加快研究与创新
NCHC 如何使用 AIOps 改善公共网络服务并主动防止中断
在会议室,首席工程师向科学家委员会介绍开发人工智能和神经网络的革命性新方法。墙壁上的电视正在展示他们的成果。

研究的速度很重要。在新冠疫情期间,这关系着数百万人的生命。

在中国台湾地区,新冠疫情期间的应对措施在限制疫情爆发和降低死亡率方面成效显著,国家高性能计算中心 (NCHC) 通过提供超级计算机和分析方法,以及促进全台湾范围的数据共享和协作网络,帮助加快台湾地区的研究和创新。

尽管 NCHC 支持所有学科的研究,但这一传染性疾病的肆虐促使它连续推出了“科技抗病毒”计划,呼吁大学、研究机构、企业和初创公司寻找抗击 SARS-CoV-2 冠状病毒传播的新方法。迄今为止,一项备受瞩目的突破是一种听诊器,它能显示患者的呼吸,帮助医生和护士减少与可能受感染患者的密切接触,从而降低传播风险。另一个是 COVID-19 基因的进化图,有助于预测传播途径。

为了支持诸如此类的工作,以及所有领域中的数百项其他工作,NCHC 希望确保研究工作能够尽快取得进展。这也是它不断发展 Taiwania 系列超级计算机的原因,其中包括世界上功能最强大的 50 台计算机之一。这就是它提供 AI 服务的原因,包括基于 IBM® Cloud Pak for Data 的工具。这就是为什么 NCHC 最近与 IBM® Garage 合作实施 IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps 解决方案,应用基于 AI 的自动化来最大限度地提高弹性和性能。

缩短了 MTTD

 

对于影响服务的问题,平均检测时间 (MTTD) 缩短了 55%

可预测性

 

识别潜在的中断比之前提早 25 小时

通过将结构化和非结构化数据输入解决方案的 AI Manager 组件,NCHC 和 IBM Garage 团队能够训练人工智能模型,以自动、主动地管理问题和事件。
降低 IT 运营复杂性

台湾地区拥有多个大型公共计算网络,这些网络纵横交错,使研究人员能够共享信息并开展合作。有些网络专门面向学术界,有些面向政府,有些面向工业界。但是,越来越多的研究计划,尤其是针对新冠疫情的研究计划,要求跨学科的努力和跨网络的合作。公共网络之间的快速信息共享至关重要。

于是,NCHC 开始了一项新举措:建立中央网络交换中心。但将网络整合在一起带来了新的挑战。不同的网络配备了不同的监控工具和数据日志源及格式。这种复杂性使管理变得复杂,NCHC 无法快速过滤警报,以发现重大问题并防止中断。反过来,中断会阻碍跨网络的数据共享和协作。

为了实现中央交换中心的目标,加速全台湾地区内的研究合作,NCHC 需要一种方法来打破 IT 运营管理的复杂性。它转而采用了 AIOps。

使用 AIOps 进行预测性维护

在寻找解决方案的过程中,NCHC 与 IBM Garage 合作,在 IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps 软件的基础上进行了概念验证 (POC)。

POC 的目标是评估潜在解决方案在现实世界中的影响。NCHC 提供了实际场景中的运行数据和网络日志数据,例如,某些网络设备发生故障,会造成中断。

随后,NCHC 和 IBM 团队使用 IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps 作为网络交换中心各种 IT 运营工具的中央集成器,对整个基础架构进行全面了解。通过将结构化和非结构化数据输入解决方案的 AI Manager 组件,NCHC 和 IBM Garage 团队能够训练人工智能模型,以自动、主动地管理问题和事件。

结果非常理想。团队将影响服务的问题平均检测时间 (MTTD) 缩短了 55%。

基于 POC 的成功,NCHC 和 IBM® Customer Success Manager 团队将 IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps 部署到交换中心生产环境中。NCHC 现在使用 IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps 的以下组件:

  • AI Manager:采集结构化和非结构化数据并训练人工智能模型以主动管理问题和事件。AI Manager 生成的所有警报都会呈现具体情节的形式发布在 ChatOps 界面上,NCHC 员工将其作为监控交换中心的唯一真相来源。
  • Event Manager:通过预定义的批处理程序导入所有网络设备日志,并通过事件分组减少网络噪音,从而大幅降低运营成本。
  • Metric Manager:采集所有网络设备指标数据,如 CPU、内存和磁盘使用情况,并提供设备状态的整体视图。

 

 

推动持续的发现和创新

MTTD 减少意味着 NCHC 可以比以前提前 25 小时检测到潜在的中断,从而帮助 NCHC 在中断发生之前发现并解决问题。

到目前为止,这些令人印象深刻的成果都是针对常见的已知问题取得的。NCHC 知道,可能还会出现独特的、意想不到的问题,这个解决方案将会面临新的考验,但是 NCHC 同样期待着类似的解决效果。最终,NCHC 预计 AIOps 的采用将有助于保持信息渠道的开放,以便台湾各地的研究项目拥有所需的关键数据,以在发现和创新方面不断取得进展。

NCHC 徽标
关于国家高性能计算中心 (NCHC)

台湾地区 NCHC 外部链接(ibm.com 外部链接)以促进科学发现和技术创新为使命,为台湾地区政府机构、高等教育机构和行业提供超级计算服务、高质量网络、高效存储、大数据分析和科学工程模拟。NCHC 总部位于新竹市。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM TIME dotCom

打造可实现经济飞速发展的引擎

 

阅读成功案例
T-Mobile

全美最大的 5G 网络采用 AI 驱动式自动化

阅读成功案例
Electrolux

一家鼎鼎有名的创新公司在其全球企业范围内部署 AIOps

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 3 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud Pak 以及 IBM Garage 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新清单,请访问网站  ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Accelerating research and innovation

How NCHC uses AIOps to improve public network services and proactively prevent outages
by Rob Spencer
6-minute read
In the Conference Room Chief Engineer Presents to a Board of Scientists New Revolutionary Approach for Developing Artificial Intelligence and Neural Networks. Wall TV Shows Their Achievements.

