随着企业竞相追寻数字化转型,他们面临的网络安全威胁也越来越大。 新冠肺炎疫情也导致易受攻击的远程工作终端数量大幅增加。

员工、合作伙伴、供应商和客户几乎可以从任何地方访问多台设备上的公司资源,这进一步增加了隐患。 数据泄露带来的处罚和负面影响可能会重创任何一家企业。

Tran Phu Nghia 是越南 Novaland 房地产投资开发公司的母公司 NovaGroup 的网络安全总监,他最近就在思考这些问题。

“企业必须保持良好的声誉,但网络攻击正在呈上升趋势,因为犯罪分子可以随心所欲地利用互联网发动攻击,”Nghia 说,“用户会遭受网络犯罪分子的网络钓鱼攻击。 他们每天都在扫描系统,随时试图窃取客户名单和知识产权。 安全团队必须对内部威胁保持警惕。”

雪上加霜的是,企业系统可能孤岛式存在,安全日志数据也未加以整合。 这样就很难分析数据,也难以就网络攻击制定积极的迎战计划。 此外,安全工具通常会出现误报,想要分清重大威胁的主次并迅速予以解决就变得困难起来。

在评估这些挑战和 Novaland 的安全态势时,安全小组决定增加一个集中式安全信息和事件管理 (SIEM) 解决方案,这是网络安全管理的基本工具。 但是要选哪一个呢? 为此,安全团队评估了若干领先的安全解决方案。 最终,他们选择了 IBM Security® QRadar® SIEM 平台。

QRadar 平台内置的智能分析功能大幅

减少

了调查工作量

QRadar 平台对 Novaland 而言经济而有效,因为它

提升

了安全团队的生产力

IBM Security QRadar SIEM 平台

加速

了网络威胁检测和响应过程

为基础安全生态系统提供动力

在评估 SIEM 解决方案前景时,Novaland 的网络团队参照了 Gartner, Inc. 和Forrester 的研究报告,比较了领先品牌的一系列产品。“在数百种用例中,Gartner 对 IBM Security QRadar 的评价都特别高,它支持最大的信息安全生态系统,”Nghia 表示。

评估团队对 QRadar 的很多功能都十分欣赏:自动执行安全信息分析以快速检测威胁的能力;其稳定性和可扩展性;与多种组件的集成,如扩展、API 和 IBM QRadar Pulse 操作仪表板,这简化了监控和管理过程。 该团队还很喜欢 QRadar 的开放性和可扩展性,并且它还提供了符合 Novaland 运营要求的功能,进而确保业务永续性、数据安全性和隐私性。

电脑控制室中的男士

“我们认定 IBM QRadar 是一个非常适合的解决方案,主要是因为它的功能和可扩展性,”Nghia 解释道,“而且威胁检测规则也适应我们的需求。”

IBM 安全服务团队的帮助下,Novaland 网络团队部署了 QRadar SIEM 平台。 然后,该团队使用这个工具来完善事件响应程序和场景,优化规则集以识别攻击迹象,并编制安全事件响应行动手册。

Novaland 还使用 QRadar 平台来加强 IT 环境,防范未来威胁。 这个网络小组分为红队、蓝队和紫队,他们每周都召开例会审查过去的威胁,记录团队的响应情况,并根据结果来定制 QRadar 事件响应行动手册。 此外,红队还使用工具和自己的脚本进行破坏和攻击模拟 (BAS),以此验证蓝队的效率。

“我们需要了解蓝队的反应速度有多快 - 15 分钟还是 50 分钟?”Nghia 说道。 他对 15-30 分钟范围内的典型反应速度感到满意。“有了 QRadar 就踏上了快车道。”

保护系统、信息和知识产权

加速威胁检测和快速响应是 IBM SIEM 解决方案的明显优势。 而它的智能分析功能也可以减少误报数量,从而节省调查时间。 Novaland 的蓝队用它来优化网络攻击检测规则。 这将检测到的事件数量从每天多达 1000 起减少到不足 100 起,而且通过找出最危险的威胁,优先级划分功能还降低了团队的工作量。

这些能力有助于 Novaland 更妥善地保护其系统、客户信息和知识产权,从而加强投资者和客户的信任。 由于安全团队提高了工作效率,该解决方案既经济又有效。“如果不使用 QRadar,我们就不得不花费更多的人力资源来保护我们孤立的系统,”Nghia 这样说道。 不仅如此,IBM 安全服务团队还免费进行培训,这提高了安全团队的技能水平。

