主页 Case Studies The Conference Board, Inc. The Conference Board Inc.
利用 AI 提供的按需洞察分析加速学习
商务人士一起开会的抽象剪影

The Conference Board 采用由 IBM® 合作伙伴 CBA Strategic IT Ltd. 开发并由 IBM Watson® 技术提供支持的解决方案,使与会者能够在不中断当前对话的情况下搜索和识别相关研究和结果。

业务挑战

对于即将举行的其中一项活动,The Conference Board Inc.希望创建一个按需学习平台,让与会者能够即时了解十年来的现有研究成果。

变革

该智库部署了一个 AI 驱动的知识库,可以在短时间内筛选数千条记录。

结果 在几秒钟内回答复杂的问题
以及其他相关研究结果,从而制定更有效的政策
会议期间会员参与度提高约 50%
方法是扩大对话话题的范围
支持按需学习
为研究讨论提供更丰富的洞察分析
业务挑战案例
被颠覆的工作场所

The Conference Board 专注于未来,尤其是数字时代全球业务的未来。为了实现这一目标,这个非营利性智库与几大洲的专家和公司合作,开展基于事实的研究和共识驱动的政策声明,旨在帮助企业更好地服务社会。

“根据我们的研究,我们认为一系列新的数字技术将颠覆工作结构,”The Conference Board 亚太地区董事总经理 Nick Sutcliffe 解释道,“而这反过来又会颠覆业务和领导力概况的结构。”

为了更好地了解这种颠覆以及如何最好地驾驭它,The Conference Board 启动了“未来工作趋势”研究项目。该组织招募了来自其成员组织的数百名高管,将这些领导者聚集在一起讨论有关数字组织文化驱动因素的重要话题。

“未来工作场所面临的最大挑战之一是,我们不知道文化会是什么样子或应该是什么样子,”Sutcliffe 补充道,“因此,我们围绕数字化、人工智能和分析对企业领导力的影响进行了大量研究。”

为了帮助参与者计划下一次小组讨论,The Conference Board 组建了一个 LinkedIn 群组,让未来的与会者能够获取针对这些主题的大量研究成果。但是,有一个担忧。

“我们在之前的一次研究活动中使用了这种形式,”Sutcliffe 回忆说,“我们发现大家没有做好准备。如果我们给大家一份报告供他们阅读,他们就会这样做。但我们将超过 5,000 篇研究文章上传到了这个 LinkedIn 群组,这对任何人都没有价值。”

“我们意识到人们需要‘按需’学习,”Sutcliffe 继续说道,"因此,我们问自己,‘如何让我们的会员以他们想要的形式获取我们的内容和知识?’”

CAITO 可以捕获我们组织拥有的所有智力能力并进行更好地交付。 Nick Sutcliffe 亚太地区董事总经理 The Conference Board Inc.
变革案例
众人的智慧

2018 年 11 月,The Conference Board 为其“未来工作趋势”研究工作举行了最新的系列讨论。该企业组织了来自超过 100 个成员组织的人力资源、财务、通讯和法律部门约 300 名高管,让这些领导者聚集在新加坡和中国上海的两个会议地点。

“我们称其为‘非会议’,”Sutcliffe 说道,“因为我们希望汲取 300 多名高管的集体智慧,该活动旨在为发言者限定主题,因此与会者被分成 16 个工作组,重点关注如何应对并利用当今发生的颠覆性变化。我们会询问他们关于这些主题的战略意图,然后我们就他们定义的战略对他们进行实时调查。”

为了帮助与会者在这些讨论中做好充分准备,The Conference Board 采用了 CBA 提供的组织认知人工智能技术 (CAITO) 解决方案。

CAITO 知识平台可以筛选大量非结构化数据,例如十多年的研究报告结果,并将这些信息统一到集中式知识库框架中。然后,用户可以使用自然语言问题搜索这些存储库,从而产生新的洞察分析。对于“未来工作趋势”研究项目,这些存储库包含来自 The Conference Board、其研究合作伙伴 Korn Ferry 和其他几个组织超过 5,000 项研究,这些组织的研究可在公共领域获取。

“我们与 CBA 合作创建了 CAITO 模型,旨在提供我们的按需学习平台,”Sutcliffe 补充道,“因此,与会者可能会讨论如何最好地管理员工队伍中的千禧一代,他们会询问 CAITO 关于该主题提供哪些可用的研究。但 CAITO 的美妙之处在于,它可以理解问题,不仅可以回答问题,还可以说,‘嘿,您真正应该关注的是如何应对几代人组成的员工队伍。这里还有一些相关研究。”

根据 IBM 嵌入式解决方案协议 (ESA),CBA 对其 CAITO 平台中内置的认知功能进行了扩展,以纳入 IBM Watson Discovery 技术,为该工具提供额外的搜索和分析功能。每个 CAITO 模型都在本地云框架中托管,该框架使用 IBM Cloud® Foundry 产品进行监控,支持应用程序的部署和可扩展性,而无需手动配置和管理服务器。此外,IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service 解决方案支持快速交付应用程序,并可以将其绑定到 Watson 技术等高级服务。

