什么是超级计算?

超级计算是一种高性能计算形式,使用功能强大的计算机"超级计算机"执行确定或计算,减少总求解时间。

服务器机房

什么是超级计算技术?

超级计算技术包括超级计算机,世界上最快的计算机。 超级计算机由互连、输入/输出系统、内存和处理器核心组成。

不同于传统的计算机,超级计算机使用多个中央处理器 (CPU)。 这些 CPU 分组成多个计算节点,包含一个处理器或一组处理器(对称多处理 (SMP)) 和一个内存块。 在规模上,超级计算机可以包含数万个节点。 凭借互相连接通信能力,这些节点可以协作解决特定问题。 节点也使用互相连接与输入/输出系统通信,比如数据存储 和联网

需要注意的一点是,由于现代超级计算机的功耗,数据中心需要冷却系统和合适的设施来容纳所有的这些设备。


超级计算与人工智能

因为超级计算机经常用来运行人工智能 程序,所以超级计算已经成为人工智能的代名词。 这种常规的用法是因为人工智能程序需要超计算机提供的高性能计算。 换言之,超级计算机可以处理人工智能应用程序通常需要的工作负载类型。

例如,IBM 专门针对大数据和人工智能工作负载构建了 Summit 和 Sierra 超级计算机 。 它们将帮助我们模拟超新星,开拓新材料,探索癌症治疗,遗传与环境 - 利用面向所有业务领域的技术。


超级计算有多快?

超级计算以每秒浮点运算次数 (FLOPS) 衡量。 Petaflops 是计算机处理速度的一种度量单位,等同于每秒千万亿次浮点运算。 速度为 1 petaflop 的计算机系统每秒可以执行百万的四次方次浮点运算 (1015)。 从另一个角度来说,超级计算机的处理能力比最快的笔记本电脑高出一百万倍。

最快的超级计算机是什么?

根据 500 强名单 (链接转至 ibm.com 之外)排名,世界上最快的超级计算机是日本的 Fugaku,截至 2021 年 6 月统计的速度是 442 petaflop。 IBM 超级计算机 Summit 和 Sierra 分别位列第二名和第三名,速度分别是 148.8 和 94.6 petaflop。 Summit 位于橡树岭国家实验室,这是美国能源部在田纳西州设立的设施。 Sierra 位于加利福尼亚州的劳伦斯利弗莫尔国家实验室。

为了清楚地认识现在的速度,1976 年在洛斯阿拉莫斯国家实验室安装 Cray-1 时,它的速度能达到约 160 megaflop。 1 megaflop 可以执行一百万次 (106) 浮点运算。


超级计算与……

超级计算一词有时用于指代其他类型的计算。 但是其他时候,这些同义词可能会令人困惑。 为了阐明计算类型之间的一些异同,下面介绍一些常见的比较。

超级计算与高性能计算

虽然超级计算通常是指超级计算机使用的复杂的大型计算过程,但高性能计算 (HPC) 是指使用多台超级计算机来处理复杂的大型计算。 这两个术语经常互换使用。

超级计算与并行计算

超级计算机有时也被称为并行计算机,因为超级计算机可以使用并行处理。 并行处理是指多个 CPU 在给定时间共同对单个计算求解。 然而,HPC 场景也使用并行性,但不一定使用超级计算机。

另一个例外是,超级计算机可以使用其他处理器系统,例如向量处理器、标量处理器或多线程处理器。

量子计算是一个计算模型,它利用量子力学定律来处理数据,根据概率执行计算。 它旨在解决世界上最强大的超级计算机无法且永远不会解决的复杂问题。


超级计算的历史

超级计算是什么时候出现的?

超级计算已有多年的发展历史。20 世纪 40 年代,当巨人计算机被运到布莱切利园并正式开始使用时,超级计算就诞生了。 巨人计算机是第一台具有一定功能的电子数字计算机,由邮政总局 (GPO) 研究电话工程师 Tommy Flowers 设计。

超级计算机最早是什么时候发明的?

超级计算机 一词最早是在 20 世纪 60 年代开始使用,当时 IBM 推出了 IBM 7030 Stretch,同时 Sperry Rand 公开了 UNIVAC LARC,这是最早的两台专门的超级计算机,其功能远远超过当时最快的商用电脑。 真正影响超计算机发展进程的事件是 1950 年代美国政府开始定期拨款,资助开发前沿的高性能计算机技术以用于军事应用。

尽管超级计算机最初生产数量有限,并且仅为政府所用,但这项逐渐进步的技术最终在工业和商业主流中找到了用武之地。 例如,Control Data Corporation (CDC) 和 Cray Research 这两家美国公司从六十年代中期到七十年代末期,一直领导着商业超级计算机行业。 由 Seymour Cray 设计的 CDC 6600 被认为是第一台成功的商用超级计算机。 IBM 后来居上,从 1990 年代到今天一直是商业行业的领导者。


相关解决方案

HPC 解决方案

HPC 解决方案通过对抗癌症和识别下一代材料,帮助解决世界上最大的挑战。


AI IT 基础架构解决方案

为了应对当今的挑战并为未来做好准备,您需要将人工智能解决方案与您的基础架构和数据策略相集成。


使用 Power10 芯片的超级计算

通过 Power10 处理器芯片交付混合云的未来,以提高能效、容量和性能。


经过加速的计算服务器

消除输入/输出瓶颈并跨 GPU 和 CPU 共享内存,更快地产生见解和更准确的模型。


Linux 服务器和操作系统

借助开源开发带来的灵活性和控制力,优化本地和云端的 IT 基础架构。



脚注

What is supercomputing?