展望未来,Novaland 的安全团队正在探索升级到 IBM Security QRadar SOAR 平台。 SOAR 代表“安全统筹与自动化响应”,它提供了更智能的威胁检测功能、更快的事件响应速度和持续改进的响应流程。

集成的数据、更快的威胁检测、更高效的分析和更迅捷的响应,这一切全都源于 IBM 经济高效的安全生态系统。“很多家技术供应商都向我们推销他们的网络安全能力,”Nghia表示,“至今为止,IBM 仍是首选。”

根据他在 Novaland 的经验,Nghia 对希望提高网络安全能力的企业有何建议呢? “提高网络安全能力的最快方法就是确保网络安全团队持续倾听、观察、分析、诊断与合作,”他说,“这样一来,企业便可以组建团队、开发程序,共同增强网络安全永续性。”

Novaland 徽标

关于 Novaland

凭借超过 10600 公顷的土地储备,Novaland(链接位于 ibm.com 之外)专注于开发三个关键产品线: 住宅房地产、酒店房地产和工业房地产。 经过 30 年的建立和发展历程,Novaland 目前拥有 50 多个项目的投资组合,在住宅房地产和大型住宅酒店房地产领域都具有引领潮流的项目和产品。 Novaland 是 HOSE(VN30指数)市值最大的 30 家上市公司之一,在新加坡证券交易所 (SGX) 也上市了国际可转换债券。

解决方案组件

IBM Security® QRadar® SIEM
IBM Security QRadar SOAR 平台
IBM 安全服务

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 4 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Security 和 QRadar 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 https://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全性涉及通过防御、检测和响应来自企业内部和外部的不正当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当的访问可能导致信息被篡改、破坏或盗用,或者导致您的系统遭到误用而攻击别人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被认为是完全安全的,而且没有任何单一产品、服务或安全措施在防止不正当的使用或访问方面是完全有效的。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全方法的一部分,它必定涉及额外的操作程序,并且可能需要其他系统、产品或服务配合才能获得最好的效果。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务免受任何一方的恶意或非法行为侵扰,或帮助您的企业免受任意一方恶意或非法行为的攻击。

Accelerated security threat detection and priority response

Integrating data, analyzing logs and prioritizing incidents speeds up threat remediation
by Tom Farre
5-minute read
Ho Chi Minh City skyline

As enterprises pursue digital transformation, they face increasing danger from cybersecurity threats. COVID-19 has caused a massive increase in the number of vulnerable endpoints for remote workers.

Employees, partners, suppliers and customers access company resources on multiple devices from virtually anywhere, further raising vulnerability. And the penalties and bad publicity from data breaches can set back any business.

Such issues were recently on the mind of Tran Phu Nghia, Cybersecurity Director at NovaGroup, parent company of the Novaland real estate investment and development firm in Vietnam.

“Enterprises have to maintain a good reputation, yet cyberattacks are on the rise because criminals can use the internet to attack without limit,” Nghia says. “Users are subject to phishing attacks from cybercriminals. They scan systems every day and at all times are trying to gain customer lists and intellectual property. And security teams must be vigilant against insider threats.”

The IBM Security QRadar SIEM platform

accelerates

cyberthreat detection and response

Intelligent analytics built into the QRadar platform significantly

reduce

the investigative workload

The QRadar platform is cost effective for Novaland because it

boosts

the security team’s productivity

We decided that IBM QRadar was a highly suitable solution because of its features and its scalability. And the threat detection rules are adaptable to our needs.
Tran Phu Nghia
Cybersecurity Director, NovaGroup

Adding to the challenges, enterprise systems may be siloed and security log data unintegrated. This makes it difficult to analyze the data and proactively plan for cyberattacks. Plus, security tools often generate false positives, making it hard to prioritize serious threats and resolve them quickly.

In assessing these challenges and Novaland’s security posture, the security group resolved to add a centralized Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) solution, a foundational tool for cybersecurity management. But which one to choose? To make the selection, the security teams evaluated leading security solutions. They chose the IBM Security® QRadar® SIEM platform.

