订阅我们的每月时事通讯,获得有关新兴趋势的引人深思的洞察。

对于大型油气企业而言,他们的零售部门,也就是加油站,在其垂直整合的复杂运营中始终发挥着非常特殊的作用。 作为下游业务的末端,油气企业的零售站不仅是成品油核心产品的销售网点,也是客户与品牌的主要互动渠道。 这就是为什么零售网点的体验质量如此重要,而且越来越重要的原因。

多年来,主要的能源企业一直通过其加油站扩大所提供的产品范围,包括咖啡、零食甚至杂货。 更丰富的零售体验除了有利于增加收入外,还能够帮助能源企业吸引和留住客户,进而销售更多的燃料。 对于该行业而言,这种持久模式仍是其零售业务的基础。

但如今,无论对于社会还是该行业而言,都处在环境可持续发展的十字路口,一些石油和天然气企业看到了重塑(至少是在某些方面重新定义)自身零售业务的契机。 虽然销售燃料仍是核心目标,但许多企业希望拓展零售业务可以向客户提供的价值以及体验。

MOL Group 是东欧最大的综合石油和天然气公司之一,在 9 个国家或地区经营着超过 1900 个加油站,因此他们对这种新型油气零售方式寄予厚望。 MOL 转型的这个阶段可以回溯到 2016 年下半年,当时,该公司发布了雄心勃勃的 2030 年战略计划,决定将下游业务的零售活动转变为专注于服务创新的新部门。

在这个决策的背后,公司最高层领导认识到了数字和移动技术正从根本上改变消费者的行为,这也在零售方面创造了战略机遇。 在组织层面,从下游迁移的理由主要跟文化有关: 零售创新需要合适的氛围。

推动收入平均提升

15% – 30%

通过改进数字互动而实现

比竞争对手高出

20%

的客户满意度

这也需要合适的人才,而 István Mag 正是合适的人选。 在 MOL 零售业务转型的过程中,Mag 加入了该公司,作为消费者服务(即零售部门)执行副总裁 Péter Ratatics 的战略顾问,而且很快被任命为数字消费者服务的主管。 他们紧密合作,优化 MOL 的零售转型计划,在此过程中,他们日益感觉到需要成立一个专门的资源团队,即数字创新代理,以将业务和 IT 专业技能结合起来。 于是,在消费者服务部门中建立了数字工厂团队,Mag 被任命为领导。

MOL 零售愿景的关键在于将数字化产品从核心产品(包括燃料、食品和便利服务)拓展到全新的领域,如汽车共享、车队管理、包裹服务等。“我们的目标是在中东欧地区成为真正的消费品零售商以及复杂的综合出行服务提供商。”Mag 解释道,“为了实现这一目标,我们明白自己需要一系列全面的数字营销能力,以便能够[通过数字工厂]在所有运营领域推出一套通用的服务和客户体验。”该计划首先在克罗地亚、斯洛文尼亚和匈牙利部署,然后该平台将扩展到斯洛伐克、捷克共和国以及该区域的其他国家或地区。

在对各种选项进行充分的评审之后,Mag 及其团队认为 Salesforce 营销解决方案套件最适合满足自己的需求,并很快决定部署该套件。 Mag 表示,接下来的重要任务就是选择负责将所有组件整合在一起的系统集成合作伙伴。“我们重点关注各个候选合作伙伴在 Salesforce 平台方面所展现的专业知识,”他解释道,“尤其是看他们能否交付我们所规划的全面、大规模的解决方案。”

对于被 MOL 邀请参与 RFP 流程的企业而言,终极考验是一场时长 36 小时的马拉松式挑战,旨在让他们展现出自己的技术交付能力。 在这场“马拉松”结束时,来自 IBM Consulting™ 的团队成为唯一一个能够使用全套 Salesforce 组件创建工作原型的参与者,该团队由来自整个地区的各个当地成员构成。“它向我们证明,IBM 拥有真正有能力的 Salesforce 技术团队。”Mag 说道,“这使我们能够信任他们的交付成果。”

