Kraft Heinz Company
Kraft Heinz Company 将 SAP Business Warehouse 迁移到快如闪电的 SAP HANA 数据库
一盒通心粉奶酪和一袋番茄酱的插图

Kraft Heinz Company 将 SAP® Business Warehouse 应用程序迁移到 SAP HANA® 平台,因此,即使在数据量激增的情况下,也可以大幅减少每晚报告批次。

业务挑战

由于数据量不断增长,系统性能面临挑战,Kraft Heinz Company 如何在不影响关键 SAP 业务系统性能的情况下提供更详细的报告?

变革

Kraft Heinz Company 将 SAP Business Warehouse 应用程序迁移到 SAP HANA 平台,因此,即使在数据量激增的情况下,也可以大幅减少每晚报告批次。

结果 大幅
缩短报告运行时间
启用
更快更精细地报告供应链业务流程
支持
数据驱动型决策,降低运营成本
业务挑战案例
精益运营,保护利润

对于快速消费品 (FMCG) 行业的企业来说,精益运营对于成功至关重要。由于不确定的全球经济继续对消费支出施加下行压力,企业必须不断确定并实施高效运营来保护利润。

Kraft Heinz Company 是世界领先的食品和饮料产品制造商之一,旨在通过简化支持其北美品牌的供应链来正面应对这一挑战。这一范围广泛的计划将助力该公司实现将众多业务流程向数字化转型,整合整个公司的数据流,以提高效率和分析能力。

Kraft Heinz Company 全球 SAP 卓越中心负责人 Rowie Torres 解释道:“管理像卡夫这样庞大的供应链是个复杂的过程,需要准确及时的销售预测、制造计划、物流等数据。整理多个来源的数据至关重要,因为通过这项工作,我们能够计算出每种产品需要生产的合理数量,然后在规定时间内交付给零售商,从而满足消费者的需求。

“近年来,我们收集的供应链数据量迅速增长。我们知道,将这些额外数据纳入报告流程,有助于决策者深入挖掘并发现提高效率的宝贵机会,但生成细粒度报告带来了严峻的技术挑战。”

与快速消费品领域的许多领先企业一样,Kraft Heinz Company 依靠一系列集成的 SAP 应用程序来驱动端到端的业务流程。

Rowie Torres 继续说道:“多年来,我们一直使用 SAP Business Warehouse 软件来支持业务分析流程。但是由于数据量和分析需求不断增长,我们每晚的批处理流程用时几乎超过了严格的 12 小时窗口期。此外,我们的数据模型非常复杂,所以生成新报告非常耗时,可能需要长达六个月的时间才能完成。为了更频繁地向公司提供更精细的报告,我们想办法提高了 SAP Business Warehouse 平台的性能。”

IBM 提供的 SAP HANA 平台是我们数字化转型计划的关键组成部分。 Rowie Torres 全球 SAP 卓越中心负责人 Kraft Heinz Company
变革案例
快如闪电的分析平台

Kraft Heinz Company 在全面审查现有分析架构后,决定将公司 SAP Business Warehouse 应用程序迁移至 SAP HANA 数据库,获得更优的内存性能,从而满足公司对快速深度报告的需求。

“我们利用 SAP 解决方案来支持大部分业务流程,也意识到通过采用 SAP HANA 作为分析平台,我们可以从 SAP 投资中获得更大的价值。”Rowie Torres 解释道,

“过去 12 年多来,我们一直利用 SAP ERP(ibm.com 外部链接)应用程序来推动日常业务运营,而 SAP HANA 除了支持与这些应用程序紧密集成之外,还支持一系列符合我们长期战略目标的新解决方案。因此我们的目标是利用 SAP HANA 将制造流程与近乎实时的预测数据集成。”

为了尽快实现价值,降低整个迁移过程中的风险,Kraft Heinz Company 寻找了经验丰富的合作伙伴来推动该项目。经过严格筛选供应商,该公司聘请了 IBM Services 的顾问专家团队。

