UBank
借助 IBM Cloud 解决方案将数字银行功能更快地推向市场
玩具机器人队列

在与 IBM® Watson® 和 Cloud Adoption Leadership 团队协商后,UBank 在 IBM Cloud® Platform 开发环境中推出了新计划,其中包括 RoboChat,这是一种虚拟代理,它采用 IBM Watson Conversation 技术帮助客户申请住房贷款。

业务挑战

为了提高运营效率,促进实现更多创新,并加快将新功能和产品推向市场,UBank 希望探索平台即服务 (PaaS) 云开发模式。

变革

UBank 在 IBM Cloud Platform 环境中启动了新计划,包括虚拟代理,该代理采用 IBM Watson 技术支持该银行的在线住房贷款申请。

结果 缩短上市时间
借助 IBM Cloud Platform 框架,简化开发并为产品团队提供支持
支持创新
使用基于云的 IBM 开发资源,实现快速、简单且经济高效的部署
战略合作
基于 UBank 业务目标的共同愿景,与 IBM 建立高效合作关系
业务挑战案例
消除创新障碍

作为一个对员工数量进行自我限制的精益组织,UBank 擅长寻找创新方法来满足需求。“需求是发明之母,所以当您说员工不能超过 200 人时,创造力就开始涌现,”UBank 数字和技术主管 Jeremy Hubbard 说道,“我们真的把我们的公司看作是一家拥有银行执照的金融科技公司。”

UBank 的 IT 团队一直面临着寻找更高效运营方式的挑战,他们希望探索一种平台即服务(PaaS)云开发模式。“转向 PaaS 解决方案对我们的吸引力在于让开发人员拥有更多控制权,减少对额外资源的需求,”Hubbard 说,“另一个驱动因素是加快上市速度,消除从创意到生产的障碍。”

IBM 正在帮助我们实现理想运营模式的愿景……我们正在营造一个消除障碍和推动创新的环境。 Jeremy Hubbard 数字和技术主管 UBank
变革案例
与 IBM 合作启动新计划

在与 IBM Watson 和 Cloud Adoption Leadership 团队讨论其对 PaaS 技术的兴趣后,UBank 确信 IBM Cloud 开发解决方案最适合自己的需求。“Cloud Adoption Leadership 确实是 IBM 的差异化优势,”Hubbard 说道,“该团队拥有经验丰富的工程师,他们专注于业务成果,并乐于以非销售驱动的非传统方式工作。”

为了了解 IBM Cloud 技术的优势,UBank 和 IBM Garage 团队选择了一个初始用例,重点关注该银行为吸引人们对住房贷款产品的兴趣所做的工作。“我们不是只关注电子邮件营销活动,而是开发了一款可连接 Facebook 的应用程序,让我们的客户向 Facebook 朋友推荐我们的住房贷款计划,”Hubbard 说,“我们创建了 Ruby on Rails 应用程序,在 IBM Cloud Platform 上进行托管,同时基于该应用程序构建了完整的开发运维管道,包括自动化测试,并迅速上线。”

UBank 对该平台的开发速度和运行所需的最低开销印象深刻,因此在 IBM Cloud 环境中实施了第二项计划。该银行与 IBM Watson 团队合作举办了一场黑客马拉松,评估了涉及认知技术的各种潜在用例,并最终选择了 RoboChat,这是其在线住房贷款申请表的虚拟代理。“IBM Cloud 内置的编排层将 IBM watsonx Assistant 服务连接到我们希望虚拟代理出现的任意数量的前端,”Hubbard 说,“从本质上讲,RoboChat 是作为一名额外工作人员而设置的,在我们当前的实时聊天功能中提供一组特定的技能。”

案例成果
简化上市之旅

IBM Cloud 解决方案提供 UBank 运营转型所需的框架,以实现更快、更简化的开发并缩短新产品和功能的上市时间。“我们的开发人员现在能够将代码推向生产,而无需技术操作人员参与,”Hubbard 说,“我们的产品团队可以实现真正自主,从新功能创意到发布,无需其他团队参与,也不会产生摩擦点。IBM 正在帮助我们实现理想运营模式的愿景。”

凭借可以实现快速、简单且经济高效的部署且基于云的 IBM 开发资源,UBank 支持创新方法,而这对于实现其作为金融科技组织的核心使命至关重要。“以前,为了实现某个创意并运行相关产品,我们必须在可能失败这一设想的基础上组织硬件、运营人员和其他资源,”Hubbard 说,“我们必须花费大量时间和资金来证明某个创意是否能够成功。现在我们可以提出一个概念并快速推出,而无需同等程度的严谨性和成本。我们正在营造一个消除障碍并推动创新的环境。”

最后,UBank 对与 IBM 的合作表示感谢,并期待继续合作来实现战略目标。“我们与 IBM 建立了真正的合伙关系,对我们的业务有着共同的愿景,”Hubbard 说,“感觉就像我们正在与另一家初创公司合作,这确实适合我们的文化,这一点非常重要。”

U Bank 徽标
UBank

UBank(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 2008 年,总部位于澳大利亚悉尼,是一家纯数字银行。该公司通过电话和实时聊天在线提供服务,避免了维护传统分支机构的成本,并将节省的成本直接惠及客户。UBank 致力于通过一套交易、储蓄和住房贷款产品为客户提供更简单、更智能的银行业务。

采取后续步骤

要了解有关 IBM Cloud 解决方案的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/garage


查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Cloud 解决方案的更多信息

脚注

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017. IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504 美国出品,2017 年 7 月。IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Bluemix 以及 Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网址的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了最新的 IBM 商标列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml。本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

UBank
Bringing digital banking capabilities to market faster with an IBM Cloud solution
Toy robots in line

After consulting with an IBM® Watson® and Cloud Adoption Leadership team, UBank launched new initiatives in an IBM Cloud® platform development environment, including RoboChat, a virtual agent that incorporates IBM Watson conversation technology to help customers apply for home loans.

