电信公司并购案为开展创新创造了契机
Vi 成为数字优先企业
一排人在使用智能手机

印度拥有 13.8 亿人口,是全球最大的电信市场之一。截至 2016 年,有十几家电信服务供应商在该国运营。

但在 2016 年,一家新的供应商进入市场,对电信市场造成了重大干扰,并引发了巨大变化,包括竞争加剧和价格战。

为了适应这些变化,该国两家主要电信供应商(Vodafone India 和 Idea Cellular)决定合并为 Vodafone Idea Limited (Vi)。Vi 副总裁兼数字技术主管 Vineet Chauhan 表示,这两家企业决定接受市场变化。他指出:“这是一个绝佳的机会,我们可以通过不断完善的网络、一流的数据传输速度以及出色的产品和服务,为越来越多的客户提供服务。”

如此大规模的合并史无前例。两家公司需要在不严重影响运营或客户服务的情况下进行整合。与此同时,Vi 希望实现成为数字优先企业的愿景。

快速增长

 

一个全新的数字零售商应用程序平台每月新增 700 万订阅用户

收益管理

 

该数字零售商应用程序用于管理每月 2 亿美元的收入

这是一个绝佳的机会,我们可以通过不断完善的最佳网络、一流的数据传输速度以及出色的产品和服务,为越来越多的客户提供服务。 Vineet Chauhan 副总裁 Vodafone Idea Limited
充分利用长期合作关系

Vi 与 IBM 的合作由来已久,因此求助于 IBM ® Consulting,帮助其规划和执行大规模的数字化转型以及合并和整合项目。Chauhan 表示:“我们与 IBM 合作,以我们所需的规模推动数字化转型。在与 IBM 的合作中,我们的三大支柱是信任、透明和敏捷。”

合并的一个关键环节是数字化转型。Chauhan 指出:“我们开始自我变革,作为一家数字优先的企业,我们希望确保每次都能在每个接触点令消费者满意。我们拥有创新、个性化、情境化并且有价值的产品和服务。”

Vi 与 IBM 合作创建了一个“数字工厂”,帮助改造 Vi 的各种数字资产,包括网站、移动应用程序和全新的数字平台。在推出全新的 Vi 品牌的同时,该公司还在白天推出了这些新网站和移动应用程序,实现了零停机时间。Chauhan 表示:“我们的消费者使用该网站获取信息、订阅或为预付费手机充值。我们的后付费订阅用户则会在该网站支付账单。我们可以提供令人兴奋的优惠。因此,我们彻底改造了所有这些功能,从而能够无缝过渡到新品牌。”

数字化转型为 Vi 的渠道合作伙伴提供了全新的数字平台。Vi 与 IBM 在数字工厂合作推出了多个首创的解决方案,例如支持免接触式充值和基于 UPI 的免接触式余额转账的数字零售商移动应用程序新平台。客户可以利用数字零售商应用程序,轻松为预付费手机充值,同时保持新冠疫情安全所需的社交距离。此外,分销商还可以进行基于 UPI 的免接触式余额转账,因此零售商可以随时获得所需的充值,而无需代表前往零售点。

这些举措帮助约 3 亿印度公民在新冠疫情大流行期间顺利保持联系。凭借新的数字零售商应用程序,Vi 每月新增 700 万订阅用户,并管理高达 2 亿美元的月收入。此外,该公司推出了全新的争取数字销售平台,推动数字业务在三个月内增长了 100%。

Vi 技术执行副总裁 Nirupmay Kumar 在合并和整合项目期间负责监督企业和消费者业务的整合战略、解决方案设计和需求管理。Kumar 指出:“我们与 IBM 进行了非常密切的互动,以确定我们的业务需求,以及如何设计系统。IBM 还帮助我们详细列明所有要求,以确保万无一失。”

Kumar 及其团队负责 Vodafone 和 Idea 两家公司 IT 系统的合并设计工作。Kumar 表示:“因此,我们面临如何确定一套合适的应用程序的挑战,以支持用户数量翻番以及未来的增长和功能。”考虑到两家公司的规模和 IT 环境的成熟度,这绝非易事。Kumar 指出:“电信公司的 IT 转型项目就像在空中飞行时更换引擎,必须在最少停机时间或不停机的情况下进行升级。”

当 Kumar 及其团队与 IBM 合作确定哪些企业应用程序最能支持新合并的企业时,他们发现有时候最佳选择是改造现有系统,而非整合。在某些情况下,他们还创建了新功能。两家公司过去都没有面向企业消费者的数字平台,因此 Vi 和 IBM 创建了一个数字新平台,为 Vi 企业客户提供自助服务选项。事实上,Vi 企业数字平台在著名的 ICMG 架构卓越奖评选中赢得了五项大奖。全新的企业数字平台在一年内实现了 35% 的支付增长、60% 的客户自助服务增长以及 70% 的新客户注册量增长。