The speed of research matters. During the COVID-19 pandemic, it’s been the difference between life and death for millions.

In Taiwan, where the pandemic response has been exceptionally effective at limiting outbreaks and death, the National Center for High-performance Computing (NCHC) helps accelerate research and innovation nationwide by providing access to supercomputers and analytics and by facilitating nationwide networks for data sharing and collaboration.

Although NCHC supports research in all disciplines, the urgency of the pandemic inspired it to launch successive “Tech v Virus” programs, which call for universities, research organizations, enterprises and startups to find new ways to fight the spread of the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus. One high-profile breakthrough so far is a stethoscope that visualizes a patient’s breathing, helping doctors and nurses reduce close contact with potentially infected patients — thus reducing risk of transmission. Another is a map of the COVID-19 gene’s evolution, helping predict routes of spread.

To support efforts like these, and hundreds of others in all fields, NCHC wants to ensure that research moves as fast as it can. That’s why it continues evolving its Taiwania series of supercomputers, which includes one of the 50 most powerful computers in the world. That’s why it provides AI services — including tools based on IBM Cloud Pak® for Data. And that’s why NCHC recently worked with the IBM Garage™ to implement the IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps solution, applying AI-based automation to maximize resilience and performance.

Female nurse using laptop while working on medical reports. Healthcare professional is busy in hospital. She is wearing surgical mask and uniform.

Reduced mean time to detect (MTTD) by

55%

for service-impacting issues

Identifies potential outages

25 hours

earlier than before

By feeding structured and unstructured data into the solution’s AI Manager component, NCHC and the IBM Garage team were able to train AI models to automatically, and proactively, manage problems and incidents.
Cutting through IT Ops complexity

Taiwan has several major public computing networks that crisscross the country and allow researchers to share information and collaborate. Some of the networks are specialized for academia, some for government and some for industry. But increasingly — especially in response to the COVID-19 pandemic — research initiatives have demanded cross-discipline efforts and cross-network collaboration. Fast information sharing between the public networks is crucial.

So NCHC began a new initiative: building a central network exchange. But bringing the networks together presented a new layer of challenges. The different networks were equipped with a disparate array of monitoring tools and data log sources and formats. The complexity complicated management, which kept NCHC from quickly filtering alarms to detect significant issues and prevent outages. Outages, in turn, would impede data sharing and collaboration across the networks.

To fulfill the purpose of the central exchange — accelerating nationwide research collaboration — NCHC needed a way to cut through the complexity of IT operations management. It turned to AIOps.

Sunset of Taipei
Predictive maintenance with AIOps
In the System Control Room Technical Operator Works at His Workstation with Multiple Displays Showing Graphics.

As part of its search for a solution, NCHC worked with the IBM Garage to run a proof of concept (POC) based on IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps software.

The goal of the POC was to gauge the real-world impact of the potential solution. NCHC provided operations data and networking log data from real-life scenarios — where some networking equipment is breaking down and would create outages, for example.

The NCHC and IBM teams then used IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps as a central integrator of the network exchange’s diverse array of IT operations tools, producing a holistic view of the entire infrastructure. And by feeding structured and unstructured data into the solution’s AI Manager component, NCHC and the IBM Garage team were able to train AI models to automatically, and proactively, manage problems and incidents.

The results were excellent. The teams achieved a 55% shorter mean time to detect (MTTD) issues that would affect service.

Based on the success of the POC, NCHC and the IBM® Customer Success Manager team deployed IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps into the exchange center production environment. NCHC now uses the following components of IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps:

  • AI Manager: to ingest structured and unstructured data and train AI models to proactively manage problems and incidents. All alerts generated by AI Manager are published as a story in a ChatOps interface that NCHC staff use as the single source of truth for monitoring the exchange center.
  • Event Manager: to import all network device logs via a pre-defined batch program, and to reduce network noise with event grouping, which will reduce operational costs significantly.
  • Metric Manager: to ingest all network device metric data, such as CPU, memory and disk usage, and provide a holistic view of device statuses.
  • In Dark Data Center: Male IT Specialist Stands Beside the Row of Operational Server Racks, Uses Laptop for Maintenance.
    Driving ongoing discovery and innovation
    Science pipette with a drop of substance over laboratory test tubes

    The MTTD reduction means that NCHC can detect potential outages 25 hours earlier than it could before — helping NCHC see and resolve the outages before they occur.

    So far, these impressive results have come in response to common, known problems. NCHC knows that unique, unexpected issues will arise and provide new tests for the solution, but the organization expects similar results. Ultimately, NCHC expects that its adoption of AIOps will help keep information channels open so that research projects across Taiwan have the critical data they need to keep making progress toward discovery and innovation.

    NCHC logo

    About National Center for High-performance Computing (NCHC)

    With the mission of promoting scientific discovery and technological innovation, Taiwan’s NCHCExternal Link provides the country’s government agencies, higher education institutions and industries with supercomputing services, high quality networking, high efficiency storage, big data analysis and scientific engineering simulations. NCHC is headquartered in Hsinchu City.

    Solution components
    NCHC logo

    About National Center for High-performance Computing (NCHC)

    With the mission of promoting scientific discovery and technological innovation, Taiwan’s NCHCExternal Link provides the country’s government agencies, higher education institutions and industries with supercomputing services, high quality networking, high efficiency storage, big data analysis and scientific engineering simulations. NCHC is headquartered in Hsinchu City.

    Solution components