移动技术
使用移动设备通信、协作和创建
什么是移动技术?

移动技术是一种随处可见的技术。 它由双向通信设备、计算设备和连接它们的网络技术组成。

移动技术的现有特点在于支持互联网的设备,如智能手机、平板电脑和手表。 最新发展成果包括双向寻呼机、笔记本电脑、移动电话(翻盖手机)、GPS 导航设备等。

连接这些设备的通信网络共同称为无线技术。 它们支持移动设备共享语音、数据和应用(移动应用程序)。

移动技术无处不在,不断发展。 智能手机数量突破 30 亿¹ ,预计到 2022 年,全球移动员工数量将达到 18.7 亿。²


移动网络类型

蜂窝网络

无线电网络使用分布式信号塔,支持移动设备(手机)自动切换频率,并在不同大范围地理区域之间不间断地通信。 相同的基本切换功能使蜂窝网络能够在有限的无线电频率范围内为大量用户提供支持。³

4G 网络

大多数无线通信当前的蜂窝服务标准。 它使用数据包切换技术,将数据组织成部分或数据包进行传输,并在目的地重新组合起来。 4G 即第四代 — 据报道,4G 的速度比 3G 快 10 倍,更快的 5G 也即将到来。 5G 使用一组聚合频段来解锁带宽,速度比 4G 快约 20 倍。

WiFi

通过本地化路由器("热点")将设备连接到互联网的无线电波。 WiFi 指的是无线局域网,WiFi 网络就像用于互联网连接的信号塔,但不会在没有建立 WiFi 连接的情况下自动传递服务。 大多数移动设备允许根据可用性和用户偏好在 Wi-Fi 和蜂窝网络之间自动切换。

蓝牙

使用短波长无线电波连接短距离设备的电信行业规范。 蓝牙支持用户快速连接或配对耳机、扬声器、手机等其他设备。


什么是 5G?

5G 是第五代移动无线技术。 它与 4G 都使用无线电频谱的部分频率,但 5G 使用的频率极高,能够提供更多带宽。 这意味着可以将更多数据以更快的速度传送到更多设备。 想象视频通过流失传输到达智能手机。 IBM 表示 ,5G 将"改善这种体验,不仅将个人体验改善 10 倍,而且任何同时传输视频的人都可以享受到。"

切换到 5G? 了解您的集成安全控制

5G 革命
获取指南以了解 5G 的转型潜力

移动技术成功案例
提高工作效率

使用其 Road Day 移动应用程序上传现场索赔信息,Amica Mutual 保险公司的工作流程生产率预计提升 25% 到 50%。 该应用程序支持理算员与现场客户紧密合作,从而提高索赔的准确性,并帮助提高客户的参与感。

阅读更多内容并观看视频
利用新业务模型

青蛙逐渐从澳大利亚消失 — 240 个已知消失物种中有 4 种是青蛙。 为了保护他们,科学家们需要一个速度更快的数据收集模型。 作为众包方法之一,FrogID 应用程序让澳大利亚人录制青蛙的独特叫声,并将其上传到在线数据库。 该应用程序还使用 GPS 坐标来绘制青蛙种群地图。

阅读成功案例
创建理想的购物场景

City Furniture使用移动技术打造近乎理想的购物体验。  客户可将在线研究与实际触摸物品以及与销售人员互动等功能相结合。 销售人员在平板电脑上使用移动应用程序访问实时数据、处理付款以及安排送货,随时与客户保持沟通。

阅读更多内容并观看视频

有效移动技术的关键功能

可扩展性:创建无法在企业扩展的单点解决方案的开发、管理和维护成本高昂。 应用需要经过全面构思,并考虑业务、流程和技术环境。

集成:
IDC 指出 (PDF, 611KB):“...移动电话和平板电脑上提供的应用程序在移动应用和后端业务逻辑与数据服务之间不一致。" 无论逻辑和数据在本地、云端还是混合配置中,将这些服务连接到应用程序都至关重要。

重复使用:
2018 年,超过 1050 亿个移动应用程序被下载。 其中许多业务应用程序已经修改或合并或者可以修改或合并。 通过利用应用程序内置的域名和行业专业知识,使用现有应用来加快实现价值,提高成本效率。