Vi 副总裁兼整合计划管理主管 Sanjeev Vadera 负责合并和运营合并及整合项目。合并计划其中一部分涉及将许多应用程序和服务迁移至虚拟云,以降低拥有成本。Vadera 表示:“在我们的内心深处,一直在寻找尽量迁移至云端的方法。我们还进行了大量的虚拟化工作。”IBM 和 Vi 团队在短短 18 个月内成功执行了 32 项并行转型计划。这些项目影响了 700 多个业务流程中的近 3 亿客户(或大约四分之一的印度公民)以及 200 万渠道合作伙伴。

虽然合并和整合计划最初预计需要三到五年的时间,但在 IBM 的帮助下,Vi 在 24 个月内就完成了这项工作。该公司还完成了数字化转型,对消费者的影响微乎其微。Vadera 指出:“我们确保了大多数合并项目不会对客户造成任何影响。在 IBM 的帮助下,我们进行了多次模拟迁移,以制定减少停机时间的策略。”

Vi 和 IBM 总共将 350 多个应用程序合并为大约 200 个。此外,团队还将 140 个应用程序从三个数据中心迁移到一个数据中心。最终,该项目将把四个数据中心合并为一个。通过这次合并,Vi 迄今为止已节省了 6 亿美元。

此外,IBM 正在帮助 Vi 开发其网络域。Vi 与 IBM 合作,凭借 IBM 和 Red Hat 的支持,在其开放式通用混合云上实现了核心网络功能的首个重大生产里程碑。该平台使 IT 和网络应用程序能够在通用云架构上运行,该架构旨在通过优化网络和 IT 应用程序领域的资本支出、运营支出、技能和自动化投资来提高投资回报率。混合云基于 IBM 和 Red Hat 的开放技术和开放标准,可提供广泛的功能,包括 IBM® Watson AIRed Hat Ansible Automation Platform(ibm.com 外部链接),有助于增强 Vi 在网络和 IT 规划方面的能力。

电信公司的 IT 转型项目就像在空中飞行时更换引擎。 Nirupmay Kumar Vodafone Idea Limited 技术 执行副总裁
面向未来的平台

Vadera 及其团队还与 IBM 合作,在 Vi 实施了大数据湖计划。大数据湖计划是电信公司在全球范围内部署的最大开源数据湖之一。Vadera 表示:“新公司的业务分析和智能需求必须与 Vodafone 和 Idea 目前使用的工具和应用程序截然不同,因此我们决定构建一个全新的系统。”

全新的大数据湖数据平台的推出为 Vi 带来了巨大的价值。Vi 负责分析业务的 IT 部门助理副总裁 Aditya Ghosh 指出:“该计划为 Vi 带来了巨大的商业利益,成本削减近 40%,运营复杂性则降低了 60%。我们将凭借面向未来的现代化开源平台引领时代潮流。”

全新的数据平台取代了现有的两个数据仓库平台,每天处理超过 150 亿条记录,并创建 2,000 多个业务 KPI。数据湖是一个庞大的 10 PB 平台,正在帮助 Vi 向 AI 领域迈出下一个重要步伐,并实施了与 AI 和机器学习相关的主要用例,以改善网络体验、进行新规划并优化客户体验。

Vi 高级副总裁 Himanshu Jain 表示,与 IBM 的合作是该项目成功的关键。他指出:“IBM 带来了强大的治理框架、敏捷的扩展能力和专业领域知识。在充满挑战的新冠疫情期间,IBM 切实帮助我们实现了企业的数字化。”

Vi 预期将继续与 IBM 合作,以实现其目标。Kumar 表示:“我们目前拥有一个非常强大的平台,可以将其作为跳板,实现更多创新和功能。我们与 IBM 的关系与日俱增,我期待与 IBM 继续合作,成为未来可靠的长期合作伙伴。”

Vodafone Idea 徽标
Vodafone Idea Limited (Vi) 简介

Vi(ibm.com 外部链接)是印度领先的电信供应商之一。该公司为全印度超过 48 万个城镇和村庄大约 3 亿用户提供服务。除了拥有印度最大的电信网络外,Vi 还通过 2G、3G 和 4G 平台提供泛印度语音和数据服务。该公司总部位于孟买和甘地讷格尔,2020 年营收为 64 亿美元。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021.IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 7 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 网页上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Red Hat 和 Ansible 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

A telecom merger provides an opportunity to innovate

Vi becomes a digital-first organization
by Catherine Palmer
7-minute read
A row of people on smart-phones

With a population of 1.38 billion people, India has one of the largest telecom markets in the world. Up until 2016, there were more than a dozen telecom service providers operating in the country.

