新泽西州社区事务部
不断攀升 — 通过基于云的电梯检查解决方案实现更高性能
一位女士正在按下电梯按钮

自 1856 年第一部客梯在纽约市安装以来,电梯已成为城市生活中必不可少且无处不在的便利工具,使人们能够在摩天大楼和其他高层建筑中生活和工作。仅在美国就有超过 90 万部电梯在运行,平均每部电梯每年运送超过 2 万人。

在新泽西州,DCA 的电梯安全部负责对电梯、自动扶梯、自动人行道和其他类型的电梯设备进行注册、检查和认证。公共安全任务是确保所有电梯设备符合安全标准,防止用户因设备或维护问题而受伤。

DCA 采用的电梯检查支持系统包括将纸质检查报告输入大型机计算系统并由其处理。由过时和分散的 IT 系统所支持的纸质流程组合非常笨拙,导致 DCA 的客户服务速度低于预期。负责电梯维护的楼宇业主必须与多个团队合作,协调检查工作并核实付款。

检查纸质记录作为参考或解决争议也是一个漫长的过程。总体而言,处理一次典型的电梯检查所需的时间为 21 到 28 天不等,对于检查员和楼宇业主来说,这样的完成时间都太长了。

升级该系统是 DCA 的首要任务。一种可能方法是将 Elevator Safety 安放在一个稍微现代化一点的检查解决方案套件上,其他 DCA 检查领域也可以使用该套件。但该系统“维护成本高昂,且知识产权属于开发该系统的供应商,我们希望摆脱该系统”,DCA 的 IT 总监 John Harrison 表示。

新泽西州跨部门支持 IT 方式的结构性变化,使得系统维护变得更加复杂。Harrison 说:“DCA 过去依赖新泽西州信息技术办公室 (NJOIT) 的开发资源。他们负责开发并托管 DCA 使用的系统。但后来一项行政命令解散了 NJOIT 的开发,我们必须自力更生。”

DCA 开始寻找实现系统现代化的选项。该公司已准备好充分利用其核心业务应用程序的全部功能,并对创新进行投资,以创建可操作的洞察力,加快决策速度。对现代平台进行了评估,并选择了 Microsoft Dynamics™ 365 platform on Azure™ Cloud。Elevator Safety 将是该平台上第一套新的解决方案。

与此同时,出现了一个意外事件,需要在极其紧迫时间内开发解决方案。新泽西州州长签署了抵押贷款延期立法,旨在帮助尚未从 2012 年“桑迪”飓风灾难中恢复过来的 3 万名房主。

缩短周期时间

 

电梯检查周期时间缩短 90%

流程更快

 

通过更快的计费和付款处理改善收入流

IBM 业务部门的 Microsoft Dynamics 365 团队拥有世界一流的专业知识,无人能出其右。并且与他们的沟通也高效顺畅。 John Harrison IT 总监 新泽西州社区事务部

DCA 被指定为确定公民是否有资格参加新计划的牵头机构,它的任务是开发一个新的数字流程,以管理预期会出现的大量在线申请。从新法律签署之日起,DCA 只有六周的时间来部署全新的系统。

与此同时,DCA 的 IT 团队正在就新的检查解决方案套件与几家潜在的 IT 供应商进行面谈,这些套件就包括 IBM® Services for Microsoft。Harrison 说:“IBM 在销售期内提出了正确的问题。这表明他们理解并专注于正确的事情,因此我选择 IBM 团队来提供 Sandy 解决方案。”

通过提供专家系统集成,基于 Azure 云上的 Microsoft Dynamics 365 客户数据平台,IBM 开发了新的在线公民资格工具,帮助 DCA 加快实现价值的时间。Harrison 说:“我们在当天上线,取得了巨大成功。实际上,这是一个概念验证,显而易见,IBM 成为大型检查解决方案套件项目的理想选择 - 从 Elevator Safety 全解决方案开始。”

