主页 Case Studies 高尔夫大师赛 将球迷参与度推向新的高度
大师的课程可以帮助企业创造新价值

在过去 25 年里,IBM 一直为美国高尔夫大师赛提供支持,虽然发生了许多变化,但愿景似乎从未改变。

从根本上说,我们的愿景始终是为球迷创造一种易于消费的沉浸式体验,传达出美感和强烈的场所感。在尊重锦标赛历史和传统同时,突破了创新的界限。它为世界各地的观众提供有意义的个性化见解。

为了实现这一愿景,即使疫情当前,IBM 和大师赛也必须快速适应和发展。这意味着需要应用开放混合云技术来应对严峻挑战,并利用大量非结构化数据来打造无缝的数字体验。

最新 IBM Cloud 、AI 和安全技术可以追踪每一次挥杆、每位球员、每个球洞,并提供相关信息。为了支持大师赛应用程序,IBM 部署了一项新功能,即“我的群组”,让球迷可以在锦标赛展开对决时观看他们最喜欢的球员的每一次击球。

总体而言,这在运动技术领域是前所未有的,下文将详细介绍其运作方式。

高级分析能力

 

IBM Watson 技术在锦标赛期间分析了 20000 多个视频

个性化 AI 模型

 

使用 16 个 AI 模型提供有关热门高尔夫球手的个性化内容

提升价值 

 

混合多云平台创造的价值比单个云方法高 2.5 倍 

 

云与数据的碰撞

2020 年大师赛的独特之处在于,为了遵守社交距离规定,锦标赛的许多现场技术要求都是通过远程方式实现的。因此,IBM 首次使用 Red Hat® OpenShift® 平台启用的开放混合云方法为大师赛提供支持。

IBM 应用了 OpenShift 解决方案(业界领先的企业 Kubernetes),在管理这些数据的同时提高了效率。在Red Hat Enterprise Linux® 操作系统 (OS) 上部署的 OpenShift 软件具有灵活性和高可扩展性,支持跨 IT 环境以一致方式运行更大规模锦标赛技术和“我的群组”等功能。

为何重要?

这些 IBM 创新解决方案为球迷提供各种新颖且极具吸引力的运动参与方式。这不再只是观看比赛,而是参与其中 - 无论您身在何处。

例如,这一新技术标志着球迷们首次可以在职业高尔夫球赛中使用应用程序中创建自定义的高尔夫球手订阅源,观看这些球员的每一杆击球视频。“我的群组”为每个球迷提供个性化的视频源,让全球数百万人能够近乎实时地访问每个球手的比赛回合,几乎就像是个性化的“精选群组”频道一样。“我的群组”还包含锦标赛领先者的精彩片段和定期更新,以及其他高尔夫球手的必看击球时刻。作为 “我的群组”定制观看体验的一部分,IBM Watson® AI 精心整理了比赛中激动人心的精彩片段。

大师赛使用的技术建立在 IBM Watson 支持的解决方案的基础之上。这些解决方案曾为先前的大师赛提供支持,其中分析了传统高尔夫统计数据、球跟踪数据、人群噪音等数据。例如,在 2019 年大师赛期间,IBM Watson 技术捕获并分析了近 20,000 个球员的个人击球视频片段。在 2020 年锦标赛期间,新的 AI 模型根据人群兴奋程度对击球进行排名,并分析球员 ID、比赛轮次、球洞和得分等数据点,同时跟踪击球距离等统计数据。IBM 总共训练了 16 个不同的模型,为 “我的群组”用户提供有关热门球手和表现最佳者的重要个性化内容。

可以肯定的是,大师赛是一项特殊的挑战。但是,几乎每个组织都有机会在混合云环境中捕获、分析和管理分布式数据,并将其应用于各种行业和用例。

您在高尔夫大师赛上看到的一切,包括每次 AI 洞察分析以及 IBM Cloud 支持的及每个幕后工作负载,均可应用于全球企业。 Rob Thomas Senior Vice President, IBM Cloud and Data Platforms IBM Corp
让我们一起分解挥杆动作