But in 2016, a new provider entered the marketplace, causing major disruption to the telecom market and triggering massive changes, including increased competition and price wars.

To adapt to these changes, two of the top telecom providers in the country — Vodafone India and Idea Cellular — decided to merge to become Vodafone Idea Limited (Vi). According to Vineet Chauhan, Vice President and Head of Digital Technology at Vi, the two businesses decided to embrace the market changes. “It was a great opportunity to serve more and more customers through our ever-improving network, best-in-class data speeds, and great products and services,” he says.

A merger of this size was unprecedented. The two companies needed to consolidate without significantly disrupting operations or service to customers. At the same time, Vi wanted to execute on its vision of becoming a digital-first company.

A new digital retailer app platform adds

7

million subscribers per month

The digital retailer app is used to manage revenue of

USD 200

million each month

A new digital sales acquisition platform boosted acquisitions

100%

in 3 months

Application consolidation led to

USD 600

million in savings

It was a great opportunity to serve more and more customers through our best-in-class, ever-improving network, best-in-class data speeds, and great products and services.
Vineet Chauhan
Vice President, Vodafone Idea Limited
Teenage boy using mobile phone while travelling by train
IT Transformation project for a telecom company is like changing the engine while the flight is in the air.
Nirupmay Kumar
Executive Vice President, Technology, Vodafone Idea Limited
Leveraging a long-standing partnership
IT Transformation project for a telecom company is like changing the engine while the flight is in the air.
Nirupmay Kumar
Executive Vice President, Technology, Vodafone Idea Limited

Vi had a long history with IBM, so it turned to IBM Services® to help plan and execute its massive digital transformation and its consolidation and integration projects. “We partnered with IBM to drive digital transformation at the scale that we needed to,” says Chauhan. “And in this partnership with IBM, our three pillars are trust, transparency and agility.”

A key component for the merger was digital transformation. “We set out to transform ourselves,” says Chauhan. “As a digital-first organization, we wanted to make sure that we delight consumers at every touchpoint, every time. We have the kind of products and offerings that are innovative, personalized, contextual and relevant.”

Working alongside IBM, Vi created a “digital factory” to help transform the various Vi digital properties, including websites, mobile apps and new digital platforms. As it rolled out the new Vi brand, the company launched these new websites and mobile apps during the day with zero downtime. “Our consumers use the website for information, to subscribe or to recharge their prepaid phone,” says Chauhan. “Our postpaid subscribers come and make a bill payment. And we can present exciting offers. So, we turned all these functions around and we were seamlessly able to transition into the new brand.”

The digital transformation enabled new digital platforms for Vi’s channel partners. Vi worked collaboratively with IBM in the digital factory to launch several first-of-a-kind solutions, such as a new digital retailer mobile app platform supporting contactless recharges and contactless UPI-based balance transfers. Using the digital retailer app, customers can recharge their prepaid phone easily while maintaining the social distancing required for COVID-19 safety. In addition, distributors can make contactless UPI-based balance transfers, so retailers can always get the recharges they need without requiring representatives to travel to retail locations.

These initiatives help some 300 million Indian citizens stay connected, without any issues, during the COVID-19 pandemic. With the new digital retailer app, Vi is gaining seven million new subscribers per month and managing monthly revenue of USD 200 million. Plus, the company launched a new digital sales acquisition platform, driving a 100% increase in digital acquisitions in three months.

Nirupmay Kumar, Executive Vice President of Technology at Vi, oversaw integration strategy, solution design and demand management for enterprise and consumer business during the consolidation and integration projects. “We interacted very closely with IBM to identify our business requirements and to determine how to design the systems,” says Kumar. “IBM also helped us detail all of our requirements to make sure that nothing was missed.”

Kumar and his team handled the job of consolidation design of the IT systems from both Vodafone and Idea. “So the challenge was how to identify the right set of applications that can support double the subscriber base, along with future growth and functionalities,” says Kumar. This was no easy task, considering the size and IT landscape maturity of the two companies. “IT Transformation project for a telecom company is like changing the engine while the flight is in the air, you have to upgrade with minimal or no downtime” says Kumar.