“我们选择 IBM Services 团队的主要原因之一,是他们在其他大型企业成功部署 SAP HANA 的良好记录。”Rowie Torres 回忆道,“另一个重要因素是 IBM 团队对 Kraft Heinz Company 的分析平台非常熟悉。自 Kraft Heinz Company 首次部署 SAP 解决方案以来,IBM 一直是重要的合作伙伴,而且 IBM 团队对我们 SAP Business Warehouse 环境的了解也无人能比。由于 IBM 和 SAP 密切的战略关系,我们认为 IBM 是快速交付新 SAP HANA 数据库的理想选择。”

第一步,Kraft Heinz Company 与 IBM Services 合作清理现有分析数据库。这项工作帮助将数据库总大小从 18 TB 缩小到仅 9 TB,减少了 50%,为无缝迁移至新分析平台铺平了道路。

接下来,该公司与 IBM 和 SAP 的顾问团队合作,将 SAP Business Warehouse 报告迁移至新的 SAP HANA 平台,以便为数据仓储和分析提供支持。IBM Services 遵循经过验证的最佳实践方法,为 SAP HANA 平台配置了开发、质量保证、回归和生产环境。

IBM 利用在 Kraft Heinz Company 的 SAP Business Warehouse 环境方面深厚的专业知识,帮助该公司将所有新项目(包括供应链转型)的报告重新架构为 SAP Business Warehouse LSA++ 模型。为了在尽可能短的时间内让尽可能多的业务用户享受到内存分析平台的优势,IBM Services 调动了整个 IBM 的资源,以便在时间紧迫的情况下实现这一目标。

“与 IBM 合作向 SAP HANA 迁移的过程非常顺利。”Rowie Torres 说道,“IBM 汇集了我们保持项目顺利运行所需的所有资源,团队迅速做出反应,解决出现的问题。随着上线日期临近,IBM 团队这种强大的领导力变得更加重要。事实上,IBM 帮助我们在短短八个月内就完成了迁移,对于这种规模的项目来说已经非常快了。”

我们选择 IBM Services 团队的主要原因之一,是他们在其他大型企业成功部署 SAP HANA 的良好记录。 Rowie Torres 全球 SAP 卓越中心负责人 Kraft Heinz Company
案例成果
简化供应链

通过将 SAP HANA 作为分析流程的核心,Kraft Heinz Company 完全有能力向决策者提供细粒度的报告,使他们能够在供应链及其他领域识别和实现新的效率。

“过去,我们的分析平台已达到极限,向报告添加额外维度根本不可行,但如今,这一切都改变了,”Rowie Torres 说。

“IBM Services 提供的 SAP HANA 平台是我们数字化转型计划的关键组成部分。例如,我们大幅减少了每晚报告批次。这能够为我们提供至关重要的空间,可以将不断增长的数据量容纳到我们的报告中。”

“更好的一点是,SAP HANA 平台的灵活性使我们可以更轻松地更改数据模型,这意味着我们可以在几周而不是几个月内向业务部门推出新报告。”

Rowie Torres 总结道:“SAP HANA 是 Kraft Heinz Company 应对当今数据驱动型消费品市场挑战的对策,我们将 SAP 视为我们的长期战略平台。通过继续与 IBM 和 SAP 密切合作,我们相信我们能够找到新的方法简化运营并控制成本,作为我们战略数字化转型的一部分。”

Kraft Heinz 徽标
Kraft Heinz Company

Kraft Heinz Company 是北美第三大食品和饮料公司,也是全球排名第五的食品和饮料公司。该公司的业务遍布超过 45 个国家或地区,拥有价值 80 亿美元的品牌,2014 年收入达 291 亿美元。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM 和 SAP 解决方案的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:ibm.com/consulting/sap

查看更多案例研究 了解更多信息
法律

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2016. IBM Deutschland GmbH D-71137 Ehningen ibm.com/consulting/sap

德国出品。2016 年 2 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

其他公司、产品或服务名称可能是其他企业的商标或服务商标。本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