云开发:
云为开发、测试和管理应用程序提供了一个高效的平台。 开发人员可以使用应用程序编程接口 (API) 将应用连接到后端数据,然后重点关注前端功能。 他们可以添加身份验证来增强安全性,并访问人工智能 (AI) 和认知服务。

移动化管理:
在部署移动技术时,组织会寻求企业移动化管理 (EMM) 解决方案来配置设备和应用;跟踪设备使用情况和库存;控制和保护数据;提供支持和解决故障。

自带设备:
自带设备 (BYOD) 是一种 IT 策略,它允许员工使用个人设备访问数据和系统。 有效采用 BYOD 策略能够提高生产率、提高员工满意度和节省资金。 它同时提出了安全性和设备管理问题,这些都需要组织来解决。

安全性:
就其数量和复杂性而言,移动安全性是个棘手的问题。 人工智能 (AI) 是在海量数据中识别安全异常情况的关键武器。 它有助于发现和补救恶意软件事件或提出行动建议,以满足中央仪表板的监管要求。

边缘计算:
5G 的主要优势之一在于它能够使应用程序更接近其数据源或边缘服务器。 接近数据源可以带来网络优势,例如缩短响应时间和增强带宽可用性。 从企业角度而言,边缘计算提供执行更全面的数据分析、更快获得更深度洞察的机会。

准备迎接 5G 和边缘计算:阅读博客

相关解决方案

管理移动设备设备

无论对于特定操作系统、多种设备类型还是混合环境,对移动设备、内容和应用进行安全细致的管理都是当务之急。

简化移动环境支持

从移动设备管理 (MDM) 转向统一端点管理 (UEM)。 使用云、AI 和分析来支持复杂的端点和移动环境。

通过设计改善移动体验

结合设计思维、数据、技术和创造力,打造增强的互动式移动体验。 关键是找到正确的合作伙伴。


来源

¹2016-2021 年全球智能手机用户数量,Statista (链接位于 ibm.com 之外)

²移动员工:新的移动时代,信息时代 (链接位于  ibm.com 外部)

³ 蜂窝网络,Techopedia (链接位于  ibm.com 外部)

⁴ 什么是 WiFi 以及它如何工作?,CCM.net (链接位于  ibm.com 外部)

⁵ 蓝牙,TechTarget (链接位于  ibm.com 外部)

⁶ 应用下载和使用情况统计,Business of Apps (链接位于  ibm.com 外部)

Mobile technology

Communicate, collaborate and create using mobile devices

What is mobile technology?

Mobile technology is technology that goes where the user goes. It consists of portable two-way communications devices, computing devices and the networking technology that connects them.

Currently, mobile technology is typified by internet-enabled devices like smartphones, tablets and watches. These are the latest in a progression that includes two-way pagers, notebook computers, mobile telephones (flip phones), GPS-navigation devices and more.

The communications networks that connect these devices are loosely termed wireless technologies. They enable mobile devices to share voice, data and applications (mobile apps).

Mobile technology is pervasive and growing. The number of smartphone users has climbed beyond 3 billion¹ and the global mobile workforce is expected to reach 1.87 billion by 2022.²


Types of mobile networks

Cellular networks

Radio networks using distributed cell towers that enable mobile devices (cell phones) to switch frequencies automatically and communicate without interruption across large geographic areas. The same basic switching capability enables cellular networks to accommodate many users across a limited number of radio frequencies.³

4G networking

The current cellular service standard for most wireless communication. It uses packet switching technology, which organizes data into parts or packets for transmission and reassembles the information at the destination. 4G – “G” for generation —  is reported to be 10x faster than 3G — and 5G, faster still, is coming. 5G uses a set of aggregated frequency bands to unlock bandwidth and is approximately 20x faster than 4G.

WiFi

Radio waves that connect devices to the internet through localized routers called hotspots. Short for wireless fidelity, WiFi networks are like cell towers for internet access, but they don’t automatically pass service without establishing a WiFi connection. Most mobile devices allow for automatic switching between Wi-Fi and cellular networks depending upon availability and user preference.

Bluetooth

A telecommunications industry specification for connecting devices over short distances using short-wavelength radio waves. Bluetooth enables users to quickly connect or pair devices such as headsets, speakers, phones and other devices.


What is 5G?