因此,我们问自己,‘如何让我们的会员以他们想要的形式获取我们的内容和知识?’ Nick Sutcliffe 亚太地区董事总经理 The Conference Board Inc.
案例成果
未来工作趋势

随着 2018 年“未来工作趋势”讨论的结束,The Conference Board 对选择与 CBA 和 IBM 合作感到非常满意。“对我们来说,这次合作非常成功,”Sutcliffe 解释说,“因为它让我们的会员能够获得他们需要的研究和内容。而且是按需提供给他们的。”

与以往的会议不同,CAITO 平台由 ESA 的 Watson 技术提供支持,支持会议参与者能够在短时间内(甚至在对话过程中)快速访问关键研究和相关调查,从而促进更加富有成效的讨论并产生更丰富的洞察分析,以融入最佳实践和策略。

“我们每年在全球媒体上发表数十万次,”Sutcliffe 补充道,“我会看一下我们两三年前做过的研究,但我已经忘记了我们做过的研究。我们的会员不可能阅读或查看所有这些内容。但 CAITO 可以捕获我们组织拥有的所有智力能力并进行更好地交付。它促进了我们与会员的互动,并将我们的对话范围扩大了 50%。他们说,‘CAITO 建议这样做。我们从来不知道您对此进行过研究。您能和我们谈谈吗?”

而且可以按角色和行业更有针对性地开展这些会员讨论。“通过 CAITO,我们能够为每个人创造独特的体验,”Sutcliffe 评论道,“如果 CEO 提出问题,他们就不想看到 HR 信息,但如果 HRO 提出同样的问题,他们就希望看到 HR 信息。CAITO 可以为他们所有人提供独特的体验。”

“我们将于今年四月发布我们的研究结果,”Sutcliffe 总结道,“我们从这些讨论中获得的宝贵研究将帮助我们继续为我们的会员提供支持,为他们提供关键洞察分析和战略方向,以应对转型和颠覆挑战,它们是‘未来工作趋势’的一部分。”

The Conference Board 徽标
The Conference Board Inc.

自 1916 年成立以来,The Conference Board Inc.(ibm.com 外部链接)与各行业和各地区的高管进行沟通协调,以促进全球商业领导力社区的发展。该组织是一个非营利性的会员驱动型智库,它致力于不断研究和制定全面的政策声明,旨在帮助企业领导者推动创新并应对当前的市场挑战。其总部位于纽约市,还在比利时、中国和新加坡设有办事处。

关于 CBA Strategic IT Ltd.

IBM 合作伙伴 CBA 成立于 1992 年,自成立之初起,为全球客户提供业务战略执行和软件实施服务。但在 2011 年,该公司脱离了 CBA Strategic IT(ibm.com 外部链接)组织,专注于开发和实施专门的认知 AI 解决方案。该公司总部位于新西兰的奥克兰,目前在新加坡设立办事处,其业务遍及全球,为包括商业企业和政府机构在内的各种大型企业客户提供服务。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

要了解有关其专业 AI 和认知解决方案以及 CBA 可以为您提供何种帮助的更多信息,请访问:CBA Strategy IT Ltd.(ibm.com 外部链接)。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2019。IBM Corporation, IBM Watson, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2019 年 4 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud 以及 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

For one of its upcoming events, the Conference Board Inc. wanted to create an on-demand learning platform that would provide attendees with instant visibility into a decade’s worth of existing research. 

Transformation

The think tank deployed an AI-powered knowledge repository that could sift through thousands of records in a matter of moments.

Results

Answers complex questions in seconds

along with additional relevant findings, leading to more effective policy

~50% increase in member engagement

during the conference by expanding the scope of conversation topics

Enables on-demand learning

yielding richer insight into research discussions

Business challenge story

The disrupted workplace

The Conference Board is focused on the future – particularly the future of global business in the digital age. And in this pursuit, this not-for-profit think tank coordinates with experts and companies across several continents to develop fact-based research and consensus-driven policy statements aimed at helping businesses to better serve society.

“From our research, we’ve come to the assumption that a series of new digital technologies are going to disrupt the structure of work,” explains Nick Sutcliffe, Managing Director at the Conference Board for the Asia-Pacific region. “And that, in turn, is going to disrupt the structure of business and leadership profiles.”

To better understand this disruption and how best to navigate it, the Conference Board launched its “Future of Work” research project. The organization enlisted a group of several hundred executives from its member organizations, bringing these leaders together to discuss important topics regarding the cultural drivers of a digital organization.

“One of the biggest challenges about the future workplace is that we don’t know what the culture is going to look like or what it should like,” adds Sutcliffe. “So we’ve done quite a lot of research around the impact of digitization, artificial intelligence and analytics on corporate leadership.”

To help participants plan for the next group discussion, the Conference Board had put together a LinkedIn group that gave future attendees access to a wealth of research targeted on these topics. However, there was a concern.

“We used this format in a previous research event,” recalls Sutcliffe. “And we found that people weren’t prepared. If we give people one report to read, they’ll do it. But we had over 5,000 research pieces uploaded to this LinkedIn group, and it was no value to anybody.”

