Wiwynn 加大生产规模以实现全球增长

与 IBM 一起,为未来工厂奠定基础

IBM Consulting
阅读时间:8 分钟
合作方:
SAP 徽标Microsoft 徽标
工厂生产线

每一年,数字服务都越来越深地融入我们的个人和职业生活。 Wiwynn Corporation 创建了云服务提供商 (CSP) 和社交媒体巨头所依赖的基本服务器、存储和网络解决方案,为全球数百万企业和消费者实现全天候运营。

作为云 IT 基础架构提供商,Wiwynn 与其 CSP 客户紧密合作,提供优化的解决方案,并实现最佳总体拥有成本 (TCO)。 通过 ODM 直接销售业务模型,Wiwynn 设计、构建、配置服务器机架并直接运送至其 CSP 客户,从而加速创新和部署。 公司业务遍布多个全球工厂,包括其位于中国台湾的总部、位于中国台湾和中国大陆的表面封装技术工厂以及位于北美及欧洲的机架集成工厂。

Wiwynn 的首席信息官 (CIO) James Wen 解释说:“近年来,Wiwynn 推动了快速增长。 2020 年,我们为大约 10% 的全球服务器市场提供了服务,为 300 多个数据中心提供了解决方案。 展望未来,我们的目标是通过扩大我们在 5G 和边缘计算领域的覆盖范围来巩固这一成功,并扩展到冷却和节能技术等数据中心解决方案。”

在进入新业务细分市场的同时,Wiwynn 现有的 CSP 客户本身也在快速增长,这也增加了全球对服务器解决方案的需求。 为了捕获新的商机,公司致力于在未来几年大幅提高其制造能力。

“我们的端到端业务流程依赖于多个相距数千英里的站点,”温宗正解释说。 “为了帮助确保我们能够按时交付订单,多年来我们一直依赖于集成 SAP® ERP 解决方案来有效统筹协调我们的复杂供应链。”

Wiwynn 的 CIO 站在公司徽标前

基础架构 TCO 降低

40%

在 4 年多时间里

SAP 环境的供应速度提高了

99%

得益于云敏捷性

面向未来的业务系统对于我们的数字转型之旅至关重要,而这正是 Microsoft Azure 上的 SAP S/4HANA(由 IBM 顾问提供)为我们提供的。
温宗正
Wiwynn Corporation 的 CIO

过去,Wiwynn 的核心业务应用程序(包括 SAP ERP)由其母公司托管。 随着 Wiwynn 准备成为一家独立的上市企业,公司需要对自己的数据和系统进行管理,以符合监管要求。

“我们认为重新搭建平台的需求是一个宝贵的机会,可让我们的企业为下一阶段的转型之旅做好准备,”温宗正回忆道。 “通过迁移到下一代 ERP SAP S/4HANA®,我们相信我们可以在企业业务部门之间建立更紧密的集成,同时确保我们与供应链中的其他参与者交换信息变得更加容易。”

他继续说:“更重要的是,SAP S/4HANA 将为包括工业 4.0 在内的数字化转型技术奠定基础,让我们能够提高工厂车间的自动化水平。 工业物联网 [IoT] 传感器等创新技术可以帮助我们提高制造吞吐量,同时保持成本精益——这是我们努力发展业务的关键目标。”

Wiwynn 的两位员工正在建造一台机架服务器
几位 Wiwynn 员工使用笔记本电脑在新建的机架服务器上运行诊断服务
感谢 IBM Consulting,我们已经迁移到下一代 ERP,这将帮助我们优化流程,充分利用新机会,努力发展我们的业务。
温宗正
Wiwynn Corporation 的 CIO
与专家伙伴一起步入云端
感谢 IBM Consulting,我们已经迁移到下一代 ERP,这将帮助我们优化流程,充分利用新机会,努力发展我们的业务。
温宗正
Wiwynn Corporation 的 CIO

为了使企业能够专注于核心竞争力,并减少对计划中 SAP S/4HANA 环境的资本投资,Wiwynn 瞄准了云平台。 在审查了顶级云供应商后,公司选择了 Microsoft Azure 作为其任务关键型 SAP 业务系统的平台。