一流的团队合作

在数字化转型项目开始时,DCA 建立了敏捷方法项目管理 (AMPM) 开发流程。Harrison 表示:“我们需要一个工具来管理需求和监控进度,IBM 作为主要开发商,为项目提供了这个解决方案。现在,我们在所有解决方案中使用 AMPM,并使用 IBM Blueworks Live 来执行业务流程建模。”

IBM® Blueworks Live 是基于云的软件,提供专门的协作环境,通过流程映射来构建和改进业务流程。通过在所有开发项目中使用敏捷方法,DCA 可以加快项目完成速度,并通过持续迭代定期更新平台。

在 Microsoft Dynamics 365 平台上启动项目后,DCA 做出了另一项重要的战略决策。Harrison 表示:“我们决定默认使用云技术。如果可能的话,我们做任何工作都是云优先。”

DCA 和 IBM 使用 Microsoft Dynamics 365 平台创建了一个新的 Elevator Safety 应用程序 (ELSA)。面向公众的服务门户供楼宇和物业业主、中介及其他人员使用,以便:

  • 为新楼宇和新安装的电梯设备办理登记手续
  • 转让所有权和修改注册信息
  • 管理账户并查找和打印账单和检查报告
  • 打印检查合格证书
  • 缴纳支付年检费、注册费和罚金

通过将电梯安全检查流程转移到云端,DCA 提供了数字基础设施,使检查员能够摒弃纸质表格,使用移动平板设备执行检查和相关任务。

Microsoft Dynamics 365 平台解决方案还能让 DCA 管理人员清楚地了解每次的检查过程,例如每位检查员进行各类检查的次数、每位检查员检查出的违规次数、最常出现的违规行为、每天各类检查的登记情况以及付款情况。

ELSA 应用程序的优势之一是其可配置性。Harrison 表示:“整个系统的建立是为了将思维方式和流程结合在一起。每个人对整个流程中的信息流都有相同的理解,这对我们的内部用户来说非常直观。”

为了在 ELSA 实施过程中获得深厚的行业和技术专业知识,DCA 咨询了 IBM GBS 客户创新中心。Harrison 表示:“Baton Rouge CIC 的大量员工为我们提供了很大的帮助,他们是一支出色的团队。我们让他们定期到新泽西州巡视,但总的来说,我们与他们是远程合作。”

在整个项目实施过程中,DCA 和 IBM 定期合作,打包版本、安排部署和跟踪开发进度。Harrison 说:“我们所做的一切工作都是为了更好地沟通。就 IBM 对我们的响应速度而言,IBM 就像一家小公司那么灵活并且积极。大型咨询公司在销售周期结束后就开始疏远客户的态度,我们一点儿也没有感受到。我知道,这支团队是我们的理想选择。”

就 IBM 对我们的响应速度而言,IBM 就像一家小公司那么灵活并且积极。大型咨询公司在销售周期结束后就开始疏远客户的态度,我们一点儿也没有感受到。我知道,这支团队是我们的理想选择。 John Harrison IT 总监 新泽西州社区事务部
面向未来的更高性能

通过在 Microsoft Dynamics 365 平台上实现数字化工作流程的自动化,DCA 实现了绩效改进,从而改善了电梯安全部的工作流程。将电梯检查周期从 21 至 28 天压缩到两三天,周转时间减少了 90%。

加快检查周期还能通过加快开单和支付检查相关费用来改善收入流。由于逾期发票的可见性更好,DCA 能够重新发送发票,并为超过 18 个月的发票带来 800,000 美元的额外收入。

目前,有 45 名现场检查员和 5 名办公室工作人员使用该平台来支持大量检查。2019 年,共进行了 14900 次周期检查,另外还进行了 2221 次复查。

Harrison 说:“实际上,我们更看重的是职能的提升而不是成本节省。以前,我们的员工通常执行与接收订单有关的任务。现在,他们可以专注于其他工作。它使人们可以自由地寻找拖欠的帐户。例如,如果有人在支付账单时出现拖欠并且他们偷工减料,这最终可能会导致安全问题,我们可以对此进行调查。”