大师赛的体验有多个方面,但从根本上来说,可以分为以下几个部分。

混合云和 Red Hat OpenShift

与不断完善挥杆动作的高尔夫球手不同,IBM 不断利用开放混合云创造和实现新价值。正如大师赛的体验所证明的那样,新一代混合云使组织能够借助通用平台在任何云和 IT 环境中进行构建和管理,让您有足够的信心进行一次训练、一次构建,并在任何地方进行部署。

这一方法的基础是 OpenShift 解决方案。OpenShift 是市场领先的多云容器平台,使用企业级 Kubernetes 跨虚拟化 IT、私有云和公共云自动编排资源,使开发人员和运营人员能够根据自身需要访问所需内容。

OpenShift 专为满足企业需求而设计,包括安全加固的 Linux 操作系统、容器运行时、网络、监控、注册表以及身份验证和授权功能。组织可以自动管理生命周期,从而集成安全性和 DevOps,按需扩展集群,支持应用程序可移植性并避免供应商锁定。

IBM 在大师赛中应用了 OpenShift 解决方案,实现跨公共云和私有云的部署,为“我的群组”应用程序的各个方面提供支持。在 OpenShift 上构建不同的工作负载,包括:

• 视频采集 ‑ 每位球员、每次击球、每个洞
• 评分错误生成
• 评分数据集成
• 视频发布程序
• 动态内容生成器,用于构建“我的群组”播放列表

动态内容生成器尤其需要非常密集的工作负载。它应当具备高度可扩展性,且始终可用。它承担的任务非常关键,以至于需要六个不同位置运行:四个公共位置和两个私有位置。

IBM Cloud 上的 OpenShift 具有强大功能和灵活性,这意味着开发人员只需编写一次该应用程序,就可以在任何地方运行。以软件即服务 (SaaS) 形式提供的所有软件都具备自动版本控制和补丁管理功能,从而使运营团队从维护活动中解脱出来,能够将注意力集中在其他方面。此外,技术人员还可以通过多云 管理在一个视图中查看所有 OpenShift 工作负载。这款多云产品是一个以应用程序为中心、由 AI 驱动的管理平台,旨在为您的工作负载提供全面的可视性和控制,无论这些工作负载在何处运行。

因此,大师赛中应用的混合云和 OpenShift 解决方案意味着跨多个云的无缝、一致的管理。

数据是金

一如既往,一切都从数据开始。大师赛就有很丰富的数据。大师赛面临的数据挑战既复杂又持续不断。其中包括得分、统计、距离、球位,甚至每个洞每次击球的视频片段。这是向大师赛应用程序和锦标赛网站提供数字体验的原始资料。所有数据的中间存在一个开放的混合云架构。OpenShift 解决方案是将它们全部连接在一起的“结缔组织”。

一切皆可 AI

数据收集只是一个方面,如何从中发掘价值呢?这时,AI 就有了用武之地。大师赛生成了超过 20,000 个镜头视频片段,包含了大量的非结构化数据。使用普通方法从这些内容中提取精彩击球片段将非常耗时且困难重重。因此,IBM Watson AI 技术的应用使一切变得易于管理。该解决方案对每个视频片段进行分析,得出总体兴奋程度分数。分析包括:

• 视觉识别,可识别球手的庆祝手势 ‑ 挥拳或将手臂举过头顶。它甚至可以读取球手的表情。
• 业务规则,使用元数据来确定片段的上下文。这是锦标赛领先球手的视频吗?画面中描绘的是小鸟球的分数还是更好的击球分数?这是否代表了领先排名的变化?
• AI 会根据前几年人群欢呼的历史数据来分析和预测关键时刻人群可能出现的反应。

IBM Watson 技术拥有多年的人群分析历史数据。因此,它知道在最后一轮比赛中选手在 16 号洞打出小鸟球时,会引发出怎样的欢呼声。它知道在 15 号洞打出老鹰球时,会引发出怎样的欢呼声。它甚至知道球落在 12 号洞三英尺处时,会引发出怎样的声音。