“从决策制定过程的早期开始,我们就认定云成熟度和规模经济是让我们不断获得业务增长的最佳选择,”Wen 说。 “在我们考虑的所有选项中,我们认为 Microsoft Azure 最适合 SAP S/4HANA。 除了获得 SAP 解决方案的全面认证外,Microsoft Azure 还为我们提供了强大的服务级别协议,确保我们的业务系统全天候可用。 与 Microsoft Azure 团队进行的深入评估研讨会让我们相信,该平台提供的灵活性、性能、可扩展性和可用性可帮助我们实现长期目标。”

Wiwynn 相信 Microsoft Azure 上的 SAP S/4HANA 将成为其数字化转型能力的基石。 要想在无中断的情况下到达云目标,及时完成迁移至关重要。 公司只有 12 个月的时间从其母公司的平台上迁移,并且只有 48 小时的窗口时间完成向新系统的切换。

认识到几乎没有出错的余地,于是 Wiwynn 寻求专家伙伴的支持,并聘请了 IBM 的顾问来帮助推动项目。

“由于该项目涉及我们的整个国际业务,因此寻找具有全球影响力的合作伙伴至关重要——IBM 做到了,”温宗正说道。 “IBM Consulting 团队了解我们对该项目的高层次目标,并制定出一种方法,使我们能够在整个 Microsoft Azure 上的 SAP S/4HANA 之旅中最大限度降低风险,控制成本和加快进度。 IBM 甚至早期就在我们提出的方法中发现了一个专业技术瓶颈,并主动帮助我们查找解决方案以避免出现该问题。”

Wiwynn 与 Microsoft 和 IBM 的团队合作,首先将其 SAP ERP 系统与母公司的环境隔离,并将产生的 SAP ERP 实例迁移至 Azure 云的沙箱环境中。 在对 SAP ERP 执行必要的升级后,IBM 执行了到 SAP S/4HANA 的选择性转换。 通过仅转换其一部分应用程序,Wiwynn 可以保持其大多数定制系统(包括支持制造过程的 SAP ERP 应用程序)不受影响,从而最大限度地降低宕机和业务中断的风险。

在沙箱环境中测试完新的 SAP S/4HANA 环境后,Microsoft 将 SAP 平台迁移到了美国的目标数据中心,并配置好平台以实现高可用性。 与此同时,IBM® Consulting 与 Microsoft 合作,帮助构建、配置和保护新的 SAP 环境。

“我们非常重视 IBM 的方法,因为它让我们能够快速推进项目,同时最大限度地减少我们在上线期间的业务中断风险,”温宗正补充道。 “该项目要求所有利益相关方密切合作,而 IBM、Microsoft 和 Wiwynn 团队真正做到了自始至终都在协同工作。 IBM 和 Microsoft 之间的密切战略联盟带来的优势从一开始就显而易见,两家公司为我们提供了确保成功迁移到云所需的所有技术资源。”

项目进行到一半时,COVID-19 疫情爆发了。 尽管全球业务受到严重干扰,IBM 和 Microsoft 仍携手合作,帮助保持该项目正常进行——让 Wiwynn 能够按时上线。

“在此类常规项目中,我们的 IT 人员将在墨西哥的组装厂等地现场监督上线,但疫情让这变得不可能,”温宗正评论说。 “由 IBM 顾问为该项目精心策划和设计的分步式方法帮助我们快速过渡到远程工作,并通过 SAP S/4HANA 上线,而不会对我们的全球业务用户产生任何影响。”

工业 4.0 的突破口

通过与 IBM Consulting 合作,Wiwynn 成功迁移至 Microsoft Azure 上的 SAP S/4HANA,而没有中断其包含诸多关键任务的制造运营。 除了帮助这家新独立运营的公司履行监管义务外,新的解决方案还为公司正在进行的数字化转型奠定了基础,包括向工业 4.0 技术迈进。

“我们已经将我们在台湾台南市的工厂作为未来自动化计划的孵化器,”温宗正解释说。 “通过为我们的制造设备配备工业 IoT 传感器,我们预测公司将能够收集资产状况、制造吞吐量和生产质量等深具价值的数据,甚至支持工厂车间自动导引车辆等高级功能。”

他继续说:“最终,工业 4.0 技术将允许我们以具有竞争力的成本和较高的质量制造更多的产品,让我们能够在全球 CSP 和企业数据服务市场获得更多商机。 面向未来的业务系统对于我们的数字化转型之旅至关重要,而 IBM Consulting 负责交付部署在 Microsoft Azure 上的 SAP S/4HANA ,真正为我们提供了成功保障。”