通过共享通用平台和仪表板,服务台和网络服务人员可以管理相同的问题,同时积累有关工具集的专业知识。新平台提供的图形图表和仪表盘也为 DCA 主管和后台工作人员提供了更好的数据可视性和控制能力。

Harrison 说:“随着我们的员工越来越多地使用它,他们意识到浏览和操作都非常方便,并且领会了内容的互联方式。这非常有助于我们保持工作的条理性,同时让每个人都可以获得相同的信息。当我们都在看同一个仪表板时,它可以促进沟通。”

随着 ELSA 门户启动并运行一年,DCA 继续使用 Microsoft Dynamics 365 平台构建新的检查服务解决方案。房屋检查局的新门户网站计划于 2020 年 12 月投入使用,消防法规执行局的后续门户网站计划于 2021 年投入使用。随着新门户通过数字流程简化工作流程,DCA 预计会有类似的性能改进。

Harrison 经常收到有关其数字化转型以及如何在 DCA 实施的询问。Harrison 说,人们会问我:“使用的是 Microsoft 的平台,为什么要找 IBM 合作来实施?这有点难以理解。不过,对于 IT 咨询行业这很正常。IBM 业务部门的 Microsoft Dynamics 365 团队拥有世界一流的专业知识,无人能出其右。并且与他们的沟通也高效顺畅。”

新泽西州社区事务部徽标
关于新泽西州社区事务部

新泽西州 DCA (ibm.com 外部链接)是一个州政府机构,旨在为地方政府、社区发展组织、企业和个人提供行政指导、财政支持和技术援助,以提高新泽西州民众的生活质量。DCA 针对公众关心的问题提供计划和服务,包括消防和建筑安全、住房建设、社区规划和发展以及地方政府管理和财政。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM 国防部

国防部通过企业应用程序和分析解锁创新

阅读成功案例
英国合作银行

合作银行利用 IBM Services 实现零中断转型

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Services, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 3 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 IBM Services 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Microsoft、Windows、Windows NT 和 Windows 徽标是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

New Jersey Department of Community Affairs

Going up — higher performance with a cloud-based elevator inspection solution
by Michael Tucker
5-minute read
Woman pressing an elevator button

Ever since the first passenger lift was installed in New York City in 1856, elevators have risen to become essential and ubiquitous modes of urban transportation, making it possible to live and work in skyscrapers and other high-rise buildings. Over 900,000 elevators operate in the US alone, with each elevator carrying, on average, over 20,000 people a year.

In the State of New Jersey, the elevator safety unit of DCA registers, inspects and certifies elevators, escalators, moving walks and other types of lift devices. The public safety mission is to assure that all elevator devices comply with safety standards to prevent users from incurring injuries due to equipment or maintenance issues.

The system DCA employed to support elevator inspections involved paper inspection reports entered into and processed by a mainframe computing system. The unwieldly combination of paper processes backed by an outdated and fragmented IT system resulted in slower than desired customer service for DCA. Building owners — responsible for elevator maintenance — had to work with multiple teams to coordinate inspections and verify payments.

Checking paper records for reference or dispute resolution was also a lengthy process. Overall, the time required to process a typical elevator inspection ranged from 21 to 28 days, and this completion schedule was too long for both inspectors and building owners.

Upgrading that system was a priority for DCA. One possibility was putting Elevator Safety on a slightly more modern inspection solution suite used for other DCA inspection areas. But that system was “expensive to maintain and proprietary to the vendor that developed it and we wanted to get off that system,” says John Harrison, Director of IT for DCA.

Further complicating system maintenance were structural changes to how the State of New Jersey supported IT across departments. “DCA used to rely on the development resources of the New Jersey Office of Information Technology (NJOIT). They both developed and hosted systems used by DCA,” says Harrison. “But then an Executive Order disbanded NJOIT development and we had to support ourselves.”