Supercomputing is a form of high-performance computing that determines or calculates using a powerful computer, a supercomputer, reducing overall time to solution.

Male athlete leaping through smoke

What is supercomputing technology?

Supercomputing technology comprises supercomputers, the fastest computers in the world. Supercomputers are made up of interconnects, I/O systems, memory and processor cores.

Unlike traditional computers, supercomputers use more than one central processing unit (CPU). These CPUs are grouped into compute nodes, comprising a processor or a group of processors—symmetric multiprocessing (SMP)—and a memory block. At scale, a supercomputer can contain tens of thousands of nodes. With interconnect communication capabilities, these nodes can collaborate on solving a specific problem. Nodes also use interconnects to communicate with I/O systems, like data storage and networking.

A matter to note, because of modern supercomputers' power consumption, data centers require cooling systems and suitable facilities to house it all.


Supercomputing and AI

Because supercomputers are often used to run artificial intelligence programs, supercomputing has become synonymous with AI. This regular use is because AI programs require high-performance computing that supercomputers offer. In other words, supercomputers can handle the types of workloads typically needed for AI applications.

For example, IBM built Summit and Sierra supercomputers with big data and AI workloads in mind. They're helping model supernovas, pioneer new materials, and explore cancer, genetics and the environment, using technologies available to all businesses.


How fast is supercomputing?

Supercomputing is measured in floating-point operations per second (FLOPS). Petaflops are a measure of a computer's processing speed equal to a thousand trillion flops. And a 1-petaflop computer system can perform one quadrillion (1015) flops. From a different perspective, supercomputers can be one million times more processing power than the fastest laptop.

What's the fastest supercomputer?

According to the TOP500 list (link resides outside of ibm.com), the world's fastest supercomputer is Japan's Fugaku at a speed of 442 petaflops as of June 2021. IBM supercomputers, Summit and Sierra, garner the second and third spots, clocking in at 148.8 and 94.6 petaflops, respectively. Summit is located at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, a US Department of Energy facility in Tennessee. Sierra is located at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in California.

IBM is expected to launch Aurora, a supercomputer with exascale computing capability, later in 2021. Exascale computing is supercomputing above (1018) floating-point operations per second. This speed is equal to one quintillion flops or 1,000 petaflops.

To put today's speeds into perspective, when Cray-1 was installed at Los Alamos National Laboratory in 1976, it managed a speed of around 160 megaflops. One megaflop can perform one million (106) flops.


Supercomputing versus…

The term supercomputing is sometimes used synonymously for other types of computing. But other times, the synonyms can be confusing. To clarify some similarities and differences between computing types, here are some common comparisons.

Supercomputing vs. HPC

While supercomputing typically refers to the process of complex and large calculations used by supercomputers, high-performance computing (HPC) is the use of multiple supercomputers to process complex and large calculations. Both terms are often used interchangeably.

Supercomputing vs. parallel computing

Supercomputers are sometimes called parallel computers because supercomputing can use parallel processing. Parallel processing is when multiple CPUs work on solving a single calculation at a given time. However, HPC scenarios use parallelism, too, without using a supercomputer necessarily.

Another exception is that supercomputers could use other processor systems, like vector processors, scalar processors or multithreaded processors.

Quantum computing is a computing model that harnesses the laws of quantum mechanics to process data, performing computations based on probabilities. It aims to solve complex problems the world's most powerful supercomputers can't solve and never will.


History of supercomputing

When did supercomputing start?

Supercomputing evolved over many years since the Colossus machine was put into operation at Bletchley Park in the 1940s. The Colossus was the first functional, electronic, digital computer designed by Tommy Flowers, a General Post Office (GPO) research telephone engineer.

When was the supercomputer first invented?

The term supercomputer came into use in the early 1960s, when IBM rolled out the IBM 7030 Stretch, and Sperry Rand unveiled the UNIVAC LARC, the first two intentional supercomputers designed to be more powerful than the fastest commercial machines available at the time. Events that influenced the progress of supercomputing began in the late 1950s when the US government began regularly funding the development of cutting-edge, high-performance computer technology for military applications.

Although supercomputers were initially produced in limited quantities for the government, the technology developed would make its way into the industrial and commercial mainstreams. For example, two US companies, Control Data Corporation (CDC) and Cray Research, led the commercial supercomputer industry from the mid-1960s to the late 1970s. The CDC 6600, designed by Seymour Cray, is considered the first successful commercial supercomputer. IBM would later become a commercial industry leader from the 1990s through today.


Related solutions

HPC solutions

HPC solutions help conquer the world's biggest challenges by combatting cancer and identifying next-gen materials.

AI IT infrastructure solutions

To meet today's challenges and prepare for the future, you need AI solutions integrated with your infrastructure and data strategy.

Supercomputing with Power10 chips

Deliver the future of hybrid cloud with the Power10 processor chip, designed to improve energy efficiency, capacity and performance.

Accelerated computing servers

Eliminate I/O bottlenecks and share memory across GPUs and CPUs, yielding faster insights and more accurate models.

Linux servers and operating systems

Optimize your IT infrastructure on-premises and in the cloud with the flexibility and control that comes with open-source development.