此案例研究说明了某一 IBM 客户如何使用 IBM 和/或 IBM 业务合作伙伴技术/服务。众多因素促成了所描述的结果和好处。IBM 对类似结果不做保证。此处包含的所有信息均由特约客户和/或 IBM 业务合作伙伴提供。IBM 无法证明其准确性。所有引用的客户示例均代表某些客户如何使用 IBM 产品以及他们可能取得的成果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。本出版物仅供常规指导。照片可能会显示设计模型。

本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。© 2016 SAP SE。All rights reserved. 此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。

本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略和未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时因任何原因进行更改,恕不另行通知。

Business Challenge

With challenging system performance due to growing data volumes, how could The Kraft Heinz Company deliver more detailed reports without affecting the performance of its critical SAP business systems?

Transformation

The Kraft Heinz Company migrated its SAP Business Warehouse application to the SAP HANA platform—shortening its nightly reporting batches substantially even as data volumes explode.

Results

Substantial

reductions in reporting run times

Enables

faster, more granular reporting into supply-chain business processes

Supports

data-driven decision-making to shrink operational costs

Business Challenge Story

Run lean, protect margins

For enterprises in the fast-moving consumer goods (FMCG) industry, lean operations have never been more crucial for success. As an uncertain global economy continues to exert downward pressure on consumer spending at the checkout, businesses must constantly identify and implement operational efficiencies to protect their margins.

The Kraft Heinz Company, one of the world’s leading manufacturers of food and beverage products, aimed to tackle this challenge head-on by streamlining the supply chain that supports its brands in North America. This wide-ranging program would enable the digital transformation of many business processes, integrating data flows across the enterprise for greater efficiency and advanced analytics.

Rowie Torres, Head – Global SAP Center of Excellence at The Kraft Heinz Company, explains: “Managing a supply chain as large as Kraft’s is a complex process that demands accurate, timely data on sales forecasts, manufacturing plans, logistics and more. Collating data from multiple sources is vital, as it enables us to manufacture the optimal quantities of each of our products, and deliver them to retailers at the best time to capitalize on consumer demand.

“In recent years, the volume of supply-chain data we collect has grown rapidly. We knew that incorporating this additional data into our reporting process would enable our decision-makers to drill down and uncover valuable opportunities to improve efficiency, but building fine-grained reports posed tough technical challenges.”

Like many leading enterprises in the FMCG space, The Kraft Heinz Company relies on a suite of integrated SAP applications to drive its business processes from end to end.

Rowie Torres continues: “For many years, we have used SAP Business Warehouse software to support our business analytics processes. However, growing data volumes and demand for analytics meant that our nightly batch processes were almost exceeding the strict 12-hour window. Moreover, the complexity of our data model meant that building new reports was a time-consuming process that could take up to six months to complete. To offer more frequent and more granular reports to the business, we looked for a way to boost the performance of our SAP Business Warehouse platform.”

The SAP HANA platform delivered by IBM is a key component of our digital transformation initiative.

—Rowie Torres, Head – Global SAP Center of Excellence, The Kraft Heinz Company

Transformation Story

Lightning-fast analytics platform

After a thorough review of its existing analytics landscape, The Kraft Heinz Company determined that migrating its SAP Business Warehouse application to the SAP HANA database would deliver the in-memory performance boost it needed to satisfy business demand for rapid, in-depth reporting.

“We use SAP solutions to support the majority of our business processes, and we realized that adopting SAP HANA as our analytics platform would enable us to obtain even greater value from our SAP investments,” explains Rowie Torres.

“As well as offering tight integration with the SAP ERP applications we have used to drive our day-to-day business operations for more than 12 years, SAP HANA supports a range of new solutions that align with our long-term strategic objectives. For that reason, we aimed to use SAP HANA to integrate our manufacturing processes with near-real-time forecasting data.”