“We realized that people need to learn ‘on demand,’” continues Sutcliffe. “So we asked ourselves, ‘How do we give our members access to our content and knowledge in a format that they want?’”

CAITO can capture all of that intellectual capacity that our organization has and better deliver it.

—Nick Sutcliffe, Managing Director for Asia Pacific, The Conference Board Inc.

Transformation story

The wisdom of the crowd

In November of 2018, the Conference Board held its most recent discussion series for its Future of Work research effort. The organization brought together roughly 300 senior executives from the human resources, finance, communications and legal departments of over 100 member organizations, gathering these leaders into two conference locations in Singapore and Shanghai, China.

“We call them ‘unconferences,’” interjects Sutcliffe, “since the event was designed to specifically limit speakers as we want to capture the collective wisdom of the over 300 executives, so attendees were organized into 16 working groups that focused on how to respond to and take advantage of the disruptive changes happening today. We would ask them questions about their strategic intent on these topics, and then we polled them in real time regarding the strategies that they defined.”

And to help participants be adequately prepared during these discussions, the Conference Board employed the Cognitive Artificial Intelligence Technology for Organizations (CAITO) solution provided by CBA.

The CAITO Knowledge Platform can sift through large volumes of unstructured data, such as more than a decade’s worth of research reports, unifying this information into a centralized framework of knowledge repositories. Users, in turn, can then search through these repositories with natural language questions that yield new insights. For the Future of Work research project, these repositories included more than 5,000 studies from the Conference Board, its research partner Korn Ferry and several other organizations whose studies were available in the public domain.

“We partnered with CBA to create a CAITO model to provide our on-demand learning platform,” adds Sutcliffe. “So attendees might be discussing how best to manage Millennials in the workforce, and they’ll ask CAITO what research was available on that topic. But the beautiful thing about CAITO was that it could understand the question and not only answer it but also say, ‘Hey, what you really should be focusing on is how to deal with a multigenerational workforce. And here are some studies on that as well.’”

Working under an IBM Embedded Solutions Agreement (ESA), CBA expanded the cognitive capabilities that it built into its CAITO platform to incorporate IBM Watson™ Discovery technology, which provides additional search and analytics capabilities for the tool. And each CAITO model is hosted within a local cloud framework that is monitored using the IBM Cloud™ Foundry offering, which supports the deployment and scalability of applications without manually configuring and managing servers. Further, the IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service solution enables the rapid delivery of applications, which can bind to advanced services like Watson™ technology.

So we asked ourselves, ‘How do we give our members access to our content and knowledge in a format that they want?’

—Nick Sutcliffe, Managing Director for Asia Pacific, The Conference Board Inc.

Results story

The future of work

With the 2018 Future of Work discussion completed, the Conference Board was pleased with its choice of working with CBA and IBM. “For us it was very successful,” explains Sutcliffe, “because it gave our members access to the research and content that they needed. And it gave it to them on demand.”

Unlike previous sessions, the CAITO platform, powered by Watson technology thanks to the ESA, allowed conference participants to quickly access key studies and relevant research in a matter of moments – even in the middle of a conversation – facilitating more fruitful discussions and yielding richer insight into best practices and strategies.

“We’re published in the global press hundreds of thousands of times each year,” adds Sutcliffe. “I’ll look at studies that we’ve done two or three years ago that I’ve forgotten that we did. There’s no way that our members will read or see all of this. But CAITO can capture all of that intellectual capacity that our organization has and better deliver it. It drove engagement with our members and expanded the range of conversations we were having by 50 percent. They’re saying, ‘CAITO suggested this. We never knew you did research on this. Can you talk to us about it?’”

And these member discussions can be better targeted by role and industry. “With CAITO we were able to create a unique experience for everyone,” comments Sutcliffe. “If a CEO asked a question, they didn’t want to see HR information, but if an HRO asked the same question, they did. CAITO could deliver a unique experience to all of them.”

“We’ll be publishing our findings in April this year,” concludes Sutcliffe. “And the valuable research that we gained from these discussions will help us to continue to support our members, providing them key insights and strategic direction to address the challenges of transformation and disruption that is part of the ‘Future or Work.’”

business logo

About The Conference Board Inc.

Since its founding in 1916, the Conference Board Inc. has coordinated with senior executives across industries and geographies to foster a global community of business leadership. The organization, a non-profit, member-driven think tank, engages in constant research and develops comprehensive policy statements that are targeted to help business leaders drive innovation and navigate current market challenges. The association is headquartered in New York City and also maintains offices in Belgium, China and Singapore.

 

About CBA Strategic IT Ltd.

Founded in 1992, IBM Business Partner CBA originally provided business strategy execution and software implementation services for customers around the world. But in 2011, the business spun off the CBA Strategic IT organization, focusing this company on developing and implementing specialized cognitive AI solutions. The company, with its corporate headquarters in Auckland, New Zealand and now establishing a presence in Singapore, operates globally, catering to a diverse set of large enterprise customers, including commercial businesses and government agencies. 

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following websites:

To learn more about its specialized AI and cognitive solutions and what CBA can do for you, please visit: CBA Strategic IT Ltd.