主页 Case Studies 联邦国防部 BMLV IBM 开发基于 watsonx 的生成式 AI 解决方案,为奥地利联邦武装部队提供基于事实的信息
联邦国防部 (BMLV) 与 IBM
watsonx.ai 针对 Leadspace 的数字渲染
对质量保障、信任和透明度的需求

奥地利联邦国防部 (BMLV) 设有中央文献部 (ZentDok),该部门特别重视用户的信任和透明度。ZentDok 需要一种 AI 解决方案,既能保障质量,又能符合“人机回圈”原则,即仍然需要人与人之间进行互动。针对任何潜在的解决方案,ZentDok 规定来源应该可追溯,幻觉风险应该降至最低,并且应该告知用户来源的质量、相关性和可靠性。然后,该解决方案还应该提供可定制的用户界面和用户友好型访问管理。

由于没有“现成的”行业解决方案能够满足这些需求,IBM 奥地利团队派遣了一支多学科 IBM Client Engineering 团队与 ZentDok 团队合作。他们联手开发了最低可行产品 (MVP),以测试其可行性要求。使用以下功能,生成的“ChatZentDoc”从其他解决方案中脱颖而出:

  • 根据经核实的可靠信息来源提供高质量的定性回复。
  • 从数据集中选择最佳来源,并在此基础上生成回复。
  • 连接现有系统,每日更新知识数据库。
  • 引用来源,以核实回复的正确性,建立对 AI 的信任,并支持进一步研究。
  • 集成反馈功能,为 ZentDok 团队提供持续改进解决方案的选项。
解决方案:ChatZentDoc - 使用自然语言与自己的数据交互

IBM Client Engineering 方法的优势在于,客户能够在专家的指导下熟悉所使用产品的优势。ZentDok 是 IBM 数据收集技术的长期用户,自 2016 年以来一直使用 IBM Watson Explorer 解决方案进行自然语言处理 (NLP)。因此,BMLV 决定继续推进 IBM® watsonx.ai AI 开发平台技术。

借助 ChatZentDoc,打造了一个使用 NLP 提供基于事实的回复的界面。在这一专门开发的前端中,用户可以使用过滤器选项查询数据库并隔离答案。相关回复可与源文件一起导出。ChatZentDoc 借助每天更新的信息运行,以确保必要的及时性。通过这种方式,OSINT(开源智能工具)得以问世,此工具也可用于公共行政领域的其他应用。

尽管日程紧迫,协作仍然高效

ZentDok 的负责人 Klaus Mak 上校将与 IBM 的合作关系描述为意义深远且十分专业:“第一次演示的质量就让我们所有人都十分意外。从来没有哪个项目能够如此迅速地取得成功。”

下一步将是创建一个测试环境,其他部门的用户可以在其中测试该工具的各项功能。在此期间,有必要开展有关生成式 AI 和 NLP 的培训和教育:“我们正在进入一个全新的世界。用户提示十分关键,用户的能力也将变得越来越重要。”

数据洪流来袭之际采取行动的能力

IBM 的 Benedikt Klotz 表示:“开源智能在需要搜索和分析大量非结构化数据的领域得到了普遍运用。公共部门的 AI 解决方案始终对安全和监管规定构成特殊挑战,如 GDPR、《IT 安全法》和《欧盟 AI 法案》等。本次试点期间获得的经验也有利于在组织中处理敏感数据的其他业务领域。”

Mak 认为 AI 是应对混合威胁的强大工具:“您可以使用人类智能观察数据洪流,但无法对其进行评估。然而,对数据洪流的评估和分类是在风险场景中保持行动能力的先决条件。”

第一次演示的质量就让我们所有人都十分意外。从来没有哪个项目能够如此迅速地取得成功。 Klaus Mak 上校 国防学院 (NDA) 文献中心 (ZentDok) 负责人 奥地利武装部队 (AAF)
可信的生成式 AI 平台

奥地利 IBM Client Engineering 团队正在继续开发由此构建的 AI 平台,以便将其部署到其他环境中。在 IBM® Consulting 的帮助下,MVP 互动仍在继续,以便 ZentDok 可以评估进一步的需求。作为合作的下一步,ZentDok 计划将 watsonx.ai 用作可信的生成式 AI 平台。Mak 看到了这款工具的巨大潜力,以及在以合法安全的方式部署和运行该工具之前的培训需求。

相比之下,Mak 并不认为该解决方案会导致失业,这是生成式 AI 领域普遍存在的担忧。人机回圈原则将生成式 AI 从非结构化数据中提取的洞察诠释为对始终拥有最终决定权的人类决策者的支持。因此,根据 Mak 的说法,会需要更多的高素质人员,而非裁减人员。“我很高兴我们能够实现这个目标,”他说,“感谢 IBM 能够非常快速、顺利地完成这个流程。”

 联邦国防部 (BMLV) 徽标
联邦国防部 (BMLV) 简介

奥地利联邦国防部(德语:Bundesministerium für Landesverteidigung,有时缩写为 BMLV 或 Verteidigungsministerium)(ibm.com 外部链接)是负责与军事事务,特别是奥地利武装部队有关的所有事务的部门。

IBM watsonx.ai

watsonx.ai 助力企业定制化构建 AI 解决方案,以满足其特定需求。

深入了解 watsonx.ai 开始免费试用
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2024。IBM、IBM 徽标、IBM Consulting 和 watsonx.ai 是 IBM Corp. 在美国和/或其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