5G is the fifth generation of cellular wireless technology. Like 4G, it uses frequencies that are part of the radio spectrum, but 5G uses very high frequencies that offer more bandwidth. This means more data delivered at higher speeds to more devices. Imagine video streaming to a smartphone. According to IBM, 5G will “improve that experience by making it 10x better not just for one individual, but for anyone streaming a video at the same time.”


Mobile technology case studies

Increase productivity

Using its Road Day mobile app to upload claims information from the field, Amica Mutual Insurance Company achieved 25 to 50 percent estimated productivity gains for its workflow processes. The app enables adjusters to collaborate closely with customers in the field, improving the accuracy of claims and helping customers feel more involved.

Capitalize on new business models

Frogs are disappearing in Australia — 4 of the 240 known species. To protect them, scientists needed a faster data-gathering model. Part of a crowd-sourcing approach, the FrogID app enables Australians to make audio recordings of frogs’ unique calls and upload them to an online database. The app also uses GPS coordinates to map frog populations.

Create the ideal shopping scenario

City Furniture uses mobile technology to create an almost ideal shopping experience.  Customers can combine online research with the ability to physically touch items and interact with sales personnel. The mobile app used by sales associates on their tablets accesses real-time data, processes payments and schedules deliveries — all without leaving the customer’s side.


Key capabilities of effective mobile technology

Scalability: Creating point solutions that don’t scale across an enterprise can be costly in terms of development, management and maintenance. Apps need to be conceived holistically with consideration for lines of business, processes and technical environments.

Integration:
IDC has pointed out (PDF, 611KB) that “…applications offered on mobile phones and tablets have a separation between the mobile app and back-end business logic and data services.” Being able to connect logic and data services to the app is critical, whether the logic and data are on premises, on the cloud or in hybrid configurations.

Reuse:
Over 105 billion mobile apps were downloaded in 2018. Many are, or can be modified or combined, for business applications. Using existing apps accelerates time-to-value and improves cost efficiency by taking advantage of domain and industry expertise built into the app.

Cloud-based development:
The cloud offers an efficient platform to develop, test and manage applications. Developers can use application programming interfaces (API) to connect apps to back-end data and focus on front-end functions. They can add authentication to bolster security, and access artificial intelligence (AI) and cognitive services.

Mobility management:
As mobile technology is deployed, organizations look to enterprise mobility management (EMM) solutions to configure devices and apps; track device usage and inventories; control and protect data; and support and troubleshoot issues.

BYOD:
Bring your own device (BYOD) is an IT policy that allows employees to use personal devices to access data and systems. Effectively adopted, BYOD can improve productivity, increase employee satisfaction and save money. At the same time, it presents security and device management questions that need to be addressed.

Security:
The mobile security battle is daunting in terms of volume and complexity. Artificial Intelligence (AI) is emerging as a key weapon to discern security anomalies in vast amounts of data. It can help surface and remediate malware incidents or recommend actions to meet regulatory requirements from a central dashboard.

Edge computing:
One of the key advantages of 5G is that it can bring applications closer to their data sources or edge servers. Proximity to data at its source can deliver network benefits such as improved response times and better bandwidth availability. From a business perspective, edge computing offers the opportunity to perform more comprehensive data analysis and gain deeper insights faster.


Related Solutions

Manage mobile devices

Secure and careful management of mobile devices, content and apps is imperative — whether for a specific operating system, multiple device types or a mixed environment.

Simplify support of mobile environments

Move from mobile device management (MDM) to unified endpoint management (UEM). Use cloud, AI and analytics to support a complex endpoint and mobile environment.

Elevate mobile experiences by design

Design thinking, data, technology and creativity can come together to develop enhanced, engaging mobile experiences. A key is finding the right partner.


Sources

¹ Number of smartphone users worldwide from 2016 to 2021, Statista (link resides outside of ibm.com)

² The mobile workforce: the new movement, Information Age (link resides outside of ibm.com)

³ Cellular Network, Techopedia (link resides outside of ibm.com)

⁴ What is WiFi and How Does it Work?, CCM.net (link resides outside of ibm.com)

⁵ Bluetooth, TechTarget (link resides outside of ibm.com)

⁶ App Download and Usage Statistics, Business of Apps (link resides outside of ibm.com)