network product, we have greatly improved the efficiency of the entire media purchasing cycle. Our employees no longer spend hours manually calculating which media to purchase or running data analysis to help optimize client media proposals—these processes are now automated. That means we can easily scale our operations as demand grows, without increasing our headcount.”

Active International has also seen reductions in the time required to identify new leads. Business development directors can now run analytics processes in minutes instead of hours to determine the viability of potential clients.

“The IBM Cloud helps us get new capabilities to market quickly, which has already helped us achieve return on investment several times over,” continues Santamaria. “We’re empowering our team to focus on growth instead of getting tied down with operational concerns—and as we continue to expand our media services business, we expect to see significant increases in revenue and profits.”

Petreski adds: “The inherent scalability of the IBM Cloud puts us in an excellent position to meet the growing demand for our services, as we can scale out our systems without the costs of purchasing and maintaining our own hardware. Moreover, our data stays secure and under our control.”

Looking to the future, Active International plans to develop its unwired network and strategic prospecting applications further by creating self-service portals for its clients.

Santamaria concludes: “With Essextec helping us develop innovative applications that enhance our core operations in the IBM Cloud, we can focus more time on helping clients transform their unwanted assets and deliver compelling media campaigns.”

business logo

About Active International

Active International focuses on helping its clients achieve more via a suite of business and financial solutions. With its roots in corporate trade, Active works with its technology partners to transform itself and continually adapt to the demands of the “what’s next?” economy. Active is committed to providing the best quality products, services, resources, and solutions to help its clients and media providers achieve their business goals. At any given time, Active has thousands of contracts with partners across the full spectrum of media offerings, as well as an array of other categories that address its clients’ daily operational needs.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM Cloud, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit ibm.com/cloud

Essextec helps organizations solve significant business challenges by applying innovative cloud, cognitive, and cybersecurity technologies. As an employee-owned firm with an intellectually curious and highly skilled team, the company acts as a trusted advisor—consistently enabling its clients to exceed their goals and achieve long-term success. To learn more, visit essextec.com/3c-innovation

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Cloud