新的 SAP 解决方案已经为 Wiwynn 带来了强大的优势。 借助 SAP S/4HANA,公司可以更轻松地与其全球客户和供应链合作伙伴网络共享实时订单、生产和物流数据,从而实现更高效的数据驱动型运营。 得益于 Microsoft Azure,公司只需通过一个仅配备三名全职员工的精益 IT 团队来提供这些企业级功能。

“通过选择云而不是构建我们自己的内部数据中心,我们避免了对此投入大量的资本和运营成本,”温宗正证实道。 “我们估计,与同等内部解决方案相比,Microsoft Azure 上的 SAP S/4HANA 将在四年内将我们的总体拥有成本降低 40%。 并且因为我们在云端,所以向外扩展支持新业务服务明显比以前更快捷、更简单。 过去,为新的 SAP 解决方案建立基础架构以创建测试环境可能需要长达一个月的时间。 借助 Microsoft Azure,一切准备就绪,只需等待短短两个小时——速度提高了 99% 以上。”

展望未来,Wiwynn 计划在与 IBM 和 Microsoft 合作的基础上为企业增添富有价值的新功能。 例如,公司旨在利用 SAP Fiori 用户体验为其决策者提供对其关键数据的移动访问,并整合来自 SAP 业务技术平台的解决方案,以进一步简化核心业务流程。

“有了 SAP S/4HANA 的支持,我们已经为业务创新开辟了一个充满可能性的新世界,”Wen 说。 “我们已经有许多令人兴奋的计划正在筹备中,包括将区块链技术与 SAP 数据相结合,以更深入地了解我们组件的制造历史,以及与我们的客户和供应链供应商的实时集成,从而简化对我们客户的交付。”

他总结道:“云市场将迎来数十年的持续增长。 感谢 IBM,我们已迁移到下一代 ERP,这将帮助我们优化流程,充分利用新的机会,努力发展我们的业务。”

开始咨询 IBM Consulting

IBM、SAP、MIcrosoft 和 Wiwynn 徽标
关于 Wiwynn Corporation

2012 年成立于台湾新北市,Wiwynn Corporation外部链接 是一家创新型云 IT 基础架构提供商,为全球领先的云服务提供商提供高质量的计算和存储解决方案,并为企业数据中心提供机架解决方案。

解决方案组件
IBM、SAP、MIcrosoft 和 Wiwynn 徽标
关于 Wiwynn Corporation

2012 年成立于台湾新北市,Wiwynn Corporation外部链接 是一家创新型云 IT 基础架构提供商,为全球领先的云服务提供商提供高质量的计算和存储解决方案,并为企业数据中心提供机架解决方案。

解决方案组件

Wiwynn ramps up production for global growth

Laying the foundation for the factory of the future with IBM

8-minute read
In partnership with
SAP logoMicrosoft logo
Factory line

Each year, digital services become more deeply embedded in our personal and professional lives. Wiwynn Corporation creates the essential server, storage and networking solutions that cloud service providers (CSPs) and social media giants rely on to enable round-the-clock operations for millions of businesses and consumers around the world.

As a cloud IT infrastructure provider, Wiwynn works closely with its CSP clients to provide optimized solutions and enable the best total cost of ownership (TCO). Through the ODM-direct business model, Wiwynn designs, builds, configures and ships server racks directly to its CSP clients, accelerating innovation and deployment. The company’s operations span multiple global facilities, including its headquarters in Taiwan, surface-mount technology factories in Taiwan and China, and rack integration plants in North America and Europe.

James Wen, Chief Information Officer (CIO) at Wiwynn, explains: “In recent years, Wiwynn has driven fast-paced growth. In 2020, we served around 10% of the global server market and delivered solutions to more than 300 data centers. Looking ahead, we aim to build on this success by growing our footprint in the fields of 5G and edge computing, and expand into data center solutions such as cooling and energy-saving technologies.”

At the same time as it moves into new business segments, Wiwynn’s existing CSP clients are themselves growing rapidly — raising global demand for server solutions. To capture the new opportunities, the company aims to increase its manufacturing capacity significantly in the coming years.