DCA started looking for options to modernize its systems. It was ready to harness the full power of its core business applications and invest in innovation to create actionable insights and empower faster decision-making. Modern platforms were evaluated, and the Microsoft Dynamics™ 365 platform on Azure™ Cloud was selected. Elevator Safety would be the first of a new suite of solutions on the platform.

At the same time, an opportunity arose to develop a solution on an unexpectedly tight schedule. The governor of New Jersey signed ambitious mortgage forbearance legislation to help 30,000 homeowners that had not recovered from the Hurricane Sandy disaster in 2012.

The storm whipping up powerful waves

Elevator inspection cycle time

90%

reduced

Revenue flow improved through

faster

billing and payment processing

The expertise of the Microsoft Dynamics 365 team within the IBM practice is world-class and can’t be beat. Their communication is top-level, too.
John Harrison
Director of IT, New Jersey Department of Community Affairs

Designated as the lead agency to determine citizen eligibility for the new program, DCA was tasked with developing a new digital process to manage the expected flood of online applications. From the day the new law was signed, DCA had only six weeks to deploy a brand-new system.

Concurrently, the DCA IT team was interviewing several potential IT vendors for the new inspection solution suite, including IBM Services® for Microsoft. “IBM was asking the right questions during the sales cycle,” says Harrison. “This gave me a clue that they understood and were concentrating on the right things, so I picked the IBM team for the Sandy solution.”

By providing expert system integration, IBM helped DCA accelerate time to value by developing a new online citizen eligibility tool, based on the Microsoft Dynamics 365 customer data platform on Azure Cloud. “We went live on the date and it was a huge success,” says Harrison. “In effect, it was a proof of concept and it made IBM an easy choice for the much larger inspection solution suite project — beginning with the Elevator Safety solution.”

Single mother playing with young sons in front of their house
Colorful row houses
As far as IBM’s responsiveness to us, IBM acted as a small company. We didn’t get hit with that big consulting house attitude where you start to get distance after the sales cycle. I knew I had the right team.
John Harrison
Director of IT, New Jersey Department of Community Affairs
Top-flight teamwork
As far as IBM’s responsiveness to us, IBM acted as a small company. We didn’t get hit with that big consulting house attitude where you start to get distance after the sales cycle. I knew I had the right team.
John Harrison
Director of IT, New Jersey Department of Community Affairs

At the outset of its digital transformation project, DCA set up an Agile Methodology Project Management (AMPM) development process. “We needed a tool to manage the requirements and monitor progress and IBM — as the lead developer — put together this solution for the project,” says Harrison. “Now, we use AMPM for all of our solutions as well as IBM Blueworks Live to perform business process modeling.”

IBM® Blueworks Live is cloud-based software that provides a dedicated, collaborative environment to build and improve business processes through process mapping. By using agile methods for all of its development projects, DCA can accelerate project completion and regularly update platforms through continuous iteration.

After launching the project on the Microsoft Dynamics 365 platform, DCA made another important strategic decision. “We decided to go with cloud by default,” says Harrison. “We do everything cloud-first, if possible.”

Using the Microsoft Dynamics 365 platform, DCA and IBM created a new application for Elevator Safety (ELSA). The public-facing service portal is used by building and property owners, agents and others to:

• Register new buildings and newly installed elevator devices
• Transfer ownership and amend registration information
• Manage accounts and look up and print bills and inspection reports
• Print certificates of passing inspections
• Pay annual inspection bills, registration and penalty fees

By moving its elevator safety inspection process to the cloud, DCA provided the digital infrastructure to enable inspectors to dispense with paper forms and conduct inspections and related tasks using mobile tablet devices.

The Microsoft Dynamics 365 platform solution also gives DCA managers a clear view of the inspection process for each case, such as the number of inspections of each type per inspector, violation counts per inspector, the most cited violations, registrations of each type per day, and payments.