如何更深入地推动以数据为中心的营销合作

在随后的合作中,共同创造成为合作的规则、风格以及实质。 Laszlo Stekl 是 MOL 数字 IT 的负责人,也是该数字工厂的创始人之一。他认为,IBM 的合作方式为其不断发展的小型团队提供了所需的支持。“作为一个新的组织,我们渴望取得成功,茁壮成长,而 IBM 真正帮助我们奠定了实现目标所需的坚实基础。”Stekl 说道,“这对我们两个团队而言,都是一次有益的体验,而且非常有用,因为我们学到了很多东西。”

此次共同创造工作的成果是集成的全渠道营销解决方案,采用全套 Salesforce 组件。 该解决方案是集成的,因为它以真实的客户行为数据为核心,统筹协调 MOL与客户互动的各个方面。 以数据为中心的性质同样使 MOL 的营销人员能够根据每个客户的具体特点,提供针对性强的促销活动。

一个坐在加油站咖啡厅里搅拌咖啡的女性,面前放着一盘点心

MOL 解决方案的基石是 Salesforce Marketing Cloud,它充当集成中心,向客户传递消息。 该公司的 CRM 职能由 Salesforce Service Cloud 执行。 MOL 使用 Salesforce Experience Cloud 作为其客户门户网站的基础。 MOL 解决方案还使用 MuleSoft 集成并协调多个国家或地区中的所有这些组件。

在构建解决方案时,MOL 和 IBM 认识到需要平衡基于规模的效率与 MOL 当地营销团队的具体需求。 Mag 表示,作为应对之策,他们采用“团队模板”方法,提供通用的框架,同时让当地团队能够充分灵活地设计自己的促销活动。“每个国家或地区都有自己的营销和客户忠诚度部门,”他解释道,“由于我们在模板中提供了灵活性,因此当地团队可以定制并执行自己的促销活动和忠诚度计划。”

Mag 表示,为帮助建立这些当地能力,IBM 团队还与数字工厂密切合作,帮助他们确立新的营销和客户忠诚度实践。“当我们在当地市场组建新的奖励营销团队时,IBM 通过其 Hyper Care 支持,在培训这些团队如何自己管理新平台方面发挥了关键作用。”Mag 说道,“这体现了我们在数字工厂的成长和发展过程中所期望获得的‘桥梁’支持。”

甚至在合作的早期,当 Mag 的团队刚刚起步时,IBM® Application Management Services 团队就在关键时刻根据需要发挥了类似的支持作用。 现在,按照设计,规模更大、经验更丰富的团队负责在内部处理这些职能。

收入增长表明了客户的认可

Mag 指出,MOL 着眼 2030 年,构想扩展的数字商业战略,而且结果已初露端倪。“从根本上而言,我们数字创新的重点 — 无论是数据驱动的细分市场、更灵活的客户忠诚度计划,还是更有针对性的促销活动 — 都旨在发现和改变客户行为。”Mag 这样表示,“更广泛而言,是为了重新定义我们与客户的互动方式。”

指标说明一切。 新应用推出后两年内,客户下载量超过 140 万次,预计下一年还将翻倍。 但真正的回报在于:“在使用该应用的客户中,MOL 的平均收入提高了 15%-30%。”Mag 说道,“这有力地证明,更智能、更方便的数字互动正推动提高客户忠诚度,促进更多消费。”

它还从两个重要方面增强了 MOL 品牌。 在客户方面,与数字解决方案和忠诚度计划相关的满意度要比最接近的竞争对手高出 20%。 但 Mag 指出,MOL 的 Salesforce 解决方案的巧妙复杂程度也向 IT 专业人员(这些人同时也是潜在的应聘者)发出了强大的信号。“我们作为燃料零售领域的真正创新者而蜚声业界。”他解释道,“我们不断吸引更出色的应聘人才,他们将 MOL 视为利用一流技术打造一流客户体验的企业。”

关于 MOL Group

MOL(外部链接)总部设在匈牙利布达佩斯,是一家跨国石油和天然气公司,在 30 多个国家和地区开展业务,拥有 26000 名员工。 MOL 在中东欧 9 个国家或地区设有 1900 个加油站,零售业务覆盖 1000 万客户。

解决方案组件

IBM Consulting™
IBM® Application Management Services
IBM iX®
Salesforce

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Consulting 和 iX 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 https://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

Remaking the service station experience with data-driven customer engagement

MOL builds a digital marketing platform to fuel revenue growth and customer loyalty

by Dave Fawcett
8-minute read
Couple in a car at a service station using a smartphone app and being approached by a helpful station attendant.