IBM 汇集了所有数据,从球员姓名到比赛轮次、球洞到击球类型。是长推杆还是近距离击球?该技术可以捕获所有场景数据。

IBM Watson 技术利用 AI 和机器学习,在这些数据的基础上对人群兴奋度分数进行反向工程处理。因此,现在当一名球手在周日击出的球接近 16 号洞时,该解决方案可以“预测”人群的反应。

深入探索绿茵场

大师赛的数字体验展示了 IBM Cloud 与 AI 协同工作时可能会发生的事。这是一个强大的组合,不仅适用于世界顶级高尔夫锦标赛,也适用于任何希望通过创新实现转型的组织。其中的经验普遍适用:

• 选择权和控制权掌握在您的手中。借助 IBM 和 Red Hat 解决方案,您可以为所在行业节省基础架构资金、加速提升员工队伍、改善业务成果并提高灵活性。
• 这些数据属于您,应当让其发挥作用。以新的方式发掘数据的价值,加速您的 AI 之旅。虽然您可能不需要分析数百次高尔夫挥杆,但您确实需要评估一些重要的数据点。
• 考虑新的集成和优化方法。“一次构建,随处部署”是一条值得信奉的准则。在 IBM 公共云、私有云或您选择的云上开发安全的应用程序,无需重新编码即可移动。

高尔夫大师赛标志
关于大师赛

自 1934 年以来, 高尔夫大师赛(ibm.com 外部链接)见证了无数高尔夫球赛的精彩时刻。在盛开的杜鹃花、高耸的松树和怒放的山茱萸间,四月的第一个整周迎来了高尔夫和运动项目独有的舞台。在 4 天 72 洞的比赛中,球手们在高尔夫大满贯比赛最小的场地上展开角逐,争夺冠军绿夹克,以期在大师赛历史上赢得一席之地。沿着木兰巷 (Magnolia Lane) 漫步或闲步于阿门角 (Amen Corner),以前所未有的方式探索大师赛的标志性传统、精彩时刻和历史,不论是过去还是现在。

采取下一步行动
查看更多案例研究 订阅精选简讯,了解最新的技术、商业和思想领导力。 充分利用收件箱,从 IBM 获取最佳资源。 IBM 和大师赛带来 Watson 支持的全新个性化体验 IBM 新闻中心 混合云平台如何年复一年地推动大师赛的创新 阅读博客
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Cloud Pak、IBM Watson、QRadar 和 XForce 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球多个司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新列表,请访问 www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

Linux® 注册商标已获得 Linux 基金会的再许可。Linux 基金会是该商标的全球所有者 Linus Torvalds 的独家许可证持有人。

Red Hat®、JBoss®、OpenShift®、Fedora®、Hibernate®、Ansible®、CloudForms®、RHCA®、RHCE®、RHCSA®、Ceph® 和 Gluster® 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Driving fan engagement to new heights

Lessons from the Masters can help businesses create new value
by Pierre Coyne
7-minute read

A lot has changed during the 25 years that IBM has helped support the Masters — except perhaps one thing: the vision.

Fundamentally, the vision has always been to create an easy-to-consume yet immersive experience for fans; one that communicates beauty and a strong sense of place. It respects the history and tradition of the Tournament while pushing the boundaries of innovation. It delivers meaningful, personalized insights to viewers around the world.

To execute this vision — even amid a pandemic — IBM and the Masters had to adapt and evolve with speed. This meant applying open hybrid cloud technology to help solve difficult challenges and harnessing massive unstructured data to create a seamless digital experience.

Every swing, every player, every hole, was tracked and made available using the latest in IBM Cloud, AI and security technologies. Powering the Masters app, IBM deployed a new “My Group” feature that lets fans watch every shot from their favorite players as the Tournament unfolded.

The overall effort was unprecedented in sports technology, and here’s how it worked.