“Our end-to-end business processes depend on multiple sites located thousands of miles apart,” explains Wen. “To help ensure we can deliver orders on time, we’ve relied for many years on integrated SAP® ERP solutions to orchestrate our complex supply chains efficiently.”

Wiwynn’s CIO stands in front of the company logo

Reduces infrastructure TCO by

40%

over 4 years

Accelerates provisioning of SAP environments by

99%

thanks to cloud agility

Future-ready business systems will be essential to our digital transformation journey, and that is exactly what SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure — delivered by consultants from IBM — offers us.
James Wen
CIO at Wiwynn Corporation

In the past, Wiwynn’s core business applications — including SAP ERP — were hosted by its parent company. As Wiwynn prepared to become an independent, publicly listed enterprise, it needed to take on management of its own data and systems to comply with regulatory requirements.

“We saw the need to re-platform as a valuable opportunity to prepare our business for the next phase of its transformation journey,” Wen recalls. “By moving to the next-generation ERP SAP S/4HANA®, we were confident we could create tighter integration between our business units, while at the same time making it easier to exchange information with other participants in our supply chain.”

He continues: “Even more importantly, SAP S/4HANA will lay the foundation for digital transformation technologies, including Industry 4.0, allowing us to increase the level of automation on the factory floor. Innovations like industrial Internet of Things [IoT] sensors could help us ramp up manufacturing throughput while keeping costs lean — a key objective as we strive to grow our business.”

Two Wiwynn employees construct a rack server
Several Wiwynn employees use laptops to run diagnostics on newly built rack servers
Thanks to IBM, we’ve moved to a next-generation ERP that will help us to optimize our processes, capitalize on the new opportunities, and grow our business.
James Wen
CIO at Wiwynn Corporation
Launching into cloud with expert partners
Thanks to IBM, we’ve moved to a next-generation ERP that will help us to optimize our processes, capitalize on the new opportunities, and grow our business.
James Wen
CIO at Wiwynn Corporation

To allow it to focus on its core competencies and reduce the capital investment for the planned SAP S/4HANA environment, Wiwynn targeted a cloud platform. After reviewing top cloud vendors, the company selected Microsoft Azure as the destination for its mission-critical SAP business systems.

“From early on in the decision-making process, we decided that the maturity and economies of scale of the cloud made it the optimal choice for our growing business,” says Wen. “Of all the options we considered, we felt that Microsoft Azure was the best fit for SAP S/4HANA. As well as being fully certified for SAP solutions, Microsoft Azure offers us robust service-level agreements that ensure our business systems are available 24x7. A deep-dive assessment workshop with the Microsoft Azure team convinced us that the platform offered the flexibility, performance, scalability and availability to help us meet our long-term objectives.”

Wiwynn was confident that SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure would be the keystone for its digital transformation capabilities. To reach the cloud destination without disruption, completing the migration in a timely manner was crucial. The company had just 12 months to move away from its parent company’s platform, and a tight window of only 48 hours to complete the switchover to the new systems.

Recognizing that there was almost no room for error, Wiwynn looked for the support of an expert partner, and engaged consultants from IBM to help drive the project.

“Because the project involved our entire international business, finding a partner with global reach was crucial — and IBM delivered,” says Wen. “The IBM team understood our high-level goals for the project and developed an approach that allowed us to minimize risk, control costs and accelerate progress throughout the journey to SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure. IBM even identified a major technical bottleneck in our proposed approach early on, and proactively helped us find a solution to avoid the issue.”

Working with teams from Microsoft and IBM, Wiwynn first isolated its SAP ERP systems from the parent company’s environment and moved the resulting SAP ERP instance to a sandbox environment in the Azure Cloud. After performing the necessary upgrades to SAP ERP, IBM performed a selective conversion to SAP S/4HANA. By only converting a subset of its applications, Wiwynn could leave its most customized systems — including SAP ERP applications to support the manufacturing process — untouched, minimizing the risk of downtime and business disruption.

After testing the new SAP S/4HANA environment in the sandbox environment, Microsoft moved the SAP platform to the target data center in the US and configured the platform for high availability. In parallel, consultants from IBM worked with Microsoft to help build, configure and secure the new SAP environment.