For big oil and gas companies, retail divisions — gas stations — have always played a very specific role in their complex, vertically integrated operations. As the tail end of their downstream businesses, a company’s retail stations are not just the outlet for selling their core refined fuel products, but also the primary point of interaction between the customer and the brand. That’s why the quality of the experience at a retail outlet is so important, and increasingly so.

For years, major energy companies have gradually broadened the range of products offered through their stations to include coffee, snacks and even groceries. In addition to enhancing revenue, a richer retail experience represents a way for energy companies to both attract and retain customers, which in turn helps them sell more gas. For the industry, this durable model remains the foundation of their retail operations.

But today, with both society and the industry at an environmental crossroads, some oil and gas companies see the opportunity to reinvent, and in some ways redefine, their retail operations. While selling fuel remains a central goal, many companies are embracing an expanded vision of the value — and the experience — their retail operations can deliver to customers.

MOL Group, one of Eastern Europe’s largest integrated oil and gas companies with over 1,900 service stations across nine countries, exemplifies this new way of looking at gas retail. The stage was set for MOL’s transformation back in late 2016, when the company — as part of its 2030 strategic plan — made the bold decision to relocate its retail activities from Downstream Operations to a new division focused on service innovation.

Behind the scenes, top management had recognized that the digital and mobile technology were fundamentally changing consumer behavior and, in the process, creating strategic opportunities in retail. On the organizational level, the rationale for the move from Downstream was largely cultural: retail innovation needed the right kind of climate.

It also needed the right kind of people, and that’s where István Mag came in. With the retail transition underway, Mag joined MOL as a strategic advisor to Péter Ratatics, Executive VP of Consumer Services, as the retail unit is known, and was soon appointed Head of Digital Consumer Services. As they worked together closely to refine the contours of MOL’s retail transformation plan, the need for a dedicated resource team — an agent of digital innovation, melding business and IT expertise — became increasingly clear. That led to the creation of the Digital Factory within Consumer Services, and Mag was tapped to lead it.

The crux of MOL’s retail vision was about expanding digital offerings from the core — gas, food and conveniences — out into entirely new turf, such as car sharing, fleet management, parcel services and more. “Our aim is to become a true consumer goods retailer and an integrated, complex mobility services provider in the Central Eastern European region,” Mag explains. “To accomplish this, we knew we needed a comprehensive set of digital marketing capabilities that would enable [the Digital Factory] to roll out a common set of services, and customer experiences, across all of our operating areas.” The plan was to deploy first in Croatia, Slovenia and Hungary and then extend the platform to Slovakia, Czech Republic and the rest of the countries in the region.

Two teens sharing ear buds and eating hot dogs at a service station

Drove an average revenue uplift of

15% – 30%

through enhanced digital engagement

Achieved customer satisfaction levels

> 20%

higher than competitors

Our aim is to become a true consumer goods retailer and an integrated, complex mobility services provider in the Central Eastern European region. To accomplish this, we knew we needed a comprehensive set of digital marketing capabilities that would enable us to roll out a common set of services, and customer experiences, across all of our operating areas.
István Mag
Head of Digital Factory, MOL Group

Having conducted an extensive review of their options, Mag and his team saw the Salesforce suite of marketing solutions as the best fit for their needs and soon resolved to deploy it. So the big remaining choice, Mag says, was a systems integration partner to pull all the components together. “We were focused on demonstrable expertise with the Salesforce platform,” he explains. “Especially in delivering the kind of comprehensive, large-scale solution we were planning.”

For the companies MOL invited to participate in the RFP process, meeting this test ultimately came down to a 36-hour hackathon challenge designed to demonstrate technical delivery capability. At the hackathon’s close, a team from IBM Consulting™ — comprised of local members from across the region — was the only participant to create a working prototype using the full suite of Salesforce components. “It proved to us that IBM has a really capable technical team for Salesforce,” says Mag. “And it gave us the trust we needed that they can deliver.”

Twins in the backseat of a car at a service station using a smartphone app and being approached by a helpful station attendant.