Augusta national golf course clubhouse

IBM Watson technology analyzes more than

20,000

videos during the Tournament

Provides personalized content about popular golfers using

16

AI models

Cloud meets data

The 2020 Masters was unique because many of the Tournament’s onsite technical requirements were being produced remotely to manage social distancing requirements. As a result, for the first time, IBM powered the Masters using an open hybrid cloud approach enabled by the Red Hat® OpenShift® platform.

However, with the OpenShift solution, the industry’s leading enterprise Kubernetes platformView PDF 415 KB , IBM was able to manage that data while boosting efficiency. The flexibility and hyper-scalability of OpenShift software, deployed on the Red Hat Enterprise Linux® operating system (OS), enabled both the larger Tournament technology and features like My Group to operate on a consistent foundation across IT environments.

Augusta national golf course

Why does this matter?

Person looking at a golf course on their tablet

With the introduction of these innovative IBM solutions, fans can engage with sports in new, compelling ways. It’s no longer just about watching sports. It’s about participating — wherever you are.

For example, this new technology marks the first time in professional golf that fans were able to create customized feeds of golfers in the app and access video of every shot those players made. My Group offers a personalized video feed for each fan, giving millions, globally, access to every player’s rounds in near real time, almost like a personalized “Featured Group” channel. My Group also features highlights and regular updates from the Tournament leaders and must-see shots from other golfers, as they happen. As part of My Group’s customized viewing experiences, IBM Watson® AI curates highlights of exciting plays.

The technology in use at the Masters builds on IBM Watson-powered solutions that supported previous Masters Tournaments, which analyzed data such as traditional golf statistics, ball tracking data, crowd noise and more. During the 2019 Masters, for example, IBM Watson technology captured and analyzed nearly 20,000 individual video clips of players’ shots. During the 2020 Tournament, new AI models ranked shots based on crowd excitement and analyzed data points such as player IDs, rounds, holes and scores while tracking stats such as shot length. In total, 16 distinct models were trained to provide personalized and important content about popular players and top performers for My Group users.

The Masters is a unique challenge, to be sure. But virtually any organization can embrace the opportunity to capture, analyze and manage distributed data across hybrid cloud environments and apply it within a variety of industries and use cases.

Augusta national golf course
Everything you see at the Masters — every AI insight, every behind-the-scenes workload powered by IBM Cloud — is available to businesses around the world.
Rob Thomas
Senior Vice President, IBM Cloud and Data Platforms, IBM Corp.

Let’s break down the swing

Person swinging a golf club

There are many facets to the Masters experience, but fundamentally, they can be broken down into the following components.

Hybrid cloud and Red Hat OpenShift

Not unlike golfers who continually refine their swing, IBM continues to create and deliver new value with open hybrid cloud. As the Masters experience has demonstrated, there is a new generation of hybrid cloud that enables organizations to build and manage across any cloud and IT with a common platform, allowing you to skill once, build once and deploy anywhere with confidence.

The foundation of this approach is the OpenShift solution, the market-leading multicloud container platform that uses enterprise-strength Kubernetes to automate orchestration of resources across virtualized IT, private clouds and public clouds, giving developers and operations access to what they need — when they need it.

Designed for the needs of enterprises, OpenShift includes a security hardened Linux OS, container runtime, networking, monitoring, registry, and authentication and authorization capabilities. Organizations can automate lifecycle management to integrate security and DevOps, scale clusters on demand and enable application portability without vendor lock in.

For the Masters, IBM relied on the OpenShift solution to support facets of the My Group app across both public and private clouds. Different workloads were built on OpenShift, including:

• Video ingestion — every player, every shot, every hole
• Score bug generation
• Score data integration
• Video publisher
• Dynamic content generator, which builds the My Group playlists

Person in a car looking at golf Tournament on their cell phone
Masters logo on a flag on a golf hole

The dynamic content generator, in particular, required a very intensive workload. It needed to be highly scalable and always available. It was so mission-critical that it ran in six different locations: four public and two private.

The power and flexibility of OpenShift on IBM Cloud meant that developers only had to write this application once — and it ran anywhere. Delivered as software-as-a-service (SaaS), all software versioning and patching occur automatically — freeing the operations team from maintenance activities so they can focus elsewhere. In addition, Multicloud Management let technicians see all of the OpenShift workloads in one view. This multicloud offering is an application-centric, AI-driven management platform designed to provide full visibility and control wherever your workloads run.