“We greatly valued the IBM approach, as it allowed us to keep our project moving forward quickly while minimizing our exposure to the risk of business disruption during the go-live,” adds Wen. “The project demanded close collaboration between all stakeholders, and the IBM, Microsoft and Wiwynn teams truly worked together as one throughout. The close strategic alliance between IBM and Microsoft was evident from the very beginning, and the two companies provided us with all the technical resources we needed to ensure the success of the move to cloud.”

Midway through the project, the COVID-19 pandemic struck. Despite the significant disruption to global business, IBM and Microsoft worked together to help keep the project on track — allowing Wiwynn to go live on time.

“In a normal project of this sort, our IT personnel would be on site in locations such as our assembly facility in Mexico to oversee the go-live — but the pandemic made that impossible,” comments Wen. “The carefully planned, step-by-step approach to the project designed by constants from IBM helped us to quickly transition to remote working and go live with SAP S/4HANA without any impact on our global business users.”

Breaking ground for Industry 4.0

By partnering with IBM, Wiwynn successfully moved to SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure without any disruption to its mission-critical manufacturing operations. As well as helping the newly independent company to meet its regulatory obligations, the new solution is laying the foundation for the company’s ongoing digital transformation, including its move toward Industry 4.0 technologies.

“We have already targeted our factory in Tainan City, Taiwan, as a possible incubator for future automation initiatives,” explains Wen. “By instrumenting our manufacturing equipment with industrial IoT sensors, we predict that we will be able to gather valuable data such as asset condition, manufacturing throughput and production quality — and even support advanced capabilities such as automated guided vehicles on the factory floor.”

He continues: “Ultimately, Industry 4.0 technologies will allow us to manufacture higher volumes of products at competitive cost and high quality, empowering us to capture incremental opportunities in the global CSP and enterprise data center market. Future-ready business systems will be essential to our digital transformation journey, and that is exactly what SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure — delivered by consultants from IBM — offers us.”

The new SAP solution is already delivering powerful benefits for Wiwynn. With SAP S/4HANA, the company can more easily share real-time data on orders, production and logistics with its global network of customers and supply chain partners, contributing to more efficient, data-driven operations. And thanks to Microsoft Azure, the company is delivering these enterprise-class capabilities with a lean IT team of just three full-time equivalents.

“By choosing the cloud rather than building our own on-premises data center, we’ve achieved substantial capital and operational cost avoidance,” confirms Wen. “We estimate that SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure will reduce our total cost of ownership by 40% over four years compared to an equivalent on-premises solution. And because we are in the cloud, scaling out to support new business services is significantly faster and simpler than before. In the past, standing up the infrastructure to create a test environment for a new SAP solution could take up to a month of work. With Microsoft Azure, everything its ready and waiting for us in as little as two hours — over 99% faster.”

Looking ahead, Wiwynn is planning to build on its work with IBM and Microsoft to deliver valuable new capabilities to the business. For example, the company aims to harness the SAP Fiori user experience to offer its decision-makers mobile access to key data, and to incorporate solutions from SAP Business Technology Platform to further streamline core business processes.

“With SAP S/4HANA supporting us, we’ve opened up a world of new possibilities for business innovation,” Wen says. “We already have a number of exciting initiatives in the pipeline, including combining blockchain technology with our SAP data to deliver deeper insight into the manufacturing histories of our components, and real-time integration with our customers and supply chain vendors to streamline deliveries to our clients.”

He concludes: “The cloud marketplace is set for decades of continued growth. Thanks to IBM, we’ve moved to a next-generation ERP that will help us to optimize our processes, capitalize on the new opportunities and grow our business.”

IBM, SAP, MIcrosoft and Wiwynn logos
About Wiwynn Corporation

Founded in 2012 in New Taipei City, Taiwan, Wiwynn CorporationExternal Link is an innovative cloud IT infrastructure provider of high-quality computing and storage solutions for the world’s leading cloud service providers, as well as rack solutions for enterprise data centers.

Solution components
IBM, SAP, MIcrosoft and Wiwynn logos
About Wiwynn Corporation

Founded in 2012 in New Taipei City, Taiwan, Wiwynn CorporationExternal Link is an innovative cloud IT infrastructure provider of high-quality computing and storage solutions for the world’s leading cloud service providers, as well as rack solutions for enterprise data centers.

Solution components