To realize the value as quickly as possible, and to reduce its risk exposure throughout the migration process, The Kraft Heinz Company searched for an experienced partner to drive the project. After a rigorous vendor-selection process, the company engaged an expert team of consultants from IBM Services.

“One of the main reasons we chose the IBM Services team was their proven record of successful SAP HANA deployments at other large enterprises,” recalls Rowie Torres. “Another important factor was the IBM team’s deep familiarity with the analytics platform at The Kraft Heinz Company. IBM has been a valued partner since The Kraft Heinz Company first deployed SAP solutions, and the IBM team’s knowledge of our SAP Business Warehouse environment is second to none. And because of the close strategic relationship between IBM and SAP, we felt IBM was the ideal choice to deliver our new SAP HANA database rapidly.”

As a first step, The Kraft Heinz Company worked with IBM Services to cleanse its existing analytics databases. This work helped shrink the databases from a total of 18 TB to just 9 TB—a reduction of 50 percent that helped pave the way for a seamless migration to the new analytics platform.

Next, the company worked with consultants from IBM and SAP to migrate its SAP Business Warehouse reports to the new SAP HANA platform for data warehousing and analytics. Following its proven, best-practice methodology, IBM Services provisioned development, quality-assurance, regression and production environments for the SAP HANA platform.

Utilizing its deep expertise of The Kraft Heinz Company’s SAP Business Warehouse environment, IBM helped The Kraft Heinz Company to re-architect reports for all new projects—including the supply-chain transformation—to the SAP Business Warehouse LSA++ model. The aim was to offer the benefits of the in-memory analytics platform to the largest possible number of business users in the shortest possible time, and IBM Services mobilized resources from across IBM to achieve the goal within a tight timeframe.

“Working with IBM on our SAP HANA migration was a very positive experience,” says Rowie Torres. “IBM brought together all of the resources we needed to keep the project running smoothly, and the team reacted quickly to solve issues whenever they arose—this strong leadership from the IBM team became all the more important as we neared our go-live date. In fact, IBM helped us to complete our migration in just eight months—a very short timeline for a project of this size.”

One of the main reasons we chose the IBM Services team was their proven record of successful SAP HANA deployments at other large enterprises.

—Rowie Torres, Head – Global SAP Center of Excellence, The Kraft Heinz Company

Results Story

Streamlining the supply chain

With SAP HANA at the heart of its analytics processes, The Kraft Heinz Company is well positioned to deliver fine-grained reports to its decision-makers—empowering them to identify and implement new efficiencies in the supply chain and beyond.

“In the past, our analytics platform was stretched to the limit, and it simply wasn’t feasible to add additional dimensions to our reports—but today, that’s all changed,” says Rowie Torres.

“The SAP HANA platform delivered by IBM Services is a key component of our digital transformation initiative. For example, we have shortened our nightly reporting batches substantially. This offers us the all-important headroom we need to accommodate ever-growing volumes of data into our reports.

“Better still, the flexibility of the SAP HANA platform makes it far easier to make changes to our data model, which means that we can roll out new reports to the business in weeks, not months.”

Rowie Torres concludes: “SAP HANA is The Kraft Heinz Company’s answer to the challenges of today’s data-driven consumer products marketplace, and we see SAP as our long-term strategic platform. By continuing our close collaboration with IBM and SAP, we are confident that we can find new ways to streamline our operations and control our costs as part of our strategic digital transformation.”

business logo

About The Kraft Heinz Company

The Kraft Heinz Company is the third-largest food and beverage company in North America, and the fifth-largest food and beverage company in the world. With operations in more than 45 countries and eight billion-dollar brands, the company generated revenues of USD29.1 billion in 2014.
 

Solution Components

  • Consumer Products: Smarter Supply Networks
  • GBS AD&I - Application Development & Management
  • GBS BCS - EA SAP : Core ERP Central Component - ECC
  • IBM Global Business Services
  • IBM-SAP Alliance

Take the Next Step

To learn more about solutions from IBM and SAP, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: ibm.com/sap

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Services