One of the strengths of the ELSA application is its configurability. “The whole system has been built to marry the mindset and processes together,” says Harrison. “Everybody has the same understanding of how the information flows throughout the process, and it is deeply intuitive for our internal users.”

For deep industry and technical expertise during ELSA implementation, DCA consulted with IBM GBS Client Innovation Centers. “We leveraged a large number of staff from the Baton Rouge CIC, and they’ve been a great team,” says Harrison. “We had them cycle through New Jersey periodically, but in general, we worked with them on a remote basis.”

Throughout project implementation, DCA and IBM collaborated on a regular basis to package releases, schedule deployments and track development progress. “Everything we do is about communication,” says Harrison. “As far as IBM’s responsiveness to us, IBM acted as a small company. We didn’t get hit with that big consulting house attitude where you start to get distance after the sales cycle. I knew I had the right team.”

A small overpass bridge over the Interstate 80 Highway in Appalachian, New Jersey
Higher performance for the future

By automating digital workflows on the Microsoft Dynamics 365 platform, DCA achieved performance improvements that transformed the elevator safety unit. Compressing elevator inspection cycle time from 21 to 28 days to two or three days reduced turnaround time by 90%.

Speeding up the inspection cycle time also improved revenue flow by way of faster billing and faster payment of inspection-related fees. Due to better visibility on past-due invoices, DCA was able to re-send invoices and generate USD 800,000 in additional revenue on invoices that were older than 18 months.

Currently, 45 field inspectors and five office staffers use the platform to support a high volume of inspections. In 2019, 14,900 total cycle inspections were made, along with an additional 2,221 re-inspections.

“Actually, we look at the functionality gains more than the cost savings,” says Harrison. “Before, our staff typically performed tasks related to getting the orders in. Now, they can concentrate on other work. It frees people up to look for delinquent accounts. For example, if someone is having trouble paying bills and they are cutting corners, that could end up being a safety issue, and we can look into that.”

By sharing common platforms and dashboards, help desk and network services staffers manage the same issues, while building expertise on the toolset. The graphical charts and dashboards provided by the new platform also gave DCA supervisors and back office staff better visibility and control over data.

“As our people use it more and more, they realize how easy it is to navigate and to work with — how everything is connected,” says Harrison. “It is super helpful to keep us organized and keep everybody, literally, on the same page. When we are all looking at the same dashboard, it promotes communication.”

With the ELSA portal up and running for one year, DCA continues to use the Microsoft Dynamics 365 platform to build out new solutions for inspection services. In December 2020, a new portal is scheduled to go live for the Bureau of Housing Inspection, with a follow-on portal for the Bureau of Fire Code Enforcement scheduled for 2021. DCA expects similar performance improvements as the new portals streamline workflows through digital processes.

Harrison often receives inquiries about his digital transformation and how it was implemented at DCA. “People ask me, ‘Why are you working with IBM on a Microsoft platform?’ That doesn’t make sense,” Harrison says. “However, that’s not how the IT consulting world works. The expertise of the Microsoft Dynamics 365 team within the IBM practice is world-class and can’t be beat. Their communication is top-level, too.”

New Jersey Department of Community Affairs logo
About the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs

The New Jersey DCAExternal Link is the state agency created to provide administrative guidance, financial support and technical assistance to local governments, community development organizations, businesses and individuals to improve the quality of life in New Jersey. DCA offers programs and services that respond to issues of public concern, including fire and building safety, housing production, community planning and development, and local government management and finance.

Solution components
New Jersey Department of Community Affairs logo
About the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs

The New Jersey DCAExternal Link is the state agency created to provide administrative guidance, financial support and technical assistance to local governments, community development organizations, businesses and individuals to improve the quality of life in New Jersey. DCA offers programs and services that respond to issues of public concern, including fire and building safety, housing production, community planning and development, and local government management and finance.

Solution components