Security monitoring in dark room
Man in computer control room
We need to understand how fast the Blue team can respond. It’s just faster with QRadar.
Tran Phu Nghia
Cybersecurity Director, NovaGroup
Powering a foundational security ecosystem
We need to understand how fast the Blue team can respond. It’s just faster with QRadar.
Tran Phu Nghia
Cybersecurity Director, NovaGroup

In evaluating the SIEM solution landscape, Novaland’s cyber group considered research from Gartner, Inc. and Forrester, comparing a range of offerings among the leading brands. “Gartner rates IBM Security QRadar particularly high for hundreds of use cases and it supports the largest information security ecosystem,” says Nghia.

The evaluation team liked QRadar’s ability to automate security information analysis to quickly detect threats; its stability and extensibility; and its integration of a variety of components such as extensions, APIs and the IBM QRadar Pulse operational dashboard, which streamlines monitoring and administration. The team also liked that QRadar is open and scalable, and that it offers features in line with Novaland’s operational requirements to ensure business resiliency, data security and privacy.

“We decided that IBM QRadar was a highly suitable solution because of its features and its scalability,” explains Nghia. “And the threat detection rules are adaptable to our needs.”

Assisted by IBM Security Services, Novaland’s cyberteam deployed the QRadar SIEM platform. Then, the team used the tool to perfect incident response procedures and scenarios, optimize rule sets to identify attack signs, and develop playbooks for security incident response.

Novaland also uses the QRadar platform to strengthen the IT environment against future threats. Separated into Red, Blue and Purple teams, the cyber group meets weekly to review past threats, note the teams’ responses and use the results to customize QRadar incident response playbooks. In addition, the Red team uses tools and their own scripts to conduct Breach and Attack Simulation (BAS) to verify the Blue team’s efficiency.

“We need to understand how fast the Blue team can respond — does it take 15 minutes or 50 minutes?” Nghia says. He is pleased with typical responses in the 15 – 30 minute range. “It’s just faster with QRadar.”

Protecting systems, information and intellectual property

Accelerated threat detection and fast response are clear advantages of the IBM SIEM solution. But its intelligent analytics also save time by lessening the number of false positives for investigation. Novaland’s Blue team uses it to optimize the rules that detect cyberattacks. This reduces the number of incidents detected from as many as 1,000 per day to less than 100, and the prioritization lessens the team’s workload by pinpointing the most dangerous threats.

These capabilities help Novaland better protect its systems, customer information and intellectual property — thereby strengthening the trust of investors and customers. And the solution is cost effective due to the security team’s higher productivity. “Without using QRadar, we would have to expend more human resources to protect our siloed systems,” Nghia says. Another plus is that free training from IBM Security Services has raised the security team’s skillset.

Looking ahead, Novaland’s security group is exploring an upgrade to the IBM Security QRadar SOAR Platform. Standing for Security Orchestration and Response, SOAR provides more intelligent threat detection, faster incident response and continuous improvement of response processes.

Integrated data, faster threat detection, more productive analyses and faster responses all come from IBM’s cost-effective security ecosystem. “Multiple tech vendors have come to us to promote their cybersecurity capabilities,” says Nghia. “IBM is the priority choice for now.”

Based on his experience at Novaland, what advice does Nghia have for enterprises that want to improve their cybersecurity capabilities? “The quickest way to boost cybersecurity capabilities is to ensure the cybersecurity teams keep listening, observing, analyzing, troubleshooting and cooperating,” he says. “This way, an enterprise can develop teams and procedures to enhance cyber resilience together.”

Novaland logo
About Novaland

With over 10,600 hectares of land bank, NovalandExternal Link focuses on developing three key product lines: Residential Real Estate, Hospitality Real Estate and Industrial Real Estate. Through a journey of 30 years of establishment and development, Novaland currently owns a portfolio of more than 50 projects with trend-leading projects and products in Residential Real Estate and large-scale Residential Hospitality Real Estate. Novaland is one of the 30 largest listed companies by market cap on HOSE (VN30 Index), and also has international convertible bonds listed on the Singapore Stock Exchange (SGX).

Solution components
Novaland logo
About Novaland

With over 10,600 hectares of land bank, NovalandExternal Link focuses on developing three key product lines: Residential Real Estate, Hospitality Real Estate and Industrial Real Estate. Through a journey of 30 years of establishment and development, Novaland currently owns a portfolio of more than 50 projects with trend-leading projects and products in Residential Real Estate and large-scale Residential Hospitality Real Estate. Novaland is one of the 30 largest listed companies by market cap on HOSE (VN30 Index), and also has international convertible bonds listed on the Singapore Stock Exchange (SGX).

Solution components