插图中的客户示例展示了客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能已取得的结果。实际性能、成本、节省情况或其他结果可能因具体运营环境不同而异。

IBM develops watsonx-based generative AI solution to provide fact-based information for the Austrian federal armed forces
The Federal Ministry for National Defence (BMLV) and IBM
watsonx.ai digital rendering for leadspace
A need for quality assurance, trust and transparency

The Austrian Ministry for National Defence (BMLV) maintains a Central Documentation Department (ZentDok), which places particular value on user trust and transparency. ZentDok sought an AI solution that would enable quality assurance while remaining in accordance with the human-in-the-loop principle, where human interaction is still required. With any potential solution, ZentDok stipulated that sources should be traceable, the risk of hallucination should be reduced to a minimum, and the user should be informed of the quality, relevance and reliability of the sources. Subsequently, it should provide a customizable user interface and user-friendly access management.

As there is no “off-the-shelf” industry solution for these requirements, IBM Austria dispatched a multidisciplinary IBM® Client Engineering team to  work with the ZentDok team. Together, they developed a Minimal Viable Product (MVP) to test the requirements for their feasibility. Using the following features, the resulting “ChatZentDoc” clearly stood out from other solutions:

  • Provision of qualitative, high-quality responses based on verified, reliable sources.
  • Selection of optimal sources from the data set, on the basis of which the response would be generated.
  • Connection to existing systems and daily updating of the knowledge database.
  • Referencing of sources to verify the correctness of the response, build trust in the AI, and allow further research.
  • Integration of a feedback function to provide the ZentDok team with the option to continuously improve the solution.
The solution: ChatZentDoc—interaction with your own data in natural language

The IBM Client Engineering method offers customers the advantage of being able to familiarize themselves with the products they use under the guidance of experts. ZentDok is a longtime user of IBM technology for data collection and has also been using IBM Watson® Explorer solution for natural language processing (NLP) since 2016. So, BMLV decided to move ahead with IBM watsonx.ai™ AI studio technology.

With ChatZentDoc, an interface has emerged that uses NLP to provide fact-based responses. In the specially developed front end, users can query the database and isolate answers using filter options. The responses can be exported along with the source documents. ChatZentDoc runs using information that is updated daily, to ensure the necessary timeliness. In this way, a so-called OSINT (Open-Source Intelligence Tool) was created, which can also be used for other applications in the public administration.

Highly efficient collaboration, despite an ambitious schedule

Colonel Klaus Mak, who leads ZentDok, describes the collaboration with IBM as profound and highly professional: “The quality of the first presentation positively surprised us all. No project has worked so quickly so successfully.”

The next step will be to create a test environment in which users of other departments can test the capabilities of the tool. In doing so, there is a need for training and education in dealing with generative AI and NLP: “We are entering a completely new world here. User prompting is the essential thing, and the user’s capability will become more and more important.”

Ability to act in times of overwhelming floods of data

“Open-source intelligence,” explains Benedikt Klotz of IBM, “is universally usable in areas that need to search and analyze quantities of unstructured data. AI solutions for the public sector always posed a particular challenge in terms of security and regulatory provisions such as GDPR, the IT Security Act and the EU AI Act. The experiences gained in this pilot also benefit other business areas within the economy that deal with sensitive data.”

Mak views AI as a powerful tool in dealing with hybrid threats: “You can observe the data floods with human intelligence, but not assess them. However, their evaluation and classification are the prerequisite for the ability to remain capable of acting in the light of risk scenarios.”

The quality of the first presentation positively surprised us all. No project has worked so quickly so successfully. Colonel (Col) Klaus Mak Head of the Documentation Center (ZentDok) at the National Defence Academy (NDA) Austrian Armed Forces (AAF)
A platform for trusted generative AI

The Austrian IBM Client Engineering team is continuing to develop the resulting AI platform to deploy it in other environments. With the help of IBM Consulting®, MVP engagement continues so that ZentDok can evaluate further requirements. As a next step in the collaboration, it plans to use watsonx.ai as a platform for trusted generative AI. Mak sees great potential in the tool, as well as training needs, before the tool is deployed and run in a legally safe way.

In contrast, Mak does not expect the solution to result in job losses, a common fear in the context of generative AI. The human-in-the-loop principle understands insights that generative AI extracts from unstructured data as support for human decision-makers who always have the final word. Therefore, according to Mak, more highly-qualified personnel are needed, rather than fewer. “I’m glad we were able to do this,” he says, “and I would like to thank IBM for running this process very quickly and smoothly.”

 The Federal Ministry for National Defense (BMLV) logo
About The Federal Ministry for National Defence (BMLV)

The Federal Ministry of Defence (German: Bundesministerium für Landesverteidigung, sometimes shortened to BMLV or Verteidigungsministerium) (link resides outside of ibm.com) of Austria is the ministry in charge of all matters relating to military affairs, especially the Austrian Armed Forces.

IBM watsonx.ai

Watsonx.ai is helping companies custom build AI solutions to suit their specific needs.

Explore watsonx.ai Start your free trial
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2024. IBM, the IBM logo, IBM Consulting, and watsonx.ai are trademarks or registered trademarks of IBM Corp., in the U.S. and/or other countries. This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

Client examples are presented as illustrations of how those clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual performance, cost, savings or other results in other operating environments may vary.