How to drive deeper engagement with data-centric marketing

A woman sitting in a service station café stirring her coffee with a pastry

In the engagement that followed, co-creation was the rule, in style and substance. To Laszlo Stekl, Head of Digital IT and one of the founding visionaries of the Digital Factory, IBM’s collaborative approach gave his small but growing team the support they needed to develop. “IBM really helped build a foundation for us, as a new organization, to succeed and thrive going forward,” says Stekl. “It’s been a rewarding experience for both our teams, and it’s been immensely useful because we are learning a lot.”

The product of this co-creation effort is an integrated omnichannel marketing solution employing the full portfolio of Salesforce components. It’s integrated because it relies on a core of real customer behavioral data to orchestrate every facet of MOL’s interaction with its customers. That same data-centric quality enables MOL’s marketers to offer highly targeted campaigns based on each customer’s specific journey.

The cornerstone of MOL’s solution is the Salesforce Marketing Cloud, which serves as an integration hub to distribute messaging to its customers. The company’s CRM functions are performed by Salesforce Service Cloud. MOL uses the Salesforce Experience Cloud as the foundation for its customer portal. The MOL solution also employs MuleSoft to integrate and orchestrate all these components across multiple countries.

In building the solution, MOL and IBM were cognizant of the need to balance scale-based efficiency with the specific needs of MOL’s local marketing teams. Their response, says Mag, was to follow a “group template” approach that provided a common framework, while giving local teams lots of flexibility to design their own campaigns. “Each country has its own marketing and loyalty department,” he explains. “Because we built flexibility into the templates, local teams can tailor and execute their own campaigns and loyalty programs.”

To help jumpstart these local capabilities, Mag notes, an IBM team also worked closely with the Digital Factory to help them establish new marketing and loyalty practices. “As we set up new rewards marketing teams in our local markets, IBM — through its Hyper Care support — has played a key role in educating these teams on how to manage the new platform on their own,” says Mag. “This exemplifies the ‘bridge’ of support we were looking for as the Digital Factory grows and develops.”

Even earlier in the engagement, when Mag’s team was just starting out, IBM® Application Management Services had played a similar as-needed support role at a formative and pivotal time. Today, as by design, his larger and more experienced team handles those functions in-house.

IBM really helped build a foundation for us, as a new organization, to succeed and thrive going forward. It’s been a rewarding experience for both our teams, and it’s been immensely useful because we are learning a lot.
Laszlo Stekl
Head of Digital IT, Digital Factory, MOL Group

Revenue uplift shows customer buy-in

Mag points out that while MOL conceived its expanded digital commerce strategy with an eye on 2030, the results are already becoming apparent. “Fundamentally, the focus of our digital innovation — whether it’s data-driven segmentation, more flexible loyalty programs or more targeted campaigns — are about recognizing and changing customer behavior,” says Mag. “And more broadly, they’re about redefining the way we engage with our customers.”

The metrics tell the story. Within two years of the new app’s introduction, customer downloads are on course to exceed 1.4 million, and are expected to double in the following year. But here’s the real payoff: “Among customers using the app, MOL has experienced an average revenue uplift of 15% – 30%,” says Mag. “That’s powerful evidence that smarter and more convenient digital engagement is increasing loyalty and driving more consumption.”

It’s also strengthening the MOL brand in two important ways. On the customer side, satisfaction levels related to digital solutions and loyalty programs are more than 20% higher for MOL versus its closest competitors. But as Mag points out, the sophistication of what MOL is doing with the Salesforce solution also sends a powerful signal to IT professionals who are also potential employees. “We’re burnishing our reputation as the real innovator in the gas retail space,” he explains. “We’re getting much better candidates, and what they see is a company using great technology to deliver a great customer experience.”

MOL Group logo
About MOL Group

Based in Budapest, Hungary, MOLExternal Link is an international oil and gas company with 26,000 employees and operations across more than 30 countries. With 1,900 service stations across nine Central Eastern European countries, MOL’s retail business serves 10 million customers and it processes more than a million transactions every day.

Solution components
MOL Group logo
About MOL Group

Based in Budapest, Hungary, MOLExternal Link is an international oil and gas company with 26,000 employees and operations across more than 30 countries. With 1,900 service stations across nine Central Eastern European countries, MOL’s retail business serves 10 million customers and it processes more than a million transactions every day.

Solution components