So the hybrid cloud and OpenShift solution at the Masters meant seamless, consistent management across multiple clouds.

A hybrid multicloud platform drives

2.5x

moreView PDF, 332 KB value than a single-cloud approach

Data is golden

As always, it all starts with the data. And the Masters has a lot of it. The data challenges at the Masters are complex and unrelenting. There are scores, statistics, distances, ball positions — even video clips of every shot from every hole. This is the raw material of the digital experience delivered to the Masters app and the Tournament’s website. And in the middle of all this data is an open hybrid cloud architecture. The OpenShift solution is the connective tissue that ties it all together.

Person sitting in a golf cart looking at their laptop
Augusta national golf course

AI everything

The data collection is one thing — but how do you glean value from it? That’s where AI comes in. The Masters produces more than 20,000 video clips of shots, which is a massive amount of unstructured data. It would be very time-consuming and difficult to extract highlight-worthy shots from within that content using normal means. So IBM Watson AI technology steps in to make it more manageable. This solution analyzes each video clip to produce an overall excitement score. The analysis includes:

• Visual recognition to identify the celebratory gestures of players — a fist pump or arms raised overhead. It can even read the emotion in a player’s face.
• Business rules that use metadata to determine the context of the clip. Is the video of a Tournament leader? Is it depicting a score of a birdie or better? Does it represent a lead change?
• AI uses historical data on the roar of the crowd from prior years to analyze and anticipate the likely crowd reaction at key moments.

IBM Watson technology has years of historical data on crowd analysis. So it knows what a birdie on the 16th hole during the final round from a player in contention sounds like. It knows what an eagle putt on 15 sounds like. It even knows what a ball that lands three feet from the hole on 12 sounds like.

IBM pooled all the data — everything from a player’s name to round to hole to shot type. Was it a long putt or an approach shot? All the situational data is captured.

And IBM Watson technology used AI and machine learning to reverse engineer crowd excitement scores from that data. So now, when a player hits it close on 16 on Sunday, the solution can “predict” the crowd reaction.

Person looking at a golf Tournament on their tablet

Looking further down the green

Augusta national golf course

The Masters digital experience shows what can happen when IBM Cloud and AI work together. It’s a powerful combination that applies not just to the world’s premier golf Tournament but to any organization wanting to transform through innovation. The lessons are universal:

• Choice and control — in your hands. With IBM and Red Hat solutions, you can deliver infrastructure savings, workforce acceleration, enhanced business outcomes and greater flexibility for your industry.
• It’s your data so make it count. Unlock the value of your data in new ways to accelerate your journey to AI. While you may not have to analyze hundreds of golf swings, you do have important data points to evaluate.
• Think about new ways to integrate and optimize. The mantra should be, “build once, deploy anywhere.” Develop secure applications on the IBM public cloud, private cloud or the cloud of your choice and move without recoding.

Masters logo

About the Masters

Since 1934, the MastersExternal Link has been home to some of golf’s greatest moments. Amidst blooming azaleas, towering pines and flowering dogwoods, the first full week of April ushers in a stage unique to golf and to sport. Over four days and 72 holes, the smallest field in major championship golf competes for a chance to capture the Green Jacket and a place in Masters history. Take a journey down Magnolia Lane or stroll through Amen Corner and explore the iconic traditions, moments and history of the Masters Tournament like never before — past and present.

Solution components
Masters logo

About the Masters

Since 1934, the MastersExternal Link has been home to some of golf’s greatest moments. Amidst blooming azaleas, towering pines and flowering dogwoods, the first full week of April ushers in a stage unique to golf and to sport. Over four days and 72 holes, the smallest field in major championship golf competes for a chance to capture the Green Jacket and a place in Masters history. Take a journey down Magnolia Lane or stroll through Amen Corner and explore the iconic traditions, moments and history of the Masters Tournament like never before — past and present.

Solution components