Business challenge

To operate more efficiently, foster greater innovation, and go to market with new features and products more quickly, UBank wanted to explore a platform as a service (PaaS) cloud development model.

Transformation

UBank launched new initiatives in an IBM Cloud Platform environment, including a virtual agent that incorporates IBM Watson technology to support the bank’s online home loan application.

Results Speeds time to market
with an IBM Cloud Platform framework that streamlines development and empowers product teams
Supports innovation
with cloud-based IBM development resources that are quick, easy and cost-effective to deploy
Collaborates strategically
with IBM in a highly productive relationship built on a shared vision of UBank’s business objectives
Business challenge story
Removing barriers to innovation

As a lean organization with a self-imposed limit on head count, UBank excels at finding innovative ways to meet demands. “Necessity is the mother of invention, so the minute you say that you can’t have more than 200 people, the creativity starts to flow,” says Jeremy Hubbard, Head of Digital and Technology for UBank. “We really see our company as a fintech with a banking license.”

Continually challenged to find more efficient ways to operate, UBank’s IT team wanted to explore a platform as a service (PaaS) cloud development model. “The attraction for us in moving to a PaaS solution was the idea of giving more control to our developers and reducing the need for additional resources,” says Hubbard. “The other driver was around speed to market and removing barriers in going from an idea to production.”
 

IBM is helping us implement our vision of our ideal operating model... We’re fostering an environment that removes barriers and drives innovation. Jeremy Hubbard Head of Digital and Technology UBank
Transformation story
Launching new initiatives with IBM

Discussing its interest in PaaS technology with an IBM Watson and Cloud Adoption Leadership team, UBank became convinced that an IBM Cloud development solution was the best fit for its needs. “Cloud Adoption Leadership is truly a differentiator for IBM,” says Hubbard. “The team has experienced engineers who are focused on a business outcome and are happy to work in a non-traditional way that’s not sales-driven.”

To see the benefits of IBM Cloud technology at work, UBank and an IBM Garage team selected an initial use case, focusing on the bank’s efforts to attract interest in its home loan offerings. “Rather than look solely at an email campaign, we built an app that plugs into Facebook and lets our customers refer Facebook friends to our home loan program,” says Hubbard. “We created a Ruby on Rails app that we hosted on IBM Cloud Platform, built a full DevOps pipeline around that, including automated testing, and quickly went live.”

Impressed by the development speed and minimal overhead required to run the platform, UBank proceeded with a second initiative in an IBM Cloud environment. Conducting a hackathon with an IBM Watson team, the bank evaluated a wide range of potential use cases involving cognitive technology, settling on RoboChat, a virtual agent for its home loan application form online. “An orchestration layer built-in IBM Cloud connects the IBM watsonx Assistant service to any number of front ends where we want our virtual agent to appear,” says Hubbard. “Essentially, RoboChat is set up as an additional staff member providing a specific set of skills within our current live chat capability.”
 

Results story
Streamlining the route to market

The IBM Cloud solution offers the framework UBank needs to transform its operations for faster, more streamlined development and accelerated time to market for new products and features. “Our developers now are able to push code through to production without the need to have a tech ops person involved,” says Hubbard. “Our product teams can be truly autonomous and go from a new feature idea to launch without involving other teams and creating friction points. IBM is helping us implement our vision of our ideal operating model

And with cloud-based IBM development resources that are quick, easy and cost-effective to deploy, UBank supports the innovative approach that is key to its core mission as a financial technology (fintech) organization. “Previously, to get an idea up and running, we had to organize hardware, ops people and other resources on the back of a concept that might fail,” says Hubbard. “We had to spend a lot of time and money trying to prove out whether an idea could be successful. Now we can come up with a concept and push it out really quickly without the same level of rigor and cost involved. We’re fostering an environment that removes barriers and drives innovation.”

Finally, UBank appreciates its collaborative relationship with IBM and looks forward to continuing to work together to meet strategic objectives. “With IBM, we created a genuine partnership with a shared vision for our business,” says Hubbard. “It feels like we’re working with another startup—it’s really the right cultural fit for us, and that’s so important.”

U Bank Logo
UBank

Established in 2008 and headquartered in Sydney, Australia, UBank (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a digital-only bank. Offering services online, over the phone and through live chat, the business eliminates the costs of maintaining traditional branches and passes savings directly to customers. UBank focuses on offering simpler, smarter banking to its customers with its suite of transaction, savings and home loan products.
 

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Cloud solutions please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: https://www.ibm.com/garage


View more client stories or learn more about IBM Cloud solutions

Footnotes

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017. IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504 Produced in the United States of America, July 2017 IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, Bluemix and Watson are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml. This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates. The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.