As Kumar and his team worked with IBM to determine which enterprise applications could best support the newly merged organization, they found at times that the best choice was to transform an existing system rather than consolidating. And in some cases they created new functionality. In the past, neither company had a digital platform for the enterprise consumer, so Vi and IBM created a new digital platform to provide self-service options to Vi enterprise customers. In fact, the Vi enterprise digital platform won five awards at the prestigious ICMG Architecture Excellence Awards competition. The new enterprise digital platform has delivered a 35% increase in payments, a 60% growth in customer self-servicing and a 70% rise in new customer registrations in one year.

Sanjeev Vadera, Vice President and Head of Integration Program Management at Vi, handled consolidation and operations for the consolidation and integration projects. Part of the consolidation program involved moving many applications and services to a virtualized cloud to reduce the cost of ownership. “In the back of our minds, we were always looking for ways to move to the cloud as much as possible,” says Vadera. “We did a lot of virtualization as well.” The IBM and Vi team successfully executed 32 parallel transformation programs within just 18 months. These projects impacted nearly 300 million customers (or approximately one in every four Indian citizens) and two million channel partners across more than 700 business processes.

Although the consolidation and integration program was originally projected to take three to five years, Vi was able to complete it within 24 months with help from IBM. The company also completed the digital transformation with minimal impact on its consumers. “For the majority of our consolidation projects, we ensured that there was zero customer impact,” says Vadera. “With IBM’s help, we did iterations of mock migrations to create the strategies for how we can reduce downtime.”

In total, Vi and IBM consolidated more than 350 applications down to approximately 200. In addition, the teams migrated 140 applications from three data centers to one data center. Ultimately, the project will result in the consolidation of four data centers into one. Through this consolidation, Vi has saved USD 600 million so far.

In addition, IBM is helping Vi with its network domains. Vi collaborated with IBM to deliver its first major production milestone for core network functions on its open universal hybrid cloud, powered by IBM and Red Hat. The platform enables IT and network applications to run on a common cloud architecture, which is designed to deliver ROI improvements through the optimization of CapEx, OpEx, skills and automation investments across both the network and IT application domains. The hybrid cloud is based on open technology and open standards from IBM and Red Hat, and it delivers a wide range of capabilities, including IBM Watson® AI and the Red Hat® Ansible® Automation Platform, which can help strengthen Vi’s capability in network and IT planning.

A platform for the future

Vadera and his team also teamed with IBM to implement the Big Data Lake program at Vi. The Big Data Lake program is one of the biggest open-source-based data lakes implemented globally in a telecom company. “The business analytics and intelligence needs for the new company needed to be very different from the existing tools and applications used by Vodafone and Idea, so we decided build a completely new system,” says Vadera.

The launch of the new Big Data Lake data platform has delivered significant value to Vi. “The program has brought immense business benefits to Vi, with close to a 40% cost reduction and a 60% reduction in operational complexity,” says Aditya Ghosh, Associate Vice President of IT for Analytics at Vi. “We’re going to be ahead of the curve with a future-ready, modern and open-source platform.”

The new data platform, which replaced two existing data warehouse platforms, processes over 15 billion records per day, creating more than 2,000 business KPIs daily. The data lake is a massive 10-petabyte platform. It’s helping Vi take the next big step into the AI domain, with the implementation of major AI- and machine-learning-related use cases for network experience improvements, new planning and customer experience improvement.

According to Himanshu Jain, Senior Vice President at Vi, the partnership with IBM was key to the success of the project. “IBM brings robust governance framework, agility to scale up and domain expertise to the table,” he says. “And IBM has really helped us digitize our organization during challenging times due to COVID-19.”

Vi anticipates that it will continue to work with IBM to achieve its goals. “Now we have a very strong platform that we can use as a springboard for more innovation, more features,” says Kumar. “Our relationship with IBM is growing day by day, and I look forward to working with IBM as a trusted partner for many years to come.”

Vodafone Idea logo
About Vodafone Idea Limited (Vi)

ViExternal Link is one of the leading telecom providers in India. The company serves approximately 300 million subscribers across more than 480,000 towns and villages throughout India. In addition to having the largest telecom network in India, Vi provides pan-India voice and data services across 2G, 3G and 4G platforms. It is headquartered in Mumbai and Gandhinagar and reported revenue of USD 6.4 billion in 2020.

Solution components
Vodafone Idea logo
About Vodafone Idea Limited (Vi)

ViExternal Link is one of the leading telecom providers in India. The company serves approximately 300 million subscribers across more than 480,000 towns and villages throughout India. In addition to having the largest telecom network in India, Vi provides pan-India voice and data services across 2G, 3G and 4G platforms. It is headquartered in Mumbai and Gandhinagar and reported revenue of USD 6.4 billion in 2020.

Solution components